WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Are Audiences Too Dumb to Understand "Inception"?

Posted: June 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Are Audiences Too Dumb to Understand "Inception"?Submit Comment
Peter Travers of Rolling Stones magazine got to see Christopher Nolan's "Inception" movie early. Unfortunately, the latest issue won't go on sale till tomorrow, but NY Post got their hands on the first paragraph. Read it below:

"'Inception' will be called many things, starting with James Bond Meets 'The Matrix.' You can feel the vibe of Ridley Scott's 'Blade Runner' in it, and Nolan's own 'Memento' and 'The Dark Knight.' But 'Inception' glows with a blue-flame intensity all its own. Nolan creates a dream world that he wants us to fill with our own secrets. I can't think of a better goal for any filmmaker. Of course, trusting the intelligence of the audience can cost Nolan at the box office. We're so used to being treated like idiots. How to cope with a grand-scale epic, shot in six countries at a reported cost of $160 million, that turns your head around six ways from Sunday? Dive in and drive yourself crazy, that's how."

Anyone how has seen Nolan's "Memento" knows that the film requires a bit of thinking in order to figure out what happened. Many people who understood it, loved it, the others hated it. So, will this be the case with "Inception"? Probably, but this time the studio is betting $160 million that audiences will love it.

Click here to read more about "Inception."

Source: Chud, NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
JoeCanton22 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:00:06 PM

Honestly, I feel that Inception won't return money and audiences will fail to understand the film. Me personally, I love Nolan's work other than Batman, for example The Prestige. Inception is a perfect concept for him, and DiCrapio doesn't look to bad in the film either. I love smart almost noir-like films.
OneTime writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:00:50 PM

im not dumb..i cant wait to enjoy it
nzfilmmaker writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:14:44 PM

I'm actually craving a mainstream, high-budget, (and most importantly) GOOD, movie that challenges me and makes me think. I think Inception is going to fill that void.

There is no way this movie won't make its money back. With the credit 'From the Director of The Dark Knight' on the trailer, and Leo starring its a guaranteed thing.
pugi27 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:16:03 PM

well, there were enough people who couldn't comprehend the trailer...
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:20:12 PM

nz is right, attaching nolan's name and leo as the lead is enough to make its money back i bet. i can't wait to see this, there are so many bullsh*t movies nowadays that don't even TRY to be original, hopefully inception is our diamond in the rough.
Preditorian writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:23:28 PM

"We're so used to being treated like idiots."

Ain't that the damn truth...




MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:29:06 PM

Yeah, the "from the director of the Dark Knight" line will probably demand a lot of people's attention, so its not going to bomb. Also, the only way to 'enlighten' a dumb audience is to make more demands of them. Smart people will be making enough noise about this to drown out haters anyways.
karmasuitsya writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:43:34 PM

I cannot wait to get a go at this film. I predict it being less of a head-trip than Memento but an intense ride nonetheless.

However, didn't Nolan only secure funding for this film by agreeing to direct the final Batman? I don't think the studios are banking on a big return.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:51:23 PM

Why not ? We're dumb enough to think that UstinDay UtnamPay could critique a movie based on the strength or weakness of the movie, rather than being lame.

American audiences, most of the time, don't care for challenging or art-style movies all the time. American directors don't care to challenge the status quo or work outside of the box and act creatively, some of the time. And film producers ? They just want to pay the car payments, the house payments and finish the pool in the back. They don't make as many challenges as they did, say, even TEN years ago with as they did with BEING JOHN MALKOVICH, FIGHT CLUB, MATRIX or MOMENTO.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:54:49 PM

STILL LOOKING FORWARD TO IT
encoreyourface writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:57:46 PM

i haven't seen it yet so i can't judge.
nope.com writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:58:19 PM

those who enjoyed (by which I mean brain dead c*nts) Transformers 2 should maybe stay home
CCBlev writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 10:19:12 PM

Peter Travers I got a real story for you. Instead of wondering if we're smart enough to understand Inception, try doing a story about is Hollywood ever gonna be smart enough to realize and understand what us, the paying public wants to see, instead of all this sh*t they keep churning out!!
Sinestro writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 10:21:25 PM

I think Inception is big enough and loud enough (if the trailers are anything to go by) to satisfy the mainstream crowd even if they are as dumb as movie critics and the internet erudite brigade say they are.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 10:29:59 PM

Movie looks awesome. It seems pretty simple as well: There's a team that steals from dreams this time though they have to plant something in a dream. And God forbid, people think while being entertained.
lost_addict writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 10:51:43 PM

what is inception?brain no work...
velocityknown writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:07:19 PM

The trailers are so awesome and mysterious, it opens against literally nothing, I see it doing very well at the box office, and now that I've read this review I expect it to be nothing short of awesome and to gain a lot of word of mouth buzz.

I am anticipating this movie more than I have anticipated movie in quite a while.
Detrimental writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:08:13 PM

At the end, we'll see Christian Bale wake up as Bruce Wayne. It'll be written off as Batman's casual dreams.
manichispanic writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:32:12 PM

i'm gonna watch it! i can't wait
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:33:46 AM

Iz Oh-k, eye cahn fgur dis movae oht!

Cos, wit iz ah mezur ov entelighence!


Does some c*nt named 'Chud' at the NY Post figure we're all as simple as he since his dad/uncle/brother backed over his square head with the turnip truck?!

f*ck off!
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:35:34 AM

This year:

'Inception.'

'The Expendables.'

(any others I'm missing?).

End of line.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:37:15 AM

OK... before I get bashed on the CHUD thing... I KNOW it's a movie site. So blow me!

@Max - always priceless... LOL!
secondbest writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:39:33 AM

Audiences are usually too dumb to understand anything, hence why movies like Transformers 2 went to #1 in the box office.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:41:04 AM

Good point.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:07:04 AM

Ranger and Lost-nice.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:10:25 AM

eim knot 2 dum too ght dis!

How about Hollywood is too dumb to make intelligent movies that push their own mental boundaries beyond cigarette breaks?!
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:27:55 AM

still waiting
masht7 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:31:44 AM

Personlly, I enjoy movies that f*ck with your brain, it is fun and makes no sense until you watch for a second time. It does treat like an idiot but the beauty of it. I'm just hopeing 'Inception' will f*ck with my brain.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:44:52 AM

Probably. Look at all the crappy movies that make tons of money off of the idiot's dollar. Smart movies dont make bank, but ill be first in line!
trailertrash writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 2:24:29 AM

I'm looking forward to this football film Inception

Post_Man_87 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 3:55:03 AM

Wrong. The studio doesn't get a f*ck. They're only concerned with Nolan staying with WB to make another Batman flick. Simple math.
ian_918 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 4:02:07 AM

Yeah the ignorance in this country is amazing. So with that said, A good amount of people will not understand this movie. But, Those of us that will, will probably have a rockin' time. Cant wait!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 4:11:39 AM

Opening week will be huge. Nolan's name alone will make that happen. After that its all depends on how good the movie really is. Because even if you are smart enough to understand the movie, you can still think it's bad. Nolan has a good track-record, but sooner or later he will make a dud and it might just be Inception. I think and hope that that will not be the case, but still...
Peter Parker writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 5:11:07 AM

Nonsense!!!

Audiences in general are actually too intelligent and they get bored with the simplicity of supposed intricate, complex movies.

And that's why they flock like sheep to watch movies with fantastic scripts like "Avatar" and the "Twilight" series...

OK, without sarcasm now:

"Are Audiences Too Dumb to Understand 'Inception'?"

- Are priests f*cking young boys?
- Is COC a retarded homosexual?
- Did Michael Jackson die a year ago? And did his career benefit from his death?
- Would Michael Jackson have made a terrific Catholic priest?

There, I'm done.

Crazyhorse writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:34:18 AM

He got the idea from my movie

Dont you people remember when my crew went over the falls to come get me. I was in a DREAM world playing with the crab and dragging the Pearl. We made it back when we flipped the Pearl over. Come on Nolan.

Back to work and swab the deck
SACdaddy writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:42:32 AM

I hope this isn't the beginning of the excuses if this film doesn't reach audiences. I don't know of anyone who hated or didn't understand Momento, but that film was sold to a more mature audience with a R rating. Sure, if they insist on pitching a heavily-layered mindbending thriller to a bunch of Twatlight-Avaturds, it might be over a few of their painted blue heads. But isn't that what the million dollar visuals are for, to distract the narratively impaired and give them something shiny to play with? I just hope Inception doesn't turn out like Shutter Island, a film that criminally underestimated the audience's intelligence and tried to hide its own narrative shortcomings with flamboyant visuals effects.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 10:02:38 AM

The one movie that I am dying to see. BRING IT!
rabid writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:21:03 AM

Probably so.
There were people who didn't understand Avatar.I know people that still haven't figured out Shutter Island. Idiocy abounds.
Nekros22 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:10:09 PM

I like movies that make you think. I hate movies that try to introduce plot twists and surrealism for the hell of it. *cough* Shyamalan *cough*
Salvador writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:12:42 PM

Can't wait! :)
Nekros22 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:13:33 PM

@rabid
The only thing I didn't get about Shutter Island was why DiCaprio had to talk in that f*cking annoying New York accent. It was painful. Good movie in all respects, though.
ChainsawX writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:06:07 PM

I love how people bitch about hollywood dumbing down things, well if people didnt pay to see sh*t hollywood wouldnt make it. The new karate kid for example is cleaning up at the box office I wonder how many people who are bitching about remakes went and saw that...there is an audience for remakes and such and untill hollywood has a few flops they will continue to churn out what people are willing to pay for. Plenty of people still bitching that they didnt "get" the matrix reloaded out there...
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:14:48 PM

eye dednt goe c car-a-tea kidh!
Inception writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 3:35:53 PM

I get that a lot.
Inception writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 3:36:31 PM

"Are Audiences Too Dumb to Understand "Inception"?"

Again, I get that a lot.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 3:37:24 PM

I doubt you do Inception.

You're one of the few that know 'a lot' is two words.
Inception writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 5:29:05 PM

@ Ranger: lol, good one.
Farradin writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 5:52:30 PM

I think this film will make back it's money (internationally) and go unto cult status, but I doubt it will be seen as a hit.

Can't wait though I've had enough of the constant hand holding of many mainstream modern films. Once you become aware of it such film become almost unwatchable.
reach110 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 6:55:38 PM

This movie looks mind-bendingly, d*ck-growingly, earth-shatteringly incredible. After seeing Shutter Island, I have tremendous faith in DiCaprio's skill as an actor. And while I alone hope to see it enough to make its money back on just my tickets, it's not hard to see a lot of people bitching about it because "They didn't get it" or "it was too weird." Sad truth about a lot of people: they're DUMB.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 7:13:09 PM

If this is an artefact to make us go and watch it, at least for me is unneccesary. I'll go check it anyway.
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:05:48 AM

@Ranger-hell yeah Inception and The Expendables are the only two must watch movies of the summer,watch Inception to raise my brain IQ then destroy my brain with Stallone's action packed Testosterone bloodbath.
agent_black writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:37:37 AM

Good article, good point.

It seems that using a little intelligence/doing things differently tends to loose people, who in my experience don't go to the cinema to think, they just want to be entertained... there's nothing wrong with that, but as The Dark Knight and The Prestige proved you can have both.

Can't wait for Inception.
KoJay90 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:16:21 AM

Hey its better to be dumb than being too smart when watching a movie.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:13:14 PM

@DustinPutmanSucksd*ck - my thought exactly!
Aaron writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:26:41 PM

Yeah, mind bending sci-fi flicks have a tendancy to bomb.. what was that one.. few years back?.. oh.. the matrix.
johnthemon writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:21:36 PM

I certainly hope audiences are too dumb. Everything these days is made for idiots, about time we got something that doesn't pander.
Wallace writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 7:50:37 AM

"Anyone how has seen Nolan's "Memento""

good one, WP.
KoJay90 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:13:12 AM

I reckon WP will be too dumb to understand it. Clearly their writing staff aren't too bright with their stupid articles

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved