WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Solve the Oil Spill Problem

Posted: June 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Solve the Oil Spill ProblemSubmit Comment
"Avatar" director James Cameron has been called in by a desperate US government to meet with deep-ocean experts in Washington in order to pitch ideas about how to stop the oil spill which is now spreading in the Gulf of Mexico.

Cameron will attend the meeting with Phil Nuytten, an underwater innovator, who helped build the submersibles used in in Cameron's "The Abyss" thriller. While it is still unknown what the two men will bring to the discussion, but it seems that the idea behind the session is to put every possible solution on the table, including the use of manned submersibles.

This news comes just days after we first heard that actor Kevin Costner has been working on a machine to filter out oil from water. His machine has been approved for testing and will likely be used to clean up the spill.

Source: TheGlobeAndMail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
madaseel writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:11:50 AM

Yeah, I read about this on MSNBC. Cameron has become an arrogant bloated blockhead. When this is the guy speaking for the so-called green movement, there are serious issues.
solidgoldweedwacker writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:27:45 AM

I hope its better than "Avatar"
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:48:34 AM

O Camerson your so awesome, after this will you make a Real Pandora for all losers on Naviblue so we can have somewhere to go.
thysmn writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:48:34 AM

Directors called to help ocean experts and actors working on oil filter technologies?

f*ck wrong again, still 24 hours before the next vortex.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:57:17 AM

Just toss a bunch of those Avatar DVDs out there to soak the oil up.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:57:54 AM

I'm still waiting for Uwe Boll's solution ... lol
Monash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:01:09 AM

They know he's a director, right?
He can certainly SUGGEST that large robots aid in the removal of oil, doesn't mean sh*t though
TwoTakez writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:06:16 AM

What's the f*cks he going to do? Make a 3D movie about sealife covered in oil? Or a doc*mentary to cover up BP's f*ck up?
drumpro64 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:21:55 AM

They could call michael bay he will put some explosion in that
VDODSON writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:24:53 AM

Uwe Boll has finally made a good movie. Rampage is on the best flicks I've seen this year.
Derp88 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:42:43 AM

Cameron will give the oil spill his Aids
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:49:35 AM

wtf! he is going to used his ego to block the oil spill and i think the ass of SAm W. can do better job!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:17:56 AM

or he could get all the Naviturds to commit suicide and make a big damn that stops all the oil from reaching the shore.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:30:41 AM

Well he got a Love Story movie to make over a billion dollars & an Eco movie with pretty pictures to make over 2 billion dollars, so this man is a genius in some way.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:46:21 AM

Better than Michael Bays solution


BIG EXPLOSIONS!!!!! MORE BIG EXPLOSIONS! CGI CGI CGI CGI!!!! MEGAN FOX ASS!!! CGI!!! NICHOLAS CAGE!!!!!

BIG EXPLOSION!!!!

The end
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:47:55 AM

Hollywood is saving the world !!

I Wonder which black actor will costner in this movie ???....
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:55:59 AM

^will be
Bunny X writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:58:22 AM

Cameron will wait until it's all over then CG the oil out in post production. Problem solved. Give him his medal now!!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:23:26 AM

The only Cameron-related oil spill I'd like would be a bottle of massage oil spilled on the back and in-between the legs of his ex-wife Kathryn Bigelow!

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm420122368/nm0000941

BA-BOING!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:28:21 AM

How come that picture of Cameron is only in 2D?!
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:33:53 AM

She does know her way around a big d*ck !!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:41:31 AM

lol... nice.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:48:22 AM

lol
Ranger imagine the movie she could direct if you 2 made a sex tape! llol
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:48:51 AM

^in 3D
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:54:14 AM

Sure...

Big n' Low's ass gets Split Open by Danger Ranger!
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:58:42 AM

did he get a hair cut?he looked so gay with the long hair..
Rodan writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:02:25 AM

You know we're f*cked when the experts ask Hollywood what to do. I can't wait until they fly Lindsay Lohan out there for her ideas on the matter.
jeffw1978 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:23:15 AM

More proof our current US government is full of f*cking retards.
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:36:44 AM

First Costner now Cameron. I'm a bit worried about the US's scientific community when those two are the best we can do.

Anyone remember the Imaginationland episodes of South Park where they ask the movie directors/actors for advice on how to deal with the terrorists?

Michael Bay: Well first we'll have this big explosion and it'll be like BOOM, BANG! And then we'll have this car jump over this helicopter which explodes!

General: Mr. Bay that's not an idea, those are special effects.

Bay: I'm afraid I don't understand the difference.

General: I know you don't.
Roadimus writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:55:47 AM

Cameron could/should send his f*cking enormous ego down there and plug the bastard up.
LifeInAGlassHouse writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:53:31 PM

The next live cam footage should be shot in 3D.
jdl107 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:21:44 PM

Cameron..... lol who the f*ck IS this guy. f*ckin director of Terminator 1 & 2 are you f*cking joking me.... you can't solve your problems so you run to the guy who made the most money off of f*cking MOVIES...... jesus christ.
jdl107 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:22:45 PM

Look at that picture, look at that arrogant self-centered f*ck. I've never liked f*ckin' James Cameron.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:46:54 PM

Why use competent people when you can get celebrities?
nope.com writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:10:43 PM

shooting the oil spill in 3D won't help much Jimmy
Man in Black writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:13:48 PM

was this first reported by the onion ? this reminds me of the govt meeting with michael bay after 9/11 for ideas on what al qadea might do next
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:15:30 PM

@freud-That is a worry , Your Desperate who do you call ?? James Cameron, he will know what to do he made the Abyss and that had alot of water in it...

If all else fails he can get us cheap imax tickets and Arnolds Autograph...
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:17:16 PM

@man in black- lol
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:20:48 PM

@jdl - 'I've never liked f*ckin' James Cameron.'

Then STOP f*ckin' him!!!



Ba-rum-bump!
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:41:51 PM

I always find him more receptive and gentle when you tell him how great he is and you say how good the Abyss sounds and what a blockbuster it will be.

Kathryn Bigelow '88
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:09:58 PM

Cameron couldn't fix the sh*t spill known as Avatar. What makes ANYONE think he can stop the oil spill??
tidedsued writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:13:36 PM

James Cameron to Solve the Oil Spill Problem...In 3D
darkraven28 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:08:39 PM

Well, he DID do that underwater submersible chase once upon a time. So, um yeah, but I still don't know exactly what he is expected to do here. Especially since he's gone all digital.
Bishop writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:58:39 PM

what do you call 100,000 A*Hole Fanboys on the bottom of the ocean?......a damn good start.

Please, all dumbsh*t fanboys shut up, turn off your computers.....your mom is calling you for dinner.
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:01:45 PM

Cameron's helping. It doesn't make him arrogant. It makes him philanthropic. At this point I think we can all agree that the oil execs have no contingency plan. We need all the help possible. I'm not sure what Cameron can do to help, but he's got a fortune he's not attached to and he thinks outside the box. The sooner they get this sh*t cleaned up, the less years I'll have to wait to eat my local seafood.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:22:53 PM

"Cameron's helping."

He is? How? By running his mouth? By looking for a way to film Avatar 2? He doesn't know sh*t about sealing an oil leak. He's spent time on the ocean floor, filming wrecks (like the Abyss, Titanic...) but what does he know about venting oil? Anything? He's a director, not an engineer.

"It doesn't make him arrogant."

Certainly not. He was arrogant a LONG time ago...

"It makes him philanthropic."

By looking arrogant? Thanks, but no thanks, we have enough of that 'philanthropy' already. Cue in pictures of Obama.

"At this point I think we can all agree that the oil execs have no contingency plan."

At this point, I think we can all agree we don't know what they're planning, unless you work for BP. And that's all.

"We need all the help possible."

So do the patients at the local mental health hospital, but I can assure Cameron can't help there either.

"I'm not sure what Cameron can do to help,"

Pssst! The answer is nothing.

"but he's got a fortune"

Maybe he can plug the whole with the wads of cash he made on Avaturd.

"he's not attached"

To any rope of sanity...


"and he thinks outside the box."

Because he lives inside one. The box of self delusion.

"The sooner they get this sh*t cleaned up, the less years I'll have to wait to eat my local seafood"

Because it's all about you.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:23:34 PM

whole=hole
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:25:41 PM

Jealousy is a douche, eh Minkowski?
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:30:19 PM

CNN just reported that he's loaning an entire fleet of submarines and helping to organize a team of subdiving experts.
I think whether or not you like his films or are jealous of his bankroll is pretty irrelevant to what he can offer the cleanup.
Bishop writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:36:37 PM

whoa, Minkowski....fanboy outta control. Don't worry, maybe they will let Peter Jackson help too, he can carry Cameron's grip tape or something....are you ok now?

probably the best thing we can all do first is plug the cyber diarrhea spewing from your keyboard......then let's get to work on that oil thing in the Gulf....whew.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:56:31 PM

"Jealousy is a douche, eh Minkowski?Jealousy is a douche, eh Minkowski?"

The particulars of your sexual hygiene are of no interest to me, Rabid.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:02:34 PM

"probably the best thing we can all do first is plug the cyber diarrhea spewing from your keyboard......then let's get to work on that oil thing in the Gulf....whew."

You're obviously too clever for me, Bishop, so back to the construction paper and non-toxic paste for you.

And as a matter of disclosure, up until Titanic, I was quite the fan of the man...now he's just another rich blowhard.

"CNN just reported that he's loaning an entire fleet of submarines and helping to organize a team of subdiving experts."

Sounds a little too much like the plot of Armageddon.

And to think, I thought the purview of the Navy was in part deep-sea diving. I mean, just how do we ever drill in the coast in the first place without Cameron holding our hands? I mean how the f*ck does Exxon, BP and others ever drill without Cameron there to point out the sunken wrecks and the native wildlife?
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:40:05 PM

... speaking of arrogance.
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:52:14 PM

What he's going to put the oil on his next ripped off charcter. That's 3 Billionn right there.
DeVries writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:34:47 PM

How the f*ck is he an expert? Cause he did The Abyss and Titanic? Michael Crichton (R.I.P.) was a so-called expect to for the U.S. against the theory of climate change cause he wrote a novel about it...
encoreyourface writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:50:53 PM

heard about it yesterday, don't give a sh*t.

how about getting an actual professional? sure it would make Cameron look fantastic IF he solved it, however i seriously doubt he would. and if he somehow did it would be the people he hired to do the job for him and think of the plan to thank, not the douchebag himself.
Syman404 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:56:55 PM

Ok, are they playing there roles from movies? James is "directing" a sea travesty, and Kevin Costner is creating the machine he used at the beginning of Waterworld? These people have to stop believing that movies are real.
takai writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 2:58:33 AM

They should've asked Zack Snyder, because no matter what solution he'd come up with, the process would be in slow motion, thus keeping the oil spill to a minimum.
rabid writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 3:32:43 AM

It's not an act. Kevin Costner has devoted two decades of his life and tens of millions of dollars to finding a way to cleansea water. They're testing six of his inventions this week. Cameron has a fleet of submersibles and plenty of experience using them and using remote control tech.
And they were just two people in a room of over 40 volunteers from different oceanographic preservation groups, the best and brightest of their fields.
Just because it's on tv doesn't mean it isn't real life. Some people have passions that transcend their day jobs.
rabid writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 3:35:15 AM

The 300 oil-seperator machines set Costner Industries back $26 million. That's a sign of someone who actually gives a sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved