WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Toy Story 3" Sets Pixar Record with $109 Million

Posted: June 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Toy Story 3" Sets Pixar Record with $109 MillionSubmit Comment
"Toy Story 3" took first place in theaters this weekend with $109 million, which is the best-opening weekend for a Pixar movie ever, beating the $70 million that "The Incredibles" earned in 2004.

With 11 number one openings for its 11 movies, Pixar's track record remains unbroken. "That kind of streak is unbeatable," said Disney. "They're the greatest story-tellers around. [Director] Lee Unkrich found a way to take everyone's best friends, Woody and Buzz, and deliver the goods like crazy."

Meanwhile, "Jonah Hex" completely bombed. The PG-13 rated DC Comics adaptation, starring Josh Brolin and Megan Fox, took in just $5.1 million from 2,825 locations. That added up to a dismal eighth place debut.

Even though families were going to see "Toy Story 3," "The Karate Kid" was still able to grab second place in its second week with $29 million, which brought its domestic total to $106 million. The movie cost only $40 million to develop.

"The A-Team" grossed another $13.8 million to take third place. The film has now earned a total of $49 million, but it cost $110 million to make.

Click here to read our "Toy Story 3" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 3:57:19 PM

LMAO at Jonah Hex.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 4:01:37 PM

Can't believe the A-team has not done better. It was a great movie

I understand why Jonah Hex bombed, the previews sucked. I havent seen it, has anyone seen it yet, and was it worth seeing?

Dre-EL writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 4:28:19 PM

Not surprised about toy story but I really thought the A-team would have done much better.
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 4:31:16 PM

ateam was great jonah hex was ok but very short. i hope dvd sales of ateam will greenlight a sequel because it deserves it. plus ateam and jonah hex did bad because toy story 3 and karate kid are the ones ppl and kids are seeing at least 8 times.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 4:31:57 PM

Not surprised at all that Toy Story 3s going to top the box office or that its the highest grossing Pixar flick since its was the most anticipated one to date!! man was it good

That sucks that the A-Team didnt do well, i had high hopes for it...I havent seen it yet, but just because it under performed doesnt mean i wont see it

I havent seen Jonah Hex either but yea they made it look really campy in the previews, i hope its not though. im also interested in how good it is, anyone??
nope.com writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 4:43:00 PM

well deserved

meanwhile... let's give a moment.. ok just a millisecond of silence for Megan Fox's career as she has another bomb on her hands.
John1017 writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 5:21:38 PM

No surprise with Jonah Hex, the second I saw the trailer for that I knew it had BOMB written all over it. I feel sorry for Brolin.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 5:23:23 PM

ROFL GATES SUMMED IT UP HAHAHA
secondbest writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 5:38:48 PM

Let us have a moment of silence for Jonah Hex's movie theater run... good enough. Toy Story's place in the box office is well-deserved. The movie was fantastic.
mattjudge62 writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 5:47:17 PM

this movie was great im a fan of ts her kids loved it im going to be so happy in about 1 hour
TeemSelami writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 6:00:05 PM

got tickets for Toy story this friday I can't wait! bye bye megan see you in 5 yrs in playboy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:10:54 PM

*sniff*

I can smell Megan's porno career coming up right around the corner ....

Ron Jeremy must be stoked ...

The Hedgehog gets to cream Elviretta, Mistress on a Lark.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:11:47 PM

What's next Hollywood ?

The Rawhide Kid in Gay CabalerroVision ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:13:03 PM

@TeemSelami

She'll be lucky to get a guest spot on the inside of American Fetish.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:14:05 PM

Ahhhh c'mon Megan,

Just because it says PissDrinkers doesn't mean they'll exploit you in ANY WAY WHATSOEVER.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:16:43 PM

When they remake Mr Ed : The Movie, Megan can be the horse's official fluffer ...

God knows for her it's gotta be bigger than Michael Bay's ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:17:50 PM

They should've renamed it Jonah's Ex(it) ... or Megan's Ex(it) (of the theater)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:19:26 PM

When they stressed more on Megan's corset than her acting ... woah. That says a MIGHTY f*ckIN' LOT.

It's like stressing on UstinDay's grammar, rather than his critiquing.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:21:46 PM

A movie with a solid plot, flawless CGI and voice actors NOT ONLY beat out films made on location with humans on the screen, but also made 4 TIMES the amount the first weekend than that SAUSAGEFEST Karate Klutz ... that's gotta say something, HOLLYWOOD.

Oh. And F* WP.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:23:11 PM

Jonah Hex .... QUICKLY coming to a $ 1.00 matinee, run-down theater NOWHERE near you ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:25:15 PM

Speaking of hexes ... if I were John Malcovich, I would have my agent buy up alot of insurance. He's been cursed by being in the same steaming horse-pattie as Megan and is headed to Tranformers III : The Last Stand of General "Michael Bay" Custer ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:27:22 PM

If every movie studio took Pixar's mantra of quality over butchering the audience with a thick cleaver of malaise and dumbing down ... wow. PEOPLE WOULD ACTUALLY WANT TO GO TO SOME OF THESE MOVIES AGAIN.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 7:31:16 PM

Hey Megan,

If speedballing on cocaine and driving drunk at three in the morning was good for Lindsey Lohan, Amy Winehouse, Britney Spears and every other washed out piece of corn-laced flotsam floating in the Hollywood sewer, THEN IT'S BLOODY GOOD FOR YOU.

Go turn tricks with some 'double duche' trannies in Compton and don't call us. We'll call you.


Sincerely,



The American Movie Audience.
lost_addict writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 8:14:33 PM

Jonah hex production meeting 6 months ago:

1.bad casting?check
2.dumb plot?check
3.big budget?check
4.stupid release date next to toy story 3?check

right,guys!!!let's make this movie!!!it will be a box office success for sure!
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 8:22:07 PM

Megan probably shouldnt have pissed off Michael Bay and the Transformer gang

Dont ever knock a gift horse in the mouth Megan

I know if I were in her position they could have made 20 more Transformer films and I would have been glad to bank that kind of money and kept my arrogant attitude at "Bay"
velocityknown writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 8:38:26 PM

What the hell did they expect opening next to Toy Story 3?

Maybe they can make another crappy Western and open it next to Batman 3 next year.
OneTime writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 8:38:32 PM

jonah hex bombed...NO sh*t
velocityknown writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 8:39:38 PM

And when are we getting the rumored Dustin Putman explanation?
PeacefulOneX writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 9:30:48 PM

Toy Story 3 deserves its glory at the box office and so does Karate Kid.....(You heard me) Family genre continues to dominate this summer!
CCBlev writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 10:28:46 PM

I'm not surprised Toy Story did that. I know my Unlce and his 7 kids went and seen it today. Hell that alone was almost a $100 in ticket sales.
There was a movie called Jonah Hex???
CCBlev writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 10:30:17 PM

What does it take for an edit button????
Sinestro writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 12:33:53 AM

I've seen worse than Jonah Hex. It was a complete pile of sh*t, no doubt, but the saddest part of it all is that it actually had some potential. Hidden very deep within all the mire, but the potential for a fun (read: not good) movie was there. Brolin wasn't awful, but the movie was just a mess. Oh, well, if the Punisher had two reboots maybe someone will get Jonah Hex right in a decade or two. And as far as the A-Team goes, it was the most fun I had at the movies this year. It's really sad it hasn't done very well. :(
encoreyourface writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 1:15:46 AM

eh, i liked Hex, it wasn't half bad.
masht7 writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 1:19:19 AM

Fingers Crossed 'Beat Avatar' Fingers Crossed.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 1:22:58 AM

So did "The Karate Kid" & "Toy Story 3" put a Hex on "Jonah Hex" ?????

I knw bad joke...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 1:27:13 AM

@mash- I don't think "Jonah Hex" has a chance of beating "Fagaturd"....or are you talkiong about "Toy Story 3" then cool....lol

Havn't seen "Jonah" yet I'm looking forward to it because of how terrible everyone is saying it is...and yep I think it is pretty retarded to open against "Toy Story 3"
masht7 writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 2:04:26 AM

@Dave

As referring to Toy Story 3, I think Jonah Hex is gonna be like the 'The Spirit' of 2010.
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 2:14:04 AM

"Toy Story 3" Sets Pixar Record with $109 Million" --- take that in the ass 'Sex in the City' fans of sequels!!!!

Megan, Megan, Megan... $5.1mil?!
FROM 2825 THEATERS?!?! WTF CHICK?!?!?!
That's just over $1805. per theater... FOR THE WHOLE WEEKEND!!!!
Bwwwahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaaa!!!!!!

That even makes Eddie Murphy bombs look better!

ring... ring... Michael Bay calling... his car is dirty!

Wow... she's done!

Brolin - from American Gangster to Jonah Hexed... OUCH!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 2:53:54 AM

@mash- I knw you ment "Toy Story 3"....so here's hoping..."The Spirit" eh....I think "Jonah Hex" has better acting..but only just.
velocityknown writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 2:56:36 AM

@Ranger

She may even consider blowing Shia to get back on Transformers.

Michael Bay might make her sleep with John Turturro just for sh*ts and giggles haha.

Josh Brolin went from Oscar nod to possible Razzy nod. This might be the only time in his career that his dad can offer him advice because he's a pro in being unsuccessful as an actor.

James is going to teach him how to mooch of Diane Lane like he did off Barbara Streisand. No one takes a nose like James Brolin.
velocityknown writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 3:00:44 AM

And Sex and the City 2 already took it in the ass from the donkey witch known as Sarah Jessica Parker.
trailertrash writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 3:12:32 AM

Brolin will be ok , don't forget he went from Goonies to Thrashin'and he came back from that !!
CCBlev writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 8:34:10 AM

Your right Trailer, Brolin will be ok. So he wants to make a popcorn movie every so often whoopie. He's allowed too.
acreshakers writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 11:19:55 AM

@TEEM LOL ya I can't wait to see Megan in her new career at Playboy!
On a side note A-team was awesome, you just can't sanchwich it between to kid movies Shrek and Toy story!
As far as Toy story is concerned how could this movie NOT be a hit with every snotty nose 5 yr wanting to go see it!
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2010 at 7:12:45 PM

'...her new career at Playboy!' --- yeah, working in the mail room!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved