WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Play The Riddler in "Batman 3"?

Posted: June 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Play The Riddler in "Batman 3"?Submit Comment
Joseph Gordon-Levitt has previously been asked whether he has spoken to his "Inception" director Christopher Nolan about the third Batman movie. Gordon-Levitt said that he avoids the topic with Nolan.

But HollywoodLife is reporting that not only has Gordon-Levitt been speaking with Nolan about "Batman 3," but that Nolan is considering him for The Riddler role.

The site states: "There was a joke at first between them [on the set of 'Inception'] that Joseph wanted to read for 'Batman 3' and things heated up as filming continued. It's not 100% confirmed that he's getting [the role of The Riddler] but there's certainly talk about it. Joseph is definitely on the short list."

Even though David Goyer is still writing the script, Nolan has already come up with the story. So he already likely knows whether The Riddler will be in "Batman 3" and it's not impossible that he has approached Gordon-Levitt about it.

Source: HollywoodLife


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 61 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:47:10 AM

YES!!!!!! EVEN THOUGH THIS IS JUST A RUMOUR I JUMPING FOR JOY RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:58:17 AM

I like the guy. This could be good if it's true. Although WP has articles like this every other day, just a bunch of rumors until confirmed by Nolan.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:04:18 AM

True that it is possible, prbably possible for Hardy and Dicaprio too.

But other than that, the source that you guys got your info from sounds 100% BS that was made up, that could actually happen
wonderBOY writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:14:27 AM

cant be worse than cobra commander
johnny_boy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:17:33 AM

If nolan believes in him, that's good enough for me
bill the butcher writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:45:48 AM

heath legend was cast as the joker because christopher nolan saw brokeback mountain and said heath was fearless wait till nolan sees MYSTERIOUS SKIN
AYT BALL writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 7:01:15 AM

does anyone else think he looks alot like heath though? could be the jokers brother!
lost_addict writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 7:01:21 AM

give him the kick!
SeWerin writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 7:25:58 AM

I'd like that JGL plays Joker, he and Heat are lookalikes. And JGL is a very good actor.

But if can't happen Riddler role is ok for him
avaela writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:26:38 AM

@Bill

agreed.
p.s. that has to be the most f*cked up movie i've ever seen
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:40:19 AM

No thanks. No Riddler.

Terrible villain...too much of a cheap Joker character. Plus he's already been used in both film and television. Batman's Rogue Gallery is massive....time to bring in some new villains for the big screen.

I do say yes to having JGL in the cast though. He's a great actor. But no Riddler. I'd rather see Leo playing opposite Bale as Black Mask. Now that would be cool.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:41:02 AM

This kid is growing on me but he has NO place in Nolan's Batman universe unless he plays Robin. I don't care how good (or bad) of an actor he is, I just don't want to see Batman fighting or matching wits with some guy that's never going to hit puberty. Come on WPers, don't let your love for the actor get in the way of common sense. If yall get JGL for the Riddler, I want a black Spider-Man. Its just as much of a stretch imo.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:55:18 AM

jeez laf*ckinglouise !!!!

He's one hell of an actor with serious chops ( I mean, he had to be in a scene with Channing Tatum, so how hard could that be ? It's like acting against drywall. )

But the riddler ? I propose he can do Clayface and have Clayface morph himself into the Joker or Two Face or any other character ... and have Batman follow him to Arkham Asylum, built to look like a Spanish Inquisition gallows, rather than a Joel Schumacher piece of sh*t ...

THAT would be f*ckin' cool.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:55:54 AM

^ See, Hollywood.

Imagination.

Go get some, you sh*tstains.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:58:12 AM

I wonder if they can dig up Caesar Romero and Heath Ledger's corpse and paint them up as the Joker. Call them the Joker Twins ...

" Joker Twins cackles ... ACTIVATE! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 8:59:32 AM

The site states: "There was a joke at first between them [on the set of 'Inception'] that Joseph wanted to read for 'Batman 3' and things heated up as filming continued. It's not 100% confirmed that he's getting [the role of The Riddler] but there's certainly talk about it. Joseph is definitely on the short list."

As opposed to the Short Bus, the official ride for Gary Coleman's widow.
BigUnit writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:03:55 AM

i like the sound of guy peirce being the riddler better.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:13:41 AM

I think he'd make a good Riddler. He's acted very well in both serious and comedy movies.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:15:09 AM

This is f*cking fantastic news... JGL is a phenomenal actor... He was awesome in (500) Days of Summer... but that one movie Uncertainty... was AWEFUL! Am I the only one who wasted my time with that movie? Oh well it was Netflix INSTANT view so I won't blame myself too much...
i3u7n5 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:23:40 AM

This just in, Gary Coleman will be playing "Negronius Pleazious" in the sequel to Gladiator.

Anyone who buys into these batrumors is f*cking retarded.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:12:06 AM

You people are crazy. No way JGL fits this part. He's a decet actor now, but he still looks like he's 13. If they want a 3rd Rock star to be a badass movie villain look no further than John Lithgow. He's played some of the best bad guys in film and TV history. He'd make a perfect Riddler.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:19:20 AM

If Nolan wants some babyface to play the Riddler why not just ask Leo to do it? He's a much better actor than JGL and he's due to play a villain for once. That would be a great part for him and would insure a blockbuster finale to the franchise. Maybe it will also get people to stop sucking Heath Ledger's dead d*ck and let the man finally rest in peace.
eddie499 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:27:12 AM

I like the guy. He was awesome in Brick and The Lookout. Two of my favorite movies over the past 5 years or so. I know there were a lot of doubts about Heath Ledger when he was announced for the Joker. If this is even remotely true, I say to trust Nolan, he's got some good instincts when it comes to his casting choices for the most part.
makingcircles writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:28:18 AM

I trust whatever Nolan decides in the end but right now my list contains Guy Pierce as the Riddler.
rabid writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:48:06 AM

Glad to see him in the mix, but I think he'd make a much better cameo as the Joker.
Lizardking515 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 10:50:45 AM

Am I the only1 who remembers this kid from 3rd rock from the sun?

And he should play poison ivy....he's got the body for it. Lmao.

But seriously, I figured as much as him or leo as riddler.

But y, y is nolan going to use all characters used in other batt movies n shows. We need a new villian. I say put the creeper in it as a side villian
makingcircles writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:00:05 AM

@rabid - Good point about Joker cameo.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:17:20 AM

I wouldn't mind. I know he'll feel good getting G.I.Joe off of our minds... Well till the next G.I.Crap arrives.
Inception writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:23:25 AM

@ SACdaddy: Agree with you.

If they are gonna do the Riddler then who's better than Guy Pearce? Look at "Memento" and you will see that the guy can do the role easily. The only role suited for JGL is Robin. I give him credit that he is not a bad actor (Killshot is probably the best film he has ever done and Inception when it comes out) but as one or the main villain in Batman 3 is just too much for the kid. I do believe in Nolan's work but to a certain extent, and casting JGL is a main villain is a pathetic joke, it's like bringing Johnny deep and Angelina Jolie aboard the bat-boat.
Inception writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:25:58 AM

Fixed**

I do believe in Nolan's work but to a certain extent, and casting JGL as a main villain is a pathetic joke, it's like bringing Johnny Deep and Angelina Jolie aboard the bat-boat.
triggax writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:42:32 AM

Im sure this is an inevitability... You've gotta make something of the riddler.. it makes perfect sense for a 3rd film.. I think everyone really wants to see the riddler in nolans batman world... See what he can make his story into...
Levitt would be literally at the top of my list for the riddler if i was Nolan.. The kid is just too good an actor.. He'd be perfect..

You wait.. til we hear about casting... Because of inception i can almost guarantee that levitt will be in the 3rd instalment.., and because of inception I can atleast speculate that Ellen Page might be brought on for a role.. possibly harley quinn..
Inception writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:48:52 AM

@ SAC: Couldn't agree more. Leo as the main villain would be a great way to end the trilogy. I mean If Nolan decides to go with an actor with baby face.

Heath Ledger's corpse is all rotten, the only part that is still shinning is his d*ck.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:07:05 PM

Mysterious Skin, Brick, The Lookout, (500) Days of Summer... and next Inception... the man definitely act!

But I'll never forget his role in Halloween H20 where he got a skate blade stuck in his face lmao CLASSIC JGL...
encoreyourface writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:44:42 PM

that would be sweet!
Aingx writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:14:57 PM

Sounds like a win...
BigUnit writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:23:38 PM

@ Insception- couldnt agree with you more with Guy Pearce, the guy is perfect for the role, and i have always respected him as an actor, very under-rated
GIST writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:48:49 PM

I'm going leftfield here and saying...Steve Buscemi as The Riddler. Bill Murray, maybe? How about Denzel Washington. Actually, I'm really serious about Steve Buscemi.
jdl107 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:51:03 PM

I like this choice more than the overrated Depp. But only because he's overrated. This would be interesting to see
bloodgear writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:04:58 PM

I don't think he'll be in it as Riddler. He may well be in it, but I'd rather he came in as Jason Todd or d*ck Grayson without ever being Robin. Nolan's stated before he wouldn't touch Robin [Unlike Batman!] but it's still possible he'd go for Nightwing.

I'm still holding out for Ra's return though :)
GIST writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:21:28 PM

@jdl107

I partially disagree with you on this. I only think he's overrated due to the countless collaborative films he's done with Tim Burton. I think he's been breast-feeding on that dry tit for sometime now. And leaves us, with a predictable outcome of his character acting.
But, it's Johnny Depp as The Riddler in a CHRISTOPHER NOLAN installment. It's a totally different direction, I believe Nolan wouldn't want him to portray a role that would be reminiscent of Depp's past characters in other films. For example, The Mad Hatter was a mixture of Willy Wonka and Jack Sparrow. And maybe a bit of Ichabod Crane. I think Nolan would be stern and ask Depp to play a "Normal" villian. I don't know what "Normal" is, but that's what makes it interesting. Who knows what level both Director and Actor may take this film at.
Although I'm a fan of Depp's work. I still wouldn't want to see him in this. Maybe if Christopher Nolan would put the audition reel of his performance in the DVD special features section. Then yeah sure, but that would never happen.
Monash writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:24:18 PM

Better choice than Johnny Depp who keeps getting fancast
Man in Black writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:28:27 PM

the riddler is a poor mans joker ... f*ckit just amke him bane ! these are all rumors any how
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:07:17 PM

The more I think about it, the more this sounds like wishful thinking on the part of some Nolan/Batfans. In interviews, David Goyer has seemed to hint that they'd use a less well-known villain for the third installment, which makes a lot of sense.

With a villain who has never been in a Batman film before, Nolan and whichever actor would have total freedom to create a fantastic screen villain without the baggage of another actor having portrayed it. (And we'd be free from the Joker wannabe/knockoff character of the Riddler. I'm sorry, but the Riddler is rather dull and non-intimidating villain.)

I really hope the Nolan brothers and David Goyer go the route of the lesser-known villain. It's a little tiring to just keep getting recycled versions of the few "tried and true" Bat-villains: Joker, Two-Face, Riddler, Penguin, Catwoman, Poison Ivy, etc. There's more to Batman's villain roster than them.

I want to see Nolan do something awesome and dramatic and unexpected to wrap up his trilogy. A strong story with a formidable villain.

And I doubt that we will be able to guess who he'll cast as the main baddie. Johnny Depp, David Tennant, or JGL as the Riddler? Angeline Jolie as Catwoman? Honestly, who foresaw Heath Ledger getting cast as The Joker? Everybody was proclaiming that it would be Paul Bettany, Adrien Brody, or Lachy Hulme. I'm positive that Nolan will blow our minds with whatever unexpected things he and Goyer will come up with for Batman 3.

And bring on Inception!
eddie499 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:26:41 PM

After seeing some of the discussion above, I have to agree with some of the comments that lesser known villains should be portrayed. It worked for Batman Begins very well. Frankly, I would love to see Scarecrow come out and do some more damage.

One of the things I have loved about the past 2 movies is the fact that they're grounded in reality. I know it's a comic book movie and all that, but they have stayed away from super-powered villains Poison Ivy or some of the incarnations of Clayface.

Villains like the Riddler and Penguin do have that basis of reality going for them and I would hate for some goofy powers to cheapen the film, but it's nothing a good writing team couldn't solve so I personally will keep an open mind.
thedotsays writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:52:37 PM

I like the JGL call because it's Nolan's Batman universe. And in Nolan's he takes the essence of the character and develops that rather than just blindly tossing in a character just as we know it.
The Riddler could be this youthful faced mental genius who is overly tapped into the internet world. A guy where his intellect has given everything to him easy and early. Graduated college early, went into the business world early but somewhere along the line he breaks from the mounting pressure.
Hell they could even have him helping Gotham PD in trying to track down Batman and he succeeds but would rather test wits with Batman rather than turn him in.
Hell, I could go for that.
rabid writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:57:25 PM

The Riddler is a useless character. They dont have to use him just because he's next on the popularity list. I can see realistic versions of Killer Croc and Penguin much more exciting.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:19:39 PM

This would be amazing
vaodsi writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:33:13 PM

YESSS! that would be sweet....
or hardy.. hardy would be good.. so would depp! can't wait for batman3!
Derp88 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:04:25 PM

I watched 500 Days of Summer a few days ago and this dude is a good actor, however it was creepy because he looks exactly like Heath Ledger,everytime i saw him i thought Ledger rose from the grave,creepy.
heelswin writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 6:08:07 PM

I am not saying I know a lot of the movies this guy is in, but I have seen like 3 in the last year and I would not say this kid is a great actor. What is his best acting job I must no have seen it because I am perplexed how he keeps getting jobs.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 7:44:09 PM

@heelswin, check out The Lookout, Brick, and Mysterious Skin to see JGL's acting chops (and G.I. Joe, of course).
encoreyourface writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:42:16 PM

Rabid-i never the liked Penguin that much, i really like the Riddler however. just my opinion ...
Tyrkae writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:33:25 PM

abviously the riddler isnt a Phsyical threat to batman so saying hes fighting a guy in his puberty isnt a problem i think riddler should find his identity out and mind F$ck the hell outta batman as for the actor im still sticking with Michael C Hall aka Dexter
rabid writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:53:26 AM

I've read a couple of decent Riddler stories, but usually he just comes off as a generic version of the Joker. I liked it the short while he was a detective because it gave the character a real purpose.
Penguin has a real world purpose too. He's an arms dealer. I could picture a really gritty Penguin nolan-style that waddles because his legs were blown off at the knees. Even if he isn't the main bad guy, it'd be nice to see him in the film supplying guns for the real villain.
And Killer Croc is a cannibal with a skin disorder. What the hell is creepier than that?

Whoever they choose for the film, they need to stand out as completely different. More riddles and jokes might feel like the same film.
rabid writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 12:54:38 AM

Riddler did know who Bruce Wayne was for several years in the books and did nothing with the knowledge. He even became a decent guy for a minute. Then they made him a basketcase again.
Telly like it is writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 4:36:23 AM

The Mad Hatter character could be interesting. Or one of my favorite characters The Ventriloquist. He could be a good choice for JGL.
darkraven28 writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:00:00 PM

WHOA MIDGETS!
carl4prez writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:39:47 PM

BEST CASTING CHOICE IVE HEARD YET!!!! He's like Heath Ledgers twin!!! CAST HIM!
carl4prez writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 5:39:48 PM

BEST CASTING CHOICE IVE HEARD YET!!!! He's like Heath Ledgers twin!!! CAST HIM!
MadHatter writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 2:02:05 AM

@carl4prez -
I agree!
anarchyshadow13 writes:
on June 16th, 2010 at 11:30:08 AM

I think JGL is a great choice but hopefully nolan has also considered Michael C. Hall for The Riddler. He was great in Gamer & he is always amazing in Dexter.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved