WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Jackson to Direct "The Hobbit"?

Posted: May 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Jackson to Direct "The Hobbit"?Submit Comment
We just reported that Guillermo del Toro has decided to drop out of "The Hobbit" films as a director, leaving Peter Jackson in a tough spot.

Jackson's manager stated earlier that Jackson would not step in to direct the "The Lord of the Rings" prequels because he has other commitments. The manager added that his client "will stop at nothing to protect this franchise and the investment made by New Line, Warners and MGM."

Jackson has already started his search for del Toro's replacement, but it's unlikely that he'll be successful. Both Jackson and the del Toro have already put in over two years of work, which means it will be difficult for someone new to catch up.

Apparently the search has been so difficult that Jackson is already considering taking over the helming duties himself. "If [directing the films is] what I have to do to protect Warner Bros' investment, then obviously that's one angle which I'll explore," he told The Dominion Post. "The other studios may not let me out of the contracts."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Dominion Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:48:24 PM

i'd be up for him directing this, the first three where fantastic.
Detrimental writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:49:15 PM

I've never even seen the LOTR movies. Am I missing out or something?
Barney Stinson writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:56:54 PM

@Detrimental - Um, yeah!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:59:10 PM

@Detrimental

Not really, was all together 9 hours of people f*cking walking......even the trees walked in those films!

lol

nah, pretty good trilogy, got better with each film
wonderBOY writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:00:07 PM

@ Detrimental not really they are great epics especially the 3rd one.
lost_addict writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:10:16 PM

but he will he still have the inspiration after all that lost weight?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:17:32 PM

detrimental-you are definitely missing out!
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:18:35 PM

@Skippy Spartan
nice quoting Clerks 2 lol but dude LOTR trilogy is epic... read the hobbit and really hope they don't f*ck it up
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:21:15 PM

I would think he would be perfect for it, but if it takes time to do it right (i.e. LOTR level), then Hollywood better take the f*cking time ... I oon't even WANT to see the Michael Bay Edition ... or even the Ridley Scott version.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:36:21 PM

Thank GOD, he doesn't have Uwe Boll on that short list ....
BitterPeace910 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:28:41 PM

He is the only person who should direct it.
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:29:21 PM

NICE! No matter they will still be awesome!
"BANG,BANG,BANG" You hear a gun reload "BANG!
That was Uwe Boll, killing off JJ, Mcg, Ratner and finally turning the gun himself, b/c they are so depressed they got passed up on to make this movie, THANK GOD!
Rick Taps writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:52:11 PM

Peter Jackson is one of the select few people in recent memory who I have wanted to stick to their franchises as directors. Bay, Lucas, Wachowskis, Raimi, etc., really need(ed) to give up the helm to new blood who could put a new spin on their franchises.

Abrams (Star Trek), Nolan and possibly Favreau are another two I want to see stay on their franchises.
tcu21 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 12:01:26 AM

That must be some good crack they have in Middle-Earth cause that dude got skinny. I think they fed his leftover fat to Del Toro.
rocketman writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 12:54:41 AM

Jackson has to direct.
masht7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 1:30:53 AM

Okay Michael Bay, you can go away and stop that dance you usually do when there is a open project.
trailertrash writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 2:42:43 AM

cc- lol
trailertrash writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 2:48:44 AM

You would think he would want to make the Hobbit over TinTin 2 any day of the week ..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 2:56:27 AM

Actually, I would rather see Tintin than The Hobbit. If the first Tintin doesn't suck major balls, that is.
trailertrash writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:03:15 AM

I used to like the books as a kid. The movie does sound pretty interesting and has a good cast etc etc !! So fingers crossed it should be ok..

Just thought LOTR was his baby so to speak , i would have thought he would have wanted to finish the job he started..
otis writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:50:21 AM

This film is also a gamble in trying to remove it from the context of the LOTR Trilogy while still staying true to the lore and mystique of Middle Earth. The risk, of course, lies in not churning out something that resembles a remake. It's almost like the Star Wars flicks, going back to the essential story of them all. If there's one person that I trust in making this movie work, it's Jackson.
masht7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 4:27:19 AM

^That is really true.
Jensama writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 6:05:55 AM

Yes!
Billy Bob writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:36:50 AM

Brett Ratner would hit this out of the park.
Billy Bob writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:38:56 AM

McG could also do this proud.
billofill writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:46:22 AM

I think making a Tin Tin Movie in this day and age is pardon me for saying f*ckING RETARDED. That goes for you too Speilberg, Stop it already.
billofill writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 11:46:24 AM

I think making a Tin Tin Movie in this day and age is pardon me for saying f*ckING RETARDED. That goes for you too Speilberg, Stop it already.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 1:43:26 PM

Just make this cursed film already. So sick of hearing about LOTRs. What a waste of film. And how do you kids watch such mind-numbing, dull and implausible fantasy? They stunk. Even more boring (by far) than the second SW trilogy.
swoooop writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:37:41 PM

I have always wanted Jackson to direct the Hobbit. So heres for hoping.
darkraven28 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 4:47:28 PM

Jesus, why didn't they just decide to make all four in the beginning and get the sh*t over with from the start? This is total bullsh*t and I'm sick of f*cking reading about it.

Jesus Christ! Another dwarf/elf/midget/fairy!?!? What the f*ck are you smoking?
encoreyourface writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 6:56:01 PM

i'm surprised so many people didn't like these films or never seen them ... they're one of my favorite trilogies.
VDODSON writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 3:26:49 AM

f*ck the hobbit, I would much rather see A Game of Thrones then some story about some dumbass midget.
Salvador writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:33:21 AM

Maybe the best is never make these films. I can't believe they have problems with the fund.

This trilogy is probed.
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 1:38:21 PM

why is this sh*tty story so important to him?? MOVE ON!
Buzz1432 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 3:34:16 AM

Nice

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved