WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Harry Potter" Director to Helm "The Hobbit" Prequels?

Posted: June 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Harry Potter" Director to Helm "The Hobbit" Prequels?Submit Comment
Now that Guillermo del Toro has stepped down from directing "The Hobbit" prequels, Peter Jackson (director of "LOTR" trilogy) said that he would immediately begin searching for his replacement.

/Film is reporting that David Yates is currently the top choice to helm the two new films. Yates is the man behind four "Harry Potter" installments, including "Order of the Phoenix," "Half-Blood Prince" and the two "Deathly Hallows."

The script for the first "The Hobbit" film is complete, and del Toro will stay on to help finish the script for the second one. Meanwhile, if a director is not found, Jackson said that he would helm the movies himself.

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:10:45 AM

David Yates sucks COCs balls
sc_kg writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:15:30 AM

NOOOOOOOO! I bloody hate David Yates! Ever since he took over the HP franchise, the series is washed out of any emotions.
Rick Taps writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:36:58 AM

I was hoping they were talking about Alfonso Cuaron. The guy who directed the only good Harry Potter movie.
nzfilmmaker writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:01:28 AM

I hope this isn't true. Harry Potter is one thing... Lord of the Rings is a whole new ball park. He's not up to it.

I have faith that Peter Jackson will not let this happen.
masht7 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:06:08 AM

@Rick

Cuaron would be an awesome choice for The Hobbit.
bloodgear writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:19:32 AM

Keep this man away from it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:05:42 AM

This proves there is no God.

I hope he gets hit in the head with a flying tablesaw.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:42:41 AM

Guillermo Del Toro would have made the Potter francihse alot better as well.
otis writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:08:48 AM

Wait, did I miss something? You mean there's more than one "The Hobbit"? Where's the source material coming from? Or are they splitting it in two like HP? (don't see that happening tho)
CCBlev writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:11:13 AM

Y god? Y?
jdl107 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:13:14 AM

I'm honestly hapopy with Guillermo off but only because I was hoping they wouldn't try to use any of his creature designs. He would've made a good movie but I would've hated to see monsters with eyeballs on their legs or teeth on their head.

@otis: They've been planning on doing it HP-style (Cut in two) for awhile now.
jdl107 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:15:23 AM

I'm not a big fan at all with these Harry Potter movies (or books) but OotP and HbP had some really great visuals in it. I dunno they all seem like the same Harry Potter to me just more darker and way less kiddie and cheery with his, so pretty much I don't see anything wrong with this.
jdl107 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:17:42 AM

I just hope he just DIRECTS and lets Peter Jackson call the shots..... but when I think about it it probably won't happen like that.... which I have to say honestly worries me..
Inception writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:38:43 AM

If Peter Jackson doesn't direct this, then expect the expected, epic failure.
HideousSecretion writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:43:29 AM

Yates isn't the devil, but he's not right for the films. You know who is right? PETER MOTHERLUVIN JACKSON!!! His team under his helm created a film interpretation of Tolkein's Middle Earth that fans and laymen alike adored. It also made mad money. Swimming thru the vault of cash like Scrooge McDuck money. Now I'm not sure what Jackson has got planned that beats the Hobbit films. He has to spend almost as much time on the project just being high mucky-muck producer. And if he keeps cranking out Lovely Bones level films he should stick with gay midgets who have a penchant for jewelry. If the kiwi bastard is dead set on not directing then hire Matthew Robbins. He did direct Dragonslayer.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:44:25 AM

He's not bad but Hobbit demands better. A second Cuaron, he'd be fantastic, but yeah... for Hobbit, go big or go home.
lost_addict writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 12:00:54 PM

what about the greatest director of all time-JON AVNET???
Schwasted writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 2:57:55 PM

NO!!!!! WORST NEWS YET. BRING ANYONE BUT HIM (well not anyone...)
encoreyourface writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 4:00:30 PM

i do not care at all abut this entire franchise.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:26:42 PM

@Schwasted

Be careful what you wish for. The following could be reading your request right now :

a. Brett Ratner

b. Uwe Boll

c. Michael Bay

d. All of the Above


Do you really want that on your cinematic conscious ?
Adsamalam123 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 6:28:36 AM

or do the smarter thing and get: Afronso Cauron instead ;)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved