WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thundercats" Movie Depends on Success of Animated Series

Posted: June 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thundercats" Movie Depends on Success of Animated SeriesSubmit Comment
We recently showed you photos of "Thundercats" posters hanging at the Licensing Expo in Las Vegas. At the time Warner Bros said that the posters were promoting not only the upcoming animated series, but also a live-action movie.

CBM has now caught up with the studio to find out if a "Thundercats" movie is actually being planned. "It all depends on how well the [animated] series is received," said a studio insider. "[The studio] is actively working on turning 'Thundercats' into a film, but it's going to demand a gigantic budget for effects alone. But, yes, it is currently in the pipeline."

When asked if Warner Bros is using the Expo to promote the movie, the insider said: "We're slowly finding out exactly how marketable the property is as a stand-alone brand. First comes the series, then the movie. As long as it's well received and worth the risk."

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 2:20:57 AM

"It all depends on how well the [animated] series is received,"


They should forget about trying to win new fans with another cartoon show , there are so many out there now.

Just go straight to the movie so guys like me who loved the original will take their kids to see it thus getting your new audience,

Then do a spin off cartoon if you want too...
encoreyourface writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 3:07:47 AM

good post trailer, i agree. i used to watch the show all the time, re-runs of course.
trailertrash writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 3:34:55 AM

Thanks encore, This was a great cartoon back in the day and deserves a big ass movie made of it...
masht7 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 4:50:01 AM

It sounds like a 'Star Trek' thing, making a movie to attract new fans, except making a TV Show.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:05:16 AM

HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! lol yeah agreed there trailer, they always look past the existing older fans and aim it at the kids who dont know what the hell it is, just dumb, we will see tho
steaknugget26 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:56:01 AM

You know, I really liked the cartoons when i was a kid, but i just never liked Thundercats back then. Then again i was just a little pal so i thought giant robots with giant guns were cool, and talking cats with swords were gay....i'll give it another chance though...i'm older, wiser...might be a good time to check out some Thundercats!
lebowski writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 10:06:32 AM

they should hire james cameron to make thundercats.after seeing avatar that was my first thought
Bunny X writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 11:09:27 AM

Just like my Voltron post.....please, please, please leave the Thundercats alone (movie-wise)
I am all for the animated series coming back after reading who all is behind it but I have absolutely ZERO faith in Hollywood bringing these 80's franchises to the big screen.

With the Thundercats, you cannot half-ass it in any way. The story is classic and great. A boy who would be king. but as much as that premise has been rehashed over the years, Thundercats handles it superbly. The characters are wonderful and stay true to their personas throughout the series.
And it's not that without one, the team doesn't function crap either.
The villains are your average group but is more than made up for in Mum-Ra alone and even the secondary and tertiary characters, Luna-tacts, the other thundercats, etc are so good.
this movie could not be done without an imense budget on effects, character design, and everything else needed to do this any justice. And they can't slack on the story and writting and acting either because all of that in the series was top notch.

So unless all that can be met, leave it alone!!!
Stuntastic writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 11:59:30 AM

Well, I know who to suggest for Panthro, Terry Crews hands down. They don't even have to do make-up for him. Oh, and Jessica Biel for Cheetarah ;)
rabid writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:05:47 PM

I see a Thundercats film as an eventuality, but its very smart of them to wait. There are so many big bduget action movies in the making now, it would get lost in a sea of hype. Better to tantalize people with a cartoon, wait for Dark Knight, Superman and the Avengers to be out of the way, and then come in and dominate. Voltron is on the same path.
steaknugget26 writes:
on June 14th, 2010 at 12:26:49 PM

got down on some thundercats over the weekend...yeah...not quite my thing...the intro kicked major ass though

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved