WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Leaves "The Hobbit"

Posted: May 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Leaves "The Hobbit"Submit Comment
After years of preparation, "The Hobbit" prequels have yet to receive the green light. This is why Guillermo del Toro has now announced that he will not be directing the new films, thought he will stay on as a writer.

This news immediately sparked rumors that Peter Jackson might step back into the director's char, but his manager has revealed that this is absolutely not a possibility.

Del Toro said: "In light of ongoing delays in the setting of a start date for filming 'The Hobbit,' I am faced with the hardest decision of my life. After nearly two years of living, breathing and designing a world as rich as Tolkien's Middle Earth, I must, with great regret, take leave from helming these wonderful pictures. The blessings have been plenty, but the mounting pressures of conflicting schedules have overwhelmed the time slot originally allocated for the project."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:36:15 AM

f*ck, they better not cancel 'cause of this.
Bigcheese writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:45:58 AM

Well...this sucks.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:59:43 AM

This movies never gonna happen, will it?
rocketman writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:01:26 AM

Not my first choice anyway,mabey Jackson will do it now,he should do,or Bloomcamp(sp?) anyway i just hope to dear God that Sam Rami does'nt get his emo mits anywhere near this.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:08:30 AM

This is sad, but who is really surprised? This projectt have been handled with less care than Heidi Montag's face.
sc_kg writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:09:22 AM

This is very bad.
lost_addict writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:15:16 AM

uwe boll stop reading this!
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:30:28 AM

Everyone, get Michael bay way away from this article.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:55:53 AM

This is like a kick in the balls to the fans.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:22:24 AM

mash-lol!
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:33:26 AM

@Mash Don't forget Brett "I'm retarded Tree f*cker" Ratner and MCTurd as well.
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:43:06 AM

1. Michael Bay
2. Brett (the wreck) Rantner
3. McG

Got it. Hang on Wait;

4. JIM CAMERON!!!!!!
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:55:39 AM

I BLAME MGM stupid ppl dont they realise that the solution to their financial problems is this film? lets hope its still gonna be made but with a good director! spielberg anyone?
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 8:07:11 AM

^No Why in this world! Peter Jackson is the only guy to do this job. He made a visionary trilogy, he can make another.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 8:29:25 AM

^ Hobbit is not a trilogy tho..........
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 8:32:54 AM

I couldn't think of anything else to say, will just say its one just for this thread. Sorry :{
Ranma-Irias writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:15:47 AM

Guillermo made a good decision, it's taking too much time and nothing much is going on with The Hobbit besides scripts and a few more stuff. Besides I wanna see Hellboy 3, it's great entertainment :p
Maybe someone else can step up and do this, or instead they could just leave the saga.
darkraven28 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:19:31 AM

Michael Bay's version:

Scene one:

Hobbit walks on beach. IS CRUSHED BY AN ERRANT METEOR as pounding guitar music blares. Then some Navy Seals storm the beach to secure the area as the camera SPINS AND SPINS AND SPINS AND SPINS, CHANGING ASPECT RATIOS AS IT GOES. And then there were some clones.....And then Scarlett Johansson gets involved with a dwarf muff diver. And the fanboys get what they want (from the Johansson scene anyway). And....aww sh*t. Laughing too hard to keep typing! HAHAHAHAHAHAA!!!
johnny_boy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:12:25 AM

@ cc and masht..... Think I got a director to top your choices... I feel dirty even getting ready to type it.... Joe Johnston
SACdaddy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:15:03 AM

This is the best news I've heard in a long time. I'm not a fan of The Hobbit at all. LOTR was a great series of films and books but The Hobbit pales in comparison. Del Toro needs to come back to R rated film before he gets trapped in this bullsh*t fairy tale world and becomes the next Tim Burton. Peter Jackson should do the same thing.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:16:06 AM

Yes, Hellboy 3!!!
parabola1 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:32:06 AM

Who gives a sh*t..
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:52:46 AM

Ehh never liked Del Toro as a director so as long as they choose a better director I'll be happy but...

On a lighter note there IS a NEW Scott Pilgrim Vs The World trailer out...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzwrQi-NkFo
DeVries writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:58:30 AM

f*cking bunch of morons I've been waiting for this movies for years. Guess they will end with a d*ck head to direct them. f*ck.
p3rfect writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:03:56 AM

I like Toro and the Hobbit seemed to be good.

Oh well
Salvador writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:11:35 AM

What?

NOOOOooooooo...!!!

Damn MGM!
rabid writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:38:31 AM

Hollywood is broke. They can't afford to make anymore epic films that might be flops.
redbluedevil writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:44:57 AM

WTF? Why doesn't Peter Jackson just suck it up and direct them?

And even if MGM doesn't have the money for it, they really should have not problem getting a loan - any bank knows this is as sure of a bet as there is and will loan the money for this. But if they wait too long, the general public (needed for the film to be a great success, hardcore fans are not enough) will stop caring. And Return of the King came out in 2003, so if they wait much longer, that loss of interest is exactly what'll happen.
redbluedevil writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:46:41 AM

no* problem getting a loan
(0-0) Spaceman writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:50:42 AM

He can breath?
He looks way to big to breath.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:03:38 PM

Oh crap, this kinda sucks...

WP, you guys had like 3 typos in this article.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:10:59 PM

This is the best news I've heard in a long time!

I love GDT's films, and I enjoyed the LOTR Trilogy, but my interest in seeing more dwarves and hobbits onscreen is pretty much non-existent, and "The Hobbit" films were going to end up taking several years of his time.

Thankfully, now GDT can focus on other projects. I'd much rather see "Hellboy 3" and "At The Mountains of Madness" than the LOTR prequels. Good news + 3 Day Weekend = Happy Memorial Day.
tcu21 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:25:46 PM

Does anyone else think Del Toro looks like a Hobbit in that photo? Guess he's been living and breathing too much of that Middle Earth air haha.
Schwasted writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:59:22 PM

NOO!!!!!! this is the WORST news ever! I'm about to get on a plane to New Zealand now, they should say screw the studios and make it for cheaper like Red Cliff was done in China. Big budget movies can be made without hollywood
maddasahatter writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 1:07:34 PM

@Darkraven you forgot the explosions.
For I am Michael Bay and I require more plosions.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 1:15:06 PM

Where's Peter Jackson lately ?
OneTime writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 2:44:15 PM

hollyood BLOWS it again
billofill writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 2:59:03 PM

Peter Jackson we should remember is making a movie that no one wants to see. I mean really Tin Tin? What YEAR is this?
swoooop writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:09:14 PM

Now I have to get out and find me a hooker so I can blow of some steam. This f*cking Blows! Blow me!
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:16:35 PM

@Johnny Good call,he somehow slipped my memory!
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:40:49 PM

@cc- how could you forget JJ....
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:43:08 PM

Trailer it was early I was running late and um yea no coffee or Redbull yet. lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:47:53 PM

phew !! that's ok then lol
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:03:54 PM

But Trailer, we have good/bad scenerio with this though. Good-He'll be too busy f*cking up CA to direct and f*ck this up. The Bad- He's f*cking up CA and there's nothing short of hiring a hitman to kill him, that we can do about it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:12:25 PM

cc- That's defiantly being stuck between a rock and a hard place right there my friend !!

Are we going to start a collection for that hitman on here ?? LOL
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:27:23 PM

^Trailer 100 bones from me, how much do you got? We should pay him to off Johnston, Lohan,Bay, MCG, Ratardner or I mean Ratner in on quick deal.
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:34:55 PM

cc- i'm in on that , sounds like a job for Leon and Vincent me thinks !!
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:11:00 PM

There's only one person you can trust for a job like this and that's Charley Partanna :)
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:28:14 PM

Ha ha , good call !! Great movie by the way, Jack was awesome in this and a sort of thin Kathleen turner too !! lol
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:42:15 PM

Hell yea he was great, nominated and all. LOL
xxtomboxx writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:07:48 PM

Am I the only one thats alittle happy to hear this? I admit that it sucks for Del Toro, who put alot of time and energy into making the film happen, but I really hope this means he'll focus on a third Hellboy movie. The first two are some of my favorite comic book movies and Del Toro has proven that he love the Hellboy character and world as much as the fans do. I hope he channels all his great ideas from the Hobbit (most notably all the advancements in practical special effects) into Hellboy III.
Inception writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:14:58 PM

Is he gonna do Blade vs Hellboy?

Anyways forget about that, this post is for one of the greatest Icons ever, Mr. Eastwood, Happy Birthday Blondie.


masht7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:00:27 AM

Kathryn Beigelow is avalible.
masht7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:01:27 AM

Dammit, I can't say that now can I.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:06:05 AM

Am I the only one who doesn't care about this?
Bunny X writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 12:02:16 PM

Lol the local news this morning ran this story with the tag line.
"Director pulls out of The Hobbit"
My husband turns to me and says: "Was that before or after Coleman died?"

I almost feel out laughing.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved