WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Golden Girls" Actress Rue McClanahan Died

Posted: June 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Golden Girls" Actress Rue McClanahan DiedSubmit Comment
Emmy-winning actress Rue McClanahan, who played Blanche Devereaux in the hit TV series "The Golden Girls," has died at the age of 76. She passed away on Thursday at 1am of a stroke. She had suffered a minor stroke earlier this year, while recovering from bypass surgery.

McClanahan had an active career in off-Broadway and regional stages in the 1960s before she was tapped for TV in the 1970s for the key best-friend character on the hit series "Maude," starring Beatrice Arthur. After that series ended in 1978, McClanahan landed the role as Aunt Fran on "Mama's Family" in 1983.

But her most loved role came in 1985 when she co-starred with Arthur, Betty White and Estelle Getty in "The Golden Girls."

McClanahan's death leaves White as the last surviving member of the show's cast. Arthur died from cancer last year and Getty passed away in 2008.

Source: Associated Press


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
avaela writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:05:37 PM

Getty 2008
Arthur 2009
McClanahan 2010
White 2011?
KoJay90 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:05:54 PM

RIP
Broken_English writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:25:58 PM

Rue, thank you for being a friend single tear.
bale01289 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:44:13 PM

This is sad. I loved all the golden girls, like they were my own grandmothers. Thank Christ that Betty White is eternal!
Lesson learned from the Golden Girls : It's ok to be a big ass slut with a bitchy tongue as long as you do it while wearing pastel florals.
R.I.P. Rue. You will be missed!
trailertrash writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:55:38 PM

RIP- Rue ,, A Great lady in a great show.......
Ranger writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:03:49 PM

RIP kind, talented, beautiful lady.
Ranger writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:20:49 PM

'It's ok to be a big ass slut with a bitchy tongue as long as you do it while wearing pastel florals.'



It doesn't work for Lohan.
SofaKing writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:33:05 PM

Who was it that said these things happen in 3's? Hopper, Coleman, and now Rue... Creepy.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:35:49 PM

And then there was one...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 8:44:28 PM

Not gonna lie here, she kinda made my weiner tingle a little when I was a kid. Something about her southern slutty-ness. She'd bang anything with a pulse back in "The Golden Girls". I feel like there was an episode where here husband/boyfriend died while humping. Maybe that was Betty White?
WV-Films writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:07:31 PM

Betty White cut her head off.
CCBlev writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:22:14 PM

RIP Ruth. I'll still have fantasies about you everytime I see a Golden Girls rerun.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 9:42:45 PM

Always funny and seemed like a classy lady...Sad day and she will be missed.
TeemSelami writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:17:35 PM

You're my friend and confidant as well as my favorite golden girl. Hope to watch you on TV in heaven with Tupac.
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:35:41 PM

RIP

It's true, celebrities die in 3's
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:37:28 PM

1-Coleman
2-Hopper
and
3-McClanahan
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:05:58 PM

Rest in Peace, Rue ... you and Dixie Carter were class acts.


Okay.


My next three on the Celebrity Death Pool :

a. Lindsey Lohan or Courtney Love

b. Bob Barker

c. Hal Holbrook
Inception writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:21:57 PM

@Max: LOL, at the Death Pool.

In my celebrity Death Pool i'm gonna go with

1-Tom Crusie
2-Corey Feldman
3-Britney Spears
jeffw1978 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:43:02 PM

RIP Rue now onto more important matters of celebrity death pools:

I got

1) Lohag - suicide
2) Pattinson - Murdered by angry boyfriends/husbands tired of the twifag sh*t
3) Andy Griffithv - Due to age and past health issues.
otis writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 2:20:39 AM

RIP Rue.

My death pool:
1) Bill Cosby
2) Roger Ebert
3) Yoko Ono

You just wait...their time is coming...
encoreyourface writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 4:09:29 AM

ANOTHER ONE? what the f*ck Hollywood are putting hits on people?
MontoyaWA writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 8:30:22 AM

RIP 'Nasty' Blanch.
Odd writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 1:02:22 PM

@RANGER It wont work for Lohan because she doesnt have a big ass..that thing she cals an ass is flatter then mine, though she is a huge slut..with an ankle braclet haha
Ranger writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 5:15:34 PM

Ankle bracelet she probably hides her crack behind.

I'd hide in the crack of her behind though. I'd double bag my groceries first though.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 2:18:37 AM

R.I.P Rue you were/are truly a "Golden Girl"

Like I said on the Hopper thread it is good when we show respect where and when it is due, just funny how all those retards that come on here and call us all the names under the sun are now all of a sudden very quiet.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved