WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Jackson to Direct "The Hobbit" Prequels!

Posted: June 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Jackson to Direct "The Hobbit" Prequels!Submit Comment
After Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) stepped down from directing "The Hobbit" prequels, that left "LOTR" director Peter Jackson with the difficult task of finding his replacement. Many were considered, including Jackson's protege Neill Blomkamp (District 9), but Jackson didn't feel that was the way to go.

Now comes news from THR and Deadline that Jackson has decided to take on the job himself. The helmer is currently in negotiations, with everyone trying to agree on a schedule in order to fast-track the films for a 2012 and 2013 releases.

The script for the first film is already complete, and del Toro will stay on as a writer to finish the script for the second installment. All the other details will be worked out within the next few days.

If Jackson signs on to direct, casting will be the next big step. "Harry Potter" star Daniel Radcliffe is already taking himself out of the competition. "I wouldn't like to get involved with another franchise at all," he said, adding: "I don't think I would be asked to play Bilbo."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: THR, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:11:46 PM

GET IN! hope this happens!
sc_kg writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:19:07 PM

Very good.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:22:07 PM

I ALREADY f*ckIN' PREDICTED THIS, WORST PREVIEWS.
hunter207 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:48:08 PM

Hallemotherf*ckinglujah great news
RedAutumn writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:37:07 PM

without Peter Jackson there will be no Hobbit movie. thank god he's still part of the crew
OneTime writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 9:06:47 PM

good...
Sly writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 9:08:29 PM

Yes! i am so happy to hear this the hobbit would have sucked without Peter Jackson
zombie345trioxin writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 9:41:50 PM

am i the only one who finds a problem with this.
del toro screwed this poor man over, now jackson has to put everything else on hold to finish this crap. f*cking annoying. i feel bad for jackson. im sure he wanted other projects.
del toro is a d*ck hole.
SofaKing writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 9:47:53 PM

Guillermo woulda been better...
DeVries writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 10:09:35 PM

Best news of the week for sure.
velocityknown writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:14:38 PM

Censored again? Whaaaaaaaat?

Alex,

I was civil when talking about my dislike for Dustin Putman at first, a lot of us were, we offered our reasons for why we thought he was a bad critic, and they were all pretty valid. But apparently we're not allowed to offer opinions, no matter how valid or civil, if they offend you in some way because you just turn on your censor button. Well now, you've turned me into an uncivil person on this topic, I am f*cking pissed that you stand by this hack critic without offering a reason.

You blocked an account just because they were saying stuff you didn't like. It wouldn't be so bad if you just didn't censor, if you really believed in your critic you would either comment on why you do so much, or just not do anything. But no, you take it in the opposite direction of where our respect for this site lies and started censoring people.

What is the purpose of this site? Is it to keep us informed on movie news, provide us with comments sections to interact on, or this site just for you? Because your censorship makes it seem like you run this site just so you can indulge in your own articles and trivia games.

"Let our WorstPreviews staff, comprised of critics and researchers, be your primary source of information on films you should avoid and films you shouldn’t miss."

That is from your own About Us section. No one wants to let you guys be our primary source of information if you don't listen to our feedback. Because according to ONE of your critics we should avoid Iron Man 2 and go see Sex and the City 2 or Grown Ups. We should skip Shutter Island and go see the 72 minute Jonah Hex.

Decide what this site is for, edit your About Us, and then get back to us when you make your decision.
CCBlev writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:19:29 PM

This is good.
otis writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:30:49 PM

E. All of the above
encoreyourface writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:41:57 PM

yes!
manichispanic writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:21:48 AM

i'm feeling better now. it's not official yet, so i won't get my hopes up. i still wish del Toro was still directing.
Matiax writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:46:50 AM

f*ck Radcliffe! Who the hell asked you?

Go Jackson.
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:37:43 AM

Good News !!

J.A.Ottley writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:37:11 AM

This is in inaccurate...

Peter Jackson is IN NEGOTIATIONS to direct, not officially confirmed to DIRECT...
According to sources close to him, in other articles, his negotiations are stating he wanting to stay on as a producer and give the directing job to his protege, NEIL BLOMKAMP.

So its most likely BLOMKAMP directing The Hobbit installments
J.A.Ottley writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:41:45 AM

Also there are articles stating that Neil Blomkamp has offered to direct, and Jackson agree and sorry i'd rather believe Empire & Total Film, since they are interview based.

So it looks like this may be Blomkamp, not Jackson, as the title so poorly implicates
agent_black writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:14:38 AM

I really would have loved to see what Guillermo Del Toro would have done with the LOTR world, alas it's not to be.

However, Peter Jackson is the next best thing. Let's hope this pans out.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:32:58 AM

Seems like I've missed some stuff in my absence. Who got deleted and why?

On topic: It was always meant to be this way
jdl107 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:49:37 AM

Well duh, it wouldn't have worked otherwise
cokecan writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:48:09 AM

Awesome! Keeping it consistent with the LOTR trilogy.
Preditorian writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:08:21 PM

Now I have something to truly look forward to :)
Wallace writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 7:38:01 AM

You just made my day!
Mudders writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 4:04:31 AM

regardless wether this turns out to be blomkamp or jackson directing i feel it will be a step in the right direction.
maybe this was the plan all along...hold back production on the hobbit so del toro has enough and suprisingly find that blomkamp or jackson is avaliable...GOLD.
god its good to be a new zealander!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved