WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Killers," "Marmaduke" and "Splice" Underperform in Theaters

Posted: June 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Killers," "Marmaduke" and "Splice" Underperform in TheatersSubmit Comment
After three weeks in theaters, "Shrek Forever After" remained in first place at the domestic box office this weekend. The film grossed another $25 million for a domestic total of $183 million. The fourth installment has earned a worldwide total of $251 million on a $165 million budget. DreamWorks is now planning a "Puss In Boots" spin-off.

There were four wide releases, all of which underperformed except for "Get Him to the Greek." The "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" spin-off grossed $17.4 million to take second place. The film cost only $40 million to make, which "Greek" should have no trouble earning back.

Ashton Kutcher's "Killers" ended up in third place with $16.1 million, which is not a bad weekend take, but the film cost a whopping $75 million to make. Lionsgate CEO Jon Feltheimer recently said that if "Killers" didn't earn $20 million during its opening weekend, then the film will likely lose money. Combine the budget of "Killers" with its marketing costs and the movie is officially a bomb.

Owen Wilson's "Marmaduke," based on the comic strip, took sixth place with $11.3 million. Since the film cost $50 million to make, consider "Marmaduke" yet another bomb.

Adrien Brody's "Splice" was supposed to play in limited theaters but was promoted to a wide release by producer Joel Silver. The $30 million film ended up grossing $7.4 million, which may not be enough to make back its $30 million budget theatrically. Warner Bros said it is disappointed that the film didn't do better.

Click here to read our "Shrek Forever After" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 6:02:58 PM

Marmaduke is a bit of a dog , What a shock !!!
encoreyourface writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 6:11:45 PM

i knew Splice would be a nut buster, same with Killers ... another no brainier.

never even heard of Marmaduke ... sounds pretty gay however.
rabid writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 6:35:17 PM

I keep hearing that Splice is really good.
trailertrash writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 6:42:24 PM

Boxoffice has been pretty slow sofar this summer, At least you guys in the USA get the Ateam next week we have to wait till the end of july !!

Just seen that it's 20 years ago Total Recall came out !! WOW time is just flying by ..
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 6:49:23 PM

I'm old enough to remember the comic strip Marmaduke. I'm not surprised this movie is bombing even amoung the kiddy audience.
Ranger writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 6:58:04 PM

Anyone that pays to go see 'Killers' is a fool (offense intended). Why didn't they just call it: Mr. & Mrs. Smith 2 - THAT would have been LESS insulting.

Kutcher (moron) or Haigl (the woman that bitches and bites the hand that feed her). I can't imagine either in a movie I'd pay for (unless they're in an such an obscure supporting role their credit would read either: 'Moron!' or 'Bitch!').
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 7:38:24 PM

Shrek 4 = looks like sh*t
GHTTG = looks like sh*t
Killers = looks like sh*t
Marmaduke = looks like sh*t
Prince of Persia = WAS sh*t
Splice = WAS sh*t

What a lousy summer so far....thank god for Netlflix.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 8:06:22 PM

This is a sign, Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 8:32:59 PM

@Phantom - 'The Expendables!' is coming buddy... hold on!
Detrimental writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 8:39:30 PM

A Team. Expendables. Our hope lies with you now. Til the next ejaculation of superhero movies c*ms out.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 8:52:07 PM

What a sh*tty start to the summer. I saw Splice and liked it, but I can see how it wouldn't get wide appeal. After looking back at it I may have to change my enthusiasm about it too. Its just not scary enough. I didn't know or care about any of the other new releases, but judging from their lack of BO bang it looks liks some producer missed a good opportunity to make some money this weekend. Any halfway decent film could have dominated the theaters this weekend considering the weak competition.
GIST writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 8:52:52 PM

Inception is what I'm waiting on.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 8:53:18 PM

To tell you the truth... This is not the only worst weekend of summer blockbusters... It is the biggest and worst year of summer blockbusters!!!!!

If you look back 2008, you had Iron Man, Incredible Hulk, Wall-E, The Dark Knight, Indiana Jones 4 and Tropic Thunder.... couldn`t be better that year!!!!

2009, ;uch better.... Star Trek, Transformers 2 (which of course I consider the biggest piece of crap that Michael Bay have ever do in a sequel), Up, Inglorious Basterds, District 9, The Hangover.... which wasn`t bad not like today...

And now you have this piece of sh*t of year 2010... I looked it... Iron Man 2, Robin Hood, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Clash of the Titans, The Losers, Sex amd the City 2, Prince of Persia, Shrek 4... Not any of then had made a remarkable representation of the best movie of this year so far... You have the sequels and OMG, and I wish that Nolan have taken each one of then and turn it into a classic like he do with TDK... I expect to get better on what is coming like The Karate Kid, Eclipse, Toy Story 3, The Expendables... cause is not the case, please God put a bullet on every single director who doesn`t have the innovative of making a good film like others....
Inception writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 9:38:47 PM

Only MTV viewers will go and pay to see this load of crap.

Ranger writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 9:45:27 PM

I'm glad... nay THRILLED the movie-going public is STARTING to 'VOTE WITH THEIR $'s!' and not going out to pay (thus making them $'s) ANY piece of sh*t Hollyweird decides to shovel our way.

If anyone on here pays to see 'Stretch Armstrong' (with having kids or not), call me. I'll come to your house and kick you in the genitals!!!





(I'm f*cking serious!).
BigUnit writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 10:11:51 PM

how was splice? i really want to see it
CCBlev writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 10:20:53 PM

Trailer- Wow that was 20 years ago.
I'm not surprised thats this summer is lackluster so far! Other than Iron Man 2 and Shrek 4, there really have no blockbusters yet. Until we get A-Team to kick things off. Inception will be huge as will a few others but this summer will be a bit of a downer, next year 2011 looks to be huge so far, but we gotta wait and see!
WV-Films writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 10:32:59 PM

This doesn't come as a total surprise as this has to be one of the worst summers for movies in years. The writers strike's affects finally seem to be dwindling down. Hopefully next year we'll see a resurgence of good summer blockbusters.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 10:55:22 PM

@Big Unit: Splice was a good tribute to the David Cronenberg style of sci-fi horror. It gets pretty questionable though at points (especially at the end) and it isn't very scary. There are a few distinct scenes in that will make or break the film for any viewer. If you're sick enough to see the creepiness of Splice you'll like it. The more I think of it, the less it appeals me though :(
SACdaddy writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 10:58:59 PM

Off topic:

Jonah Hex PG-13. FU Hwood!!!
FBO writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 11:12:20 PM

I actually liked mr and mrs smith, killers just looks retarded. They should have called it; Autistic Mr and Mrs Smith, now that's more like it.

@Johnnyb - Did you just list a twilight movie under one of your hopefuls?
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 11:25:56 PM

i really hope The Karate Kid BOMBS and Jayden Smith crys to his B.O king of a "daddy"
vaodsi writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 12:48:19 AM

splice has pretty good word of mouth
i've heard nothing but good about it and the critics who hate it are the ones who were offended.
but even the bad reviews are pretty mild saying stuff like "almost great" etc...
i hope it does better cause movies like that don't get made a lot. I think it should have been limited first, then it would generate the word of mouth and open wide with a good opening. Doing it this way is kinda setting it up for failure. i am gonna see it this week.
lost_addict writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 1:13:48 AM

saw 'killers'-it was horrible.Kutcher was badly miscasted(as for most roles)and Heigel is sweet but every role she makes it the same.two thumbs way way down.
otis writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 1:38:16 AM

It's the producer's fault that Killers is underperforming. You've got to rationalize that a $75 mill budget with 2 floundering talentless hoagies isn't going to be made back.
pakmandogg writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 1:56:36 AM

duh they all looked like crap
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 1:58:48 AM

@FBO - I liked Mr. And Mrs. Smith as well... that's why (even more so) making a carbon copy of it with 'Killers' sucks that much more.

Brad and Angelina's fight in their house... the chase scene on the freeway with the BMW's etc. Those 2 did comedy really well (plus they had chemistry - their genitals were wet with one-another).

I'd watch Kutcher or Heigl if they did a snuff film.
trailertrash writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 2:41:39 AM

A Kutcher and Heigl snuff movie with coleman's ex and they will call it "sore 3: The herpes licker"
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 2:43:22 AM

The Frying Pan Killing Mutt-Ugly Ginger!

Co-starring...

Moron and Bitch!
trailertrash writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 2:49:48 AM

This will be on Kutcher's Twitter page soon no doubt when he needs more publicity ...

"granny dipping"

Kutcher's sex tape with Demi
trailertrash writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 2:51:04 AM

Not there's anything wrong with her or that , just a bit strange that Bruce was the camera man !!
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 2:53:30 AM

I hear ya!

http://tinyurl.com/DemiAshton
trailertrash writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 3:01:22 AM

HA HA HA HA HA !!!!!

Nice....
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 3:04:26 AM

lol... I prefer Demi as a brunette though.
trailertrash writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 3:13:52 AM

LOL !!

She looks younger white with the white curly hair though !!
trailertrash writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 4:18:40 AM

CC- i know makes you feel old !! lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 5:53:21 AM

Reasons why Killers and Marmaduke tanked ?

1. Ashton Kutcher. Getting long in the tooth and finding out his acting career is one long Punked! episode. Kinda depressing, isn't is Ashton ? Go back to getting breastfed from Demi. And making those f*ckin' annoying camera commercials. Your fifteen levels lower than Mariette Hartley.

2. Kathlene Heigl. Unless she's bending over the sink willing to take the submarine plunge, the up periscope, the deep sea trolley ... well, she sexy, but as funny as Sarah Jessica " Big Schnoz " Parker.

3. Marmaduke. It didn't work for Garfield. What the f*ck makes you think it's going to work for a newspaper comic strip that is less panels and not even as funny in the papers ? What the f*ck next ? Al f*ckin' Capp ?

4. Owen Wilson. Even longer in the tooth. Owen, you can retire now. And by retire, I mean you can go ahead and kill yourself, like we've read in the past you've been tempted to do. Your voice makes Southern people vomit uncontrollably. And the fact that you got partnered up with George Lopez ? Boy, did someone get screwed anally in their contract. The only reason I think you didn't swallow the seamen of the producers is because they didn't call on the vocal stylings of Cheech Marin.

but Splice ? It was f*ckin' original. Oh, well. So much for originality in Hollywood.


Anyway, saw Get Him to the Greek. Nice f*cking segway from The Losers (which proved that Zoe Saldana can be the poster child for Save The Children, just by showing her bony body in front of the camera. Zoe, ANOREXIA ISN'T SEXY, HONEY. EAT A f*ckIN' SANDWICH.) and ... the A-Team.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 11:12:19 AM

@FBO: Just sayin... I don`t want anybody to see the film if they don`t feel comfortable!!!!! What else can we expect of this summer┐? And also I forgot to mention A-Team and Inception, which could possible be the outcome of recent failures of this summer.

Salvador writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 12:10:31 PM

So.. is this means 'Eclipse' will be by far a better movie after all?

Something is wrong with Hollywood nowadays!
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 1:42:24 PM

'And by retire, I mean you can go ahead and kill yourself' - lol.

And Zoe, further to Max's comment. Sure eat a sandwich babe... but NO MORE PUKING!!!

jigsaw23 writes:
on June 8th, 2010 at 3:08:45 AM

well splice just looks like species and doesnt look any good
joshmihaly writes:
on June 9th, 2010 at 11:32:00 PM

Get Him to the Greek was pretty funny. I enjoyed it and am glad it's doing well. Killers was f*cking stupid. I didn't pay for the ticket so it's not so bad, but still. Ashton Kutcher I honestly don't mind, I think he would do a lot better if he stuck to drama instead of sh*tty romantic comedies though. But f*ck you Heigl! You're not even that hot and you suck at acting. Half of her lines consist of her f*cking screaming and I immediately wanted to punch a f*cking baby!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved