WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ray Bradbury's "The Martian Chronicles" Coming to the Big Screen

Posted: June 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ray BradburySubmit Comment
Producer John Davis (Alien vs Predator, I Robot) has acquired the film rights to the Ray Bradbury (Fahrenheit 451, The Illustrated Man) classic "The Martian Chronicles."

In the 1950 short-story collection, humans land on Mars after a cataclysmic disaster and interact/clash with the natives in a series of interlinked adventures. The stories were set in the distant future - in 2000 and 2005. So the years will have to be moved up.

Bradbury's "The Martian Chronicles" has made it to the screen before, in a 1980 television miniseries that starred Rock Hudson and Bernadette Peters. Davis believes that now is the right time to bring the stories to the big screen, due to advances in technology, which obviously means lots of special effects and the use of 3D.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SofaKing writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 6:23:05 AM

Its hilarious that people in the 50's thought we would be whipping around in flying cars with laser guns and exploring the galaxy...

Well we are but not like they envisioned. 2030, thats when the technology explosion will really happen.
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 6:52:54 AM

@Sofaking - Although when 2030 comes and nothing has changed, people will laugh at us for imagining cool new things lol
super_suck writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:04:21 AM

I would love to see a modern version of The Third Expedition/ Mars Is Heaven. They would have to do that story!
Detrimental writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 10:07:01 AM

WTF ever happened to the Marvin the Martian Movie?????????????
rabid writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:11:31 AM

This is great news.
Now I want to see that remake of The Illustrated Man! get on that sh*t Hollywizz!
Nekros22 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:07:54 PM

Oh Jesus, here we go. $5 on someone doing a "Foundation" movie next.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:30:51 PM

@sofa king, you really need to check out the book "the next 100 years," I just finished it and it blew my mind. It was written in 2009 by the CEO of STRATFOR which Is one of the leading private intelligence firms. The writer is a genius, I would love to blaze with him and explore that dudes brain
SofaKing writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 2:03:48 PM

@JerryGarcia

I might have to check that out..

If you are interested in more of that type stuff check out 'The Singularity Is Near' by Ray Kurzweil. He's also a genius. Thats where I got the 2030 number sctually.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:11:33 PM

After how pissed off Ray was on the adaptation of his story SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES ... don't be f*ckin' surprised when he gets majorly pissed off on this.
vaodsi writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:13:33 AM

actually,, ray bradbury didn't believe anything was plausible about martian chronicles, stating that it is NOT sci-fi but fantasy since, "nobody could breathe on mars!"
Bradbury is freaking the BOMB and I hope they do this awesome book justice..... (they won't)
Tyrkae writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:35:55 AM

@ Max Rockatansky Junior -What about Richard Matheson's The box if i was him i would have shot myself after seein what they did to my story
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:19:31 AM

Yeah that guy also talks about 2030, he explains what he thinks what our world will be like over the next 100 years basing his assumptions off previous history. I'll definitely have to check out that book you mentioned too, I love that kind of stuff
rabid writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:53:38 PM

look at how they've treated Matheson's I Am Legend. 4 attempts and they've never filmed it right. It did spawn the first real zombie film, but they never get around to explaining the title the way the last page of the book does.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 9:17:15 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved