WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Karate Kid" Dominates Box Office

Posted: June 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Karate Kid" Dominates Box OfficeSubmit Comment
The $40 million remake of "The Karate Kid" took first place at the domestic box office this weekend with $56 million, exceeding all projections by at least $20 million. "It played so broadly," Sony distribution president Rory Bruer enthused. "We took a beloved title and made it fresh and relevant."

Meanwhile, the big screen version of "The A-Team" television show had to settle for second place with only $26 million. It took another $15 million internationally, but that's nowhere near the $110 million "The A-Team" cost to make.

20th Century Fox is hopeful that the movie will have legs to make back its budget. "We have room for a lot of growth, and we're optimistic that word of mouth will spread among young people who were not familiar with the source material," said Fox's Chris Aronson.

Click here to read our "The Karate Kid" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 5:52:12 PM

Well done Jackie Chan !!
Bigcheese writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 5:59:31 PM

A team should of had the advertisment. "watch the A Team because Mr T knows were you live". Would of beaten every Avatar record.
trailertrash writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 6:03:28 PM

gutted about the Ateam , still got 6 weeks till we can see that movie.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 6:43:15 PM

trailer- that sucks ass!
VDODSON writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 7:03:50 PM

Thats f*cking bullsh*t. The same thing happened to Smoking Aces. The A Team was damn good, f*ck Jaden Smith. Jackie Chan is the chinese Eddie Murphy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 7:05:04 PM

$ 56 million is domination ? Since when ?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 7:08:57 PM

So between Will Smith buying have of the tickets and Dandy/CoC buying the other half, The Karate Kid became number one at the box office? I'm kinda disappointed in all of the fan boys out there.
Wallace writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 7:45:19 PM

Chan is definitely back in business...with a title that doesnt even definde his martial arts skills correctly.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 7:52:54 PM

a little part of me just died -_- f*ck the karate kid "remake"... VDODSON hit the nail on the head by calling Jackie Chan the asian Eddie Murphy... but its ok it will stand no chance against Toy Story 3 next week.. prepared to be butt raped Jayden Smith
PeacefulOneX writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 8:08:06 PM

Oh stop the hating for this movie it got heart of gold and it deserve its number 1 spot for this weekend.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 8:14:58 PM

I think the A-team will pick up steam once people spread the word on how good it was.

The people who do reviews suck thats all I can say

I used to read them now I dont after having reading many of them and missing out on several good movies.
whoever writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 8:34:50 PM

Though it's good to see Marmaduke beat Sex and the City 2. Now if Marmaduke was doing Sarah Jessica Parker I would go and see that but then how would you tell which one was the dog?
Rick Taps writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 8:40:57 PM

@PeacefulOneX... if "heart of gold" you mean that the movie's heart is a big hunk of money that grows with every unsuspecting fool who gets too close to the theater and gets lolligaggled into seeing a remake piece of garbage... then yeah... I'll buy that.
johnthemon writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 8:58:56 PM

@Max Junior, since the closest competition only mustered $26 million.

I'm saddened by this, A-Team was amazing.

Next week Toy Story 3 will do $120 mil I'm betting.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 9:04:39 PM

Great! Now the stupid ass Hollywood execs are gonna now think that when they start releasing remakes to have a black person in the white person role. Just like My Bloody Valentine 3d paved the road for all movies to be 3d, this karate kid willl pave the road for remakes to change white people roles with black people. Get ready for a black spiderman
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 9:19:42 PM

I kinda saw this coming. Karate Kid had lots of families and people of all ages in the theater I went to.
The A-Team was really good too, but Karate Kid appealed to a wider audience I suppose.
I'm not too crazy about the original, which might have a lot to do with my age, but loved the new one. I'm a 90's baby.
velocityknown writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 10:06:34 PM

I was born in 1990 and I love the original Karate Kid, this new one may be okay and Jackie Chan is pretty awesome, but as much as Jaden Smith can't replace Ralph Macchio, Jackie Chan can't replace Pat Mortia.
masht7 writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 10:14:32 PM

'Jackie Chan is the chinese Eddie Murphy'

LOL! Nice one.
Planetastudios writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 10:26:27 PM

@johnny_boy -totally agree. Hollywood is going to see remakes now as a money maker. ....
PeacefulOneX writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 10:34:08 PM

@Johnny_boy... what are trying say we can't switch roles, if we want to ? Seriously? A fresh take on something old is always welcome and as far as his race goes how about make him or her Asian for the next one lol..
SACdaddy writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 11:16:21 PM

LOL!!! Johnny_boy, you're actually the first person I've heard complain about the race of the character. You haters must be runnin low on material.

BTW, Jaden is not portraying Daniel. Its an entirely different character. They also replaced a Japanese character with a Chinese actor, but even with centuries of conflict between the 2 countries I don't hear any Japanese complaining. Stop hatin and open your mind.

Still haven't seen The A-team yet. After a string of terrible trailers and wishy washy reviews I find myself not that interested anymore. Rental.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 11:50:07 PM

@ Sac.... I've read many people complain about the race of not only him, but other characters as well. I bet if you had BA Baracus or Shaft or war machine as white people, black people would throw in the racist card.
asylum writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 1:00:41 AM

To the WorstPreviews community-

The time has arrived to come together and show Alex (Head-Editor of WorstPreviews) that we will no longer stand by and let Dustin Putman review movies for WorstPreviews.

I am tired of reading his reviews about how bad movies are, only to see the films in question and realize that the movie was indeed good and that his review was inaccurate. Case in point, The A-Team. He gave this film a 2/10. The majority of comments on the What Did You Think article for A-Team, including my own, have stated that the A-Team is the movie of the Summer so far and at the very least was a very good action flick which deserves more then a 2/10.

It is because of reviews like this that I have created a group on facebook called Fire Dustin Putman. I am asking all of you to join this group to show our hatred for Mr. Putmanís reviews. My hope is that Alex will see how many users join this group and will have no choice but to make a change.

You can find the group by clicking here: http://tinyurl.com/firedustinputman

Thanks,

Rob

P.S. He also gave Sex and the City 2 a 8/10. This is reason enough to join FireDustinPutman!

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=17997#ixzz0qnh4KTiZ
VDODSON writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 1:51:13 AM

f*ck Dustin Putman, worst reviewer in the United States. Probably jacks off to his bootleg version of Twilight. Fire him!
skatemaster62 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 2:01:57 AM

f*ck the karatie kid remake...i didnt even like the original...im a HUGE Spider-Man fan and i say bring on a black Spider-Man only in the hopes it will bomb and Marvel will finally buy back the rights to the franchise and reboot it AGAIN with a better(white) actor and we can finaly see a decent Spider-Man film
skatemaster62 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 2:10:44 AM

"I've read many people complain about the race of not only him, but other characters as well. I bet if you had BA Baracus or Shaft or war machine as white people, black people would throw in the racist card"

@johnny
amen brother...not trying to be racist but if it was someone like spawn or steel who are black characters being changed out for a white/hispanic/asian/indian actor the african american general public who also read comics would have a holy sh*t-fit as well as i because its iconic to the character...i agree with you bro
skatemaster62 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 2:13:54 AM

and if its ok to change a white character for a black/hispanic/asain/and so on actor then i say jamie kennedy for t'challa aka black panther
trailertrash writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 2:30:29 AM

VDODSON- LOL Jackie is the chinese Eddie....

I'm not keen on KK remake but i like to see Chan doing well.

Just for old times sake at least !!
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:10:26 AM

@Asylum
hahaha dude nicely put... I never knew what Dustin Putman looked like... I've never laughed out loud in a while... thanks man... joined instantly!
VDODSON writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:16:54 AM

@Asylump- Putman looks like some 14 year old douchebag. Probably doesnt have a drivers license yet. Why is WP hiring high schoolers?
skatemaster62 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:25:26 AM

@asylum
Joined as quick as I could I even left a message on the wall...cheers bro
trailertrash writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:35:22 AM

@asylum- Good stuff !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 4:56:47 AM

Must be a really slow week!!!!
angelus5621 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 5:54:24 AM

I think that they should remake The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air but this time starring Justin Beiber ...just so Will Smith will know how I feel about this The Karate Kid business
SACdaddy writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 9:00:01 AM

f*ck you guy are funny/pitiful. You're too close minded to realize that the KK remake isn't even about the same two characters from the original. The names have been changed, the race has changed, the setting is another f*cking country, and its based upon an entirely different form of martial arts. All this and all you biggots can bitch and moan about is the race of one character. If you d*ckheads would come out of your bubble and take a step back, you would realize that actors have been playing roles originally created for other races since the beginnings of motion picture. Denzel, Will Smith, and Andy Garcia have made careers out of portraying characters originally written for other races. Al Pacino has played several classic hispanic roles too. Koreans are portraying Japs, Japs are playing Chinamen, yada yada yada....welcome to the 21 century douchebags. The race of the character has no importance to the plot or moral of the KK story. Thankfully the children this film is aimed at could care less about the race of the characters or the politics surrounding the film. Its a shame some "adults" can't do the same.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 9:09:55 AM

@ SAC - never had a problem with the kids race, never had a problem with an update of the same story, the weak kid defeating the bullies is a classic and we all day dreamed of it at one point, exept for the billies...., using the same name is a cheap way to cash in though!

The arguement about changing race is an interesting one, i think it depends on how the characters have been embraced by certain cultures, like someone mentioned if they tried to make shaft a white guy there would probably be race wars in the streets, because like i said, that character that was aimed at african americans was embraced by them. Same way the Karate kid was embraced by young white teenage boys, not saying all other races didnt relate but thats just the way it happened, i dont think this kind of story NEEDS to stay with a white (italian) kid though, its pretty universal so im cool with that. I think you will always bring out the worst in people when you toy with iconic figures that people hold dear to them. Its not racist to want those characters to stay true to their roots. It is racist however spout off without explaining your point (those people know who they are).

Just my thoughts.

still gonna see this movie at some point
SACdaddy writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 9:17:05 AM

@AYT: Completely agree. Always good to hear from somone with some common sense.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 9:24:31 AM

The original KK film was embraced by all kids not just whites, but that was the beauty of it. There were just as many black kids hammering their parents to get them into a karate school after that film as there were white kids. I know, I was one f them :)
AYT BALL writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 9:31:25 AM

Lol i was one of the white kids doing the same, and all i got was judo!! :-( made up for it later in life tho :-D
skatemaster62 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 12:31:16 PM

@AYT
you hit the proverviel nail on the head my friend
takai writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 1:11:26 PM

I have a feeling that if they had stuck with the original title (The Kung Fu Kid), none of the hate comments below would be there, and I definitely understand that.

But this movie is legitimately good.

And let's be honest, it's better than the old one in a lot of ways. Mainly because the actor portraying the teacher ACTUALLY KNEW MARTIAL ARTS BEFORE FILMING.

You could point out all of the improvements for hours, but the easy way to say it is, they took what made the first one good (plot and character chemistry) took out all the bad (cornball acting and horrid fight scenes) and inserted badass (Jackie Chan / China / good acting / good fight choreography).

Whine all you want, but as a child, given the choice between the two, I would pick the new one. Hell, I'm pulling for a sequel! It's nice for Hollywood to give Chan roles that don't suck.

And while VDODSON's comment towards Chan being the Chinese Eddie Murphy is funny, it's completely retarded at the same time. It really doesn't even make sense. Chan's comedy is mostly during a fight. He never told jokes in his Hong Kong movies, and very rarely put himself in a comical situation that didn't have a serious/violent undertone.
takai writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 1:19:44 PM

And let's not forget 'The Next Karate Kid', where they changed the sex of the character. If you're arguing against a black Karate Kid, but embrace a female Kid, you're pretty much racist. Way to live in 2010.

As for A-Team,

If you one of the many that are supporting it, you are also supporting GI Joe (which I do).

They are identical. They're just mindless action movies that have major fan service and are fun to watch.

Having said that, A-Team is definitely NOT the movie of the summer. You should be shot for saying that.

I seriously doubt there being one movie that is a definitive 'king' throughout the summer. I mean, you have Karate Kid, then Toy Story 3, then Predators, then Inception, the list goes on. So many (potentially) good movies with legitimate fan bases already formed.
takai writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 1:21:21 PM

If you're one*
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 2:45:20 PM

the only problem i had with this film is the name...that and the 'wax on wax off' phrase has definitely not been replaced with a better one...those are my only complaints...but now it seems that because they've made money off of it now, that they're starting to think about sequels right?...and let me guess even further, they still won't change the name even if they made a sequel[s]
Bunny X writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 2:57:51 PM

Well, it's not like they didn't advertise the crap outta the A-Team. I mean hell, they had spots everywhere. They even had part of the cast show up to host WWE's Monday Night Raw. Which was funny because you think Rampage is big but compared to those wrestlers, he looks like a scrawny little band geek.

Well, The Kung-Fu Kid benefited from my $$ this weekend as I lost a bet with my kids and took them to see it. I posted my thoughts in the "What did you think" thread.

I'll be catching the A-Team definitely this weekend.
Stuntastic writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:23:34 PM

@Bunny: A-Team is pretty good and Rampage was decent as BA, but I think Terry Crews would've been better. Oh, by the way Terry Crews for Panthro in Thundercats.
koul writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 4:46:14 PM

yes! the karate kid kicks a-team's ass
velocityknown writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 7:57:37 PM

@Sac and Ayt

Good points, too many people hold the original and this one as one, my only problem is the title. It's just inaccurate and illogical to call a movie about Kung-Fu, set it in China, and then calling it The Karate Kid. I've heard positive things about it and I'm moderately interested in seeing it now.

Changing race is only an issue if the character is grounded in race, if this were an exact remake of the Karate Kid and they changed Daniel's race, it wouldn't matter because his character isn't grounded in being white or black.

@takai

GI Joe and A-Team are both mindless action, but at least the A-Team has awesome actors (can't vouch for Rampage though the other make up for him I'm sure).

@Asylum

Awesome man. Dustin Putman does write some terrible reviews. I'm not sure why WP holds onto him, unless he and Alex are old friends or something. We write better reviews in the comments section here and that picture totally says: I saw Sex and the City 2 more than once. Though you shouldn't make the complaint about giving the A-Team 2/10 because plenty of reviewers are doing that. I'd go with his poor scores for Iron Man 2, Invictus, or Shutter Island vs. good scores for Old Dogs, Gentlemen Broncos, and obviously Sex and the City 2.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 10:17:59 PM

@ Asylum.... Glad you started this. I may actually get a facebook account to join this

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved