WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robin Williams and Jay Baruchel Want Roles in "Batman 3"

Posted: June 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robin Williams and Jay Baruchel Want Roles in "Batman 3"Submit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with Robin Williams who revealed that he would love to star in a comic book film, especially if he gets to play the villain. His dream role would be to play The Riddler in "The Dark Knight" sequel.

"I would do Batman in a second, playing anyone," he said. "I'd play The Riddler in the next one, although it would be hard to top Heath as the villain and I'm a little hairy for tights."

Williams added that he has been offered to play villains in the Batman franchise before. He said: "The Batman films have screwed me twice before: years ago they offered me The Joker and then gave it to Jack Nicholson, then they offered me The Riddler and gave it to Jim Carrey."

Meanwhile, "Sorcerer's Apprentice" star Jay Baruchel told The Telegraph that he would love to get the Robin role. "I would be lying if I didn't think I was born to play Robin. That would be bad ass," he said. "My whole life, the only parts I thought I was supposed to play were Robin and the Dauphin from Henry V."

But if he doesn't get to play Robin in "Batman 3," Baruchel has a back-up plan. He explained: "If I'm being perfectly honest - and this is the part that obviously I won't be suitable for for another 20 years - my favorite character of all time is Frank Castle, the Punisher. That's the one for me. I don't know that I'm ever meant to be him but that's my character."

Source: Empire, MusicRooms, CoventryTelegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pomme writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:09:07 PM

as every one said his waish,i want a porno with Christian Bale directed by Nolan!
Matiax writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:09:07 PM

Robin Williams could be Arnold Wesker, the Ventriloquist.

And for Jay, Nolan said that won't be a Robin in his movies.
FpJGarcia writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:13:44 PM

Frank Castle?! He's got a lot of beefing up to do...
reach110 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:15:17 PM

If Robin and Batgirl were just two people who wanted to become vigilantes (as it has been established, Batman's purpose is to inspire others to help) it could work. Don't necessarily give them costumes, don't necessarily have them all team up against a villain. They could be unrelated characters who help clean up Gotham without Batman's leadership.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:20:05 PM

Robin Williams and Jay Barushel ?

As WHAT ? GayMan and Bobbin ?


They are more likely the Adroginous Duo, sans costumes. Hell, with Williams Chewbacca hair, they may have to use KY a lot to lube up for their special ' manuever '.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:20:38 PM

Hit the gym kid! Then hit yourself in the face and wake up!

Williams could pull it off but think hes maybe too well known to pull it off, dunno about that.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:27:41 PM

Jay could be the guy behind the counter at WHITE CASTLE, but Punisher ?

Even Dolph Lundgren would laugh at that sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:28:44 PM

Robin could play Sasquatch in the ALPHA FLIGHT movie from Marvel. He wouldn't even need makeup. All he has to do is work in his Chewbacca hair.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:29:56 PM

^ Jay could be NorthStar in the same movie. He'd have to do a lot of superhero gangbangin' with other guys in the movie, so he may not have a lot of on-screen time actually fighting crime.
JRprime writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:35:26 PM

i like both of these guys a lot, but i don't see them fitting into batman
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:16:38 PM

Jay Baruchel in batman?

How about Jay Baruchel doing a cameo playing a gas station attendant who gets to pump batmans gas.

or

how about Jay Baruchel doing a cameo playing a cook in a Chinese restaurant who cooks batman ka boom bang chicken with ka pow tea
irvsteroni writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:17:53 PM

Nolans' casting of serious actors makes the movie and the setting of Gotham believable. Adding Williams or Baruchel to the mix isn't going to work because the audience won't be able to think of them as anything but their comedic selves IMO.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:18:07 PM

Yea, I want a role in batman 3 also, doesn't mean I'm going to get it...
Ranma-Irias writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:35:26 PM

pomme can you just imagine bale as Batman with his voice saying:
Suck my c*ck you f*cking slut!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:44:10 PM

They could shave Williams' back and make hair dolls like that kid carried around in Cheaters.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:53:59 PM

Robin has so much hair on him, his girlfriend thinks she's

(a) f*cking Ron Jeremy. Or a REAL hedgehog.

(b) f*cking Chewbacca and she's in the slave outfit Princess Leia wore at Boba Fett's hideout.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:54:42 PM

Knowing his background, Robin oughta play CokeHead, the Frenzic.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:57:07 PM

Robin,

We saw Popeye. Stay away, okay ?

Unless you're playin' the guy from One Hour Photo as the Black Mask, stay away.
OneTime writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 9:04:23 PM

NO and NO
BobMcBob writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 9:39:13 PM

Jay Baruchel is destined to play a sycophant who can't keep his mouth off of Judd Apatow's balls...that's about it.
Monash writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 10:40:36 PM

Robin Williams could play Hugo Strange
http://bit.ly/cRnzH0
if they managed to fit him into that universe

Jay Baruchel is just f*cking dreaming
It actually angers me when actors like that presume they're good enough that they'd even be on Nolan's radar
Monash writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 10:41:08 PM

Also, sorry for elongating the page
avaela writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 10:45:24 PM

f*ck NO!
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM

Robin Williams and Jay Baruchel Want Roles in "Batman 3"


Who gives a sh*t?

onkelchrispy writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:18:50 PM

Actually, Nolan got an incredible and creepy performance out of William in 'Insomnia'. He could do it again.

Crispin Glover would make an incredible Riddler too.

CCBlev writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:25:10 PM

Ranger
You read my mind, who gives a sh*t? I want a toilet made out of solid gold Mr Williams but that aint gonna happen
encoreyourface writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:43:28 PM

NOOOOOO!!!!!!

"I would be lying if I didn't think I was born to play Robin"

you where born to play a homosexual? that does not surprise.
koul writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:47:46 PM

if heath ledger never got the role of the joker in dark knight i would have liked to see robin williams as the joker
Lulupendragon writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:14:05 AM

Jay Baruchel wants in on a good movie since Sorcerer's Apprentice looks like crap.
vaodsi writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:17:36 AM

UUUUGHHHHH!!!!!!!
robin...... (pukes)
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:05:37 AM

Maybe these 2 should come on here a write a little bio of themselves like Kayla aka demonvamp7 did on the war craft post for sam raimi.

You never know guys you might get lucky !!
simplytyson writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:17:36 AM

as much as i like robin williams, he doesn't belong in batman movies. But really who wouldn't wanna be in the next batman movie?
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:28:08 AM

Maybe Jim'll Fix It , for you and you and yoooooouuuuuu !!
agent_black writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:11:39 AM

I shudder when people even mention Robin. It just demonstrates a lack of understanding of the Batman mythology.

He is The Dark Knight, he operates alone. Chris Nolan is savvy enough not to screw this series up by introducing a character that would ruin the franchise.

*See Batman Forever.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:25:26 AM

hahahaha him as the punisher? now thats the funniest thing ive heard all week
jdl107 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:48:14 AM

If I was born to play Robin.... Yes I do believe he was born to play a scrawny gay superhero.

And as for Williams, too hairy, too chubby, too old, and just not right looking for the part.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:43:25 AM

Yeah... how about f*ck NO to both of you. Robin Williams hasn't been funny in 20 years, and Jay Baruchel, I don't care how Jewish you are, we just don't care, and apparently, God Of Cinema Nolan doesn't either. Piss off you two.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:47:36 AM

@onkelchrispy: Crispin Glover would make an incredible Riddler too.

I've been saying that same thing for YEARS. His performance in Willard was chilling to the bone. They should make him a Jigsaw-esque (without trying to directly copy Saw, obviously) type mechanical mastermind.
agent_black writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:00:20 AM

@gatesoftanhauser

Good shout re: Crispin Glover. My brother was well pissed off when they cast Heath Ledger as The Joker citing Crispin Glover as a screamingly obvious choice (If you've read Brian Bolland's 'The Killing Joke')

I'd take Crispin Glover cast as a villain any day and then wear the dvd out watching it over and over. His turn in Wild At Heart is possibly the greatest cameo performance ever.
agent_black writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:02:06 AM

* and @onkelchrispy:
Bunny X writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:44:16 PM

First off, Jay, shush.

Anyway, I could really see Robin Williams as the Riddler in Nolan's Batman. I caught his turn on Law and Order a while back and he was pretty damn good. He has a good take on playing the normal quiet guy pushed over the edge who uses his intellegence as a weapon and would do well.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:03:23 PM

@bunny - holy sh*t! I was coming back onto this thread to post 'Robing Williams for The Riddler!' (swear to God! - even read though the posts to make sure that wasn't covered)... and you beat me too it.

I joke with others on here about these 2 wanting in this film. And I agree FULLY that Williams hasn't been funny in forever. But he is tailor made for The Riddler... if they went Nolan Noir with the character ('riddle me this'... then blows up a day care, etc. - not that I condone such behavior).

I've MUCH preferred Williams in his dramatic stuff anyway (by FAR!). He melds to a character like Penn does/can.

His neurotic stand-up sees people laughing at him and not with him.
vwkombi writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 4:54:05 AM

Don't have Robin in this series. It's very hard to take him serious as a character. Seriously, that kid is the butt of more jokes than Aquaman!

@ Ranger

Did you see One Hour Photo? What did you think of Williams performance?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 8:44:35 AM

@vwkombi

Stellar. Very subdued.

Maybe as Clayface. He could morph into any villian with that character.
Telly like it is writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 11:35:56 PM

@Matiax. Could be the Ventriloquist. Aside from the Joker, he's my favorite Batman villain.

Or since Williams looks kinda creepy and i loved him in One Hour Photo, he could be The Mad Hatter?

I'm a little confused though why Jay Baruchel would want to be the Punisher? Did he forget that Castle is a big muscled guy? Weird...
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:17:11 AM

@vw - no...I haven't. I've wanted to... but it's dodged my radar for a long, long time.

I mean... imagine Good Will Hunting without Williams.

I've liked him in Bi-Centennial Man... tons of others (were I not too tired to review his IMDB page).

He should just stick with the dramatic stuff. But I guess there are those will spend part of their retirement for a ticket to still see him go schitzo on stage.
bill the butcher writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:36:59 AM

joseph gordon levitt riddler
rebecca hall catwoman
john malkovich mr freeze
daniel day lewis joker
philip seymour hoffman penguin
Bunny X writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:16:15 PM

@Ranger, I believe you!! You're line of thinking is familiar so I know you would call a RW for Riddler.
And I so agree with you. I cannot stand to hear him in a comedic sense. The last comedy I could tolerate of his was The Birdcage. His stand up routines and his guest spots on Late night talkies are beyond annoying. I don't see how Letterman, Leno, etc haven't smacked the crap out of him and told him to shut the hell up. Even when the next guest comes out, he's going at it.
I LOVED Bi-Centennial Man. His roles where he's the villain are so damn good. He takes all that neurotic energy and directs it in a malicious intending to harm way and it so works for him.
Jedimax writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:57:21 PM

ITS NOT NEWS ITS NOT NEWS ITS NOT NEWS!
Punisher writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 1:18:04 AM

Robin Williams The only thing I see you in anymore is Mrs. Doubtfire on cable re-runs.

And Jay wake up you'll never be ribin and you sure as hell won't be the Punisher not in twenty years or a hundred so have fun with your romantic comedies.
darkraven28 writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 9:37:51 PM

Hire Robin Williams NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!! He already did a Nolan film before! Insomnia was ACE!
LastActionHero writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:25:19 PM

Oh great a villian with the non stop rambling that Williams calls comedy...sounds like a brilliant idea.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved