WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hurt Locker" Producers to Sue Each BitTorrent User for $1,500

Posted: June 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hurt Locker" Producers to Sue Each BitTorrent User for $1,500Submit Comment
We recently reported that Voltage Pictures has filed a lawsuit against the many fans who downloaded "The Hurt Locker" illegally online. The film that won six Oscars, including Best Picture, earned only $17 million in US theaters. Many believe that the suit is a way to make more money.

The company is seeking $1,500 from each defendant in order to settle the suit, making it one of the biggest lawsuits against individuals in history. Voltage warns that people don't pay up, they will be taken to court where they will have to pay ten times that amount ($15,000).

Voltage already has a very large list of names (as many as 5,000) and is still going through the many IP addresses to figure out the rest. The lawsuit is expected to go into effect this week.

Source: FilmoFilia

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:15:07 AM

Good luck blood sucking morons! Sue people for the price of a Bluray disc if thats what its supposed to be about! tossers!
wonderBOY writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:38:49 AM

so us utorrent users are in the clear
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:15:57 AM

Won't work.

They say they're going after people here. But if an IP belongs to a household with 10 residents under that roof, or a coffee shop 'hot spot' (free Wi-Fi) - how are they going to identify the perpetrator?

Basically... blow me!
VDODSON writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:18:52 AM

Come and get me you pieces of sh*t. Never back down, even in the face of armagedon.
Derp88 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:29:52 AM

Its not the general public's fault you made a sh*t movie which wasn't worth seeing in theatres you Hurt Locker f*cktards.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:50:18 AM

hahahaha you can try!
Poddington writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:06:37 AM

Why $1500! why not the RRP or the Bluray or a average movie ticket!

smells like greed to me
Ari Gold writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:14:11 AM

I will offer them $1500 in semen. No more, no less.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:24:18 AM

@Ari - lol.

@Poddington - they're clearly suing for damages + costs (lawyers). Greed? No, they feel they've been screwed out of money. I don't think they'll collect any money. Nothing worse than making a threat like they are and unable to back it up. How can one sue an IP address... even with a name attached to it, there would have to be a precedent stating the owner of the IP is responsible for its use.

And Lohan is a whore.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:39:51 AM

Sounds like they are trying to make up for the poor boxoffice performance of the movie !!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:24:42 AM

I think they're aware they won't collect (much, if any). This is just free press they're still getting. It's pretty Lohan of them.
cblackwell writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:26:36 AM

It would be funny if someone in the White House used the Wi-Fi to download this movie and the IP address and it had Barack Obama's name on it..
billofill writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:38:11 AM

DO THEY NOT GET IT ALREADY THAT IRAQ WAR MOVIES DONT MAKE MONEY AT THE BOX OFFICE? It's been Years now these movies flopping and they still dont f*cking get it? WHAT THE f*ck?
darthraige writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:44:24 AM

Mayor Kuzack: "I'm okay. I'm okay. I'm in control. It's fine, it's okay. Oh, one last thing, gentlemen: we will sue your asses."

The Old Man: "Give it your best shot."

Mayor Kuzack: "f*ck you, you old senile bastard! This is bullsh*t! f*ck you!"
Rodan writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:58:29 AM

I think Les Grossman should give these guys a phone call.

Bunny X writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:04:13 AM

Dumbasses. Precedent has been set in this from when they went after those who used Napster. Even if the person is the sole residence of the home, you cannot directly link a person to an IP / computer and sue them for downloading illegally. All those stories of people getting sued before are bs. And so is this lawsuit.
Really?!?!?! Pay $1,500 now or get sued more for $15,000....bite my muff.
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:05:57 AM

nobody wanted to watch your movie,get over it,it was on the war in iraq which is ultra boring and it didn't have any interesting actor in it.even if it was for free it would have bombed.you got the oscar,just enjoy this stupid award and get lost.
BigUnit writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:29:56 PM

it only made 17 million cuase in reality its a S**t movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:47:09 PM

In Pesos or Monopoly money ?
jdl107 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:17:49 PM

Well I hope that producer isn't too in over his head.... next time I see him I'll kick the sh*t out of him.... Anonymously, and his crybaby, suing, bitch-ass is gonna have to deal with an ass-whoopin'
Poddington writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:15:41 PM

ok here is a thought! i went to the cinema to see the film (and i liked it) so 3 weeks ago i bought the blu-ray. i did download it but i have paid for the movie twice now!

so in short "f*ck you!!"
Man in Black writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:20:24 PM

they will spend more on lawyers fees then they will collect ... dumbasses
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:32:45 PM

@Bunny - nice on the Napster precedent. I wasn't aware of it but suspected something like that may exist.

So now that it is clear they're unable to 'sue an IP' (as I put it, and Bunny confirmed), then this is just a PR stunt to keep them in the limelight (although it makes them look pretty bad) for a while longer.

Between this and that stunt the producer did that got him kicked out of The Oscars... sounds like someone needs to be put over a person's knee (and no... not Coleman... because he was killed by his wife).
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:52:33 PM

"bite my muff."

Sure, baby, just bring it over here. Anytime, any day.

Anyway, whatever. What doomed The Hurt Locker was the insipid release schedule, the sh*tty, nearly nonexistent marketing and the use of a story that's a little more than overplayed. HL was about three years too late. And no one noticed because no one saw the film in theaters because by the time it appeared, no one cared because better sh*t was playing.

And good luck suing everyone. How about suing them for the price of the ticket. That's fair, right? But fifteen hundred dollars??? LOL.

And yes, people HAVE been sued for illegally downloading films and music, that is NOT BS, but the idea that the judicial system is going to tolerate a flood of IP related cases is just ignorant, greedy and inconsiderate. The system is already swamped without this crap. Hell, just ask Obama for a bailout. He's good about giving other people's money away.
TeemSelami writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:54:10 PM

@ranger Coleman was definitely killed by his wife.

Lowryder writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:12 PM

i download pretty much every movie that comes out, this however is like the only one i have not downloaded =)
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:18:19 PM

@Teem - interesting link... thank you. So Gary is bleeding from the head, but the wife doesn't want to take him to the hospital because she's sick?!?!?!?!?! What... THE f*ck?! Not surprised at this end. I suspected this from the beginning (seriously/honestly). Having her brother come out and hurriedly say the family (ie: his wife) would be releasing details shortly... and still hasn't. She's an idiot, and I hope they investigate this... but at last report I heard, they are not. That would have to be quite the 'fall' to cause Gary the damage he had.
TeemSelami writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:27:22 PM

they won't investigate it. which is great police work to just take the word of someone previously arrested for domestic violence. I hope that bitch dies soon.

and HL producer is a turd.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:29:18 PM

@Teem - my thought exactly. I have NO idea why they're not even looking into this. They've been beating each other up since their Honeymoon (and not in the good way either).
Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:47:05 PM

I'm guessing they don't want to make any money in the future ever again. I'm sure I
m not the only one who isn't going to pay any money in the future to watch any Voltage Pictures films.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:44:47 PM

Heard his collapse was brought on by kidney related problems. Very possible he experienced some sort of organ failure, simply passed out and hit his head in the fall. This is a VERY common occurrence.
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:12:34 PM

Just stream videos so they're never on your computer. I'm pretty sure that's not a punishable offense.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:44:21 PM

@mink - possible. But she (the ex-wife) is sure quiet about the whole thing. Even Gary's estranged parents can't get any answers out of her.

encoreyourface writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:51:38 PM

f*cker. that is all i really need to say. seriously what a f*cking a p*ssy ...
passin through writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:08:40 PM

@Mink You're absolutely right. The wife punched Gary in the kidney which caused kidney failure then he fell and hit his head..... hmmm....
Bunny X writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:15:23 AM

@Mink...down boy lol. Anywho...

Let me reclarify my point. It's not that they can't sue you. They can bring a civil case against folks but the evidence they can collect is so thin and flimsy that no criminal charges could ever be brought against them. But the burden of proof in a civil case is so low and in my example, the record companies do some shady things within the gray areas of the law that these things grow legs.

Some nerd searches the P2P site for the filename in question but they don't even get the file. They can search for a filename but you can rename a word doc*ment the name of a song and they'll use it. They'll then search the P2P site using a separate program to find the IP of a user who searched for that file and take a screen shot of this.
They take this info and present it to the courts but they sue the individual NOT in the state they live in because they don't know. They sue the individual in the state of the P2P site.
Basically they sue you in New Jersey for something you did in Florida, when they reside in California. They can't do that. They're also required by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure to not sue multiple people at the same time. But they do that anyway. The ISP's do not have the time or resources to fight this so it goes through with no fight.
Then the individual gets notified by the ISP NOT that he needs to do something to protect himself but that he is no longer protected.
The individual is not given the proper paperwork to prevent the motion to identify him and the subpoena for his information.
Since this information doesn't get to the individual his lawyer does not know what to do because they don't know what has happened yet.
And even worse, if they could figure out what happened they would just file a motion to end it and it would be easily dismissed because the evidence is very very weak. But the problem is, lawyers practice by state and they cannot do anything in state they are not liscensed in.
So you don't show up to defend yourself, you lose. The record company asks for an immediate discovery of the infomation and gets it. The P2P would have to fight each one individually and like I said, they don't have the resources to do it since the record companies go after tons of people. So the P2P gives them the info. They then have all the information on this person. They then drop the suit.
They drop the suit so that way there's no appeal and another judge cannot review their tactics. But now they have all the individual's information.
They then send the individual a settlement letter that states they won't sue if the individual pays them, agrees to their terms and other things like agreeing that P2P sharing is illegal. It doesn't protect them from being sued by others either. So if he settles, and then someone representing the artist the music was downloaded can sue.

Sorry this took so long but that's how it is.
takai writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 2:56:21 AM

@VDODSON - Please tell me that was a 00 reference.

As for the article: BitTorrent users deserve to be sued, for being f*cking stupid enough to join and register.
bill the butcher writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 4:28:49 AM

I didn't download the hurt locker
I just watched it online
I never hit download
or is that against the law
the hurt locker producers told the academy don't vote for avatar vote for a small film
and now they are ACTING like james cameron that miserable greedy c*nt...
go f*ck yourselves

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved