WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Are You Ready for a Black "Spider-Man"?

Posted: June 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Are You Ready for a Black "Spider-Man"?Submit Comment
Just recently, it was revealed that five young actors were in talks to play the title characters in the upcoming "Spider-Man" reboot. Then website io9 put up an article calling the choices "bland" and asking "why does Spidey have to be a white guy?" In response, commenters threw out Donald Glover's name as a possible contender.

Suddenly thousands of Twitter users started pushing Glover, who is a black actor best known for his role on NBC's "Community." And this weekend, the Twitter hashtag "donald4spiderman" became the third most popular topic in the US.

It's unlikely that Twitter users will be able to convince Sony Pictures to not only cast Glover, but to cast a black actor to play a character who has always been white.

Question: Should black actors be considered to play the new Spider-Man?

Source:


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 210 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
madaseel writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:10:07 AM

Sure, why not? I have read the Spider-Man comics all of my life and his "whiteness" has never been an character trait, so I have absolutely zero issue with Spider-Man being cast as another race.
iamironman writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:25:27 AM

I don't think that there should be a black actor to portray spider-man, mainly because the spider-man that myself as well as the millions of fans have grown up is and always was white. this is not a racist comment, i'm speaking out for all the fans that would be upset to see a character as beloved as spidey to have a giant image change.
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:31:50 AM

no
wonderBOY writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:40:34 AM

he has to be a white guy because he is a nerd at the beginning. HELLO we dont want Erkel as spiderman. there is no nerdy black guy
sc_kg writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:41:24 AM

He can play Venom.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:44:46 AM

Um no, not to be racist but PP is not Black.
thysmn writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:56:58 AM

Parker checking out Mary Jane: DAAAAAYM!
streetlawler writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:06:15 AM

I'm still kind of pissed about Nick Fury and Kingpin. I'm not racist but I hate the way Hollywood rewrites history. Eventually people will wonder why there was even a civil rights movement because of them erasing the past. Plus you would think they would have learned something from the mess that was "Wild Wild West".
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:18:12 AM

Yes... if he brake dances.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:19:28 AM

And steals cars.

Dodges his parole officer.

Robs 7-11's

Bones his HAWT sistas!

Eats fried chicken and sings Mammy!

VDODSON writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:20:15 AM

He was funny as hell in Mystery Team. But no, a black Spider Man will never work. Look at all the sh*t Idris Elba is getting for playing a norse god in Thor.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:20:34 AM

^Instead of Spiderman we get a Spiderman/Step Up mixed movie.
VDODSON writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:21:21 AM

Erkel was a homo, he is now dating Tevin Campbell.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:22:43 AM

Ranger-Don't forget he's got to wash all that down with a nice tall glass of Kool-Aid and have some Watermelon for dessert before gonig out side his momma's to do some hustlin.
mwilder writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:23:38 AM

Let's change everything. Black Beauty using a lama, Shaft staring Sean Austin. You can't change something just to be politically correct. It would be different if it was a character in a book with no reference to colour, but unfortunately it is from a comic book, TV series and films. All visual mediums.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:24:18 AM

ok thats all im joking with on here, and they are just jokes. I know there's some lurkers reading this thread wanting to start some sh*t on here
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:25:32 AM

I'm not joking. I'm dead serious!

I love Mammy!
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:30:01 AM

Ranger, cc- LOL

cc- you know that !!

Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:32:24 AM

The only sh*t on here ARE the lurkers.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:33:50 AM

we seem to be getting some new ones ...
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:39:15 AM

CC- nice freddy avatar dude...
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:39:16 AM

yea we are getting some new ones, o well they all suck at life and I hope they forget how to breath.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:41:21 AM

Thanks Trailer, needed a sometihng new and I still gotta represent Robert ad Freddy bc he will always BE FReddy!
Derp88 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:41:28 AM

Not really s Spiderman fan so couldn't give a f*ck what the fag looks like to be honest.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:42:06 AM

^damn we need an edit button
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:55:08 AM

Your right on Robert Englund as freddy. i'm working may through the old movies at the minute , J.E Haley was ok , but no englund..
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:59:52 AM

My personal fave was pt 4 for some reason, maybe bc he was the most comical, i dunno.
Loki writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:02:35 AM

No. Don't do it. Don't f*ck with the classics. Spiderman is white. Wonderwoman is white. And Robin is white. If you change everything its like a slap in the face to the creators of the timeless charactors. Lets put it this way, I'm white so can I play barak Obama in his biopic? I DIDN'T THINK SO.
Poddington writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:04:44 AM

i'm fine with it! as long as Jacky Chan plays Luke cage and Gerard Butler plays Black Panther!

come on guys! can you image the up raw if they change the race of a black/asian/latino part to any other race
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:12:55 AM

cc- i brought part 4 on VHS in New York and then paid 30.00 to convert it to pal (english vhs system), so it cost me nearly 45.00 back in 1989 lol crazy ..
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:18:23 AM

@Loki - Obama's mother is white. So he's as white as he is black... but I get your meaning.
Bonzaitri writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:22:36 AM

If the choice is between the white actors that have been suggested for the part so far and Donald, then i'd have to say that Donald is my top pick at the moment, unless they start announcing some other choices are auditioning. Those other choices really were very uninteresting. I say let him screen test and if he knocks it out of the park, then why not. If given the choice between someone who looks more suited for the role and someone who will give a better performance and bring more depth. i just want a well told story with some good acting.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:37:00 AM

Fine, i just hope black people don't get pissed off when they cast Matthew Mconohay as the Black Panther or Blade!


See the stupidity that?
Valerie writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:47:45 AM

Yes! It could work, i see no problem at all, although im not familiar wtih this dudes work.
darthraige writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:52:18 AM

This is starting to get f*cking stupid.
Bunny X writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:55:23 AM

@madeseel you make a good point. Spidey's race is never really tied to the character and for that aspect, I could wrap my head around a black Spiderman.

But.....I am absolutely against it. Just as what's been stated already, Spidey's character has always been white and you just can't change that. It failed (among other things) with Catwoman. and it failed in Daredevil with the Kingpin being black. To have Captain america or Wonder Woman black wouldn't be acceptable either.
I'm tired of all this politically correct with the times nonsense about cross racing characters. The only way a black James Bond would work is if he wasn't James Bond. You want a black spy? Have him be a completely different character then. Not Bond!!
If some made a movie with a white Shaft (lol white shaft), black folks would be in an uproar.
Those twits on Tiwtter want Donald Glover in a hero flick so bad (love him btw) Let him play f'ing Static Shock!!
Filmmusicguy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:01:35 AM

Im a huge fan of Spider-Man and have been reading the comics "all of my life". I think that the true fans know Spider-Man for his character traits and for what he stands up for. And that "is" who Spider-Man is. Thats the character fans relate to. People that wish him to remain the same simply do not see this as the first point of consideration but hold there own values(him being white , not changing the past ect ect) before it which is simply putting a hold on their own personal evolution.

CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:08:44 AM

thats crazy lol I know I still have all of em on VHS, I need the dvds bad lol
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:14:36 AM

You know what f*ck this, we NEED an Asian Peter Parker!!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:15:09 AM

Sure.

Better him swinging above the traffic than driving in it.
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:22:26 AM

^Damn! lol
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:24:24 AM

lol

A spider-man on every corner ...
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:42:18 AM

How do you blind an Asian Spiderman?

Answer: put a windshield in front of him.
NatG83 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:45:23 AM

Sure, and in the new Martin Luther King Jr. Biopic, they should cast Brad Pitt.
swoooop writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:45:43 AM

Yeah, and why not cast a woman as spiderman? And a latino boy as spiderwoman?
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:46:05 AM

How about a Jewish Spiderman?

He bills the city of New York every time he shoots his web.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:47:23 AM

Or a Polish Spiderman.

Ques: do you know how you break Polish Spiderman's finger?

Answer: you punch him in the nose!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:50:41 AM

How about a Gary Coleman Spiderman?

M.J. bashes him over the head with a frying pan, but claims he just fell down and hit his head. She promises to release details of said fall shortly... but we never hear back from the murderous bitch.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:51:40 AM

Or a Dennis Hopper Spiderman.

After the Green Goblin kills Spidey, Spidey's ex wife shows up to rifle through his pockets for spare change... that f*cking, gold-digging whore!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:52:42 AM

Or an O.J. Spiderman.

He just sits in his apartment all day because he can't get the glove to his costume on.
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:55:40 AM

How about a wilford briemly spiderman?

he cannot dance but he can get up...
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:56:53 AM

Why not a Michael Jackson Spiderman? He's white. O wait he's dead, and if he were to play spiderman he'd be at the local kiddy park shooting his web all over the kiddies.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:57:26 AM

'... where you'll never grow old, and no one will ever die.'

Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:58:10 AM

@CC - at least he's call it his webbing in front of the kids.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:01:02 AM

How about a French Spiderman?

He gets into fights, then hopes like hell someone else will step in to save his ass!
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:02:16 AM

lol !!!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:03:53 AM

How about the Gay spider-man , he never comes out of the closet
Rodan writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:04:47 AM

That dude is funny on "Community" but I don't see him as Spider-Man. No way.
jeffw1978 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:07:15 AM

@Ranger - LOL

How about a mexican spiderman he swings across the border, then claims welfare.
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:09:28 AM

watcha talkin bout,mary jane?
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:17:26 AM

How about a Sonny Bono spider-man, just keep him away from the tree's !!
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:18:38 AM

isn't that a brett ratner spiderman?
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:19:35 AM

LOL !! Very True ...
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:22:38 AM

only if it's Donald Glover.
ZenShark writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:25:56 AM

@streetlawler nick fury was black in the ultimates series, and i thought he was a better iteration of the character than the classic version. And i dont know. if they direct him right, it would be fine. But then does mary jane become black too? i mean we dont want racial issues to affect the story...
Webslinger1187 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:35:23 AM

So if we cast a black spider-man, does that mean blade, black panther and luke cage can be played by white guy??
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:49:55 AM

I think certain heroes can be race neutral and still not ruin the spirit of the work. Like Spider-Man, if you were to read a novel about Spider-Man and nothing else you wouldn't have any real opinion about the race.

But obviously like Luke Cage was freaking raised in Harlem, so to cast a white actor would not only cause a race riot, but would ruin the actual spirit of the comic.

For this particular superhero it doesn't really matter to me, but ask me again on others and I'll probably have different opinions.
Salvador writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:58:30 AM

Ok, let me ask...

Would you like to see a 'mexican-spidey'? Of course NOT!

This is not about races, is about a character, and Peter has been always white. Period.
Salvador writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:00:05 PM

@jeffw1978: LOL.

You won!
Salvador writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:04:31 PM

By the way, who is this Donald Glover?
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:05:51 PM

I would like to see a nazi spider man...
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:09:32 PM

@Salvador

Yes the character is white, but his race doesn't define the character in the same way race defined Luke Cage or Blade. If that is the case I think it should go to the best actor regardless of race and honestly I like Donald Glover a whole lot for than 4 out of the 5 choices they have right now (Jaime Bell is the one I do like)
Inception writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:11:43 PM

"And steals cars.

Dodges his parole officer.

Robs 7-11's

Bones his HAWT sistas!

Eats fried chicken and sings Mammy!"

LOL, good one Ranger (like always).

But seriously WTF? What's next... are you ready for a "white" Mr T?
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:24:24 PM

i really like Donald Glover. Hes amazing in Community... which is 1 of the most under rated shows... and i just watched his movie The Mystery Team which was insane and hilarious but Glover saved the movie for me.

Ehhh... if spidey were to ever be black id let it be Donald Glover... if it were anyone else, I'd say f*ck off thats idiotic.
BigUnit writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:28:26 PM

no.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:36:54 PM

Someone please tell me WHY NOT? You guys keep saying "I'm not racist but..." and then refuse to allow this simply because Peter Parker was white in the comics, which... was created in the f*cking 1960's.

The truth is there is no reason Peter Parker has to BE white. It isn't thematically relevant at all. Peter Parker being a white nerd serves no specific purpose, so why should it matter? As long as Peter Parker is a human being, seriously, why does it matter? This casting is fine.
hobbes3000 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:42:35 PM

No

Respect canon, if the original character is has a defined look, you don't change it, or it won't work.
This is for lead and known characters, I think Samuel L Jackson's Nick Fury is right on the money.
To prove my point how would you react to Daniel Dae Kim playing Martin Luther King in a biopic.
Or Chris Rock rebooting Jesus Christ Superstar.
greed71 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:44:34 PM

f*ck this goofy lookin p*ssy
thomas deadison writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:45:41 PM

Martin Luther King, as in the real person? Or is he a comic book character with the same name?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:48:11 PM

Are You Ready for a Black "Spider-Man"?

I'm ready for a Spidey story that doesn't suck off more than a Singapore hooker with gum disease ...
thomas deadison writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:49:03 PM

Besides, Donald just wants to audition. Let him.


You know what else would be nice from all of this? From this Spiderman "reboot"? A good movie.



jdl107 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:16:18 PM

Well if they're gonna do it just do it. Black, white, what's the difference. If you show the least bit of concern you're obviously a racist anyway. These discussions are pointless
Zalmor29 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:24:16 PM

I really dont care. they have F'ed up the Spiderman movies already. Iam not wasting my time with what ever they make next.
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:27:21 PM

Im all for equal opportunity but if the character is white... it has to be a white guy... its like, The Last Black Man On Earth! STARRING Tom Hanks.
BigUnit writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:30:06 PM

they should never cast an african american as spider-man, i'm sick of this go black crazzze, its time to get over it, the spider man character has always been white, peter park has always been white, and thts another tihng, how many african americans have you ever heard of with the name PETER PARKER. it just wouldnt work lol stay true to the chracter.
Aingx writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:43:27 PM

Don't really care, I won't see it anyhow...
supaflywill writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:48:26 PM

o dear i dont think so
Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:02:14 PM

Making Spider-Man black just for the sake of it is f*cking stupid. I'm Hispanic, and I've been following the comics for a long time, and the fact that most of them are white guys hasn't really factored in. Their race really isn't important, but that doesn't mean it should be changed, it means you should concentrate on getting the character's core characteristics right, and you don't f*ck with his race just because. Spider-Man is a white guy from Queens. Leave it like that!
Man in Black writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:10:13 PM

so its a straight to dvd release if it happens ?
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:18:19 PM

No. Like I would want a white Blade. LOL! Or a white Shaft!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:18:25 PM

Thx. folks... lol.

MY opinion? PP is really a 'race neutral' character to me. Don't care what race he is (seriously). And yes, there ARE exceptions. James Bond... white. Luke Cage black, etc. It's nice to post honestly (like we all are), and not giving 'political correctness' a care. But really... PP black (if that's an option on the table right now), sure, and I know that doesn't sit well with some, and that does NOT make them racists... they just see PP as white as he's been since the 60's in comics.

There's no white or wrong here.
rocketman writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:23:04 PM

No,create some amazing black characters.
Thats the real problem.
Stuntastic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:23:14 PM

As someone stated earlier Nick Fury was white at one point, but it really depends on who u get to portray the character. Sam Jackson is a straight badass muthaf*cka who brings the best out of any character he plays. As far as Spiderman I don't think it would b that big of a deal, but characters like Capt America and Superman I don't think u could really touch them.
LanceGill writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:24:06 PM

YES! It would have never crossed my mind but YES Glover would be the perfect Peter Parker. Way WAY better that the other 5 choices that were posted on WP a couple days ago.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:26:22 PM

Peter Parker was a nerd, a bookworm, a science genius. When was the last time you saw a male black bookworm? Ever?? Or even a black guy that REALLY likes science? Seriously? To put a black guy in that role would alienate his character to most black males.

You'd have to do serious damage to either Parker's character or accepted reality to make this work.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:33:55 PM

@mink - lol.
Stuntastic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:38:25 PM

@Mink: Oh trust me there were quite a few black bookworms at my school, but the sad thing is that like at any school you always get picked on for being smart. Since when has being dumb ever been cool besides high school. On another note did u c that 20/20 episode about the brainman. The muthaf*cka was impressive. Anytime u can recite damn near the entire value of pie by looking at it once and learn Icelandic in a week my hat goes off to u my friend. Matter fact get his ass to play Spiderman lol
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:40:45 PM

If it was Donald Glover or Jaime Bell, I might not hate the idea of this movie so much anymore.

@Mink

A nerdy black guy would alienate black viewers more than a nerdy white guy? Yeah I'm doubting it, seeing as black voters turned out in flocks to elect a Harvard grad who's only half black.
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:45:54 PM

Awkward analogy, basically black people will come out because he is black despite his nerd status.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:46:45 PM

Blacks can go to Harvard now?

As students?

Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:51:51 PM

@Thomas Deadison
Thank you!!! I absolutely hate it when people counter changing a FICTIONAL character's race in a movie with changing a REAL person's race in a movie. I lose all present and future respect for people who do this. I understand how passionate people are about these characters but that counter argument is f*cking stupid.

@velocityknown
I agree with all of your points.

@Ranger
lol absolutely hilarious!!!

In terms of skills, I think that Donald Glover is a better candidate than three of the five actors. He has made me laugh so much over the years, though that I probably wouldn't be able to take him seriously. If you don't know him from Derrick Comedy, Mystery Team, Community, or 30 Rock, I believe that he has the most potential of all up and coming young comedians.

My pick of the five previous candidates would be Andrew Garfield. Jamie Bell is a great actor but I think he is too raw and can do better (like Joseph Gordon Levitt when he was rumoured). I haven't seen anyone complain about a potentially British Spider-Man...
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:52:06 PM

man i feel like i'm watching 'zack and miri make a porno'....'excuse me, can i get a coffee, black?' 'can't you see we talkin', white?'
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:58:21 PM

"A nerdy black guy would alienate black viewers more than a nerdy white guy?"

Sure. They hate the idea a black guy is academically smart and reads books. Reading books is for nerdy white guys, so that's expected. And you can't get annoyed by what you expect.

The fact is, the smart back guy makes all the other dumbass black dudes content with drugs, crime and prison feel like even bigger losers.

Most black guys I've known either think black dudes reading books are gay, or they were gay themselves. And still hated books.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:58:45 PM

I'm surprised no one brought up Green Lantern yet... GL started out with Hal Jordan who was white... and eventually went to John Stewart... who was black? No one made a huge deal about that? That turned out perfectly fine... Green Lantern is still a fan favorite... didn't tarnish the GL franchise at all... I'm just saying.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:00:05 PM

@Minkowski
I have never stated my race on here, but for the record, I am a black. I am also currently a Biology major. I have been looking for a job all summer. Maybe I will apply for Spider-Man...
Stuntastic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:01:20 PM

@Ranger: Yep, although sometimes we still get mistaken for the janitor
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:17 PM

@AA - lol... thx. Bro.

@Ted - good point on GL. To me he's another race-neutral character (and I LOVE the character - I think he's one of the best ever). Agree with someone's post above: CA and Supes both white, as I have posted same for James Bond, etc. just as Luke Cage is black.

This is a good discussion going on right here, but it'll never be 'resolved' as there's nothing to resolve here.

But GL black or white, makes me no never-mind.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:52 PM

@Stunt - bugger... lol ... you beat me to it!
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:59 PM

^
lol *edit* out a before black
kmccarney88 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:04:19 PM

No, absolutely not. I'm not racist or anything like that, its just a matter of staying true to the subject matter at hand and giving the fans what they want! Besides, a black spider man just wouldn't work.

If people want a black superhero then give black panther a green light, he's pretty badass and I'd defintely give it a watch.

Lowryder writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:04:34 PM

i dont even care, im not gonna watch this sh*t of a reboot, they should just cast lohag as spiderman
Stuntastic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:05:39 PM

@Ted: But the deal with GL is that (and don't quote me on this) they choose a new GL every few years or centuries. Like I said I'm not really into the comic side of things, but I know someone will chime in
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:06:36 PM

@jeff - How about a Mexican Spiderman he swings across the border, then claims welfare.


Priceless.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:06:38 PM

"I understand how passionate people are about these characters but that counter argument is f*cking stupid."

So people are 'stupid' for having a subjective opinion? Like you can apply propositional logic to the like and dislike of a black guy playing Spiderman. Now THAT'S f*cking stupid.

Know what I hate? Sensitive people that are so politically correct they think anyone with a different opinion from their super-sensitive prejudice are really just 'f*cking stupid'. When it's them that are actually stupid.

Peter Parker is f*cking white. I'm getting really sick of this exportation of black people into any and everything in the name of supposed 'fairness' when it's really just emotional welfare and inverse racism.

Black people can succeed without whitey. We don't have to live a real life 'The Blind Side' every f*cking day till the end of time just to have black people succeed. It's nothing but sickening patronism and condescension.
Bunny X writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:08:06 PM

Just as they did the race conversion with Nick Cage, let them do it in the comics FIRST before putting it on the big screen.
But what's the point anyways in changing the race on screen? If you plan on telling the same story just with a different color, then it's a waste.
If Marvel ran a line with a black Spiderman, I'd actually be very intersted in reading that and seeing how a young black teen copes with that legacy. You'd be able to introduce all types of other aspects into the lore. Raised by single mother, dealing with gangs, using the powers to fight drug dealers etc etc.
But then again, if you're going to do all of that, why not just make him an entirely new character?

Just as with the Kane and Lynch movie. Lynch isn't black. Now to the masses, it's not going to matter much because the material isn't well known outside video game circles. But the circle of those who know Spiderman is much larger.
justinbeaverhunt2010 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:08:30 PM

how about no new spiderman?
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:12:03 PM

@justinbeaver - best idea yet!

@bunny - my thought as well. Why not just make up an entirely new character then... exactly.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:18:44 PM

@Stunt
yeah i know what your saying but thats only somewhat true... it was all due to technicality usually. For example John Stewart took over for Guy Gardner (who took over after Hal Jordan) after he was hit by a bus after trying to save some kids... But they still appointed a black man after have 2 white GL roles... It is possible to make the switch from white to black without have an uprising of fan boys lol
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:22:00 PM

@Minkowski
Sorry, I didn't mean to sh*t in your coffee. I will retract my statement on historical figures not because you are good at being an *sshole but because of the Bob Dylan film, I'm Not There (Amazing film). In that film, actors of all ages, gender, and race portray Bob Dylan and each does a spectacular job. Everyone on here is right. A woman or a person of other color should be able to play Martin Luther King Jr. Sorry for being ignorant. For now on, I will only root for the best actor or actress.
Hero320 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:33:16 PM

It's one thing to portray a character as another race when he's been drawn both ways, for example Nick Fury in the Ultimate Marvel Universe. It's another to switch the race of a WELL known character. PP is white in every universe, nothing racist, just a fact. He should be Caucasian.
Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:33:47 PM

Nick Fury is still white, people. And Jackson isn't out there portraying Nick Fury, he's playing Sam Jackson in a leather overcoat. That's the big problem with choosing Sam for that role, he's nothing like Nick Fury at all.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:45:44 PM

he's playing Sam Jackson in a leather overcoat.

So he's playing 'Shaft' again?

'YA DAMN RIGHT!'

Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:50:43 PM

lol.

Pretty much.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:53:43 PM

Question: Should black actors be considered to play the new Spider-Man?

Simple answer: no. Should they cast Ryan Phillipe to play The Black Panther? Or maybe recast Ashton Kutcher as War Machine in Iron Man 3?

I don't understand this desire to have white superhero characters portrayed by black actors. There's plenty of black characters in comics: Blade, Storm, (Ultimate) Nick Fury, Black Panther, Luke Cage, etc.

There's just no need to revamp characters and change their race for no reason. We don't really need a black Spider-Man, James Bond, or Batman. If Hollywood wants to be racially diverse, then make films featuring black characters....not white characters played by black actors.

Seriously, how well did Daredevil turn out? Or Wild Wild West?




joelpatrol writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:54:13 PM

all the other actors up for the role are bland and uninteresting. this guy is actually a funny and good actor, and race shouldn't have anything to do with it. besides, spiderman wears a mask anyways, so who cares.

and i also love how people are saying spiderman needs to be white, and justifying it by saying, "i'm not a racist, but...."
CCBlev writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:05:56 PM

Alrght if we get a Black Spiderman can we have a Just in Beaver as Blade? I think the whole African American community would be in a uprage about that. But if we don't want a Black Spiderman we're al racist, god I love racial relations!
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:10:34 PM

@PhantomCloneInX

Haha I have never heard anyone blame Daredevil on the fact that they cast Michael Clarke Duncan as the Kingpin. I believe his casting was mostly based on the fact that he is huge and physically intimidating, yet can still act. Any faults with the movie I blamed on Mark Steven Johnson. But, after Fox was responsible for butchering other Marvel movies I shifted the blame to them.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:18:14 PM

Once he has the mask on doesn't matter what colour he is does it ??!!

Just saying thats all ..
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:22:36 PM

@CCBlev
Actually, members of the mainstream black entertainment community have already embraced Justin Bieber. He is up for a Best New Artist award at the BET awards. I can't stand him, but the kid, arguably has talent amongst his peers (by peers I mostly mean those Disney f*cks) and is extremely bankable at the moment.
I am not the emperor of black people that Jesse Jackson is, but I think most black people would find it extremely funny if Justin Beiber was cast as Blade.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:27:09 PM

Ok didn't bother reading all the post since it seems like almost everyone (EVEN BUNNY!) is against it. But like a early poster said, his race has nothing to do with the character at all. In fact if you were blind and someone read you a description of the character (a poor kid, living with his aunt in the inner city, who struggles with acceptance but eventually becomes a highly atheletic superhero that talks sh*t while he's kickin ass) you may think he was black in the first place. The fact of the matter is they've already f*cked up the character on film enough that a total change might be in order. That's what a reboot should be, a complete reimagining of the character! Yall have sited Wild Wild West, Daredevil, and Thor(without seeing the performance) as examples of failed race change attempts, but these movies were so bad that the character's race was the least of their problems. Nobody mentions Will Smith's character in I Am Legend who was originally white or Billy Dee Williams' Harvey Dent in Burton's Batman. White people are cast in non-white roles all the time with little uproar, so why the f*ck shouldn't blacks or other races get the same treatment? If Glover is the best actor for the part then at least give him an audition. WP forgot to mention this all started with Glover starting a Twitter campaign just to get an audition.

@Bunny: Catwoman failed beause it was a terrible movie not because Halle is HALF black. Don't forget the orignal TV catwoman was black and was VERY popular.
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:30:23 PM

HitFix has a really good in depth article about the issue I think anyone interested should check out:

http://www.hitfix.com/blogs/2008-12-6-motion-captured/posts/could-community-star-donald-glover-play-spider-man
SACdaddy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:32:52 PM

Hardly anyone knew who Blade was before the film came out. There would have been no uproar if they orignally cast a white guy.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:39:50 PM

sac- the first catwoman was Lee Meriwether in the batman movie and Julia Newmar on the tv show , I think...
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:49:19 PM

@velocityknown

Thanks for sharing that article. He makes a lot of great points that I have also noticed which are very sad but very true.
Loki writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:05:54 PM

The black spider mans costume consists of red n blue Jordan's with jeans that hang below his ass (but for some reason he still wears a belt) a red n blue oversized shirt n a matching do rag. I supposed he will have grill and a some gay jewelry. Instead of using his powers to save people he uses them to commit more crimes. Call me a racist but ill just say "meh"
scarface85 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:15:47 PM

y not? but it doesnt fit
Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:22:00 PM

His race isn't important. So why change it? Oh that's right, there is no valid reason to do so! But if they do that opens the floodgates for even more changes. They're going to try to sensationalize the fact that he's so diverse and PC and black. f*ck that. Don't need it, don't do it. Besides, Spider-Man comics come out on a weekly basis, and in 100% of those comics being released every Wednesday, he's a white guy.
WV-Films writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:26:06 PM

Hey, it worked in Blazing Saddles.
j-man writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:30:29 PM

@loki

and his mask will consist of a blue/red bandana, shades and nice shiny gold teeth with blue/red tint and aswell as causing more crimes, on the side he'll still be makin demos for his dream to become a rapper and party with lil wayne
j-man writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:31:57 PM

and if there is goin to be a black spiderman.....bizarre outa d12 is your best choice............
WHAT.....spiderman cant be fat now!!!!
velocityknown writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:32:04 PM

@Sinestro

No one is saying to change it just for the sake of changing it, Donald Glover isn't even saying that, we're just saying to not exclude black actors because Spider-Man doesn't NEED to be restricted to white actors only. The role should go to the best actor and if you saw the choices posted seen recently and if you've seen Donald in anything you'd know if he got an audition, he'd be a leading candidate.

By the way, just finished Mystery Team, it was awesome.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:35:05 PM

"a poor kid, living with his aunt in the inner city, who struggles with acceptance but eventually becomes a highly atheletic superhero that talks sh*t while he's kickin ass)"

That's really not the character, Sac, and you'd have to be a damned liar and know it to pass THAT description off as Spiderman.

In fact, if you read the *Wiki* article, which is of course far more comprehensive, there's no way the character could be anything BUT white.

The only way Spiderman comes off black is if you cherry-pick his history to suit your interpretation.

Fact is, he really was never 'poor', not in the ghetto sense. In fact, his aunt and Uncle live in the Forest Hills, which is quite exclusive, and even back in the 60s was far more upscale then the ghetto.

He lives with his aunt because his parents are dead, not because his father is in prison and his mother is a crack whore.

He struggles with acceptance because he's a science whiz bookish nerd, something most black guys can't claim. And CERTAINLY could not claim back in the 60s and 70s.

And really, not sure how high athleticism in a mutant superhero is in anyway correlated to race specifically, as you seem to imply. I mean, the kid gets good grades without lowering the bar and without affirmative action, so that, within your bigotry, would make him undeniably white.

As for talkin' sh*t...something of a universal human trait, and hardly a virtue. More like a vice.

And then there's the kickin' ass. To be honest, I've never seen a black guy fight any better than anyone else, but it does seem, judging by the local news, that black guys are the first to bring a gun to a fist fight. Or a prom, or the drive through line at McDonalds...so, Spiderman fights fair, it seems. More like a trait of British nobility than a street thug or punk.


Intellectually dishonesty is really a shame, Sac.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:42:04 PM

*Intellectual*

The most advanced ad system in the known universe, Alex, but still no edit button? LOL.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:48:25 PM

I guess that settles it everyone. Spider-Man can't be black. Thanks Minkowski!





*sshole, prick, douchebag? Usually when I can't find the right word to describe something or someone I just don't say anything...
Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:51:33 PM

Not tom mention that almost 80% of the population of Forest Hills is white.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:52:28 PM

"Usually when I can't find the right word to describe something or someone I just don't say anything..."

Then I would imagine you're often quite silent, especially among the educated.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:00:22 PM

@Minkowski
Haha you are so witty. You always win don't you? Minkowski-Master of the Message Boards. They should totally make a movie about you. I would like to see Seth Rogen as Minkowski. Anyone else got any thoughts on that casting choice? ( Make sure he isn't black )
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:02:13 PM

I wouldn't pay to see a movie with a black actor playing Minkowski. However, I would love to see Cheri Oteri try her chops on that part.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:06:46 PM

"I wouldn't pay to see a movie with a black actor playing Minkowski."

Wouldn't work anyway. I'm too smart and handsome, and I listen to good music, not rap, which is just noise sat to a moron chanting about drugs, 40s, hoes and prison life.

Besides, any story of my life would have to have a book in there somewhere.
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:08:34 PM

Sony would never have the balls to make such a bold and stupid move. Noone would watch a black Spider-Man. Not because he's black, but because he's not the Spider-Man they know.

They can do it with Samuel Jackson just because most of the general audience have no clue who Nick Fury is.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:15:28 PM

Discuss: Are You Ready for a Black "Spider-Man"?


Why not ? We already got a black Nick Fury.
darthraige writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:18:49 PM

I thought there was a black Nick Fury in a set of comics back in the day?
Sinestro writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:24:38 PM

Black Nick Fury is from the Ultimates. Millar made all the Ultimates resemble a certain actor, they even joke about it in the first issue of the comics while sitting around discussing who would play who in a movie. And that is a very bad point to bring up for the black Spidey argument, Jackson's Fury is f*cking awful.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:25:09 PM

@Minkowski
Haha contrary to popular belief, not all black people listen to rap. Based on your witty and intelligent posts from the past (seriously), I expected more out of you. I guess I am naive. I know this is a movie site and off subject but I would actually like to know what music or, more specifically, what artists you prefer.

Also, while taking a sh*t I thought about it, and I would pay (twice) to see Whoopi Goldberg portray you on the big screen.
Orias writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:25:13 PM

If those cheap *ssholes in Hollywood want a cool Black Super Hero spring some $$$ and hire a writer to come up with an original one themselves. Quit changing the past, this sh*t reminds me of the movie 1984!
rabid writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:47:35 PM

That's a doubleplusgood analogy.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:49:44 PM

"I would actually like to know what music or, more specifically, what artists you prefer."

Chopin, Mahler, Rachmaninov.

"Haha contrary to popular belief, not all black people listen to rap."

Sure, of course not. Not all Germans were Nazis and not all women are gold-digging bitches. There are exceptions. But rap is definitely a black 'cultural' aspect and invention that has become so mainstream that it now dwarfs standard rock. Which is sad.

I can also say that I have NEVER heard a black guy listening to anything other than rap. Not like I have ever heard some black dude blasting out the heavy bass of QueensRyche at the intersection. No, it is ALWAYS rap.

And to be honest, as gay as it might sound, if I had to listen to rap of any stripe, I would prefer Will Smith's musical stylings. At least then the kids can listen too.
vwkombi writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:55:15 PM

Honestly, i think Donald Glover would be a good, not great Spiderman. There are some characters where changing their race is simply moronic (eg Thor, Black Panthar). But as long as an actor can portray a character well and race isn't a core part of their character, why not?

However, imagine if they decided to remake Shaft with Bruce Willis in the lead. Why does Shaft have to be a black guy? Yeah, politically correct douchebags would be over that quicker than AIDS to mardi-gras. Double standard bullsh*t.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:59:25 PM

This guy WILL be spiderman..... If affirmative action has anything to say about it
BitterPeace910 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:01:56 PM

no not now not ever f*ck no!
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:02:11 PM

I think as long as they follow the basic Peter Parker arcs and stuff then it's fine. Hell, Peter Parker has a more archetypical "black" life than a "white" one. His parents are gone. Lives with family in a poor neighborhood. Etc etc.

I don't see why not. Jake Gyllenhaal played the Prince of Persia. All white actors are the leads in a movie that's basically about Asian culture (The Last Airbender or w/e it's called). If he has the talent, then sure why not? I love him on Community, I think he could nail the awkward humor to PP.

I'm a giant Batman fan, I've been reading and have been obsessed with Batman since I was 3. And if there was a black actor that could do the character justice then I would want to see it. Hell, I'm still mad we didn't get to see the Billy Dee Williams take on Two-Face (he was Harvey Dent in Batman but they bought out his contract so Tommy Lee Jones could be Two-Face).
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:11:46 PM

"I think as long as they follow the basic Peter Parker arcs and stuff then it's fine. Hell, Peter Parker has a more archetypical "black" life than a "white" one. His parents are gone. Lives with family in a poor neighborhood. Etc etc."

Stop repeating bullsh*t other people type. He was NOT from a poor neighborhood. And he was an ORPHAN because his parents tragically *died*! What, black people have a cultural monopoly on being an orphan? Most black kids are not orphans though, but have but one parent, not because of unexpected tragedy like Spiderman/PP, but because of sexual irresponsibility. Big difference! Stop selling lies.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:13:44 PM

@Minkowski
Great composers. I favor russians in this order: Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, and Korsakov. However, I don't listen to them on the regular. But damn dude, I am sorry that you haven't been exposed to more diverse black people. I wish that black artists of the early blues/rock and roll era were more heralded for what they created/were doing. Imitators, albeit good ones, took a lot of credit and quickly shifted it towards the white mainstream. I don't have serious issues with that but I wonder how different music would have been today...
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:23:21 PM

AA:

Not having more 'diverse' black people around has not helped. I'll say that. There's a few on here that rock, though, one guy that has a Frankenstein avatar. Runs his own theater I think. Guys like him do not exists where I live. Or within a hundred mile radius at least. And yes, Stravinsky. Quite a composer/pianist.
TeemSelami writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:38:49 PM

since someone mentioned obama's mama thought you might like to see her naked
http://img.chan4chan.com/img/2010-02-21/1266719381721.jpg

as for black spiderman they will be looking for someone to blame when this movie tanks I'd rather they don't have this option.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:24:32 PM

Lee Meriwether... pretty sure that woman gave me my first boner.

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2135332864/nm0580886

Oops, lookie there... another one.

Thx. Lee!

XOXO!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:25:01 PM

PS: Legends!

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm346528000/nm0580886
WV-Films writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:38:32 PM

The only movie I want to see about Minkowski has to involve the words "film at 11."
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:50:04 PM

No, I'm still wanting McLovin.
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 8:56:59 PM

Lee Meriwether as Catwoman gives me McBoner!
griffinkane writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:05:59 PM

f*ck no....
encoreyourface writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:47:47 PM

if there is a black Spider-man i WILL go on a killing spree. i'm not a racist but you do not f*ck with cultural icons. this is f*cking stupid to even consider.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:08:31 PM

@velocity
Mystery Team was indeed awesome! finally someone else who has seen it lol
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:17:13 PM

I'm not racist but, every race swap so far has ended up in disaster, so I don't mind anymore about Spidey.
countdragula writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:47:49 PM

A lot of people ask if it's all right for a white actor to play Shaft. Actually Shaft was written for a white actor (Supposedly Burt Reynolds) and after the success of Sweet Sweetback's Badassss Song the people at Warners ordered rewrites by African-American writers and hired Gordon Parks so if a white actor played Shaft it would be the original module like Godzilla being a kimodo Dragon.
koul writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:09:00 PM

i'm not gonna watch this f*cking stupid reboot
johnthemon writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:31:21 PM

I had no inclination to see the Spidey reboot, until they started talking about Donny Glover playing him. He would be amazing, I would pay to see that movie. If he isn't (which seems likely) I will not pay to see another Spider-man re-hash.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:36:18 PM

Yeah, if you want consistency, always go to comic book movies .... 5 bruce waynes, 3 jokers, 2 catwomen, 2 harvey two faces, 3 hulks, a white Nick Fury, 2 tv catwomen, 2 riddlers, 2 penguins, 2 Supermen, 2 Lex Luthors, 2 Rhodes, a skinny Eddie Brock, 2 Punishers, 2 Spidermen, 2 Captain Americas (now three), 2 Thors ....

Consistency is based on current events ...

case in point : Wolverine's war history. He was in NAM when the 80s stories came out. When ULTIMATES came out, they changed it to the Gulf War.

That's why I quit looking for f*ckin' consistency in Comic Books or Movie Adaptations.
johnthemon writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:37:29 PM

wow, the only argument against this seems to be basically, "you want a white blade now?" or "Black Guys can't be nerds".

The second argument is a racist and untrue stereotype.

The first argument is stupid, because Peter Parker is raised in the freaking inner-city by his aunt and uncle because his parents were freaking murdered! That sounds like a uniquely "white" situation.

Captain America should be white.
Superman should be white
Bruce Wayne should be white.

Spider-Man can be whoever he wants.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:37:56 PM

@darthraige

During Jim Steranko's run, Fury was white.

DetroitFanRick writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:01:58 AM

Here's a thought: DROP THE f*ckING SPIDER-MAN FRANCHISE!

Jesus, Hell and GodDamn! Sony will only f*ck this sh*t up more with their constant micromanagement and ruin any further journeys into the Marvel Universe. Just let the f*cking rights revert back to Marvel so they can get proper directors who will respect the history of these books.

Okay. I've vented. I feel better. Let's get back to bashing Lohan. Maybe she'll off herself and give us the third death.
velocityknown writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:14:15 AM

@TedMosby

Yeah I heard some rumbles about it and after this news broke and on account he's awesome on Community I thought I'd check it out. I do not regret it.
The contrasting tones of the movie were freaking amazing. It was like Kiss Kiss Bang Bang crossed over with Superbad.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:26:00 AM

@Minowski
Sorry I didn't read everyone else's post but you get the jist of it. Either way it doesn't matter I was wrong to say that BECAUSE THE MOST IMPORTANT PART IS THEY GET THE BEST GUY FOR THE ROLE.
superabilio writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:28:53 AM

You have to respect the original history. Peter Parker is not Nick Fury (everybody doesnt give a damn about Fury).Why not make a "Shaft" movie with a white guy? Or Blade? If you change his color, you have to change all of his history. Stop with the Obama factor. Everything doesnt have to be black to give a change. Why not asian? Or hispanic (Pedro Parker?). It doesnt have sense.You have to respect the original history!!!
AlMan500 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:51:02 AM

NO! simply because Peter Parker is not black! He will always be white to the millions of fans. Not racist just the truth!
velocityknown writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:54:09 AM

@Superabilio

The original history does not depend on the race of the character! Blade and Shaft are partly black exploitation characters, part of their character's traits are set in black culture. Peter Parker does not HAVE to be white, there's nothing about him that grounds him in whiteness. Sure he's smart and mild-mannered, but it's not a crazy stretch, like some people are suggesting it is, for a black person to be like. Especially Donald Glover, if you've ever seen him act, he likes the geek chic persona I think.

Want me to be honest? There are a lot of character who started white, but don't NEED to be white. Why? Because white people just don't have the same culture that black people do. That's why you could never cast a black Shaft, because he was designed for black people, like Luke Cage and/or Blade.

Spider-Man was written in the 1960s and there was no way Marvel was going to risk alienating it's majority audience by making him black.

I'm not saying that Spider-Man should be black, just because we NEED a black Spider-Man, BUT the producers picked 4 sh*tty white actors, when they have this guy who is easily better than those 4. And it's not racism on their part, it's just not thinking to change the status quo, because it seems like it's change for the sake of change and, really, it shouldn't be that, but we have to start somewhere, right?

I don't think Glover, wants change for the sake of change, he just wants his chance to compete for a role that, in all honesty, is racially neutral.

Donald Glover or Jamie Bell. Whoever has the best audition.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 1:49:06 AM

@velocity
YES finally someone whose seen Community as well. GREAT show... and Mystery Team was kinda like a retarded superbad with detectives lol I found it hilarious though

"Judging from his shirt, he has No Fear" haha
encoreyourface writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 2:08:19 AM

superbilio-i agree completely.

Pedro Parker-lol!
takai writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 2:58:44 AM

I wish I was awake enough to read all these comments, but I'll just skip to my opinion.

No, he should not be black. He is not a black character, therefore he should not be portrayed as black.

It's like when they rumored a black James Bond. It's just not the character.

Either create a black character with spider powers, or make a film about a black superhero (there ARE plenty of them), but there is on reason to change the race of a well known character.
takai writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 3:00:49 AM

@Mink - I did stop to read your posts, and I stand by you in agreement.

@Ranger - Love your posts as well. Makes me regret stopping by here less often.
trailertrash writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 3:12:19 AM

ranger-

Lee Meriwether and Diana Rigg the late 60's was a good time for women in cat suits !!

Nice 2nd pic of the Legends !!
bennett31182 writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 3:29:54 AM

no. not to be racist but why do we have to change a characters skin color when he has always been white. It seems to me that the only reason to do that would be to stir up the pot and that's bs. What's next....Malcom X-men? If they have a black spidey I want a white Shaft.
rabid writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 3:52:03 AM

Marvel already has a black superhero in spandex with animal agility and a rogues gallery of animal-themed villains. He's called Black Panther, and if they filmed it right, it could be as big as Dark Knight.

Luke Cage could be the next Shaft/Dolemite. Brother Voodoo could be the next Constantine. Blade could be the next... Van Helsing.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 5:41:51 AM

Sure, why not? In fact, while we're at it, let's remake Malcolm X starring Bradley Cooper and Ali with Steven Seagal.

NO.
Sonic writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 7:04:46 AM

NO because i'm scared of black spiders:-)
trailertrash writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:01:34 AM

^LOL !!
velocityknown writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:23:14 AM

@TedMosby

"If any teachers ask where Eric went, tell 'em 3 grown ups took him off the playground to teach him a lesson about sticking his finger in things!"
takai writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 10:47:14 AM

@SoftimusPrime - Such a good point.

The black community would throw a fit if any black character ever was remade as a white man.

I'm not saying that a black spider man is bad because I'm racist, but because they would only be doing it because of his race. There is just no need to alter a character's race, other than to exploit said race.
PutneySwopes writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:12:32 PM

wow...all this talk of what if this black character is white is retarded, come on now Malcolm X white really. Spiderman movies have sucked from the start. I would like to see my white heroes white and black heroes black. We have a long way to go as people.
I never agreed with toby down syndrome mcguire as spiderman from the start and dunst looks like a spoge rag..Let's just get a good movie and not let the racism appear that is a negative trait for a person to have.
I TRUST THAT THE WHITE MEN making this decision will do the right thing and make a good movie. I have always seen spidey team up with other heroes in comics and comics and cartoons. How bout Spiderman, Blade, Black Cat, Lizard and 3/4 of the way through the movie Rhino comes into the picture
velocityknown writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:17:50 PM

No @Softimus and @takai, it's not a good point because you guys are completely missing the point.

Spider-Man is not grounded in a race. Malcolm X is, Luke Cage is. Spider-Man doesn't have anything that would make him obviously white except the fact that he was drawn white, which he had to be, because, let's face it, it was the 1960s.

If they cast Glover, it wouldn't be "altering" his race, it would be casting the best actor, because it doesn't matter if Spider-Man is white or black. They wouldn't cast a freaking black guy to play Lincoln or a white guy to play Malcolm X because they are obviously grounded in a race in some way.

No one can say Peter Parker is white because....other than he was drawn that way. If you were to ask Stan Lee, he'd probably say he doesn't care because the CHARACTER (the quality people seem to be missing) is racially neutral.
Dre-EL writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 2:36:41 PM

Sure there could be a black Spidey, he just wouldnt be Peter Parker.
Ranger writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 11:49:01 PM

So 'Patrice Parker' maybe?
JohnZee writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:34:33 AM

Completely ridiculous. This Donald Glover kid is in no way the absolute best choice for the role. And basing any type of ludicrous opinion like that on a limited group like those five white actors is idiotic.

You think that those five guys are the only actors that the studio has looked at?

Ridiculous and anyone that believes that should get their heads examined.

Donald Glover is primarily a limited television actor. He's not even that well known of a television actor, and movie studios are usually pretty damned hesitant to cast television actors unless they have exceeded the norm in talent, popularity, or are blowing the director.

Nothing he has ever done would make you believe that he could easily transition into a major motion picture movie.

Even if every single human being on the internet wanted him for the role, the studio would still consider him a major risk.

Not only is he unqualified for the role, but because he's black and would be going against the grain of the general public's perception of Spiderman, because of this he needs to immensely exceed the qualifications, which he certainly does not.

Look at the incredibly large number of Americans that will never support President Obama because he's black. The man could start sh*tting billions of dollars worth of diamonds every single day quickly wiping out the national debt, and there would still be a ton of people that were highly critical of him just because he's black.

Nick Fury is not Spiderman. For the most part Nick Fury is a supporting character. Spiderman is a white nerdy icon, practically an archetype. And if this kid forces his way into the role then a significant percentage of the movie audience would never go to see this Spiderman reboot.

Not just because he's black, but because he manipulated the system to get his handout. He didn't think the standard selection process was fair to him, so now he's trying to subvert that system for special consideration.

That's only going to increase the percentage of the movie audience that boycotts this film.

It is one thing for Donald Glover to have his agent inform the studio that he's interested in auditioning for Spiderman, he's established enough as a television actor to do exactly that.

He's not doing that, he's saying that if the studio doesn't cast him, it would be a injustice, and more importantly a racial injustice.

Even if his and the original article writer's manipulation of the standard system bears fruit and Donald Glover is actually cast for the role, it would be very bitter fruit.

He could say a thousand times that the reason that he got cast for the role was because he gave a superior audition to anyone else that tried, but would anyone completely believe him?

Only his most fervent supporters, which certainly is not everyone, and more importantly certainly not a vast majority.

If he had worked within the system, and still managed to get the role, that would be very impressive indeed. That would be a major accomplishment, that could potentially open a lot of doors for black actors.

But this internet campaign of his? Don't doubt for a second that it will be seen as a handout.
A handout that he and the initial article writer manipulated the studio and Marvel into handing out, but still a handout.

And this particular Spiderman reboot has never been an automatic shoe in success. It is a film that a lot of people were already doubting because the established Sam Raimi and crew won't be doing it.

Does he really enhance the chances of this movie being successful?

1. People that don't want to watch a black Spiderman won't go to see it.

2. Some international markets frankly do not support a black actor as a main protagonist. Even movies where Will Smith is the lead don't perform well in some places overseas. And whatever this kid is capable of, he sure as hell ain't got the marketability of Smith at this time.

3. Some will see Donald Glover's being cast as Spiderman as a handout, and because of that refuse to go to the theater to watch the movie.

All three of these groups are portions and percentage of movie attendees that would not show up to watch this Spiderman reboot if he is cast.

And combined, make no mistake they would be a considerable portion of the overall movie audience.

So again...

Does he enhance the chances of this movie being successful?
takai writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 1:40:02 AM

JohnZee summed it up pretty well, but I'll just tag this on.

@Velocity - You say that Spiderman isn't grounded in race like Malcom X is, but what you don't understand is the fact that he really is.

Not so much just because of the difference between black and white, but because 80% of the movies audience would flip out over changing a small portion of the origin story.

Most comic fans are insanely particular about movie adaptations. The costume has to look perfect, the actors have to have a certain aura and attitude, etc.

Those are very much minor things compared to the character's RACE. Once you change the race of the character, you have to change the race of his family (unless you say he's adopted, then that's a huge slap in the face of the character's race). Did you not think about how altered the character and his origin would be if you changed his race? Apparently not.

When your target audience gets pissed when things that don't even pertain to the story get changed, you can't do something as stupid and needless as change the character's race.
bacci40 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 6:15:48 AM

why not? and how about an asian supes...and a latin green arrow

best for last...a jewish batman
Moose756 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 12:06:01 PM

I think Donald Glover could actually play spiderman because he has the peter parker feel to him. I really dont care that he is not white because that should not matter if he can embody the role.
tucsonkid writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 5:01:09 PM

@Ranger
LMAO. YOU DA MAN! THAT'S SOME FUNNY sh*t! ARE THESE PEOPLE ON MEDICATION! People just don't know how to leave things alone. It's like changing the Harlem Globtrotters from being all black to all mexican but From TIAJUANA using a soccer ball instead of a basketball and still calling them Harlem Globetrotters... JUST MAKES NO SENSE AT ALL.
SPURTACUSS writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 6:59:39 PM

Sooooooooooo let me get this straight a lot of you CANT believe a black guy playing a fictional white guy because its not realistic. BUT you can believe that said characters can climb walls,fly bend steel and shoot lightning out their *ssholes. HELLO my vaginally deprived friends ITS FANTASY!!!! In the fantasy world anybody can be anything. I know you fear them in your neighborhood but I dont think the fictionalized ones will steal your trailers
DeathProof88 writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 7:02:24 PM

NO! Im sorry im not a racist but I am a Spider-man fan and any true fan Black or White, Asian and so on shoud be against this. I mean why is this ok? When everyone made a huge fuss about a white guy playing Dastan. If they didnt like that why is this okay? White guy plays a persian character everyone throws a fit, Black guy in taks to play a White character everyone jumps for joy what total hypocritical BS!
steve85 writes:
on June 7th, 2010 at 11:09:58 AM

I'm not ready...let's face it, Peter Parker is white and Peter Parker is Spiderman...a reason Twitter mobs don't matter http://www.weltbranding.com/blog/

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved