WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"District 9" Helmer to Direct "The Hobbit"?

Posted: June 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"District 9" Helmer to Direct "The Hobbit"?Submit Comment
TheOneRing website is getting reports from trusted sources that Peter Jackson wants Neill Blomkamp to direct "The Hobbit" prequels now that Guillermo del Toro has stepped down.

The site says that this information has not been verified, but if this is true, it wouldn't be much of a shock. Blomkamp was the man who Jackson wanted to direct "Halo," before Microsoft killed the project. The duo then moved on to "District 9," which Blomkamp directed.

Since Jackson directed the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy, the studio is trying to work out a deal with him to also helm the prequels. The director has previously revealed that he would do it if nobody else comes forward, which could be a reason why he is now pushing for Blomkamp to take the job.

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: TheOneRing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 6:49:21 AM

Captain America casting call all over again
lost_addict writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 7:32:56 AM

what will happen first?roger ebert will die or the hobbit will be made?
CCBlev writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 9:02:54 AM

so will it say Blomkamp directed but he was really puppeted by Jackson?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 9:32:44 AM

It's very possible, and most likely. But that means District 10 will be pushed back...
SACdaddy writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 10:06:55 AM

NOOOOO!!!! Dammit don't waste his talent on this fairy tale crap. Why?

a) I need a D9 follow up sometime within the next 6-7 years.

b) He's proven to have a unique style of his own, one that doesn't require a lot of money or studio influence. Its too early in his career to load him with this large of a project. Plus I was hoping that he could continue with his cheap (but effective) Spartan style of filmmaking and inspire other directors and studios to do the same. $30 mill to make D9 and it looked 10x better than every 3D $200mill sh*t storm thats been released over the last year or so except Avatar (of course that cost $500mill).

c) The Hobbit is nowhere near as entertaining or good as the LOTR books.

d) He needs his own line of films not Del Toro and Jackson's sloppy seconds.

e) PREQUELS f*ckING SUCK!!!! Has there ever been a good one?

I wonder why Jackson seems to be avoiding directing this film like the plague? He's not doing anything else right now is he?
MrJS1 writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 11:57:00 AM

NO! Stick with sci fi and make your next planned film already.
redbluedevil writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 1:36:00 PM

Agree with SacDaddy. The only really good prequel I can think of is Godfather II (which is 2/5 prequel, 3/5 sequel)
redbluedevil writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 1:39:24 PM

But I will add that if Peter Jackson for whatever reason just refuses to direct the The Hobbit movies, Blomkamp is as good a choice as anyone who would realistically do it.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:04:36 PM

I actually approve of this but would rather see PJ man up and helm it himself but Neil is a better director then Guillermo del Toro... least in my opinion

but then again... i want a follow of to D9 as well... f*ck
trailertrash writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:42:15 PM

SAC- Good Prequels ?

sort of Godfather 2 which redbluedevil has said

Temple of doom

and

Good the bad and the ugly (set in the American Civil War , for a few dollars more was set after !! )

Thats all i've got and in truth they aren't prequels as in Episode 1 for instance, so i'm going with no there aren't any..

wait Episode 3 was ok !!!
gotsghostrider writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:49:30 PM

I was about to say that Revenge of the Sith was the only good SW prequel
SACdaddy writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 3:20:52 PM

All of the Indiana Jones moves except the last one were technically serials not sequels or prequels. I never thought Eastwoods Spaghetti westerns were tied together at all. He didn't even play the same character (Blondie, Monco, and Joe) Godfather 2 doesn't count either, so you see my point. Revenge of the Sith might be the only prequel that was worth a sh*t and even that's arguable.
jdl107 writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 3:44:07 PM

Why doesn't his lazy ass just direct it man. What the f*ck like seriously, don't you want these movies to have the spirit and be in tune with the LotR trilogy? Holy f*ck dude it's common sense.
trailertrash writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 3:44:35 PM

Yeah i know but i was trying to think of movies i could write down and maybe i bent the rules just a little bit (LOL) your right there maybe none out there , But i have yet to see Hannibal Rising so all may not be lost just yet !! LOL
OneTime writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 4:19:59 PM

is it me or is peter jackson smoking crack...
SACdaddy writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 4:50:32 PM

@One Time: He's shrinking!!!

@Trailer: LOL!!! I can kick you in the balls and laugh in your face, and that would save you the trouble of seeing Hannibal Rising. It's so pitiful that Hwood is so devoid of ideas that it keeps pushing these horrible prequels even though not a single one of them has been successful (except Episode 3:ROTS). Breaking news Hwood, prequels might be the biggest insult to filmmaking you've come up with yet. At least remakes/reboot are making a couple of bucks here and there. Prequels are total failures! I've said it before and I'll say it again, WHO THE f*ck IS RUNNING HOLLYWOOD?!?! Any other business would have collapsed by now if it was run this poorly.
trailertrash writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 5:49:50 PM

Right i will skip that one then (pretty much thought that from what i had seen of it), The Prequel the lowest form of movie idea.

Just seen your post on Knight and Day , that movie looks ok and cruise always puts a lot into the stunts etc on his action movies which seems to go unnoticed, more i see of that movie more i'm looking forward to seeing it, its just diaz that bothers me sometimes she's just unwatchable ......
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 7:56:17 PM

This is coming along pretty interesting.

Hope it doesn't suck.

If it does, Peter Jackson better be staying away from every Fantasy Con for ... about a decade.

If it doesn't, then Pete's a pretty good judge of talent.


Oh. And F* WP.
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 2:22:06 AM

isn't Red Dragon a prequel?
trailertrash writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 2:33:47 AM

yes , just not a good one !! LOL
sc_kg writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 3:36:44 AM

Now that's a good choice!

Go roll under a rock David Yates!
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 11:30:49 AM

isn't Red Dragon a prequel?
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 12:59:38 PM

His style doesn't seem to fit. Like SAC said, let him push his own technique and push the trend of low-budget stuff so we can see more original, quality work.
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 20th, 2010 at 4:33:48 PM

district 10 films in october so maybe they will film after i hope

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved