WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Johnny Depp in "The Rum Diary"

Posted: June 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Johnny Depp in "The Rum Diary"Submit Comment
Today we have two new photos from "The Rum Diary," which is based on Hunter Thompson's novel and stars Johnny Depp, Aaron Eckhart, Ambert Heard, Richard Jenkins and Giovanni Ribisi.

Plot: The film tells the increasingly unhinged story of itinerant journalist Paul Kemp (Depp). Tired of the noise and madness of New York and the crushing conventions of late Eisenhower-era America, Kemp travels to the pristine island of Puerto Rico to write for a local San Juan newspaper run by downtrodden editor Lotterman (Jenkins). Adopting the rum-soaked life of the late '50s version of Hemingway's "The Lost Generation," Paul soon becomes increasingly obsessed with Chenault (Heard), the wildly attractive Connecticut-born fiancee of Sanderson (Eckhart), a businessman involved in shady property development deals.

"The Rum Diary" is directed by Bruce Robinson (Jennifer Eight) and has yet to be picked up for domestic distribution. It is, however, scheduled to appear in Europe later this year.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "The Rum Diary."

Source: FilmTotaal


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 8:07:02 PM

Is that Richard Jenkins with the beard?has a great cast Richard Jenkins is truly too good.
SofaKing writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 8:53:10 PM

There are several characters that Depp should have never played at all (Wonka, Hatter), let alone revisit them but Hunter S. Thompson is not among them. I am very glad he jumped back into those familiar shoes I just hope this director can recreate some of the flare that Gilliam gave Fear and Loathing.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 9:54:12 PM

@SofaKing

Poor kid. You set yourself up for placing your hopes that high.

Remember what it did for Icarus. Or Jonathan Pryce as Sam Lowry as Icarus.

I mean, I hope it's done very well. But remember, take a classic and screw it up royally and you've got .... Daredevil.
telur writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 10:11:57 PM

Lately too much John D movies, like The Tourist, The Rum Diary, Rango, and Pirates 4. Somebody must stop him playing too much movies in a year
SofaKing writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 10:57:30 PM

@ Max

As usual (and I mean this in the nicest way possible) I had no idea what you were talking about... So, I looked it up. The only link between Johnathan Pryce and Sam Lowry is a movie called Brazil.. Its a Gilliam flick so I can only assume it may have had different titles in different parts of the world. I have never seen this movie but Amazon has recommended it to me based on my purchasing history... Please tell me if I should knock off the grab ass and make the purchase already... If it is anything like Fear and Loathing I will like it.
Rodan writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 1:09:01 AM

@SofaKing, make sure you get the right edition. For theatrical release Universal completely butchered it. Gilliam's definitive cut was around 140 minutes (I think this one is only available in the Criterion box-set for ~$50) but there is also a 130 minute one. Just don't get the 90 minute one.
TeemSelami writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:03:10 AM

hoping this is awesome, though i have a fear that i will just end up rereading the rum diaries to wash the bad taste from my mouth. rip raul duke.
Aingx writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:08:46 AM

Both images DESTROY the story of the book. Do yourselves a favor and READ THE BOOK before you see this.


My soul hurts.......
I feel like a piece of me has been ripped out.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:21:07 AM

sounds like a snooze-fest.
trailertrash writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:53:28 AM

sofa- Buy the movie dude and enjoy it's Gilliam on top form , it has a great cast also.

If you can get the longer version Roden was saying about (the directors cut here in the uk)all the better has a slightly darker feel to the ending !!
SofaKing writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 12:27:25 PM

Thanks WP people. I will look for the Directors cut now, you probably saved me from getting the crap version.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved