WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Homer Simpson is the Greatest TV and Film Character

Posted: June 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Homer Simpson is the Greatest TV and Film CharacterSubmit Comment
Entertainment Weekly held a survey to pick the greatest character created for television and film in the past twenty years. The top spot went to Homer Simpson from "The Simpsons" cartoon series, beating Harry Potter and the vampire slayer Buffy.

"People can relate to Homer because we're all secretly propelled by desires we can't admit to," said "The Simpsons" creator Matt Groening. "Homer is launching himself head-first into every single impulsive thought that occurs to him. His love of whatever...is a joy to witness."

Below is a list of the top ten characters on the list.

1. Homer Simpson

2. Harry Potter

3. Buffy

4. Tony Soprano

5. The Joker

6. Rachel (from "Friends")

7. Edward Scissorhands

8. Hannibal Lecter

9. Carrie Bradshaw (from "Sex and the City")

10. Spongebob Squarepants

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 73 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:35:59 PM

Harry Pothead #2

Come on the Joker should be #2

Who did they survey to get that
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:42:45 PM

Can't disagree with the #1 spot.

Say what you will about #2 but the Harry Potter series is the highest grossing of all time and, like it or not, they've become a culture phenomenon with a large rabid fan base.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:44:02 PM

f*ck Carrie Bradshaw though and I feel like Edward Scissorhands (though an awesome movie and character) is a little out of place. Not really someone I'd call the 7th greatest film/tv character of all time.
Nekros22 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:44:45 PM

I don't know whether to laugh or cry...
OneTime writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:47:43 PM

ya a fat..stupid..drunk..useless ..lol only in America.
pottman85 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:48:58 PM

Doh! haha @velocity the survey was for best character on tv AND movies
JohnRace writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 7:57:56 PM

1st, 2nd, fine. But Tony Soprano behind f*cking Buffy?! Come on!!
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:02:12 PM

@pottman

I know that, but I mean there have been more memorable characters on film and TV than Edward Scissorhands. Maybe he makes a top 50, but top 10? No way.
KirkLazerus writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:16:01 PM

wtf wheres Jack Bauer, hes f*cking bad ass way better than Tony soprano god damn gabagool,Edward Scissorhands wow!!! hes f*cking super gay i can name people way better than him, Black Dynamite, Castor Troy, Dae-su Oh, Kirk Lazarus, Peter Griffin, Uncle Ruckus, Lindsay Lohan (even though shes a real person i like to think shes a made up character), Bruce Leroy, the Epileptic Boxer from the Movie Chocolate(not the Johnny Depp one)Doctor House, Dalton from Roadhouse,Stansfield from the Movie Leon, this list is bullsh*t except Homer Simpson being number 1. i bet this list was made by Woman.
WV-Films writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:24:52 PM

I think the word "created" is pretty loose here. I mean Harry Potter, The Joker, and Hannibal Lector span far past TV and Film.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:30:34 PM

"we're all secretly propelled by desires we can't admit to"

like ... digging up graves middle of the night and having fun time with the bodies? i can admit to that easily.

encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:32:00 PM

Hannibal Lecter seems a bit low on the list, and considering the others listed Joker should be at least #3.

Harry Potter should've been -4
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:36:55 PM

Entertainment f*cking Weekley.....You can tell the people who voted for this list are aither woman or teenagers





Missing

Walk Kowlowski
Darth Vader
Les Grossman
Rocky
cast of it's Always Sunny (TV)
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:37:53 PM

I hope Homer and his family will consider porn after the shows run on TV.

As for Rachel from friends... really? The rich, princess (lost Brad... LOL), dysfunctional, jerk Ross around (not like that putz didn't deserve it), unreliable friend of friends... really?!

Now she makes bad romantic comedy's that see her kicked to the curb as often as she does in real life.

I'd still split Jen's *sshole wide open, don't get me wrong... just sayin'.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:41:29 PM

@Kirk

You're right that the list is flawed, but seriously gotta disagree with Peter Griffin being a "great" TV character. Though I am a modest Family Guy fan, his character is not consistent or great by any means.

I'll tell you who's missing from this list: Eric Cartman. Not only has South Park changed pop culture and TV forever, but Eric Cartman has become one of the best love-to-hate characters on tv. He's a modern day Archie Bunker, with a ramped up evil level.

Not to mention Rachel was far from the best character on Friends. In fact she was probably the least funny.

And now that I think about it, Harry Potter should get an asterisk for not being an original TV or film creation, he originated in books.

The only one that seems to be right is #1 and that's only because it's so difficult to argue at this point that the Simpsons is the greatest show of all time.
WV-Films writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:41:43 PM

The more I read this list, the more I realize how stupid it is? I mean what is it a list of again? Top TV and Video Characters? And it's comprised of 3 literary characters? I mean shouldn't Captain Jack be on this list? Or Jack Bauer? This whole thing is a waist of time.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:45:17 PM

velocity-yes! bring in the Cart-Man!

Ranger-there strangely is Simpson's porn ... pretty f*cked up ... but Marge is HAWT!
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:46:34 PM

How about someone else in the top 10 instead of Carrie Bradshaw, I would rather go with Captain Jack Sparrow than her.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:47:54 PM

nice to see robert pattison as edward in that list.
now seriously what the f*ck is he doing there? They mistoke the lists, pattison was suppose to be in the "Got Aids. Has to Die" list.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:50:50 PM

Homer Simpson
Eric Cartman
The Joker
Hannibal Lecter
Col. Hans Landa
Michael Scott
Jack Bauer
Stephen Colbert (is a character)
Malcolm Reynolds
The Bride (Kill Bill)

Honorable mention: Jack Sparrow, Ben Linus, Shaun (of the Dead)

This is a totally biased and in no particular order list by the way. And for anyone else listing there's, keep in mind, it's for characters from the past 20 years. That's why Vader and Rocky are missing.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:54:13 PM

Scratch Lecter, insert Sparrow in my list, forgot Lecter was a literary character, not to mention Silence of the Lambs came out in 1988 and by their own 20 year count I think the farthest they can go back is '89.
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:55:57 PM

load of bullsh*t
coldplayesence writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:56:07 PM

A top ten list of characters without Arnie's terminator or Rocky it's complete bullsh*t.
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:57:47 PM

AND huh harry pothead wasnt on tv
encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 8:59:14 PM

"and FILM"
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:00:15 PM

Kinda confused at how the Joker even qualified for that list. 1) he wasn't created for TV or Film and 2) He was on TV before them all (1960s). The list is broken beyond that little tid bit as well. What do you expect it's Entertainment Weekly.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:01:49 PM

@Coldplayessecne

Past 20 years. 1989 is the furthest back they SHOULD go, but apparently 1988 is okay if it means including Hannibal Lecter.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:03:37 PM

@DarkKnight

Depends, seeing as each person bring their own creative persona to the Joker they could be referring to Nicholson's or Ledger's Joker specifically. But you are right in that it wasn't created for TV or Film so I guess that's another one that technically should not be included along with Lecter and Potter.
skatemaster62 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:04:04 PM

there should have been two seperate list 1 for tv characters and 1 for film, cause theres a sh*t load of characters that should be on that list "The Godfather" anyone? or Tony Montana? this is all recent sh*t
encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:05:17 PM

your right about joker
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:08:43 PM

Not trying to be a d*ck by posting like this, but people keep posting by ignoring the very important part of this article

PAST TWENTY YEARS ONLY! THE FARTHEST THEY GO BACK IS 1989!
CCBlev writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:10:35 PM

Homer is just! Carrie Bradshaw is only on there to give the woman at least someone else other than Buffy in the top 10, she really doesnt deserve to be in there. Jack Bauer, does nee to be in there. I did read another list not too long ago that did have Jack Sparrow as number 1.
filmaddict24 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:11:27 PM

Nice picture of Homer. It shows how much Homer has made an impact on entertainment TV and film.
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:17:24 PM

@encore - I figured there must have been by now. Do you have a link?
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:23:23 PM

@Ranger and Encore

Not to mention Marge Simpson on the cover of Playboy.
Though there was no answer to the 20 year old carpet/drapes debate. Such a tease, don't know how Homer deals.
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:29:26 PM

@velocity - he drinks!

http://tinyurl.com/poormarge
encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:32:51 PM

Ranger no link but i see you found one, it was a while a go since i saw it.
nope.com writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:49:58 PM

I dont give a sh*t about any other listing... #9 discredits anything EW writes or reports
Blank x2 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 9:52:35 PM

Here's some others I didn't hear mentioned....


Jeff "The Dude" Lebowski - The Big Lebowski
Patrick Bateman - American Psycho
Omar Little - The Wire
Dexter Morgan - Dexter
Tyler Durden - Fight Club
Austin Powers/Dr. Evil - Austin Powers Series
Charlie - It' Always Sunny in Philadelphia
Derek Vinyard - American History X


I'm still looking at my DVD collection trying to think of more.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:14:57 PM

Harry Potter, Buffy, Carrie and SpongeBob could do a XXXX porno
that would make Dustin Diamond's Dirty Sanchez movie look like
a G rated Disney flick and I still wouldn't f*ck them with Hannibal's
severed d*cks ...
scotty7471 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:22:42 PM

sponge bob square pants and sarah jessica? SERIOUSLY? while i can abide by sbsp being number 10, SJP SHOULD NOT BE ON THIS LIST AT ALL
a HORRIBLE actress for a piece of crap series
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:39:01 PM

I think they included Sarah Jessica Parker so they could satisfy the "transvestite donkey witch" demographic.

See? South Park is classic.
Monash writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:44:45 PM

A man
A wizard
A vampire hunter
A man
A clown
A tart
A freak
A cannibal
A horse
A sponge

Dynamite list...
No Mclane, Durden, Batman (if Joker's there, Batman's there) Ron Burgundy, GOB Bluth, basically any Will Smith character, some of these aren't even people that deserve to be on the list but they sure as f*ck rate higher than Rachel from friends and Carrie Bradshaw
this really is just the worst list i've seen In recent times

Props to Velocity and Blank's choices
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:21:12 PM

@Blank

Pretty good list you going there, very cult/indie. Of course EW wouldn't know anything about that.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:34:23 PM

As long as Twilight is not making to the list, I can take some consideration for this survey.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:37:39 PM

Its an insult not to have Jack Bauer or Jack/Lock/Sawyer from LOST on the list.

God bless Blank X for putting The Dude (AKA El Duderino, if you're not into the whole brevity thing) at the top of his list. I totally agree but would have to put Maude, Walter Sobchak, Bunny, Brandt, The Jesus, Uley from Autobaun, Woo, Larry Sellers, the Big Lebowski, and as a group
SACdaddy writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:40:12 PM

(cont) ... as a group in the #2 spot. Jack Bauer #3.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:45:17 PM

@Sac, while it is insulting to leave a LOST character on this list, I've gotta give the spot up to Benjamin Linus. Seriously, Michael Emerson owned, OWNED, that role. My favorite LOST character by far and actually makes it on my top 10 on 2nd glance.
IRONDAN writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:15:59 AM

If it is a list of the past 20 years then is the joker and homer out of place..... they are more then 20 years old? homer is 21 (so we can give that a pass) but the joker is well over 40? what the f*ck is that.... why not put E.T. and King Kong!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:22:40 AM

@velocity - '..."transvestite donkey witch"...'

Priceless.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:50:39 AM

First of topic here is a link to story I think we all will find funny, sickining, stupid and down right retarded...

http://music.uk.msn.com/news/articles.aspx?cp-doc*mentid=153610918


Now on topic...I already new this Homer Simpson is a God..lol....@ranger..give me twosees on Rachel (Jennifer)..or we could just double team her arse and leave her ruined?? Like the old romantics that we are.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:51:35 AM

Oh that's right, 20 years... well, at leat number one wasn't Jakesully...
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:22:13 AM

HOW CAN E.T NOT BE ON THIS LIST!!
Inception writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:39:05 AM

So, what happen to :

-Harry Callahan
-Conan (Arnie)
-Rocky Balboa
-The Terminator (Arnie)
-The Man with no Name
-John Rambo
-Don Vito Corleone
-Sanjuro Kuwabatake
-John McClane
-Darth Vader
-Indiana Jones
-Frank (Henry Fonda)
-Paul Kersey
-Harmonica
-Tallahassee

Wait... this was made by Entertainment Weekly. They should as well thrown in there, Hannah Montana, Zac Efron, the Twilight fag and Lohag in that pool of sh*t survey list they held.
vaodsi writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:08 AM

i didn't expect scissor hands
vaodsi writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:43 AM

give it ten years and it will be joker, dwight schrute, etc
lost_addict writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:15:07 AM

Cosmo kramer
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 2:26:15 AM

Rachel from "Friends" HA HA

Maybe If she had been butt f*cked in coffee shop by Monica with a strap-on on and phoebe had kept the lub flowing, then maybe just maybe she could be in the top 10 !!
Dark writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:38:03 AM

Hahaha! f*ck this list
encoreyourface writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:38:37 AM

LOL!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:38:55 AM

that was to trailer of course.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:57:13 AM

thanks encore, That would have made frieds alot more watchable !! lol
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:21:16 AM

^Friends i mean ! D'oh !
Ranger writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:17:34 AM

@Inception - great list, but the one produced is only for the past 20 years. Some on your list may have made sequels within that 20 year time frame. But agreed... their list sucks (mostly).
Sonic writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 6:18:13 AM

Where's Batman?
freshfromthedeli writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 9:28:42 AM

What a stupid list.
darthraige writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 10:35:26 AM

The survey was for the last 20 years. Vader was 30 years ago when first introduced. I still think this list is bullsh*t. Jack Bauer was listed in 70s. He clearly could have beaten Quarepants. Clearly women must be running the show over at EW.
jdl107 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 12:40:53 PM

Wait a minute... is there seriously no f*cking DARTH VADER?

f*ck that sh*t.

The Joker... but no Darth Vader... f*ck you EW.
Blank x2 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 4:50:24 PM

Guys, it's for the last twenty years. Darth Vader was in Star Wars in 1977.

People on here are naming good characters, but only about 10% of them are from the last twenty years. From 1990 on. Not that hard.
ToatsMaGoats writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 7:17:03 PM

NO GEORGE COSTANZA? R U KIDDING ME!!!
That_Genius writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:32:49 PM

Horrible list. What the hell at Rachel? She isn't even the best on the show let alone one of the greatest characters. And really Spongebob? Harry Potter should be no where near 2nd I personally don't think he should be on this list.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 2:11:25 AM

@blank is right people.

technically Joker shouldn't even be on there either ...
Buzz1432 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 3:34:51 AM

No

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved