WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

IMDB Facing Heat for Listing Actors' Ages

Posted: June 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
IMDB Facing Heat for Listing ActorsSubmit Comment
The Wrap is reporting that IMDB, one of the biggest movie sites with 60 million unique monthly visitors, is facing a bit of controversy over its policy to publish the ages of actors and writers, who say it leads to ageism.

The Writers Guild of America (WGA) and Screen Actors Guild (SAG) are attempting to convince the site to permit people to remove their birth dates. At this point, SAG just wants the ages of lesser known actors to be taken down, claiming that the industry tends to create less jobs for talent over the age of 25.

IMDB isn't eager to make the change and has been ignoring emails and phone calls about correcting or removing age data. In one example, an agent sent a copy of an actor's birth certificate to prove that the actor is eight years younger than listed. The site still refused to correct the age.

"They're very fickle about what changes they do make," said the agent. "I don't know were they get their information, but once it's up there, God help you."

IMDB's spokesperson said that the site's goal is to provide "comprehensive and accurate biographical information. When we are made aware of information that can be verified as inaccurate, we remove from IMDb."

Question: Should IMDB allow people to remove their age from their profiles?

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sonic writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 6:40:21 AM

NO!, if i was an actor i wouldn't mind if a site had listed my birthday or if the information is a little wrong.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 7:27:06 AM

It's not like there aren't a dozen other ways to find out how old sh*tty young actors are. It comes up in every interview and every time one of those TMZ f*ckfaces find one of them outside of a gay bar at 2am.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 8:24:51 AM

Sure, if they don't want to ever get a career in hollywood.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 8:25:15 AM

Give me a break what will be next
If a holy wood star is within 50 feet of our presence we are suppose to bow and worship them
SACdaddy writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 9:12:02 AM

Should IMDB allow people to remove their age from their profiles?

Yes. Hollywood is very vain and superficial place. Age is a huge factor in casting, just think of all the excellent 35-45 yo talent that was passed up for the Captain America lead. Brad Pitt looks like a guy in his early 30s and would have made a perfect CA, but they nixed him partially because he was "too old". If you think its ridiculous for a guy like Pitt to experience age discrimination, its 100x worse for actresses. Merly Streep's Postcard from the Edge (and Death Becomes Her)addresses the issue and the negative effects it can have on an actress over time. It gets to a point where these people are constantly forced to reinvented themselves by any means necessary (plastic surgery, exposing themselves, eating disorders, scientology, etc.) instead of being able to age gracefully. While that's nothing new to the film industry, it is a little harder now with sites like IMDB and TMZ that expose information like age and height that used to be somewhat vague. As a fan, I like having this info but I would never want it to get in the way of the best actor/actress being cast for a part.
darthraige writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 9:52:57 AM

Age is not a huge factor in casting, you f*cking kidding me? It's all about looks these days, not numbers.
Inception writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 10:22:45 AM

"Give me a break what will be next
If a holy wood star is within 50 feet of our presence we are suppose to bow and worship them"

Tell that to the officials of the NBA who are always sucking Jack's c*ck in LA.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 10:25:25 AM

I told those guys ... " You don't want to f* with Za Za and Joan. They'll ruin you!!! "

But IMDB never listened.


Oh.


And F* WP.
rabid writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 10:51:15 AM

yawn. nobody cares except the washouts.
GIST writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 11:11:45 AM

If IMDb is facing heat, why don't they just move to somewhere cooler.
Hahahohohehehe. Uhhhh, I'll shut up and charge some batteries now for my pocket p*ssy.
Lulupendragon writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 11:57:16 AM

People lie about their age more in Hollywood than anywhere else, so why is it any different on IMDB?
Salvador writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 12:19:32 PM

Of course NOT.

jdl107 writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 12:35:40 PM

Ageism... what a bunch of fags
JRprime writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 12:42:20 PM

so stupid, but why just imdb? pretty sure sites like wikipedia do the same thing..
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 1:15:15 PM

they just show the month day and year they dont just throw she is 24 for example
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 1:51:39 PM

"Ageism"? FAIL
highdefw writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 2:37:09 PM

No they should keep it. But wrong info is not good...
Man in Black writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 2:43:47 PM

no , but fix the incorrect ages or lose your validity
darkraven28 writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 3:38:04 PM

I could see listing the birth date without the year. That makes the most sense to me.
Ranger writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 4:10:37 PM

Well... as they cast because of looks... sure, drop the age. If they want George Clooney because they know what he looks like now, or can look like with make-up... who cares what his age is?
encoreyourface writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 6:03:57 PM

so is Wiki feeling the same heat? and about a thousand other sites?
Aingx writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 2:12:13 AM

What a crime!

Can't just google that sh*t.......

If you're an actor and ashamed of your age, then stop making sh*tty films. Thank you.
masht7 writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 3:29:05 AM

@encore

I was wanting to say the same thing.
bacci40 writes:
on June 19th, 2010 at 5:53:19 AM

oh yea...like people dont post the ages on wikipedia or anywhere else

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved