WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stan Lee Thinks a White Actor Should Play "Spider-Man"

Posted: June 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stan Lee Thinks a White Actor Should Play "Spider-Man"Submit Comment
A massive Twitter campaign has been pushing for "Community" actor Donald Glover to star as Peter Parker in the "Spider-Man" reboot. But Glover is African-American and Sony Pictures likely wants a white actor to play Spidey. But what does Stan Lee think about all this?

"He's a great actor. I've seen him, and he's terrific," Lee said of Glover. "As far as I'm concerned ... anybody should have a chance to audition for the role. I certainly think he should have a chance to audition."

He continued: "Here's the point: We've already had the Kingpin in 'Daredevil' portrayed by a black man, where he was white in the comics, [and] we've had Nick Fury portrayed by a black man where he was white in the comics," said Lee. "But not that many people had seen these characters not that many moviegoers are familiar with them. Everybody seems to be familiar with Spider-Man, so I say that it isn't that it's a racial issue it's just that it might be confusing to people."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 9:05:34 PM

Really, you dont think. Stan your a genius a white guy should play Spiderman, good job keep up the good work old friend.
poopbones writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 9:07:24 PM

Well Stan, not a lot of people know you....I think we're gonna have Morgan Freeman play you in your biopic.
@nchorman writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 9:10:45 PM

oh snap!!!
i wanted terry crews to play captain america....
there goes my hopes and dreams =[
i also wanted beyonce to play black-kat
but i found that racist
nope.com writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 9:14:58 PM

this thing is still being talked about seriously?

I thought that Jamie Bell kid had this thing in the bag.. who is white, which is infinitely better than
Donald "black kid running for Spiderman on Twitter so look at me everyone and vote for me cause I would never have a shot even if I were white because I'm sh*t on NBC" Glover
wonderBOY writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 9:58:04 PM

if they want a black actor get jaden smith
mariachi writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:03:16 PM

"it's just that it might be confusing to people"

Gimme a f*cking break. I'll tell you whats confusing. The fact that in the US the current "minorities" will very soon out number the current white majority and YET movies and tv are still waaaay behind (SNL has a white guy playing Obama, for f*cks sake).
All you honkies need not worry, though. Obviously, Twitter and Facebook aren't going to persuade the studio to give this guy the role (He's no Betty White).
All I want is a good actor, the RIGHT actor to play Spidey and black kids should have a chance to star in a soon-to-be pieceofsh*t reboot just like white kids.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:04:32 PM

Let Stan Lee play it

johnny_boy writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:06:43 PM

Good man you are Stan Lee. I've thought you were loosing your mind but you're just as sharp as always.

"But not that many people had seen these characters not that many moviegoers are familiar with them. Everybody seems to be familiar with Spider-Man, so I say that it isn't that it's a racial issue it's just that it might be confusing to people"

very cleverly put
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:15:09 PM

Stan Lee Thinks a White Actor Should Play "Spider-Man" --- so does the KKK.

Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:16:50 PM

@mariachi - 'honkies'... really... 'honkies'?!

That's not a very sophisticated term Spear-Chucker.
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:17:26 PM

Sorry Pedro... just teasin' (not)!
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:17:56 PM

And if you're here posting... who's washing my car?!?!
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:18:55 PM

... working our orchards?
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:22:59 PM

As for following SNL's lead... sure, let's do that. A 'comedy show' that hasn't been funny for at least 15 years... there's a trend.
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:43:33 PM

PS: not that I care... really, as PP isn't a definitive 'color' like Black Panther is...

But since you played the 'honkie' card...

Spiderman is white. Lee is right (as usual).
So is James Bond.
And the Black Panther can remain black.

How's dat?!
mariachi writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:46:11 PM

Deal.
mariachi writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:47:50 PM

I can't stress enough how much I don't want this movie to happen.
mariachi writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:49:51 PM

I miss LOST.... Wait- is my mic still on??
JRprime writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 10:54:49 PM

i think the creator gets the say in this
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:04:47 PM

@mariachi - you're a good sport. Thx. for the kind reply.

I didn't mind Tobey as PP. He was boyish. And the emo thing in the last movie wasn't his fault. Then Sony f*cked with the mix... battled and quashed Raimi right now. But I liked the original series. These 'reboots' are coming way too fast from Hollyweird.

@JR - one would hope so my friend.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:12:36 PM

Stan Lee thinks Lou Gehrig still plays with the Yankees ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:13:58 PM

Stan should only keep his mouth open to swallow the spunk of Joe Quesada and the Board of Directors at Marvel.

Otherwise, memorize your one f*ckin' line, do your f*ckin' cameo and keep that f*ckin' trap shut, Stan.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:15:06 PM

Hey, Stan .... you still f*ckin' Joe Kirby's wife like you backdoored Joe ? Hey, Joe knew that wasn't a pencil going up his rusty batter's box.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:16:07 PM

I pray for polio to come back so it ONLY wipes out Stan " The Paycheck Casher Man " Lee.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:18:47 PM

Hey Stan, the Grand Dragon called. He wants the hood and robe back. His exact words were, " I knew we were in f*ckin' trouble once that Himey writing catf*cker started f*ckin' Kirby in the ass. If he f*cks other minorities anally, what's he gonna do to us crackas ? "
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:40:38 PM

@Max - you're on fire Bro!!!

LOL!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:42:38 PM

@Ranger

Spearchucker ? You watched my M*A*S*H DVD again, didn't ya ?

Oliver Wendel " Spearchucker " Mariachi-Jones
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:47:03 PM

'...memorize your one f*ckin' line, do your f*ckin' cameo and keep that f*ckin' trap shut, Stan.' --- still laughing over that one (and others)!
Coasterkid345 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:08:17 AM

I think he tried to answer that in the most un-racist way possible. Well done, Stan, well done...
Stuntastic writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:15:34 AM

U know what here's an idea, why not give Glover the Robert Downey Jr. treatment a la Tropic Thunder. If Stan thinks he's a great actor why not if the only thing stopping Glover is his skin color. And to tell you the truth I think RDJ did a fine job in Tropic Thunder as a black man, hell I almost forgot it was him at one point.
outofshadow writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:20:05 AM

as long as Tom Hanks can audition for Luke Cage im fine.
Stuntastic writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:22:39 AM

@Mariachi:(SNL has a white guy playing Obama, for f*cks sake). U do realize Obama is half white right? And Honky? I haven't heard that sh*t in a minute lol. That's like saying Cowabunga
Sinestro writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:44:16 AM

Stan is right. Spider-Man is white. I don't see why people are up-in-arms about this. It's not like they are changing a formerly black character to white.
Sinestro writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:53:54 AM

Although it's a bit ironic hearing him saying that after he made Superman blond and Batman black when he did the JUST IMAGINE line for DC.
Lulupendragon writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:57:22 AM

Isn't it a cliche for the black guy to die first in a movie. Of course not all movies go by it, but its something to think about.
JohnZee writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:08:54 AM

Funny Poopbones.

Only problem is I'm betting that more people in the world know who Stan Lee is then the ones that know who Lyndon Johnson, George Harrison, or Morgan Freeman are for that matter.

And far more people know who Stan Lee is than who Julie Shwartz was.

@mariachi

Minorities will very soon outnumber the current white majority?

Nope not really. Not even if every single minority was lumped together into one huge minority final number.

White people make up about 75% of the population of the United States. And everyone else, meaning every other individual minority that you can actually rightfully call a minority makes up the remaining 25%.

But of course these figures are from 2008, but I'm doubting that all the minorities were so focused on baby making since that time to make that much of a dent in either one of those figures.

75% > 25%

I'm guessing when you said that very soon the minorities would overtake the so-called majority of white people that "very soon" to you means several hundred years from now.

Movies are not behind, especially when you consider the ton of one type of minority only films. Movies actually come closer to reflecting the actual population density. And most white directors don't make white or black movies, they just make movies.

The same cannot be said for a lot of black directors.

I can understand why a black, asian, middle eastern, latino person would want the studio to cater to them and give a universally white role to someone that matches their own individual ethnicity.

Some times when I listen to Johnny Cash song about "John Henry" I imagine to myself that John Henry was really a sarcastic white male that liked cheap liquor, woman, and an occasional good cigar...

...but he probably wasn't.

But personally I would rather that a stronger fictional role and presence for such minorities would be initially created, and not just alter an established character because Spiderman would be cooler if he was black.

Plenty of decent African American Marvel characters. And if I wrote a long article about why Luke Cage should be played by a white actor I would instantly be condemned as a racist.

But to me there is no difference, both are major Marvel characters, and both have been known for being their particular ethnicity for generations.

If there is a difference, then I guess I'm just too color blind to see it.

@Stuntastic

Stan doesn't believe the kid can play the role, he's just being polite. If Stan did an interview and said "Donald Glover? Kid's got a little bit of talent, but pretty damned unqualified to play the lead in a major motion picture movie."

Then everyone would have thought that at best Stan Lee was an ass, and at worst they would think he was a racist.

And here's a little secret in case you didn't know it. Stan Lee's been trying to convince the world that he's really just a nice guy for decades. Even when he was sticking it to Jack's Big Barda-like wife, he was trying to convince everyone he was an extremely nice guy.

Why would he screw that up just because some punk kid was trying to f*ck with one of his creations?





masht7 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:27:21 AM

JUST GET MCLOVIN ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!
mandevil13 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 1:49:58 AM

Spiderman is not black, neither is Wonder Woman or Captain America
Sinestro writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:02:19 AM

Personally, I dislike that whole bit about how minorities will soon be anything but. We're not the same, we don't have picnics and hold big meetings about how to outnumber whitey. I'm hispanic, not black or asian or european or middle eastern or none of that. They gotta stop it with that crap. Makes it sound like we're an invading army or something.
trailertrash writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:43:42 AM

"All you honkies" well, I'll be , i thought we had moved on from such racial slurs in this day and age .....

Just show's there's still hate for the white man out there.


ranger - lol
encoreyourface writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:05:12 AM

well Stan the man, you've got common f*cking sense. i agree, it would be very confusing.

gonna be a sad day when you die ... don't wanna think about it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:19:56 AM

I dont think he can die !!
popcorn writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:23:10 AM

Why I dont want a black Spider-Man, coz when that actor grows up he will get his son to play in The Karate Kid and f*ck it up
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 3:40:50 AM

@mariachi:
Why not have Cody from "Step By Step" play Malcolm X in a remake directed by Uwe Boll?
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 4:02:58 AM

JohnZee FTW!!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 5:19:22 AM

@Max - re: MASH - yes. The first couple of years were still the best for that series. Even Radar was a scam artist and one of the guys, before the show went really mainstream and they made him a virgin, etc.

re: Oliver Wendel... lol.

@JohnZee - well said.

@trailer - lol... thank you.
koul writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 9:19:35 AM

screw this sh*t. i wanted to see dylan baker play the lizard
MissPrissy writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 12:20:25 PM

Before 1970 almost all comic book characters were white so you'd never cast a minority in anything if you stick with Lee's logic. However, the movie franchise has had only one Peter Parker so far and he's a white dude so I say stick with it. More importantly, Republicans will lose their minds if a black Peter Parker gets to make out with a white Mary Jane - LOL!
DeathProof88 writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:14:04 PM

I cannot believe this is still being debated, Peter Parker is White!!! there is nothing racist about it! everyone complains about the first 3 because they didnt follow the comics very well or whatever but yet Peter Parker being black is really up for debate f*ck!!! Stan Lee created the character and you people are calling him racist because he wants his character to remain true to his comics??? what a bunch of f*cking idiots you people are. You know what I hate every single race including you stupid white f*cks!!! who are so scared of offending someone you cant even just stand up and say No a black guy shouldnt play Peter Parker because Peter Parker is not Black.
Lost Dude writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 2:52:24 PM

Good point Deathproof, and besides, how many black guys out there are named Peter anyway? It almost makes as much sense as a white guy named Jamal Gustafson.
funseeker writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 7:31:15 PM

well i kind of think Luke Cage is white and Blade is a japanese dude ... why not ... maybe in next muhammad ali biopic he should be portrayed by jason statham, and of course denzel as jfk is obvious choice ...

or maybe we can have denzel biopic with a white guy as him ...

wtf ... race has no meaning until you start paying so much attention to it ... i mean if parker was white and luke cage black how come now its all the same??? i don't want white blade, but i do not want black peter parker ... that is just wrong!!!! or maybe we should paint them in teletubbies colors so all audiences can relate to them ...
pink parker, rainbow iron man, green blade, bajoran wolverine????
Salvador writes:
on June 11th, 2010 at 1:13:14 PM

Well said, Mr.Lee!

So, the question is ended.
Shaktar writes:
on June 12th, 2010 at 6:45:47 PM

I THINK SPIDER MAN SHOULD BE PLAYED BY A BLACK KID! I ALSO THINK I WOULD LOVE TO WATCH JACK NICHOLSON AS MANDELA AND MEL GIBSON AS MARTIN LUTHER KING, I DONT THINK BLACK PEOPLE WILL COMPLAIN SINCE THERE IS ONLY A MATTER OF A SUIT ACTOR FOR A ROLE RIGHT?
popcorn writes:
on June 13th, 2010 at 3:07:42 AM

no matter who plays it we're still going to watch it

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved