WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Departed" Sequel is in Development

Posted: June 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Departed" Sequel is in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
Martin Scorsese's "The Departed" remake won the Best Picture Oscar in 2007 and grossed almost $300 million in worldwide ticket sales. And even though the film is based on the "Infernal Affairs" trilogy, "The Departed" has yet to develop a prequel or a sequel.

Now comes word from a Boston-based website, Beantown, "The Departed" sequel is already in development and may be released by 2012. Mark Wahlberg told the site: "They told me they wanted to try to do it and I said, 'Well, I enjoyed playing the character.'"

He added that Robert De Niro has been asked to portray a corrupt State House politician.

"The Departed" writer William Monahan told the site that he already has ideas for a second installment. "I read the prequel and sequel to 'Infernal Affairs' for the first time a couple of weeks ago and there wasn't anything I could use in Boston situation," he said. "I'm not criticizing [Infernal Affairs 2 and 3], I'm saying that 'The Departed' now points in its own direction. I know how the picture would open. With The Departed Tango and snow falling on the Boston Commons. I know every scene in the picture."

Source: Screenrant, BeanTown


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jdl107 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:24:10 AM

Holy f*ck dude are you serious..... this news is like 3 years old...... c'mon guys at least try. Or you know what, The Departed is probably better off without a sequel.
steaknugget26 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:41:15 AM

I loved Infernal Affairs! The Departed...not so much but that's because I knew what was going to happen. Anyway..Nicholson kicked ass in it.
masht7 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 7:48:57 AM

@jdl107

I absoulutly agree with you. Scorese has never done a sequel before and I think his only doing this cause he thought this was his masterpiece since it won Best Picture.
sisisisismanoooo writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 8:54:54 AM

are you all idiots! it didnt win best picture, he got best director! your ment to be a film website, that is such an awful mistake!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 9:11:04 AM

^are you a moron? Scorsese won best director and the movie won best picture. It also got best screenplay and best editing
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 9:17:07 AM

I don't know how I particularly feel about a sequel. The film is so great that it deserves to be left alone as one of Scorsese's finest films and one of the best films of the last decade. Also, does this mean that Mark Wahlberg will be the star? The only other person who made it out of the first one was Alec Baldwin. Don't see a real direction for this movie
biniwoo writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 9:37:34 AM

Scorsese has done a sequel: The Color of the Money (although the Hustler was directed by Robert Rossen)
rabid writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:07:30 PM

I know I'm in the minority, but I didn't like The Departed all that much.
It certainly didn't help it any that it had that crappy Dropkick Murphys song all through it. That's enough to make me turn any film off.
Broken_English writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:13:53 PM

@sisisisismanoooo
What are you talking about? Departed won best picture look it up. Martin scorsese also won best director.



Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:31:29 PM

I would be interested in it, if Mark Wahlberg's character got anally brutalized and sucked deep on a shotgun shell in the first 15 seconds (which, if karma is right, will also kill Wahlberg also ala Brandon Lee in the Crow) ... f*ck that vaginal discharge ... Hey Markie ... say f*ck YOU to your mother for me ...
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 2:49:34 PM

The Departed was excellent....but it doesn't necessarily need a sequel. Having said that, I wouldn't mind seeing more of Mark Whalberg's character; he kicked ass!
CCBlev writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 9:58:09 PM

@Max
But I like Marky lol
Man in Black writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 2:27:34 AM

how all the good actors died ... ?
bill the butcher writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 12:18:22 PM

years ago I sat down with a few bottles of cider and watched 3 dvds in a row
the devil wears prada
last king of scotland
and to finish my film night...
THE DEPARTED
jack nicholson was genius as an evil irish gangster but to be honest MARK WAHLBRERG stole the film for me his character dignam was like a demon he blew everybody off the screen the charisma the foul language the confidence he should have won best supporting actor heard stories that ray liotta denis leary and mel gibson were considered for the role but wahlberg was perfect casting best character of the year voted by empire magazine 2006
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 10:09:01 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved