WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Leonardo DiCaprio Won't Cross-Dress in J. Edgar Hoover Biopic

Posted: June 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Leonardo DiCaprio WonSubmit Comment
During the "Inception" press junket, Leonardo Dicaprio confirmed that he is in talks to star in a biopic about controversial FBI director J Edgar Hoover. The film is to be directed by Clint Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby, Gran Torino).

"I am talking to Clint Eastwood about playing J. Edgar Hoover who had his hand in some of the most scandalous moments in American history," he said. "Everything from Dillinger to Martin Luther King and JFK. It's about the secret life of J. Edgar Hoover."

DiCaprio was then asked if he will wear a dress in the film, since Hoover has been rumored to cross-dress in the 1950s at homosexual orgies. That has already been debunked, but is still a huge part of Hoover's background.

"We haven't done the fitting for [dresses]," the actor replied. "So I don't think so."

Hoover founded the organization in 1935 and made it what it is today an efficient crime-fighting organization in part by harassing dissenters and building secret files on politicians. He is most often associated with his role in fighting the gangster wars in the '30s and, later, the Mafia. Hoover remained FBI director until his death in 1972.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:13:54 AM

In the wise words of Jimmy "C'mon"
FpJGarcia writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:44:58 AM

I would go see it!
CCBlev writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:56:23 AM

Damn it you lost brownie points there my friend.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:12:30 AM

Oh, well then it's not an accurate biopic.

At least they didn't have Billy Crudup again, his performance of hoover was f*cking godawful in Public Enemies. But then again that whole movie was f*cking sh*t.
JohnZee writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:33:34 AM

Debunked? Oh yeah the whole J. Edgar was a ladies man crap. Still left all his possessions to his if not gay then about as gay as it can get bromance with the assistant deputy. Still had a house filled with nude statues of little boys with large penises. And still forced a FBI agent to where drag and assume the identity of a woman for over forty years, even to the point of having the man's dying days in a nursing home be monitored by Hoover supporters within the organization.

And the multiple reports of the parties he attended where young men were hired to entertain and indulge his homosexual fantasies.

And last but not least the several pictures of a particular Hoover sister, that didn't really exist, and looking far more like him then she should have.

I can't wait for super heroic, super righteous J. Edgar Hoover whose worst indiscretion was the fact that he "cared" too much for America and all Americans.

And to think we lampooned Stalin for rewriting history when he was in power.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:15:09 AM

I just got through reading a biography of Hoover and if Clint doesn't go these places with the character, he wouldn't be doing the man's story justice. It could be argued that many, if not most, of Hoover's issues in life rose from hatred of women and closet homosexuality. He held valuable secrets over others to keep his own from coming out. If Clint can't see that then he doesn't really deserve to be making this film. Casting a pretty boy like Leo is already a huge mistake.
rabid writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:45:25 PM

sounds boring as sh*t.
there's no amount of crossdressing or clint-eastwooding that would make me watch a movie about Hoover.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:48:25 PM

I would have to ask who asked him that question ... Tranny News ?

Seriously, who cares ? If it was kept out, he would have as good, if not better, a chance to portray J Edgar as Billy Crudup did in Public Enemies ... what would be more relevant is the wiretapping they did on Bobby Kennedy and Martin Luther King Jr. and those FBI files they started collecting during the McCarthy hearings.
triggax writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:13:23 PM

The last article I commented on I started out by saying I couldn't agree more with Sac and Spooky... and now.. I couldnt agree less.. you guys suck!! Haha..

First of all... crudup was over the top as hoover but I think he did a good job with a role that didn't go into any detail as to who the man was... it was a very small role and all you really got to know about hoover from public enemies was that he was an administrator... and public enemies.. im sorry to say... I've just got issues with Michael Mann.. like gay man love issues... I've never seen a Mann film that I didn't think was a masterpiece... Even Miami Vice made me sweat.. haha i love all of his films...

And Sac... mmmmmhmmmmm... I think that if you're gonna get anyone these days to play Hoover or any old school political figure at this point... why not get dicaprio? the f*ckin guy is ace.. hes over weight and has chia hair growing all over his face... i cant say that hes much of a pretty boy any more... that stress crack on his forehead doesn't help either... butthead.
AshTrey writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:43:25 PM

can we finally find out who killed jfk and mlk now??
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:15:19 PM

'Leonardo DiCaprio Won't Cross-Dress in J. Edgar Hoover Biopic.'


Somewhere, COC weeps, rocking back n' forth in a fetal position, whispering: 'mommy... mommy... mommy...'

trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 5:14:11 PM

It's not mommy little COC it's daddy have you forgotten that it's crossdress night tonight !!

Now Get your sisters school uniform on and get on your knees !!
pomme writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:12:46 PM

why? it might be the best moment of the movie!!!
pomme writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:13:27 PM

and it's crazy as Dicaprio looks alike Eric Dane on the pix
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:20:04 PM

@Ranger

Which is interesting, considering Johnny Depp and Jude Law have masqueraded as women in movies.
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:51:15 PM

max- Don't forget Anthony Perkins as well !!
sparbeque writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:53:34 PM

Thanks for addressing my biggest concern about this movie. Did any of your writers graduate from college by the way?
d.stidham1982 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 8:43:23 AM

speaking of girls clothes...
http://shop.ebay.com/stidham1133/m.html?_dmd=1&_in_kw=1&_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved