WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Flash" and "Green Lantern 2" are in Development

Posted: June 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Flash" and "Green Lantern 2" are in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
"Green Lantern" is still a whole year from release, but Warner Bros is already moving forward with the sequel. The studio has hired "Green Lantern" writers Greg Berlanti, Michael Green and Marc Guggenheim to pen a treatment for the second installment.

The trio has also been hired to pen the treatment for a big screen version of "The Flash."

"Green Lantern" is currently shooting in New Orleans, and since Warners is already developing the sequel, it shows that the studio likes what they see and have confidence in the franchise.

While "The Flash" movie has been attempted several times during the last few years, Warners is serious this time and already knows that the movie will feature the Barry Allen incarnation of the character.

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:51:49 AM

A Flash movie is alright with me but not a sequel to Green Lantern. Just get GL and Flash done so we can get a Justice League movie.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:19:32 AM

The flash should be interesting. Wonder if Ryan Reynolds is available
Sonic writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:40:27 AM

@johnny_boy I think Reynolds is in talks to play The Flash and maybe for Wonder Woman as well.
masht7 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:43:19 AM

But Ryan Reynolds is already Green Lantern so that rules him out.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:50:08 AM

@ masht.... But he plays alot of other comic characters so he might as well. He can pull an Eddie Murphy and just play all the characters in the justice league movie
Mudders writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:56:28 AM

who would play the flash?
wouldnt mind seeing jason statham in that role
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 7:20:45 AM

About time. I'm getting sick of the first GL movie.

@Mudders - Not liking the Statham idea. A bald, English, almost 40 year old guy who can't act (not that I don't like the guy in some flicks) - how about Seann William Scott?
avaela writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:33:37 AM

how bout Thomas Dekker?
Bunny X writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:03:11 AM

I'll probably catch some flack for this but I could really see Ryan Phillippe as the Flash. He's in great physical shape and isn't at all bad of an actor. I really liked him in Breach.
After his little stint on SNL a few months back as well as the MacGruber movie, I think he can tap into the comedic pool enough for what Flash requires.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:06:08 AM


Better Sean William Scott thant Marky " VaginaMan " Wahlberg.

While we are speculating, I vote Michael Sheen. After a good workout and Pilates.
Stuntastic writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:14:48 AM

@Evil: That's a pretty good choice IMO. Plus he needs something besides American Pie
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:20:30 AM

I was actually debating Sean WIlliam Scott myself. If he could pull off the Flash... then he'd save his movie career... I'd like to give him a chance if they ever were to get him... but i doubt it... and also makes me want to see more GL sh*t now that the studio green lit a sequel to it ALREADY... f*ck, Just give us a picture of Reynolds suited up!!!!
eddie499 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:13:43 AM

I think it all depends upoin which version of the Flash they choose to do. The logical choice is to do the Barry Allen version. My personal short list for this one would be:

Seann William Scott - He's got some good acting chops (He was great in The Promotion), plus he obviously has the comedic ability to capture the capricious nature of the character.

John Krasinski - He can actually act and I think his sense of humor would work. I could just seem him going up against Professor Zoommaking his sarcastic quips the whole time.

Bradley Cooper - This one is a long shot, but from what I have seen of him from The hangover and clips of The A-Team, he can capture the essence of the character. I also know that he blew his chance to be Hal Jordan, so I'd like to see him pull this one off. I think it would be a better fit for him than Green Lantern.

Crazyhorse writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:33:45 AM

How about a James Cameron protege for the Flash

Hey, since a Cameron protege is now a so called great move in Nuttywood why not
Lizardking515 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:41:49 AM

I would love to see sean william scott as the flash. But I think he's actually booked up for the next year, I'm sure he's writing a movie himself or filming a movie he wrote himself (I'm not sure but ithink its called ice hole) and by the time that's done we should have american pie 4 ready to go into production. So I'm not too sure if he'll be free.
I think he's also too built for the role.

Ryan Philippi, good look for role but he's too gloomy and emo in everything he does. His best role was cruel intentions. So keep him away from comedy/action

Bradly cooper, he would be a sick choice. But he's deffinately one of the most wanted actors in hollywood now. He made like 5 movies in the past year alone. So I'm not so sure that he's available either

Jason Seagel may even be a good choice if they can get him to go the route of seth rogan and actually loose the weight and put on sum mass instead of being a tub o lard.

While I'm at it ill add Paul Rudd for the role too, funny as f*ck. But he's booked as f*ck too.

Only one person I know is actually free that the studios might pick would be Dane Cook....and that's cuz hes the typical studio choice for this.

On the other hand, let's just bring in Ryan Reynolds for this too, he was the only one perfert for him and still was handed the lanturn instead. Good for him bad for us(not the movie overall just the fact that he was perfect for the flash)

I have one more person who was really good for the flash but he was just casted as hawkeye for the avengers soooo f*ck that.
Lizardking515 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:44:33 AM

As for gl 2 being green lit already....wtf.m where's the trailer. All I've seen so far has been a poster...sum set photos (rr decked out in balls w tiny dog is funny pic) and a picture of a guy who's not playin gl wearing his ring on a magazine cover.

Ill be happy with them greenlighting it once we see a photo of rr as gl or even the trailer. But Comic Con is starting soon so it should be out soon.
lost_addict writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:14:01 AM

matternm58 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:27:41 AM

Already starting a 2nd Green Lantern? Here's an idea how bout wait til you see how the audience will think of this one so you know where to make improvements.
triggax writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:28:34 AM

Who said Jason Statham?

What a horrible pick.. can that guy even speak with an american accent? Not too mention hes about a foot short..

The fact here is that Reynolds as an actor would have made a waaaaaaaay better flash than anything else...

I think that he was just destined to be a super hero.. dudes personable, funny, c*cky.. and ripped..

Reynolds should, regardless of GL, still play the flash... He's always said himself that he would love to play the flash... So, deadpool... flash... gl... im cool with all three.. im not sick of him yet.. and actually we have all yet to see what he can accomplish as a justice league member..
triggax writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:31:11 AM


William Scott would be a greeaaat choice for sure.. He's hilarious and he's got the look..

What about nathan fillion?

Remember that faux GL trailer with him in it? He could make a damn good flash.. probably better than william scott could do... he's got bigger gonads it seems..
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:14:41 PM

YES!! that certainly made me giggle thank you for that memory lol

wow never really thought of Jason Segel as the flash but now you really have me wondering... Segel is one of my favorite actors and I'd love to see the guy slim back down to his Freaks and Geeks weight and maybe bulk up a bit and he'd be AWESOME for the flash... but then again i can also see Bradley Cooper as well hes plaus a very good sarcastic character and the guy certainly can be fun... Now Paul Rudd... love the guy but he'd probably be to old for the role... but if Dane Cook were ever to become a super hero... I'd have NO hope for it... especially the flash... but I do like the way to think... Jason Segel as the flash... anyone else agree? lol
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:21:23 PM

Wouldn't a Flash movie take mere nano-seconds to make?
triggax writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:27:34 PM

Yeah.. mosby.. i definitely agree. Segel would be a top choice.. i could see it already... he'd be prime... get nicholas stoller to direct... take it more into a comedic direction but still bad ass action... you know... i think segel would be perfect actually..
encoreyourface writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:43:59 PM

both flms are good with me, however i really wish they wouldn't jump the gun on sequels to films not gonna come out for about a year.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:51:03 PM

A flash film would be pretty cool.

How about Gary Colem...oh wait...
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:55:25 PM

Chris Evans! Wait a minute....

Will Smith! Strike two....

Sean William Scott sounds ideal, but I'm gonna go out on a limb a suggest......

Justin Timberlake. After his hilarious performances on SNL, his outrageous Super Bowl "mishap", and his decent film appearances, you can't deny he could handle the role and put butts in the seats. He's got the look for the part too. I'm just saying....
GIST writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:56:16 PM

Haha, that would be awesome if Ryan Reynolds played both characters. The Green Flashtern, The Flash Lantern, The Flash Intern, The Green Flux Capacitor, The Green Lanflasher, The Flaccid Asstern, The f*ck Am I Talkin' Bout?
Man in Black writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:09:31 PM

seann w scott for flash he has got the comedic timing to pull it off or NPH ...
FBO writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:18:21 PM

I am thinking that Kevin Heffernan is the perfect actor for this movie, hands down.
Man in Black writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:24:04 PM

ok how about a trade since this GL is Hal ( white dude ) and not John stewart ( black dude ) and it seems like spider man will most likely be white cause PP is white and stan is thorwing down the gauntlet ... A BLACK FLASH .... and you get ussin bolt to play him he already owns the records from last Olympics and he has some guts poseing like that as he crossed the finish line theirs your comedic timing
thedotsays writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:29:41 PM

@Sac, interesting call with Timberlake. His SNL stuff is legendary. And he was pretty solid in Alpha Dog and Southland Tales. My only gripe would be turning the keys to a franchise over to a singer. Although in that defense, the cat from Onyx did a pretty good job as Blade in the TV series.

Scott's a good choice, and I also like Ryan Phillippe for this. Sure he's a gloomy dude but he has a great look to him. Would've been a better choice for Cap than Evans, and I caught him on SNL and he's got the comedic timing.
He'd be great for this since this is a stand alone Flash film. When the Flash is around other heros, he's far more lighthearted and comedic than when he's on his own and Phillippe and Scott could deliver.
I'm more interested in the effects they'll use to bring the speed of the Flash to the screen just as much as I'm anxious to see the effects for GL.
Broken_English writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:52:47 PM

@eddie499 I love the Bradley Cooper pick that would be perfect casting. Yeah it was funny hearing him talk about how he blew his Green Lantern audition but he could redeem himself with this role.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 4:33:01 PM

Bradley Cooper and Shaun William Scott sound like good casts.

How about Aaron Eckhart or Thomas Jane if they need someone a little older.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:08:15 PM

Still would have preferred Bradley Cooper as Green Lantern and Ryan as Flash. Nathan Fillion's too old for Barry Allen. I wouldn'thave a problem with him playing Jay Garrick. That might be confusing for viewers though. Cooper would probably be good, he'd just have to make it past the audtion without coming off like an *sshole.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:38:11 PM

Really? You mean Farva? Landfill? TED MOSBY PORN STAR? lol
Buddz writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:50:53 PM

i think Dane cook might be a choice to consider here
Man in Black writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:36:52 PM

@ buddz he was already a super hero ... the waffler in mystery men cant believe everyone doesn't remember that gem of a film real oscar material
rabid writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:55:45 AM

NPH as The Flash! that's my vote.
TRON writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 3:19:22 AM

hey...for those of you wanting a sneak peek at Reynolds all suited up for GR...check out my profile pic...its the only way i knew to upload the pic for u guys to see...check it out.
rabid writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 11:03:08 AM

isn't that just the same old photoshopped GL picture thats been around for a year?
Mudders writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 10:20:48 PM

sorry bout the statham idea...never really followed flash that much....did some looking up on it and i can see why not to pick him now.

think someone with a slice of wise cracking humour would do the bit well.

sean william scott
matt damon
sam worthington
chris pine

god i dont think i could cast a fishing line

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved