WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel to Introduce New Characters in Short Films

Posted: June 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel to Introduce New Characters in Short FilmsSubmit Comment
Pixar has been showing short films in front of their theatrical feature films for years. Disney, apparently, likes that approach and would like to use it with Marvel characters as well.

A while ago, Chud reported that Marvel has been looking to develop movies based on third-tier characters in the range of $20 million to $40 million. But according to LatinoReview, the new plan to introduce these characters is going to be to make 10-minutes shorts that will appear in front of "The Avengers" and "Iron Man 3."

At this point, Marvel is looking to introduce such characters as Black Panther, Luke Cage and Dr. Strange. It's likely that you'll first see the characters in short films, rather than big-budget blockbusters.

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ladsonchats writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 8:50:10 PM

Hmmmm not sure bout this.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 8:51:39 PM

Sounds good. Makes sense. I'm shocked.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 9:02:57 PM

I'm okay with that. do a Moon-Knight one, he needs the publicity.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 9:23:50 PM

The Moon Knight is tits
CCBlev writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 10:03:04 PM

@Encore
good call on Moon Knight.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 10:27:31 PM

I vote either a lesbian porno scene between She Hulk, Spiderwoman and Black Cat (which will NEVER happen, knowing Disney) Orrrrrr

a Bob Hope/Bing Crosby On The Road picture starring Rick Jones (of Hulk fame) and Doc Samson called On The Road To Apocolypse ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 10:29:05 PM

Latino Review = Is that lowrider really low ? How many beans really are on that burrito ? How many kids can we sneak past the ticket taker at the movies ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 10:29:51 PM

^ Goin' to Hell for that one.

Nope. Already there. It's called TEXAS.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:24:52 PM

^ what is wrong with Texas? If you think it's hell then you can leave and no one here In Texas will be sad about it
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:36:21 PM

@Jerry Garcia87

It's a bad joke, I know.

I was joking about the humidity.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:37:17 PM

^ No offense intended, gringo :)
Ari Gold writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:41:59 PM

This is a great idea. Especially because it seems like comic book movies are dominating films over the last few years and it doesn't seem like it will slow down anytime soon.

I'm really only familliar with a few characters because I watched their cartoons on a Saturday morning when I was growing up eg Iron Man & Spiderman, mainly.

Smart move, will definately bring in more dollars in the long run.
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:42:52 PM

This is interesting. I'm seriously geeking out...
Disney/Marvel team-up is turning out nicely in my opinion.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:43:42 PM

How many rednecks does it take to change a lightbulb ?

Just a minute ... gotta find a Wal-Mart near by they can all scramble into a car first to get to.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:44:36 PM

Did ya hear about the Texan so dumb he thought a stool sample was at the furniture store ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:46:01 PM

Why do Texas cowboys carry rifles on gun racks in trucks ?

It's cheaper than a divorce decree.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:46:33 PM

Then there was the Texas who married his sister, so he could ' keep it in the family '.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:47:09 PM

What's the four words a Dallas politician NEVER wants to hear ?

" Back, and to the left. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:49:40 PM

When asked if she wanted to go to a Texas Rangers game, a wife responded, " Well if I wanted to see a team lose, I'd just wait for your dad's weak sperm to shoot out of his d*ck and then just laugh. "
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:50:04 PM

Can we please have a Dr. Strange movie already
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:51:00 PM

How does a Texas Ranger identify illegal immigrants ?

He asks them how many episodes were in " Walker, Texas Ranger ".

The one who gets it right is illegal.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:52:02 PM

@Scott Baiowulf

Absolutely. But no Tom Selleck or David Hasselhoff.
Aaron writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 12:00:25 AM

"Texas: come on vacation, leave on parole."
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 12:08:22 AM

A Texan was asked what PMS was. He replied, " I think it's that beaner rapper who went to prison for rapin' that young girl. But hell, that girl is two years older than my wife. And we bang it every night before she studies for her PSATs. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 12:09:25 AM

Texas = Where the men are men and the steers feel it up the ass from them every night.
bspence writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 12:44:12 AM

Not a 100% sure on this but it could work. definitley need to do black panther and moon knight! that would be straight tits!
dr. strange, vision, penance, and night thrasher would be cool as well.
and of course a spiderwoman shehulk porno. even tho im not sure spiderwoman would survive for the sequel so we'd need to bring in a fresh face. your rite we should cast megan fox... we'd get to see her in porn plus itd be inevitably her last film. ever.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 12:48:49 AM

I like this idea. It'll warm up the audience a bit to characters they're not familiar with... build some interest... it's win-win.
JohnZee writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 12:57:04 AM

Smart move? Not quite sure about that. No I would say that this is another example of Marvel's concentration on keeping budget costs down, a Marvel enforced mandate with their films that has gotten worse since Disney bought them out.

Great way to test fans reaction to possible Marvel movies.

Production costs on any 10 minute clip will be much less then the cost and risk of having an entire movie made that you think the audience wants.

The flaw is that although there are a ton of Marvel characters that you could get an interesting ten minutes out of, that's no indication that you can get over 90 minutes of awesomeness.

Not to mention that I would wager that the guy that writes the script for that 10 minute short that audiences loved the sh*t out of, probably won't be the guy that pens the entire screenplay.

Nope that'll be the guy that hungrily blows Robert Downey Jr. and Jon Favereau enough times to win the "Blow the director and actor from the Iron Man movies" contest...
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 1:21:06 AM

@max ha none taken, it is hot as sh*t thou and full of dirty mexicans(they are great for labor, I get them to mow my giant yard for $10)
johnny_boy writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 2:25:12 AM

^ thank god I live in California. They pay me $15 to mow lawns
encoreyourface writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 2:25:35 AM

i agree with Ranger and Ari, good win-win.

thanks CC.
bspence writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 2:34:44 AM

you know come to think of it this could work. i watched that mortal kombat promo again, even tho baraka and reptile looked horrible i didnt think the rest was all that bad. anyway, if they set them up like that to were it could be a possible scene from a full length film of the character but at the same time spills out the whole plot of whats about to happen for you... i think that would be the best way to test the audiences reaction by seeing how much their penis erects for it.

once more: black panther and moon knight!




add to the list of the characters i mentioned above:

silver surfer (w/o fantastic 4 characters)

namor the submariner

william stryker (explores rest of his creations)

civil war

secret wars

shield

young avengers

the runaways

she-hulk

punisher 3 (they need to do one more i think just so they can use baracuda. idc if they dont bring anyone back from warzone. i think war journal would be better anyway)

i could go on but i mean there really are so many different characters that may not be cool for their own movie but i wouldnt mind seeing in one of these short things. just to see what they can make of it.
bspence writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 2:40:40 AM

i think that these first 2 we see in front of avengers and IM3 will be luke cage and dr. strange.
im up for both but still...black panther and moon knight. come on. those are best bets. once people that arent familiar with comics and the characters in general would watch them and then beg for those 2 movies. id put money down to see them...unless theyre anything like jonah hex or are directed by joe johnston.
Bunny X writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 8:46:22 AM

Personally, I'm not a fan of this idea. These so-called third-tier characters have some pretty good stories. If you're not going to go full length movie on them, don't sell them sort......on a short.
Just go back to the animation pool and tell their stories through the straight to DVD animated flicks.

Ok ok let me back up a bit. I could be ok with this in the sense that it reminds me of a Saturday matinee where you get a short serial before the movie. So if their aim is to bring back the "fun" of going to the movies and trying to generate some interest in these 3rd tier characters then fine.
Who knows, maybe they show a short of Luke Cage and folks start demanding to see a full length movie. In the meantime, I'm fine with the animated movies. Granted they fall FAR short of DC animated movies but they're still good.
FpJGarcia writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 9:38:40 AM

I think it's a good idea! It could bring in new fans for not as well known characters. I think it'll be beneficial!
rabid writes:
on June 22nd, 2010 at 11:37:00 AM

sounds great to me, especially if they did it in a serial format like the old Zorro or Alan Quartermain flicks they used to run before movies.
Lots of characters could work this way.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved