WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alfonso Cuaron's "Gravity" is the Next "Avatar"?

Posted: June 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alfonso CuaronSubmit Comment
UK special effects company Framestore (Avatar, Clash of the Titans, Prince of Persian, Children of Men) is re-teaming with director Alfonso Cuaron on his 3D sci-fi "Gravity" movie, starring Robert Downey Jr. Framestore has now commented on the project, stating:

"Framestore is about to embark on one of its greatest challenges yet, "Gravity" is the next "Avatar" in terms of ambition. There are many innovative and visually stunning aims for this project.

The entire film will be made here at Framestore. In effect the film, as "Avatar" was, is 60% CG feature animation with the balance being hybrid CG and live action elements.

Starring Robert Downey Junior, the film is a contemporary survival thriller that follows a woman as she attempts to make her way back to earth after a satellite crash sets off a chain reaction of further crashes. Because it's set in space, most shots require every element to float in zero-gravity.

But then factor in that this a stylish Cuaron flick, directed with his trademark languid feel, and you begin to realize the full scale of our challenge. Cuaron's long and fluid style (the opening shot alone is slated to last at least 20 minutes) leaves no cut points to hide behind. In short, this is a hybrid of a fully animated, photo-real feature film with a blockbusting visual effects movie.

Fortunately, having worked with Alfonso before on "Harry Potter and Children of Men," we know one another extremely well. Now we are looking for the best talent in the world to help us realize this massive and beautiful film. Over the next few weeks we are interviewing and looking at reels of those in-house who want to join in as well as making trips to the US, Canada and Australasia.

This is CG feature animation meets real world on a large and beautiful scale.
"

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:02:53 PM

So we might as well call it "gravitar"
triggax writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:16:35 PM

LOL!!

Gravytar sounds a little more fitting...

This sounds like it could be good.. Cuaron is an amazing director.. We'll see i guess.
velocityknown writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:18:46 PM

I like this, Robert Downey Jr's awesome acting combined with Alfonso Cuaron's amazing directing should prove a film that could generate some Oscar buzz.

Also, Children of Men was one of the best films of the decade. Masterfully shot.
Man in Black writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:19:02 PM

johnny nice to see the old you back ie quagmire
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:21:58 PM

20 minute opening shot! Damn. Suddenly very interested in this.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:25:46 PM

Children of Men was definately underrated. Cuaron's Harry Potter movie was without a doubt the best of all the HP movies. I can always go for a cool big budget scifi flick.

Oh and I really really want to lick Hermione's sh*t cutter
Post_Man_87 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:33:34 PM

Anything Cuaron does, you can sign me up for. Sounds good so far.

Children of Men is def one of my favourite flicks.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:41:52 PM

Alfonso Cuaron's "Gravity" is the Next "Avatar" ... if it went straight to DVD and sucked.

This IS the Sci-Fi equivalent of a long speech by Steven Seagal. As directed by
Uwe Boll. And produced by ... William Shatner.

F* WP
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:49:41 PM

Sounds interesting and ambitious. Cuaron is definitely an excellent director, so I'm definitely a lil excited. ;)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:52:28 PM

Okay.

I officially resend what I previously said.

I'll give this a chance.

But still ....

F* WP
encoreyourface writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:07:58 PM

hey i got a film i'm making called "pile of sh*t". it is as well the next Avatar. see how easy that was?
jdl107 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:14:29 PM

Lol @ johnny-boy.

But damn, Cuaron style? I'm f*ckin' stoked for this
Detrimental writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:33:26 PM

I wanna go to "Australasia!!!!"
Aaron writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 12:37:14 AM

Cuaron + 20 minute opening shot?
yes, please.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 1:21:10 AM

He's always been a badass director and this should be awesome. He'd honestly be the only director I'd love to direct the hobbit if Jackson doesn't. But this sounds good
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 5:32:07 AM

ill watch it and i will love it more than the rip off of all movies AVATARD since it sucked ass. rdj will rock ass always
Inception writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 1:31:13 PM

Interesting, can't wait for a trailer to see if Cuaron dropped the ball (I highly doubt it).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 4:28:30 PM

Cuaron, a word?

You directed "and your mother too", "Children of Men" and "Prisoner of Azkaban". All were spectacular films.

So why in the f*ck, would you be making this pile of puke? WITH ANGELINA JOLIE?!

Seriously bro, I love your work, but you have to start seriously rethinking this next project.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 4:29:57 PM

"Fortunately, having worked with Alfonso before on "Harry Potter and Children of Men," we know one another extremely well."

Wait, WHEN DID "Harry Potter and the Children of Men" Come out??
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 4:30:14 PM

is that like the secret 9th movie?
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 10:34:37 PM

Yep its the secret 9th book with the inevitable Harry and Hermione rape scene-

"Harry Potter and the Anal HogWarts"
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 9:49:22 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved