WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Monster Squad" Remake Hires Writers

Posted: June 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Monster Squad" Remake Hires WritersSubmit Comment
Screenwriting cousins Mark and Brian Gunn (Bring It on Again) have been hired to write Paramount's remake of "The Monster Squad." Rob Cohen (The Fast and the Furious, xXx), who produced the original film, will produce and direct the new version.

The 1987 original concerns a group of kids who discover a plot by Dracula, Frankenstein, The Wolf Man, The Gill Man and The Mummy to try and take over the world. Cohen is already familiar with the latter creature, since he last directed the Universal sequel "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor," which grossed $389 million worldwide.

In addition to Cohen, Michael Bay of Platinum Dunes is producing.

The studio is looking to the family-oriented property as a potential franchise, even as there is a project called "Monster Squad," with a different premise, in development at Warner Bros with Mike Mitchell (Shrek Forever After) directing.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 9:52:30 PM

"Mike Mitchell (Shrek Forever After) "

I thought it was Shrek the final chapter
outofshadow writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 12:35:41 AM

i hope they don't screw this up...
TeemSelami writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 1:30:36 AM

people with the credits such as bring it on again and shrek forever afterbirth shouldn't be allowed near this movie.
JohnZee writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:34:20 AM

I'm not trying to imply that Mark Gunn isn't one tenth of the screenwriter Shane Black is. I'm just saying that if you look Mark Gunn up on wikipedia you'll find information about his NFL football career as a defensive player mainly for the New York Jets, but not a damned thing about any of his film projects that he has worked on.

I'm guessing that means that his football career was much more memorable.

And sadly he's probably the better writer of the two. Brian Gunn seems to have relied on the awesome power of nepotism for the majority of his film career.

And taking out my amazing crystal ball of the obvious out, I can make out that in this remake of "The Monster Squad" that the African American population of the fictional town where this movie took place will be increased dramatically.

Borderline ridiculously increased.

A good portion of the kids cast for the ensemble cast will be African American. Perhaps not a majority, but about as close as you can get.

And Dracula will be replaced by Blackula, Frankenstein will be replaced by Blackenstein, the Wolfman will be replaced by some hairy black guy, etc...etc.

And the line about having to use a pre-pubescent girl for the necessary "virgin female" will spark much controversy from very loud and vocal African Americans who are outraged that a major motion picture film would perpetuate that erroneous stereotype that most African American girls are not virgins...



Ted Mosby writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:45:05 AM

noooooooooo no no no noooooooo please don't sh*t on my fav movie from my childhood... god damnit i literally love Monster Squad... don't ruin it PLEASEEEEE
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 2:46:49 AM

whats next... remaking Labyrinth !?
I bite my tongue saying that...
KHRIS writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 3:27:03 AM

Same here Ted Mosby. I love wathing this movie. Sad to see it get ruined.

"Hey fat kid good job"
"My name..is Horace" :)
Kenrich writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 4:49:19 AM

"Wolfmans got Nards!!!" I love this movie. I'm pissed they r remaking it.
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 5:45:14 AM

oh god i am hoping it wont be f*cked, they will remake paranormal activity next
AYT BALL writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 7:04:48 AM

@ Ted - they are squatting and ready to drop! lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 9:14:42 AM

@AYT BALL
I'm mainly terrified of who they might cast... it better not be turned into some lame ass cooker cuter child movie... I can see it resembling that B.O bomb The Vampires Assistant... -_-
AYT BALL writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 11:47:59 AM

@ Ted - i hear ya, loved the original, was one of those were everything just worked, think it was a magic time for those type of movies, not sure it will work today no matter who they cast, but i do see it being aimed at kids, which is a shame.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved