WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi in Talks to Direct "Wizard of Oz" Prequel

Posted: June 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi in Talks to Direct "Wizard of Oz" PrequelSubmit Comment
New York Magazine is reporting that director Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) has been offered to helm "Oz: The Great and Powerful," which is a prequel to the 1939 classic "The Wizard of Oz."

Sam Mendes (American Beauty) and Adam Shankman (Hairspray) were previously rumored to get the job, but insiders claim that Raimi has already received the official offer. The project, developed by Disney, is written by Mitchell Kapner (The Whole Nine Yards, Romeo Must Die).

The story is told from the point of view of the Wizard (Robert Downey Jr). It tells how the Wizard arrived in Oz and how he became the ruler.

Warner Bros, meanwhile, is developing two other "Oz" films. The first project is called "Wizard of Oz" and already has a script written by Josh Olson (A History of Violence). The second one is called "Oz." It is being developed by "Twilight" producers and has a script by Darren Lemke (Shrek Forever After).

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 7:40:12 AM

he looks very thrilled about the idea...
OneTime writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 7:54:35 AM

when i hear his name all i remember is how sh*tty spiderman 3 was. get a haircut u jew( hes not jewish but he looks like it)
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 8:07:15 AM

so no world of warcraft movie then?
johnny_boy writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 8:14:43 AM

When I think of raimi I just feel like whatever now. He owed us one more good spiderman but didn't fight hard enough for it, IMO
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 9:27:16 AM

Raimi is all over the place lately with his film choices. Drag Me to Hell was a shot in the right direction for him to get back to what he's good at, but this OZ film is way off imo. Don't go Disney Sam!
TeemSelami writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 11:10:04 AM

wow twilight producers AND shrek for ever after writers someone is gonna be making lots of money
Ranger writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 11:22:59 AM

Does the classic Wizard of Oz really need a prequel?

So what... Dorothy walking around in her barn in Kansas with her dog for 90 minutes?

f*ck off Hollywood!

Maybe a jar of peanut butter? Maybe the dog licks her? Then I'd watch.



SofaKing writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 11:26:44 AM

The same writer as Romeo Must Die! No way! Now you know this is going to be good!!!

Was that sarcastic enough?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 12:21:23 PM

If this is developed by Disney, then expect the same awesomeness of story as PRINCE OF PERSIA ... in other words TOTAL sh*t ON A STICK.
gotsghostrider writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 12:39:30 PM

When I hear his name I think of Bruce Campbell vs. The Army of Darkness
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 12:42:32 PM

IF THE POST DOESN'T SAY SAM RAIMI IS DOING EVIL DEAD 4 WITH BRUCE CAMPBELL, THEN IT IS LIKE MOST WORST PREVIEW POST ... FULL OF sh*t AND SIGNIFYING NOTHING.
trailertrash writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 1:47:19 PM

ranger LOL

Lick it Toto plate me good !!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 2:29:09 PM

I know you guys on here dont like football but .......

COME ON ENGLAND !!!! ;0)
encoreyourface writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 4:03:18 PM

i just feel so bad for letting myself watch the first one ...
joshmihaly writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 4:22:57 PM

Wizard of Oz could be good if they get the right director, Raimi's Oz could be iffy, and a big f*ck no on the Twilight/Shrek Oz
trailertrash writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 5:04:37 PM

Encore- you didn't like wizard of oz dude?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 11:31:38 PM

Off topic (and very drunk): USA USA USA!!!!!
vwkombi writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 12:44:02 AM

I'm not saying Wizard of Oz is a bad film. It's a real definition of classic.

I just can't watch it without going into an uncontrollable rage. Don't know why.
Man in Black writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 1:56:22 AM

better then barrymore
encoreyourface writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 2:33:34 AM

trailer-nope. I'll be honest-i thought it was f*cking stupid. not bad effects and filming for its time though.
Aingx writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 2:54:17 AM

At least it's not Tim Burton directing......


DIE POOP!!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 3:38:16 AM

SAC- You didn't watch the football did you ?!!
What a great keeper we've got LOL !!

encore- never done it but the urban myth is you can play Pink Floyds darkside of the moon along side the movie and they appear to correspond at points with each other !!
encoreyourface writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 6:19:54 AM

all those urban myths are just a play on the imagination, you THINK you hear words when a song is played backwards, but you just want to hear it, and it sort kinda sounds like words.

... that's what science tells us. i think some songs are really set up that way. however for what you're saying, although it is interesting, i'm sure is a load of crap.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 10:05:22 AM

@TT: LOL!!! Excuses excuses. I'm not a huge "soccer" fan but I know a tie when I see one. Its a shame that so many of these matches end like this (hardly ever happens in American sports), but considering how low this sport is on our food chain, I guess we'll take a tie. Something tells me the British rags aren't as positive about the results today :)
trailertrash writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 5:17:44 PM

SAC- LOL, Those Rags's weren't happy at all !!

Draw not the end of the world (felt like it though). If it had gone to penaltys to decided a winner we would have lost , no doubt about it !!lol
trailertrash writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 5:20:57 PM

encore- Think your right but i may try it one day !! just to see..... lol
encoreyourface writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:02:51 AM

go for it dude.
trailertrash writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 3:33:31 PM

just need to score some of drug 1st lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved