WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

What's Happening with "Metal Gear Solid" Movie?

Posted: June 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
WhatSubmit Comment
Screenwriter David Hayter (X-Men, Watchmen) has been attached as a writer to the big screen adaptation of the "Metal Gear Solid" video game. MTV has now caught up with him to find out what's going on with the project.

"They've been trying to work out a deal between [creator Hideo Kojima] and [Sony]," Hayter explained. "A couple of years ago, a producer friend of mine asked me if I would be interested in doing the adaptation. And I said 'Of course. I know it pretty well.' I think I can say without contradiction that I know it better than any screenwriter on the planet. I've said every word that Snake has said. So I felt well-qualified."

He added: "I did come up with a pitch for the movie which I thought was pretty cool and I would still love to do. But there are far larger issues in terms of who's going to get the rights to do it and what sort of involvement Mr. Kojima is going to have. All that needs to be worked out before I would ever come up."

Kojima clearly wants to have creative control over the movie, but Sony may not be interested in having a video game maker involved with the filmmaking process. If this continues, there will likely never be a "Metal Gear Solid" movie.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:08:32 PM

doesnt hayter hayte video game movies
viejoxico writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:09:56 PM

The don't want Kojima to get involved? If so, I hope the movie never gets filmed.
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:32:07 PM

@viejoxico:

Exactly what I was gonna say. If there is no Kojima, there will be no movie. Kojima is the best, he is not gonna let some clowns f*ck up his legacy in a film.
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:38:47 PM

I dare to say that if Kojima writes the script and even directs it or co-directs it, I bet it will be a masterpiece. But nooo... a guy that created that breathtaking story can't write a stupid screenplay of possibly 130 pages. f*ck you Sony.

synthetic1985 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:40:15 PM

well that's the big problem isn't it?...when some idiot at the studios think they know it all about making it more like the game...THEY DON'T!!!!...obviously a game maker, especially one of the makers of metal gear solid to be exact, would know better in the first place...besides...making big money off of any title means pleasing the fans of the game FIRST, not the average movie go-er...how many times must this lesson be learned by idiots in hollywood that have no imagination???...we don't want to see some idiot's visuals of how he thinks the movie should look, we just want the movie to follow the game so that way none of us has something bad to say about it...seems simple enough to understand there...so screw the critics on movies like these...they would never give a game-to-movie a good review anyway...if you don't give the fans what they want, then don't bother making the movie...simple hollywood, simple....i mean, just look at 'doom'...the movie sucked more than the 3rd game did, probably because the movie was based on the 3rd game anyway...and to think, if it were more like the first game, we'd be seeing what we wanted to see out of it in the first place...the weird impossible fantasy demon creatures, not some stupid chromosome scientific crap that turns humans into monsters...it's no wonder the story sucked ass....ok i'm done ranting again
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:54:01 PM

@ synthetic:

Completely much agree.

David Hayter can clean his ass with Lohan's special STD thong. He might have done an amazing job as Snake's voice, but that's it, GTFO of this project. Kojima created this,not you, so your ideas pretty much will suck, so let the creator do his job. On top of it he says "I know this more than any screenwriter on the planet", like if he was indeed the creator of this epic game, I hope they remove him ASAP from this.
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:55:45 PM

Typing high.

@synthetic

Completely agree 100% with you.
SeWerin writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:02:34 PM

SNAAAAAAKKEEE!

Kojima hold this franchise! And don't let Paul "What Script" Anderson to get his claws on it.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:14:35 PM

Kojima already said the movie is dead.
CCBlev writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:25:10 PM

^It may be dead right now, but somewhere along the lines this will be made into a movie.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:44:28 PM

@inception I'm higher

On a serious note thou if Kojima isn't involved then what's the point of making this? This game was epic and he'd make a badass movie as well
IRONDAN writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:20:29 PM

Kurt Russell FOR THE LEAD!!!!!!!!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:59:15 PM

@ Inception...thanks...i'm no professional, but obviously people aren't dumb either...and the point of that is that hollywood does not have professionals working on these movies...otherwise they wouldn't suck so much...professionals in hollywood don't start out professionally anyway, they put good and real hard work to make sure people like us keep coming back for more...this is why when i make anything, game ideas, music ideas, movie ideas...i talk about it with many people and am able to tell which is appealing and which is not...i think these days, hollywood should do some test footage before actually settling in on a final draft of footage, to see what people say about it...it wouldn't really cost too much, but it would take time and only work on certain movies too
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:08:36 PM

If it were to be made, I vote Sam Elliott as Snake.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:10:08 PM

oh and by the way...i find it kind of ironic when college educated people with degrees still can't manage to please fans...i mean, you can't have it right all the time which is understandable, but that doesn't mean staying true to the game won't work...it works a lot better than not staying true to its universe, costumes and acting as well as visuals....in fact, i think i saw that article where martin scorcese said something about 'hollywood is too focused on visuals rather than story'...well, if i had to put it my way, i'd say 'visuals as well as story as well as acting and everything else that goes with it are all necessary for making a really good film'....but it has to be a good popular title for that to work, or be good enough period...like forgetting sarah marshall, totally new, and now it's considered a hit
Popcorn101 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:16:56 AM

i would pull a forest gump and run across the country naked if this movie got made, no lie...but if kojima isnt involved f*ck that sh*t, he is the reason that metal gear solid is the best series ever especially at story telling! if this was mad a while back i would easily vote kurt russell as lead considering he can have that raspy voice like when he played snake in escape from L.A/New york...i hope hollywood learns that video game movies can happen just dont be douches and let the creators be involved considering ITS THERE GAME!
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:20:48 AM

f*ck Sony. It's always Sony's execs fault. If it had to go indy, I'd bet this one will never be green-lit.

Go find some other studio and leave Sony with their sh*tty policy.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 4:10:18 AM

the game series is interesting.
jdl107 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 5:40:05 AM

As a big fan of this game, i say if you're not gonna use the ones responsible for making this franchise great, why the f*ck even bother. You wanna make money, but you also wanna make movies people wanna see, right? You're not gonna be able to accomplish that with the talent absent.

All that comes from studio visions is just bullsh*t anyway. You all know this.
NeoMatx70 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 8:53:51 AM

They will never learn, live action video games do not and never will translate on the big screen...I take that back, I forgot about Double Dragon.
koul writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:18:58 PM

they really need Kojima to get involved or else they will mess up the movie
jdl107 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 7:43:15 PM

I don't think they care about learning, it's obvious.

On that note, fffff*ck me.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved