WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Russell Crowe to Star in "The Equalizer," Based on 1980s TV Show

Posted: June 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Russell Crowe to Star in "The Equalizer," Based on 1980s TV ShowSubmit Comment
LA Times is reporting that not only is Russell Crowe not dead (as rumored in Australia), but that he has also attached himself to play Robert McCall, the mysterious agent made famous in the 1980s CBS crime series "The Equalizer."

The show revolved around Robert McCall (Edward Woodward), who worked for a top-secret agency where he did some pretty horrible things. Every week, fans watched him righting wrongs.

"The Equalizer" has been in development at The Weinstein Company for many years, but is now in the hands of such high-level producers as Mace Neufeld (Hunt of Red October) and Alex Siskin (Big Daddy).

The producers feel it is the right time to push forward with a 1980s property, considering that both "The A-Team" and "The Karate Kid" have recently been brought to the big screen.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 9:57:48 PM

My NON-Worst Previews bashing comment, as noted in my threatening e-mail I got from UstinDay ....

" Edward Woodward played The Equalizer as part MacGuyver, part Death Wish vigilante ... quiet and dignified but got the job done. Crowe, a very ' excitable and lively ' actor in real life, can make this work if he uses the same concentrative technique he did with John Nash in A Beautiful Mind. I can actually commit to this idea. "

Oh.

And F* Utmanpay.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 9:58:42 PM

Worst Previews = The Third Reich of cinematic themed web-sites.

encoreyourface writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:10:50 PM

lol
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 12:01:31 AM

I loved that show when i was a kid. But it could be one of those things that's better left in the past.
Ari Gold writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 12:12:33 AM

I live in Australia and this is the first report I've heard of Russel Crowes 'death'.
Ranger writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 1:49:32 AM

Yeah. He'll probably die a few more times in his lifetime. Rumors... gotta love 'em!

@Max - lol.
angelus5621 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:12:06 AM

Yeah, there were reports months back that Jeff Goldblum had died too, and that was from Australia as well... I miss home, but have to wonder where the hell there sources are coming from..
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:13:11 AM

sure why not... every other damn movie coming out is a rehash! seriously i really want to know who green lights these f*cking movies? who!?! i would pay to punch every single stupid gay tie wearing losers!. they must get paid extra for every one they push through
trailertrash writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 3:33:33 AM

max- lol

Russell will be perfect McCall was always throwing phones around at people in NY City..
SACdaddy writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 10:03:26 AM

Crowe's career is in a tailspin and he picks The Equalizer for his next project? He must either have Hugh Jackman's agent or just doen't care anymore. I give him 5 years before he's 300lbs and out of the film industry completely. The guy can still act so down the line he might have a Brando-like comeback as a awardwinning fatman in future roles. Its only a matter of time before they remake Apocalypse Now or The Godfather so there's still hope for Russel :(

BTW, out of all the action TV shows I grew up with in the 80s, The Equalizer was by far the worst.
Bunny X writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 11:02:44 AM

Wow, so what's next?:

Hardcastle and McCormick
Jake & the Fatman
Hunter
Manimal
Misfits of Science
Simon & Simon
Riptide

Seiously? When is this sh*t going to stop?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:58:36 PM

Holy sh*t Bunny, Misfits of Science!!! I've been trying to remember the name of that show for years now. I loved that show when I was little (it had its own Flash!). If anything, that needs a reboot :)

I wouldn't mind seeing:

Knight Rider
The Fall Guy
Magnum PI
Hawaii Five-O
SACdaddy writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:59:13 PM

Holy sh*t, how could I forget AIRWOLF!
Man in Black writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 4:11:22 AM

Misfits of Science holy sh*t i had drank that brain cell dead !

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved