WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daniel Day-Lewis to Play Moriarty in "Sherlock Holmes 2"?

Posted: June 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daniel Day-Lewis to Play Moriarty in "Sherlock Holmes 2"?Submit Comment
Ever since the first film, there have been talks of Brad Pitt taking on the role of the villainous Professor Moriarty in the "Sherlock Holmes" sequel. But SHH is now reporting that the role may instead go to Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood).

The site says that if Day-Lewis doesn't take the job, other actors like Sean Penn, Javier Bardem and Gary Oldman, are being considered. No word on whether Pitt is still in the running.

Writers have already confirmed that Moriarty will be the main villain in the sequel, which will begin filming soon for a December 16th, 2011 release date. The first movie grossed over $500 million in theaters.

Source: SHH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bonzaitri writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:18:37 PM

Would be kinda surprised if DDL takes the role, just cause he only seems to be interested in award bait. It's good to see they are interested in getting a talented actor for the role though. Gary Oldman and RDJ in the same film would be amazing. Two of my favorites.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:25:52 PM

if it's anything like the first I'm in.
bale01289 writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:31:48 PM

DDL is the perfect choice for this! Oldman wouldn't be bad either. Its got my money if DDL takes the part.
CCBlev writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:34:27 PM

^ Encore your not only one thinking that. As weird as it sounds I actually would like to Brad Pitt in this, I think it would be interesting.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:38:59 PM

CC-Brad Pitt wouldn't be bad ...
CCBlev writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:44:01 PM

Encore- I think part of it is he really hasnt done much lately, and he can act when needs too.
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 10:05:52 PM

Brad Pitt wouldn't be bad, but if they get DDL that sh*t would be crazy, DDL is a phenomenal actor.
Heretic175 writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 10:51:14 PM

it almost ruins the next movie for me now if DDL doesn't take the role, hopefully he does cause that would be f*cking deadly to see
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:20:24 PM

DDL needs to forget all this garbage and just play the Riddler already!
lost_addict writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:52:22 PM

Isn't he suppose to be in his usual 5 years hibernation after his last gig?
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 12:53:52 AM

DDL or Gary Oldman would be f*ckin gold! if i had to pick between the two though id go with Oldman because hes a great character actor especially when it comes to villians
Rodan writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:29:48 AM

DDL is such a pro. He could get Best Actor for an animated film.
Rodan writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:31:38 AM

@lost_addict, yeah he has to start preparing for a movie that hasn't even been written yet. What a pro.
JohnZee writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:40:12 AM

Brad Pitt would be a great idea. Then we could have several scenes where he and Downey Jr. hug each other with their shirts off. And maybe, just maybe if we are lucky Jude Law sitting in the corner doing a little sausage pulling...

...Now wouldn't that be keen?

DDL is the better choice, Moriarty should have a certain intensity to him, an intensity that DDL has. Pitt is too damned focused on being everyone's friend. To an almost ridiculous degree.

Moriarty doesn't want to be anyone's friend. He wants you to fear him, respect him, and piss your pants as he approaches. But he couldn't give a damn about the whole friendship thing with any human being, because he considers them so damn pathetic overall.

Holmes is the exception, and even then Moriarty just wants to prove that he's superior.

If Pitt has the ability to play that character without looking cartoonish, I've never seen it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 2:59:10 AM

Great choice if it happens DDL will be perfect to play Moriarty ...
avaela writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 6:41:19 AM

omg that DDL would be 10000000000x better than Brad Pitt for the role, hope he takes it
FpJGarcia writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 8:27:40 AM

I couldn't complain with any of these choices! DDL is one of the best out there right now as it is so and if Pitt is still in the run that's great too, he seems like he'd fit in this movie very well. Same goes for Oldman.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 8:47:02 AM

" My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard, Mr. Holmes " ... if they sign him on, it's gonna be awesome.

I still think Michael Sheen would make a very cool, very different Moriarty also.
Aingx writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:19:56 AM

YES!!!!! Best news of the week.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:32:42 AM

Brad Arm Pitt and Georgia Rule Clooney in my opinion are two of the most over rated and hyped actors Ive seen in film.

Sorry I pass on their movies if they are in it.

Rampage Jackson in my opinion did a better job in an action film than those two ever thought of doing.

You think OK Magazine, People Magazine, E, and Entertainment tonight own stock in the two.

I know I will be criticized by everyone on here but I just cant help it please do not put Arm Pitt in this second film.
The-BRAD writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 10:46:59 AM

I'd love to see DDL as Moriarty!

But seeing him in that time period again, I'd be afraid I'd see too much of Butcher Bill. And I might even be disappointed if I don't. I mean Moriarty isn't a foul mouthed outspoken racist, he's supposed to fit in the upper class..
But DDL definitely has the chops for it, I mean he'll drink tha sh*t outta that milkshake! He'll drink it up!!

That being said, Brad Pitt might fit better with that cast of characters.. And that man can definitely act! I also like that Michael Sheen suggestion above. He might end up being the best choice!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:56:30 AM

DDL would be great but I think he's way above this type of film. Whoever they get for the villain, I just hope they kill that strange Bro-mance between Holmes and Watson from the original. That was some gay sh*t and nearly tanked the entire film for me. RDJ should try a little harder not to mumble so much this time around too.
Bunny X writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 12:12:48 PM

I was going to come on here and say that DDL would probably be too intense for the role but I refreshed my memory of the Moriarty character and think he'd be perfect for it.
Moriarty is essentially a controlled hurricaine of a character. He's brilliant, absolute in his resolve, and extremely off. but he understands his nature and manages it to fit his needs and get the results. He's exactly what a nemesis is supposed to be. Equal in everyway but uses his strengths for evil purposes.
DDL would pull this off without a hitch and would bring to life Moriarty the way he truly should be because if anything DDL could pull off playing Holmes in another envisioning of SH.
Monash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 12:24:23 PM

With either Oldman or Pitt we won't be losing
Not a fan of Penn and i haven't seen DDL or Javier Bardem
But from what i hear i won't be disappointed with DDL who suspiciously looks alot like Magnum in the photo
Man in Black writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:53:20 PM

thought they said gary COLEMAN was in the running .....
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:22:22 PM

I was rather bummed when I heard that Brad Pitt seemed to be the #1 contender after "Sherlock Holmes" opened last winter. But if DDL is cast as Moriarty, that would be brilliant casting. He's an amazing actor, and would be the perfect foil to RDJ.

I say that Hollywood needs to pay him whatever he wants to bring his milkshake to Guy Ritchie's yard for the Sherlock Holmes sequel.
akathedirector writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 3:46:39 AM

This would be so much better then Brad Pitt BUT the only person that I think should play Moriarty is Hugh Laurie!! Sign my petition to help make it happen! http://www.petitiononline.com/hl2009/petition.html
Nekros22 writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 12:15:32 PM

But how did he drink that milkshake, Holmes?

Elementary, my dear Watson.
FBO writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:23:25 PM

I was going to come on here and say that Pitt is the perfect fit and no other actor would fit into this series but now I can't stop visualizing Hugh Laurie going up against RDJ. And it would be poetic since Dr House is based on Sherlock Holmes.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 9:20:53 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved