WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Talks "Escape From New York" Remake

Posted: June 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Talks "Escape From New York" RemakeSubmit Comment
Director Breck Eisner (The Crazies) is next planning to remake John Carpenter's "Escape From New York" and ComingSoon caught up with him to get a few details on the story and the status.

"How the prison is created is going to be different than in Carpenter's version," he explained. "The anxiety of the world and anxiety of our existence post-9/11 is there, especially the anxiety in Manhattan post-9/11. Plot-wise, they're different, emotionally they're very similar. That's why it'll be interesting to tackle this movie, to have a slightly different take but with the same results which is Manhattan is turned into a walled prison."

Eisner added that a bit more work needs to be done on the script. "I'm bringing on another writer this week and we will do a pass on the latest draft by Allan Loeb (21, Wall Street 2)," he said. "We'll be doing a significant pass on that."

Click here to read more about "Escape From New York."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:24:58 PM

sounds okay to me.
CCBlev writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 9:46:12 PM

I'll wait till 2013 when the teaser finally comes out to judge and see if its any good.
whoever writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 10:25:28 PM

I hope they get Kurt Russell to play Cabbie!
whoever writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 10:27:10 PM

Actually, Ernest Borgnine is still alive so he could still play Cabbie!
velocityknown writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:14:02 PM

I'm going to continue @Sac's suggestion and say that they should cast Josh Holloway in the lead, perfect fit for the role.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2010 at 11:51:14 PM

He's definitely the guy for the part.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 12:11:08 AM

This movie doesn't need to be re-made (like 20 other re-makes they currently have on the go).

Come up with something completely new you lazy, sad, retarded f*cks of Hollywood!

Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:17:07 AM

@cc well you won't see it cause the world will end December 21 2012, remember?
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 1:33:40 AM

well 21 sucked but was sexy but it still sucked wall street didnt see yet since delays but i have faith with the director.

@velocityknown
i agree 100% with you and SAC.

and ah sh*t yup 2012 ill dig my own grave and buy more condoms
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 2:37:19 AM

I have mixed feelings on this one. Escape from NY is one of my favorite movies and i don't really see the need to remake it , but on the other hand with better effects and a big budget etc etc could be an ok movie.

Be nice to see Carpenter and Russell more involved in this new movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 8:44:41 AM

""How the prison is created is going to be different than in Carpenter's version," he explained. "The anxiety of the world and anxiety of our existence post-9/11 is there, especially the anxiety in Manhattan post-9/11. Plot-wise, they're different, emotionally they're very similar. That's why it'll be interesting to tackle this movie, to have a slightly different take but with the same results which is Manhattan is turned into a walled prison.""

Yaaaaawn. I'm pretty much predicting this will be as lame as The Taking of Pelham with Travolta and Washington. Maybe even moreso. They better get some f*ckin' good CO-STARS to play the President of the United States (if they want to go based on current politics, I would vote Dennis Haysbert as a Obama-like President and Harris Yulin or Rip Torn in the Ernest Borgnine cabbie role. For Snake ? Hell, get Kurt back, after extensive working out. He's got serious acting chops and can shed the pounds like he did for Soldier.), but knowing Hollywood, you'd be cryin' if they announced that balsa-wood expressionist Channing Tatum as Snake. This is a turd in the bowl just waiting to be flushed.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 9:46:03 AM

Dennis Haysbert playing the President? In other words he'll be a zombie David Palmer. Hahaha!

Josh Holloway is an inspired choice for Snake. He definitely looks the part and proved on Lost that he's a hell of an actor.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 11:42:01 AM

@trailer - I guess I'm old school(ish), but hear ya. I'd be up for a HUGE upgrade if they were going to do this at all.

@Max - yep... get Kurt back. He'd even be better now. Older, more angry, bitter - like Eastwood in Unforgiven.
bill the butcher writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 3:03:44 PM

TIMOTHY OLYPHANT is a class actor
the girl next door
go
die hard 4
damages (tv)
stop loss
deadwood (tv)
the safety of objects
he would make a perfect snake mean hard as nails sarcastic charismatic
SACdaddy writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 4:12:12 PM

http://my.spill.com/profiles/blogs/could-timothy-olyphant-be-the

Looks like he might be up for the job. BTW, The Girl Next Door is a highly underrated film!
darkraven28 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 5:46:00 PM

ANOTHER REMAKE? f*ck!
JoeCanton22 writes:
on June 24th, 2010 at 8:13:12 PM

This is one of my favorite films, and nothing will top Carpenter's classic, but it's just a bad idea to remake it, because it's going to loose all the charm of the original. But I have a suspicious feeling that Mark Wahlberg will be Plissken.
Duffman writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 3:10:27 AM

If they don't get Kurt back, my fav actor, then gotta go with Holloway I mean god damn he looks just like snake in that pic minus the eyepatch its scary
irvsteroni writes:
on June 25th, 2010 at 8:40:30 PM

No remake please. Make a new movie with Russell/Plissken. Maybe he gets framed by someone inside Manhattan with a grudge (someone associated with the Duke) and gets sent in as a prisoner along with a few other supporting cast prisoners. So now he not only needs to escape, but find whoever framed him while there. Nothing original but still better than a frigging remake!
JoeCanton22 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:17:21 AM

Yeah, but the Duke and pretty much everyone of his associates died in the first film. Granted, anything would be better than a remake. I think id pay just to see Russell sitting around doing nothing in his house. You can call it Escape from His House. I wouldnt care

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved