WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Thing" Prequel Announces Release Date

Posted: June 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Thing" Prequel Announces Release DateSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has announced that the prequel to John Carpenter's "The Thing" will be released on April 29th, 2011, one week before Marvel's "Thor" appears in theaters. Below is a full plot summary.

Antarctica: an extraordinary continent of awesome beauty. It is also home to an isolated outpost where a discovery full of scientific possibility becomes a mission of survival when an alien is unearthed by a crew of international scientists. The shape-shifting creature, accidentally unleashed at this marooned colony, has the ability to turn itself into a perfect replica of any living being. It can look just like you or me, but inside, it remains inhuman. In the thriller The Thing, paranoia spreads like an epidemic among a group of researchers as they're infected, one by one, by a mystery from another planet.

Paleontologist Kate Lloyd (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) has traveled to the desolate region for the expedition of her lifetime. Joining a Norwegian scientific team that has stumbled across an extraterrestrial ship buried in the ice, she discovers an organism that seems to have died in the crash eons ago. But it is about to wake up.

When a simple experiment frees the alien from its frozen prison, Kate must join the crew's pilot, Carter (Joel Edgerton), to keep it from killing them off one at a time. And in this vast, intense land, a parasite that can mimic anything it touches will pit human against human as it tries to survive and flourish.

Source: Universal Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 7:23:27 AM

no kurt russell no $$$
Sev writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 7:28:35 AM

If they balls this up, Hollywood can go f*ck itself!
boiler tk writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 8:01:58 AM

Spoiler: The alien escapes in a dogs body...
trailertrash writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 8:26:41 AM

The Thing is a Horror Classic !!

Really not sure about this, but i would rather see a prequel than a remake i guess, But how different they can make it who knows.

It will Most likely end up looking like a remake anyway !!
eddie499 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 9:07:34 AM

I'm hesitant about this one also. The Thing is my favorite horror movie and something doesn't feel right about this.

I think this will be a remake in disguise like others have said. It's going to end with Mary Elizabeth Winstead alone in the cold and paranoid out of her mind.

A few things I would like to see with this to possibly make it worthwhile:

1. We all know that the alien escapes and everybody in the Norwegian camp is dead in the first movie, so that's how this one should end. NO HAPPY ENDING!!!

2. Stan Winston's make-up effects in Carpenter's version are still impressive. They give everything a trul visceral feel. I would love to see the same style of practical effects used versus CGI. One name that comes to mind is Greg Nicotero. He could pull that off.

3. Atmosphere is everything in Carpenter's version. (I keep saying Carpenter's version because the 1982 version is, in fact a remake of a 1951 film, 'The Thing From Another World.) His version has this undeniable feeling of claustrophobia along with the fear and paranoia of the characters.

We will see though.
rabid writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:17:42 AM

John Carpenter's version was a remake and it was one of the best horror films ever made. I'll give a third take on the story a shot.
trailertrash writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:54:40 AM

eddie49 - good post.

Carpenter totally nailed that film , I wonder if the people who loved the 1951 thing film were pissed at him for remaking their favorite horror film, just a thought...

Yes no CGI just old school horror making would be great, the effects in the thing still look good today better than say something like the last The Final Destination or legion.

Greg is a good choice for effects anyone who worked on Evil Dead 2 can do a great job on this no problem.

Fingers crossed with this one, But it's not worst remake/prequel hollywood will churn out over the next 18 months or so i bet...

Chiron717 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:37:31 AM

Sorry about this eddie499, but it was Rob Bottin who created all those real nasty "Things" and not Stan Winston.
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:56:54 AM

I'd prefer to see not a remake, not a prequel (who cares what happened before Kurt Russell entered the picture... really?)... but a whole NEW 'The Thing!' story.
trailertrash writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 1:04:10 PM

@Chiron717- He did do some uncredited makeup work on the Thing to help rob out when he wasn't well !!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 1:07:17 PM

ranger- are you talking about Shannon Price the movie ?? !!
eddie499 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 2:20:35 PM

@Trailer - Beat me to the punch. I did accidentally leave Bottin out of my original post. Thanks to Chiron for pointing out my faux pas.

bill the butcher writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 2:53:47 PM

the hitcher
halloween
a nightmare on elm street
friday the 13th
and now john carpenter's THE THING
some films should be left alone...
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 3:28:05 PM

@trailer - only if it's a snuff film and she's beaten to death using a 2x4 with a rusty nail encrusted with AIDS-laden feces!
trailertrash writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 4:19:02 PM

Thats a the main plot you've got right there add in some sort of Vag and brain lobotomy while she still alive and being f*cked by a deformed horse and we have a movie !!
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 6:15:46 PM

hahahaha boiler that was nice.
and i pray it doesnt use loads of cgi
encoreyourface writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 7:13:09 PM

why does the pic make me think "KOWABUNGAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!"
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 7:36:44 PM

@trailer - a lobotomy on Shannon Price would be like looking for a needle in a haystack!
jdl107 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:06:41 PM

Damn five years I've been anticipating this, and what happens after I read this headline? I got imdb and learn this is filming now :) ahhh sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 10:10:36 PM

I mean go to..... geeze now I know why all you doods whine about the edit button :)
encoreyourface writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:18:03 PM

if only Alex would see it our way ...
Ranger writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 1:08:07 AM

... and send hawt, barely 18 hookers to our homes!
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 5:49:36 AM

oh and it is about time they are filming cause they been throwing sh*t all over the internet
SACdaddy writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 3:51:51 PM

Nice post Eddie.

I have zero confidence in Hwood being able to match everything you mentioned about the original. The Thing is my alltime favorite horror and sci-fi film so I'm a little baised about protecting its legacy, but like someone said before I'd much rather see a prequel than a remake. But then again, when's the last time you saw a good prequel?
AngelaHodgins911 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 9:49:05 PM

......maybe
rabid writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 12:29:25 PM

Temple of Doom was a great prequel. That's about the best I can think of.
SamND1967 writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 2:18:47 PM

Even though most of the time me and my girlfriend hate prequels, we're actually looking forward to this one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved