WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Superman" Reboot Will be Told in Modern Context

Posted: June 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Superman" Reboot Will be Told in Modern ContextSubmit Comment
In an interview with Empire magazine, director Christopher Nolan spoke about his upcoming "Inception" movie, but also mentioned that David Goyer already has great story idea for the "Superman" reboot.

"We were just sitting there idly chatting and [Goyer] said 'by the way, I think I know how you approach Superman'... and he told me his take on it," said Nolan. "I thought it was really tremendous. It was the first time I've been able to conceive of how you'd address Superman in a modern context. I thought it was a really exciting idea. What you have to remember about Batman and Superman is that what makes them the best superhero characters there are, the most beloved after all this time, is the essence of who they were when they were created, when they were first developed. You can't move too far away from that."

Does "modern context" mean that Superman will be fighting terrorism and cleaning up oil spills? We'll have to wait until December of 2012 to find that out. Stay tuned.

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
FBO writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:06:41 PM

Maybe he'll run for office and keep the promises he makes while on the campaign trail
KoJay90 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:07:09 PM

AWESOME!!! I BELIEVE IN CHRIS NOLAN!!
Lowryder writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:07:31 PM

IMO Nolan should direct this, i think david goyer is gonna f*ck it all up
KoJay90 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:09:50 PM

WITH CHRIS NOLAN BEHIND HIM, I DONT THINK THERE WILL BE A PROBLEM
wonderBOY writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:10:18 PM

its superman 4 quest for peace all over again
Broken_English writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:22:57 PM

I think Jonah Nolan is going to direct this movie. I'm not a fan of David Goyer as a director but he's an excellent writer who knows and stays close to the comic source material. With Chris overseeing this thing it'll be great, the guy hasn't made a bad movie yet. Hopefully Superman will actually punch somebody in this movie.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:27:55 PM

I took it to mean what the appearance of Superman would be like with the internet and instant updating all over the world.
The Ripper writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:28:07 PM

It sounds as if both men, have an understanding of the characters, and what they conceptually play out to be. AND WE ALL KNOW, NOLAN CAN DO NO WRONG!
OneTime writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:39:58 PM

should be good in nolan sticks with it
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:53:28 PM

Brian Singer ruined Superman

Especially having a son and hardly any action and making him seem like a wimp.

Hopefully this new one will be like the Donner and recent Batman films in that it gives you a feeling that what your seeing is real and plenty of action.
Ranger writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:05:55 PM

@Crazy - there were a bunch of things I liked about Singer's Supes (and I've listed them before on here). But yes... the kid thing was just unbelievably unnecessary. WTF?!
trailertrash writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:13:35 PM

Crazyhorse- I didn't mind the last superman movie , not as good as The first 2 movies .

I thought it got a ruff ride it had some nice touches and nod's to the original movies , but they can do better.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:20:43 PM

It better come out before December 21st 2012 or no one will be seeing it
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:29:49 PM

Trailer Trash

Like the name

I agree with what you say.
I will say the suit and Brandon Roth were a great choice and so was the flying sequences, also bringing back Marlon Brando

I just felt the movie was all over the place with not enough action
Broken_English writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:36:07 PM

Superman Returns definitely had some cool elements but it really lacked in action. Itís also time for a new villain besides Lex Luthor, in a future sequel they need to do the doomsday storyline.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:38:36 PM

Does "modern context" mean that Superman will be fighting terrorism and cleaning up oil spills?

No. It means he'll be driving really slow in a brand new Escalade in front of me while I'm on my way to work and he'll be talking really loud on his Blue Tooth, standing next to me while I'm on my break at work.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:50:47 PM

Ok

The girl that played Lois in Singer's rilm Kate Bosworth I think probably wont be in the next film. I do hope they keep Roth he looks and sounds the part.

So what chick plays Lois? I could go for

Megan Foxy
Brooke Burke
Penelope Cruz so long as she doesnt talk
Penelope Cruz's sister
The girl that played the Princess in Prince of Persia so long as she keeps that look.

Anyone with other suggestions?

CCBlev writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:12:25 PM

@Evil
I know what you mean I hate those f*ckers.
Nolan's behind this, I have no worries about this being messed up, it'll be great but how great?
Sinestro writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:48:24 PM

Bet you five bucks Goyer just copied Mark Waid's Birthright.
Bunny X writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:48:56 PM

OMG this just smells of ANOTHER Luthor appearance. Please for the love of God no!!!
Sinestro writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:02:26 PM

Luthor can be used well, it's just that the people who make the movies want to pit them head-to-head. Luthor doesn't work that way. Anyone who hasn't should check out Luthor: Mam of Steel to see how well he can work if you put him in the right situation.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:13:25 PM

It could be JMS's new OGN (original graphic novel) Superman: Earth One. Supposed to be an update, out of continuity take on Superman.
Sinestro writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:18:53 PM

I thought the EARTH ONE series was on-going. Starting with JMS' Superman and Geoff John's Batman. Damn.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:56:51 PM

@Sinestro:
It's an on-going project like the All-Star brand was supposed to be. They together top teams to tell original graphic novel stories for any character the team chooses. The All-Star brand faultered because Frank Miller is a hack and everyone figured it out, Jim Lee takes forever to draw and they did not coordinate with Morrison/Quitely (who also takes forever) so Morrions/Quitely decided to do whatever the hell they wanted with All-Star Superman (brilliance) because they saw that's what Miller/Lee were doing with All-Star Batman (crap).
Sinestro writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:07:21 PM

Well, Miller said very early that his ASB was existing in the same universe as DKR. I'm sure All-Star Superman (best Superman series in decades) was not. Early on their intent was to bring Earth One together like Marvel did with their Ultimate Universe (something DC has been trying to replicate.) Let's see what happens, not too crazy about the format, would rather have an on-going series with shorter story arcs. Can't wait to read Johns' Batman. And as far as Miller goes, he's over-the-hill. A lot of those guys are. Miller, Ellis, Ennis, Moore (yes, Moore), etc. I hope Miller does finish up his HOLY TERROR, BATMAN! before one of us dies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:18:45 PM

"Superman" Reboot Will be Told in Modern Context

Superman will fight d*ck Cheney and prove to the world that yes! d*ck Cheney is secretly Metallo! That is why that fat f*ck will never die!
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:28:39 AM

I immediately thought the same exact thing wonderBOY.
SaulSilver writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:37:04 AM

William Fichtner for Lex Luthor.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:51:01 AM

@Sinestro

The point of the OGN's is to keep the stories tight and the art consistent. Also, if you have Gary Frank and Shane Davis etc. doing 128 pages you know you'll get 128 by a deadline. Instead of tying up all their top artists for a year or so on one mini/story arc.

Also, Holy Terror, Batman is now just Holy Terror and he created a new superhero for it.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:52:33 AM

@Sinestro
The thing about DKR didn't come out until afterwards and the editors didn't want to tell him "no" because it's Miller. ASBR and the Spirit movie showed everyone they can/should say "no" to him.

@Saul Silver
That's one of the best casting suggestions I have ever heard in my life.
FBO writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 1:38:34 AM

@Lowrider - Jonathan Nolan is going to direct this one, Goyer is just writing the script. I have faith that these guys will do Sups justice, but like I've said a billion times before I really liked Superman Returns.

@Crazyhorse - Yes, I agree; Returns would have been better without the kid. However, Singer didn't just make that part up for sh*ts and giggles. He got the idea from Donner. Had Donner had his way we would have grown up with the kid in the storyline starting with the second film.
Rodan writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 1:56:56 AM

No more Lex please! There is more evil in the world besides Lex.
Dark writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:01:42 AM

Bring it on
Ranger writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:10:49 AM

@Rodan - admittedly I haven't read all the posts in this thread, but I agree (and have posted the same before). ENOUGH LEX!

How about they meld Independence Day and Superman together?! OR that great-sounding trilogy floating around about Supes being the last person to survive on Earth?

So modern context... Lois is a lesbo, with unresolved daddy issues and treats Clark even worse?

Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:21:42 AM

Now we're talking!
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:42:19 AM

How about Clark has very bad credit card debt his flat that was once worth 10 times what he paid for it is now worth f*ck all and even superman cant stop the BP oil leak !!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 3:00:05 AM

crazyhorse- Brandon Roth should stay as superman i thought he was good too.

He reminded me of christopher reeve's Superman ,but i didn't feel he was copying what reeve did, just a few suttle hints and actions here and there , which was good.

Not sure on his contract though dont they have to start filming this year or something otherwise they could go with someone else if they wanted too !!

And as people have said on here a new villain would be good , But i would love to see a little Gene Hackman Cameo in there somewhere.
Sinestro writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 3:01:17 AM

I need to catch up on my comic-book news. I just read the books. I have no time for all the damn CONS and events they have once a month.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 4:08:32 AM

no comment.
Peter Parker writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 4:22:51 AM

"'Superman' Reboot Will be Told in Modern Context"

... laying the grounds for some rocket scientist with aspirations of becoming the next racial vanguardist to come out and say: "I know! Let's make him black!"

Or,

"'Superman' Reboot Will be Told in Modern Context"

... as in, a dude in a tight suit and underwear on the outside? He'll be gay.

"Does "modern context" mean that Superman will be fighting terrorism and cleaning up oil spills?"

- Alex, if that's what being modern means to you, you need to remove your head from that pretty little hole in the ground you've inserted it in and start looking at the big picture.

... unless you meant that as a joke. If that was the case, then... keep trying.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 5:08:27 AM

lol. damn pete why don't you stay with us a while, the perversion never ends ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 7:29:05 AM

Superman is a closeted emo/Twilight/Harry Potter/ Miley Cyrus fan and has bipolar disorder, attention deficit disorder and issues with the paparazzi.


Oh, and he's anti-Semetic.


Good luck with THAT one, Warner Brothers.
makingcircles writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 10:05:00 AM

Superstoked about this!! As said in early posts...with Nolan behind this...it is sure to be awesome.
Bunny X writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 10:06:30 AM

My concern is that as long as they tag this with the "reboot" stamp, they will be compelled to showcase Luthor. And they will justify it by saying they are introducing this rebooted franchise to a new audience. Which is a load of crap.
look I love Luthor. He is easily one of my most favorite villains out there.
His mind is absolutely twisted and corrupt and anyone else with even the slightest lesser amount of mental fortitude would be totally insane. But Luthor maintains the chaos and conflicts in his head effortlessly. He knows he is wrong and doesn't care. He justifies his actions to convince the world he is just. Hell, he even does it to convince himself while still knowing he is wrong. There is always a method to his madness to the point where it doesn't come off as madness. He can make the most outlandish scheme look like a well thought out and calculated plan because it is. He's just a great great villain.
That being said, I have had enough of him on screen. Mainly because they do not do the character the true justice he deserves on film. Sure, Hackman and Spacey, and Rosenbaum did their own takes but nobody ever truly captured Lex for what he truly is.
The only time it has been done right is in the animated series. but in there, it's easy to portray Lex right because there are no limits.

So leave Lex out of this one unless they are going to finally do him right. I've said it before in a number of posts and it's been touched on here. Superman needs to flex in his movies. The only time we've seen him tested was Donner's part 2. But Supes is more than tossing baddies through neon billboards.
He needs to be tested. And not at a Kryptonite induced test where he's brought down a peg. And that's the BIGGEST thing missing from all the films.
He needs to be full strength tested. I want to see on screen a full powered Supes doubting he can pull the save. I don't want him getting beat by a bunch of thugs just because he got "shanked" with a Krypto-shank.
BREALZ writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:07:47 PM

They need to adapt Superman/Batman Public enemies into a live action film. It was great and listed some awesome villains. Here's hoping.
rabid writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:26:17 PM

by "modern context", I assume that to mean that they 1) will make Lex's aims more realistic than turning the earth in to krypton and 2) they won't try so hard to make Metropolis look like it stepped out of the 50s.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 1:31:26 PM

Modern context=realistic superman,whatever that could mean when you're talking about a guy flying around in blue spandex.

Even more likely, modern context means no more hearkening back to the 1970's version of Superman, as SR attempted, with respect to Reeve.
Man in Black writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 2:26:07 AM

gives us someone that sups can beat the holy f*ck out of and make sure nolan is behind the camera and avatars numbers will go down like lohag on the set of her new art house flick
DeathProof88 writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 1:16:24 PM

I dont understand why alot of you didnt like Singers Superman, I mean he yeah not enough action at all but still just because thirs no action in a movie doesnt make it bad. It gave a lot of props to the original Christopher Reeves Superman, and I loved that. I like that he kind of humanized Superman I mean it wouldnt be much of a movie if he just went around owning every bad guy he runs into I mean sure Supe could just break Lexes neck without even trying but then people would complain about that as well.
DeathProof88 writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 1:19:38 PM

But I am very very excited about this new superman I hope they introduce Doomsday.

P.S- Why does everything have to be in Modern context? I swear ill flip sh!t if they have him fighting terrorists and the fight against "Global Warming" I get enough of that Sh!t in real life I dont need it my comic book movies.
DeathProof88 writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 1:23:03 PM

oh and 1 more thing "Superman" better be big in this movie, all the "Supermans" so far have been some what scrawny for being "Superman". I mean shouldnt Superman be Jacked? Like in the picture up top. ^^^
Ranger writes:
on June 6th, 2010 at 3:08:10 PM

@Deathproof - I liked Singer's Supes.

Only cons (for me) were:
1. Lex was good... but move on already. Supes should be fighting powerful aliens (as an example) as in 'Independence Day!' to save the entire world. Solomon Grundy (my pick, but it'll be unlikely to the) - Doomsday (most people's pick). But I prefer the trilogy story of Earth dying, and Supes can't do a thing about it... and he's the last man standing.
2. Lois said it herself, she's 'done' Supes... move on.
3. The kid was completely unnecessary.
4. Supes AND Clark appear at THE SAME TIME after 5 years and NO ONE puts that together?! Even Margot Kidder was sharper than this!


Pros:

Singer put in a LOT in scenes only a longtime Supes fan would recognize.

1. When he held up that Mustang... exactly as seen in Supes first appearance (ever), Action Comics #1, 1938.
2. Supes taking a bullet to the eye, instead of just bullet hits to the body.
3. The rescue of the 747 flying sequences were spectacular.
4. Supes strength upon landing on Lex's new continent.
5. Brandon Rough did an amazing (almost impossible) job of having to replace Reeves.
6. Leaving John Williams music completely alone and playing it exactly as it was recorded for the original Supes films (can't improve on perfection).

seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 10:33:21 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved