WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Hugh Jackman with Boxing Robot in "Real Steel"

Posted: June 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Hugh Jackman with Boxing Robot in "Real Steel" Submit Comment
Today we have the first shots from the upcoming live-action "Real Steel" movie, which began shooting on Monday. The photo features Hugh Jackman (X-Men Origins: Wolverine) standing next to a 8-foot-tall boxing robot during a match. Check it out below.

The robot in the image is a real device, not a digital visual effect. Motion-capture animation is used in the film when the machines are brawling (with boxing legend Sugar Ray Leonard working as an adviser on those), but 19 real-life animatronic giants were created for scenes with the human actors.

The story, set in 2020, features Jackman as an out-of-work fighter who bonds with his estranged son when they go to work rescuing a junkyard find named Atom, and grooming it as a potential champion in the World Robot Boxing league.

"Real Steel" is directed by Shawn Levy (Date Night) and is scheduled to hit theaters November 18th, 2011.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:09:30 AM

So this is basically a rock'em sock'em robots movie?
vwkombi writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:12:27 AM

Yep Johnny.

Who knows, might be decent.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:12:54 AM

basically, cool pic tho!
sc_kg writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:19:57 AM

I hope there will be an epic montage with russian robot training.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:32:19 AM

@ sc_kg - LOL
Bigcheese writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:37:27 AM

Ha! That pic is great.
masht7 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:08:41 AM

The picture is kinda cool but it could turn out to be a sh*thouse movie since Shawn Levy is directing.
asylum writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:10:37 AM

I would love for that robot to punch Dustin Putman right in the face!

We cant let Dustin Putman ruin movie reviews any longer! This is the guy that gave Did You Hear About The Morgans an 8/10! (Thanks to Udi for the info.) Do you see a trend? He automatically gives any movie with Sara Jessica Parker an 8!

Join the Facebook group Fire Dustin Putman and show Alex we wont take Dustin's reviews any longer! 19 members and counting!

http://tinyurl.com/firedustinputman
WV-Films writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:54:02 AM

I'm sorry but I can't look at this picture without laughing my ass off.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:08:54 AM

Uhm, okay.

I wonder who put Hugh up to this ?

I was curious if he's gonna imitate Burgess Meredith's Mickey and have a heart attack during the movie ?

" Kid, I want ya eating electronics and sh*ttin' nuts and bolts! "
pH0u57 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:16:34 AM

"The story, set in 2020, features Jackman as an out-of-work fighter who bonds with his estranged son when they go to work rescuing a junkyard find named Atom, and grooming it as a potential champion in the World Robot Boxing league."


seriously, REALLY?!
BDeck writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:30:15 AM

are you serious?

this sounds like it was written by a couple of teenagers that where really really stoned.

"yo bro, you know what would be awesome,ahah,if instead of people it was 10 feet robots,ahah"

"yeah that sounds sweeet dude,ahah."

and asylum

we all hate that hack putman and we have all asked for some one different to write the reviews,but bitching about it in every new article is going to get pretty old pretty quick.

youre doing a good thing bud,but you have to pick the time and place for your fights better.

but i am behind you.
trailertrash writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:31:07 AM

max- Burgess Meredith !! LOL nice
BDeck writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 8:31:18 AM

*were* come on alex if we have to put up with putman, then at least give us an edit button
koul writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 9:02:45 AM

this movie is gonna be not good. i don't like the idea of boxing robots
trailertrash writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 9:45:59 AM

"If he rusts , he Rusts" !!
CCBlev writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 9:56:34 AM

@Max lol
My bets on the Blue Robot.
Bunny X writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:16:04 AM

@sc_kg, lmao I was thinking the same thing!!
One robot training in the hi-tech facilities, the other training in the junkyard.

I love montages!!!

I will say this though. If you're going to bring a seemingly impossible franchise like Rock'em Sock'em Robots to the big screen, this is how you do it.
Pay attention folks behind Battleship, Magic 8-Ball, Monopoly, Ouija, and others.
jdl107 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:25:40 AM

WOW. f*ckin' show Hugh and a 3rd of that robot will ya'. Dumbass piece of poo's
Inception writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:32:04 AM

Damn!! that photo looks like sh*t, imagine, Hugh Jackman looks like Paul Walker in there.
Inception writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:33:32 AM

So in other words:

Million Dollar Baby meets Artificial Intelligence: AI
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:33:34 AM

Cut me Hugh... cut me!
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 10:42:55 AM

I'll give this movie a chance. The part that seems most corny, but if done right could be one of the best parts... is Hugh's robot is found 'down and out' - so they may explore some self-actualization stuff within the machines. There are plenty of ways they can play this. Or it could just end up being be a stupid, kick-ass, smash 'em robot deal whereby the DVD can replace my AOL coffee mug coaster. Either way, I'm fine with it.
Inception writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:03:30 AM

IMO Hugh Jackman is one of the few actors of this time that really knows how to f*cking act the bad thing is that look all the roles he picks, I mean give him a couple of intense dramas and some rated R action flicks and this guy will not disappoint, but he prefers $$$ and do a bunch of Wolverine films that = a huge dump I took this morning.
Inception writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:05:55 AM

BTW when i said "actors of our time", what I meant was that from all those new comers from 2000 till now, Hugh Jackman is one of the best.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:15:12 AM

@Inception - like James Woods. He puts all he has (always) behind his acting... and can actually make a bad movie to watch tolerable... entertaining even.
Inception writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:27:50 AM

@ Ranger: Exactly, there are few right now who can do that.
Bunny X writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:48:23 AM

@Ranger, I was thinking the same thing. If this is a deep movie with sci fi wrappings to it, then this would be pretty damn good. Like Robin Williams' Bicentennial Man. It'd would be a good vehicle for Hugh to flex his acting skills. But yeah, just your run of the mill smash fest will be Zzzz..zzzz.zzzzzz.... for me.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 12:18:28 PM

@Inception - thank you.

@Bunny - yeah, this could be fab. I hope for Hugh's sake (and more selfishly for me and the time I'd take to watch this) - they get into self-awareness stuff with the robots (but reasonable - done wrong and a depressed robot that's down and out some people wouldn't buy).

Fingers crossed!
AYT BALL writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 12:22:06 PM

im staying hopeful, pic doesnt look aimed at kids, so who knows
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 12:35:36 PM

Nice to see someone cast a guy that plays (often) an action/muscle character - step aside for the muscle of the robots. Good on Hugh. Good bones this flick. Great on Hugh for taking the chance (hey, Bladerunner could have fallen on its face just as easily as it could becoming the classic it has). Don't make a bad/good sci-fi movie like StarShip Troopers. How about just making a good/good-great sci-movie? Don't f*ck it up Hollywood!
AYT BALL writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 1:13:47 PM

@ Ranger - well said, this would work great in the blade runner universe, bit of a dirty neon future
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 2:22:21 PM

God Hugh Jackman is taking a career nosedive. Its been 4 years since he made a decent film! I guess its good that he's still getting work but just take a look at what he's been doing since The Prestige (2006):

This robot crap
Wolverine
Australia
Deception
Uncle Jonny (wtf?)
Happy Feet
Flushed Away -- LOL!!! What a perfect name for his career.

Move over Gerard Butler and the Rock, there's a new King of wasted talent.
thedotsays writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 2:50:47 PM

@Ranger, I'm hearing ya on the self worth plot line but will that just be Rocky-Bot?
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 4:35:24 PM

Eh-yo-eh!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 4:45:29 PM

Ha wow, when I first heard about this movie I thought it was a joke. Pretty much it's a rock'em sock'em robots movie, this should be awesome
secondbest writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 5:37:31 PM

I'd take animatronics over CGI and a clusterf*ck of other effects any day.
pomme writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 6:25:24 PM

never understood the appeal for Hugh jackman!
he acted in 4 decent movies in all his career ,he produced "wolverine",was the lead in "australia" and people loves him!
i hate Ryan Reynolds for less than that
scarface85 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:25:02 PM

out of ideas to make movies?
Derp88 writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:41:09 PM

Hugh Jackman is a good actor so i will probably give this a chance one day if when i"m drunk
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 7:43:19 PM

The guy who directed Date Night is directing this ?

Wow. Are we in for a (f*ckedup) treat.

Oh. And Worst Previews can suck the sweat off my balls.
Tyrkae writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 9:01:58 PM

Nothing about this being a short story by Richard Matheson GOOD JOB WP your always on the ball! lets hope it doesnt end up like The Box did

and the short story was REALLY good so maybe leave this one alone
Telly like it is writes:
on June 15th, 2010 at 11:49:42 PM

Rockemsockem? If the robots give Hugh an uppercut, will his head spring up too?

But seriously, I'll give this one a chance, it's different to say the least.
Man in Black writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 2:08:16 AM

ripping off of another game what the hell is next ? shoots and ladders ?
Tyrkae writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 7:46:41 PM

This isnt ripping off rockem sockem robots its ripping off a short story from Richard Matheson one of the great short story writers
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 5:59:05 AM

directed date night sigh ok we will see AND I JOINED THE FB GROUP f*ck him
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 17th, 2010 at 6:02:34 AM

and good that the robots are not cgi thank god a break from it but there will prob be cg somewhere in the movie
Stevetheheb writes:
on June 18th, 2010 at 4:03:27 AM

@Tyrkae Thank god, someone else knows that.

Richard Matheson's story was also the basis for the Twilight Zone episode, "Steel" starring the late-great Lee Marvin.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved