WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Prince of Persia" is Highest-Grossing Video Game Movie

Posted: June 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Prince of Persia" is Highest-Grossing Video Game MovieSubmit Comment
Even though "Prince of Persia" cost $200 million and only brought in $82 million domestically after four weeks of release, the movie has already become the highest grossing video game film of all time thanks to international ticket sales.

"Prince of Persia" has currently earned over $295 million worldwide, which is higher than the $274 million brought in by "Tomb Raider," which was the previous record-holder with $274 million.

To compare, the highest-grossing "Resident Evil" movie was the third one with only $147 million. "Mortal Kombat" took in $122 million. "Hitman" grossed $99 million.

Clearly this is an astounding feat for "Prince of Persia," but this also shows how little video game movies make, compared to ones based on comic book characters.

Click here to read our "Prince of Persia" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:19:14 PM

surprising considering the flop in the states

well played Disney
CCBlev writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:22:25 PM

It is weird how certain movies like this does better overseas than it does domesticaly.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:24:12 PM

CC-yeah well that should tell about peoples taste! oh! burn!
lokopr writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:25:13 PM

mmm jonah hex bombed making only 5 million in the opening weekend so not all the comic book based movies make a lot of money...
CCBlev writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:40:51 PM

Encore Damn lol
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 10:08:22 PM

I still think Silent Hill is the best movie based on a game.
lost_addict writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 10:52:09 PM

i guess people abroad liked the British accent
Ari Gold writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:00:29 PM

@encore & CCBlev
LOL! Mate if I've read this right, it says "$295 million worldwide". Worldwide, would include America's $200 million. Sooo, it only made $95million outside of the US.

oh burn?
Derp88 writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:10:06 PM

Ari Gold writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:00:29 PM
@encore & CCBlev
LOL! Mate if I've read this right, it says "$295 million worldwide". Worldwide, would include America's $200 million. Sooo, it only made $95million outside of the US.

oh burn?




You're a retard


200 million was the production budget

Thus far POP has earned

82 million in North America
213 million in international markets
Ari Gold writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:11:34 PM

Haha! f*ck me..
koul writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:20:43 PM

this movie may be the highest grossing video game adaptation but it still sucked so much. i hated the movie
BondMcClane007 writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:57:22 PM

i thought video game movies grossed more than that for some reason..
P.S. = Prince of Persia sucked all kinds of testicles and the meat swords extending from them..
scarface85 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 12:24:53 AM

i loved this movie, soo much ive seen it 3 times already
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:27:32 AM

i admit it i liked it alot but most of it goes towards gemma who shouldve been the one to replace megan fox..... so if wouldve been waay better if it wasnt disney since it just felt like a disney movie
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:35:09 AM

That's supposed to count as a victory.

Hell. I still admire Bruckheimer.
darkknight1985 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:50:04 AM

The response of American audiences surprises me. Two of the movies that I was waiting to see this summer, The A Team and Prince of Persia(I'm a video game fan, Sue me) have a rating of 7.5 and 6.9 at IMDB didn't perform well at the box office.
In contrast to this The karate kid which has a 5.6 rating is doing quite well.
Its like more Americans are going to see something bad. True that KK was a kids movie and families go together to watch it but A Team n POP were both PG-13 and should have gotten a better outcome.

Is this a problem in the way that these two were marketed? Or is it something else?
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 2:53:52 AM

CC/encore- Us brits only account for $10.8 mil of $200 mil rest of the world take on this movie !!

please dont hold that against us ! lol
FBO writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 3:25:52 AM

DERP my stepson, you've c*m out to play! @DK1985 - I haven't seen POP and probably never will cuz it looks like a horrible movie. I really liked the a-team thou.
darkknight1985 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 3:46:23 AM

@FBO - I watched it n liked it. It was nothing special but it wasn't as bad as the utter crap that Doom and Alone in the dark was. It was just a fun summer flick.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:43:20 AM

mmmm just think how much it would have made if it had actually been a good movie! lol
SofaKing writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 5:27:17 AM

They need to stop making video game movies or change the way they are making them because it is embarassing to the game companies. Prince of Persia (the crappy one in 2008 mind you) sold 2.2 million worldwide at $60 a pop. I just wish these movies added a little something to the formula instead of the opposite.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 8:49:36 AM

"Prince of Persia" is Highest-Grossing Video Game Movie ... until Call Of Duty or Grand Theft Auto - The Movie are made.

What about the f*cking disclaimers, WP ?


f*ck!



Oh. And F* WP.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:21:24 AM

Personally I will have to say I did like watching this movie. I dont think I would have enjoyed it as much without Princess Tamina in it though.

With Princess Tamina B
Without Princess Tamina D-
BREALZ writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 12:13:07 PM

I can't believe this beat out "Mario Bros", it had Bob Hoskins!!
Man in Black writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:31:28 PM

so dont make the sh*tty ones ... get it !
johnthemon writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 3:35:30 PM

in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king.
shayhiri writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 8:48:08 PM

Simple.

If Persia was about fat contemporary westerners, the Americans would be able to relate and it would have 200m. in NA alone.

But it wasn't. Tough luck.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 6:16:35 AM

Sweet...My nephew and me must be the only ones who loved this movie!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved