WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Studio Reconsidering "Mission: Impossible 4"

Posted: June 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Studio Reconsidering "Mission: Impossible 4"Submit Comment
Deadline is reporting that writers Josh Applebaum and Andrew Nemec have just turned in the script for the fourth "Mission: Impossible" movie, which has Tom Cruise signed on to star and Brad Bird (Ratatouille, The Incredibles) to direct.

While everything seems to be going well, Paramount Pictures is worried that Cruise is not the box office king that he once was. The studio is even considering killing "Mission: Impossible 4" if the actor's "Knight and Day" movie doesn't turn in respectable numbers.

If "Knight and Day" bombs, it's likely that Paramount will still proceed with "MI4" and won't even lower the budget. Instead, the studio is talking about beefing up the subplot that will introduce a new and younger agent who becomes Ethan Hunt's protege. This way, the success of the film could rest on the shoulders of two actors, rather than just Cruise's.

At this point, everyone is waiting to see how "Knight and Day" performs to figure out what to do with "MI4."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 5:37:48 AM

it is wrong for a cartoon directer to direct live action, but i dont really care for this
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 6:08:21 AM

What a stupid story :

Headline:

Studio Reconsidering "Mission: Impossible 4"

Then it says

The studio is even considering killing "Mission: Impossible 4 if the actor's "Knight and Day" movie doesn't turn in respectable numbers.


Then

If "Knight and Day" bombs, it's likely that Paramount will still proceed with "MI4" and won't even lower the budget. Instead, the studio is talking about beefing up the subplot that will introduce a new and younger agent who becomes Ethan Hunt's protege.

????????????

So it will go head what ever happens with Knight and Day then !!







eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 6:38:00 AM

Update:

"Mission: Impossible 4" will now be titled "Mission: Impossible 5" and will be a reboot of the original "Mission: Impossible 4". It will star Tom Cruise as a younger version of Ethan Hunt's twin brother...out for revenge! From the beginning!!! In 3D!!! Hanna Barbera is set to direct from a script by Madonna. JJ Abrams could not be reached for comment due to suicide brought on by fans asking too many questions about "Lost" and "1979".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:07:44 AM

"Good Morning Mr. Hunt. Your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to threaten the Paramount executives with compromising photographs of them sexually molesting underage Thai prostitutes anally till the prostitutes were bleeding profusely rectally, all the while shooting up heroin and snorting crystal meth, as they holed up for the weekend in that cheap, roach infested motel a few miles from John Wayne International Airport. This will inevitably 'convince' them to start production IMMEDIATELY on Mission: Impossible Four. As always, should you or any of your IM force be caught or killed, the Secretary will disavow any knowledge of your actions. This tape will self-destruct in five seconds. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:10:10 AM

@jigsaw23

We've had music-video directors who have directed major blockbuster movies that knocked them out of the park (ex : David Fincher and Se7en) money-wise.

Brad has rarely had any movie not do well.

I say give him a shot.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:16:56 AM

Come on this is not James Bond, if Cruise is out then name it "This Mission Sucks", send it straight to the Oxygen channel because I wont watch.

Im about to stick a cannon ball up holy woods buttocks with all this changing the actors crap with some of these good movies.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:34:30 AM

Well, I went to see Knight and Day yesterday and the theater was pretty full. And it was a Wednesday at 2:00 in the afternoon! Not at night. If that is any indication then I think Knight and Day is gonna do just fine at the boxoffice.
CCBlev writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:09:58 AM

Trailer-Exatcly thats what I was thinking.

Max-lol thats awesome, and don't forget the molesting of lil dutch boys and african tribal boys as well.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:19:11 AM

I heard Knight and Day (unfortunately) has massive bomb potential.

--------SPOILER ALERT--------------------

I've heard that its basically a Bond movie but told from the point of view of the Bond girl. Great action sequences are supposedly cut off in midswing when Diaz's character gets knocked unconscious, which apparently happens quite often in the film. My friend said it had great potential at times but ended up being a huge c*cktease and very annoying. My expectations were never very high for this film anyway, but I did want Cruise to silence the critics and make a comeback. If the film turns out like this, the wolves will eat him alive, again.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:39:35 AM

Paramount fired Cruise because the President's wife didn't think Tom was 'sexy' anymore. I'm sure there was more to it (Tom wouldn't poke her bitchy ass my money is on). All this after he made that studio billions. Oh, they also blamed the $ take on M.I.3 - which if memory serves was 'respectable' (not huge - not worth canning him over).

So Paramount... suck it! You along with Sony (that seems to f*ck up most of what you touch - like child molesters, I guess?).
gorgoroth writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:04:30 PM

not really a fan i thought enough was said with the first one which sucked, wait scratch that it wasn't the movies falt it was tom "sh*tbag" cruise. the only thing cool about that movie was the theme song. i believe one day he will end up in some looney bin jumping on couches and screaming SHOW ME THE MONEY!!! anyways F*** tom cruise. did i mention i really don't like tom cruise.
lost_addict writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:05:49 PM

They can just make it with cruise and some sidekick actor that will make the box office bigger like robert pattinson or some other fag
Man in Black writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:21:07 PM

really cause i thought he was retired after the third MI film ( in the film i mean )
Bunny X writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 2:20:41 PM

If it wasn't for "From Paris, With Love" I would have liked to see Jonathan Rhys Meyers take this over or be the "protege".

Just make the film anyway, Knight and Day will tank regardless of Cruise and Diaz popping up all over the place plugging it. The should have made MI4 instead of Knight and Day.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 2:52:07 PM

RE: Tom outside the bullet train in MI.

I've stuck my hand (only) outside a sunroof of a car going only 120mph (yes... it was an experiment), and that almost broke my hand. So the drag of a human body of a train going a lot faster than that... yeah, not gonna happen. And let's not even go down the path of the helicopter following the train into the tunnel... or the big enough visual on the guy's laptop to show the whole train he was blocking a signal... ugh!

The red light, green light gum, ok sure (we all got a pack of that first day in Spy School)... but the rest is pretty much BS.

(now... where did I put that gum?!)...
darthraige writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 3:50:27 PM

"If 'Knight and Day' Bombs" .... It's a given. It will bomb.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:05:39 PM

@Bunny: I'm with you on the Tudors guy.

BTW, just saw The A-team and was completely blown away! Not only did it exceed my expectations but its easily one of the best films I've seen this year. Its also the best 80s TV show reboot ever made. What a great reimagining of the source material! And I wasn't the only on in the theater who was impressed. I'm talking applause thoughout the film, especially at the end, from a 60% full theater on a Thursday! This film still has legs, and I'm gonna do my best spread the word of mouth that might save a sequel if we're so lucky. This could be a great franchise in the making if it can just make its budget back.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:05:49 PM

That 'break' from the biz (imposed by Paramount), has undoubtedly hurt Tom's career. He may be facing the fact his best days are behind him.

Michael J. Fox and Dudley Moore also took 'a break' from the biz, never to recover.

Unlike elephants... people do forget who you are.
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:31:25 PM

ranger-

Your right Paramount are a joke. Cruise's and Paramount together have made just under $3 billion at the W/W box office and only really Days of thunder would you say was a little disappointing.

I'm Not even counting the vhs,dvd,blu ray sales bet thats another $3-5 billion easy.

Nice to see they are still showing him some sort of loyalty after all these years (not).

Working with a crazy Tom Cruise (oprah/sofa) has got to be better than making sh*t like Drillbit Taylor, Love Guru and Shooter any day of the week.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:35:28 PM

@trailer - good post, facts and figures.

Were I Paramount, and Tom was getting 'eccentric'... considering the $'s he's made them... short of publicly raping a child, I couldn't care less what piece of furniture he jumped on. I'd turn a blind eye and rake in the cash.

Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:38:44 PM

Firing Tom has cost him his career (he's not putting out movies in the volume he used to), and it hurt Paramount.

It was a lose-lose decision. And I called it that way back when.
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:48:34 PM

dam right my friend, Who's bright idea was it sack Tom Cruise anyway !!

Did the Paramount exces get together and have a brain cell wave and they think it's damage limitations here, he's jumped on a sofa and said he loved someone , quick sack him !!

and get me Owen Wilson on the phone i've got a great idea for a movie !!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:51:08 PM

just seen that knight and day wednesdays take is $3.8 mil doesn't look to good for this movie !!
Detrimental writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 5:09:28 PM

@eViL.kEv2 - LMAO. Don't worry. I noticed your spiel. It was funny lol.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 6:31:29 PM

eViL is always a riot!
JoeCanton22 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 10:55:30 PM

Of course Knight&Day wont return a huge number during the weekend, obviously Toy Story 3 will stay at number one for another week. The worst Knight & Day can do is 3rd place, behind Grown Ups, the best place is 2nd place. I dont think this will be another Jonah Hex.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:00:09 AM

The only way Jonah Hexed could have looked better were if Eddie Murphy came out with a sequel to 'The Adventures of Pluto Nash' same opening weekend.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 1:46:05 AM

Knight and day actually looks kinda good i think.
JoeCanton22 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 11:48:22 PM

@ranger If that ever happens, I think id actually live in the mountains of the Alps for 20 years just to make sure im gone for the riots in the street protesting Eddie Murphy.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved