WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Leaves "The Hobbit"

Posted: May 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Leaves "The Hobbit"Submit Comment
After years of preparation, "The Hobbit" prequels have yet to receive the green light. This is why Guillermo del Toro has now announced that he will not be directing the new films, thought he will stay on as a writer.

This news immediately sparked rumors that Peter Jackson might step back into the director's char, but his manager has revealed that this is absolutely not a possibility.

Del Toro said: "In light of ongoing delays in the setting of a start date for filming 'The Hobbit,' I am faced with the hardest decision of my life. After nearly two years of living, breathing and designing a world as rich as Tolkien's Middle Earth, I must, with great regret, take leave from helming these wonderful pictures. The blessings have been plenty, but the mounting pressures of conflicting schedules have overwhelmed the time slot originally allocated for the project."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:36:15 AM

f*ck, they better not cancel 'cause of this.
Bigcheese writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:45:58 AM

Well...this sucks.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:59:43 AM

This movies never gonna happen, will it?
rocketman writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:01:26 AM

Not my first choice anyway,mabey Jackson will do it now,he should do,or Bloomcamp(sp?) anyway i just hope to dear God that Sam Rami does'nt get his emo mits anywhere near this.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:08:30 AM

This is sad, but who is really surprised? This projectt have been handled with less care than Heidi Montag's face.
sc_kg writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:09:22 AM

This is very bad.
lost_addict writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:15:16 AM

uwe boll stop reading this!
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:30:28 AM

Everyone, get Michael bay way away from this article.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:55:53 AM

This is like a kick in the balls to the fans.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:22:24 AM

mash-lol!
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:33:26 AM

@Mash Don't forget Brett "I'm retarded Tree f*cker" Ratner and MCTurd as well.
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:43:06 AM

1. Michael Bay
2. Brett (the wreck) Rantner
3. McG

Got it. Hang on Wait;

4. JIM CAMERON!!!!!!
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:55:39 AM

I BLAME MGM stupid ppl dont they realise that the solution to their financial problems is this film? lets hope its still gonna be made but with a good director! spielberg anyone?
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 8:07:11 AM

^No Why in this world! Peter Jackson is the only guy to do this job. He made a visionary trilogy, he can make another.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 8:29:25 AM

^ Hobbit is not a trilogy tho..........
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 8:32:54 AM

I couldn't think of anything else to say, will just say its one just for this thread. Sorry :{
Ranma-Irias writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:15:47 AM

Guillermo made a good decision, it's taking too much time and nothing much is going on with The Hobbit besides scripts and a few more stuff. Besides I wanna see Hellboy 3, it's great entertainment :p
Maybe someone else can step up and do this, or instead they could just leave the saga.
darkraven28 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:19:31 AM

Michael Bay's version:

Scene one:

Hobbit walks on beach. IS CRUSHED BY AN ERRANT METEOR as pounding guitar music blares. Then some Navy Seals storm the beach to secure the area as the camera SPINS AND SPINS AND SPINS AND SPINS, CHANGING ASPECT RATIOS AS IT GOES. And then there were some clones.....And then Scarlett Johansson gets involved with a dwarf muff diver. And the fanboys get what they want (from the Johansson scene anyway). And....aww sh*t. Laughing too hard to keep typing! HAHAHAHAHAHAA!!!
johnny_boy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:12:25 AM

@ cc and masht..... Think I got a director to top your choices... I feel dirty even getting ready to type it.... Joe Johnston
SACdaddy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:15:03 AM

This is the best news I've heard in a long time. I'm not a fan of The Hobbit at all. LOTR was a great series of films and books but The Hobbit pales in comparison. Del Toro needs to come back to R rated film before he gets trapped in this bullsh*t fairy tale world and becomes the next Tim Burton. Peter Jackson should do the same thing.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:16:06 AM

Yes, Hellboy 3!!!
parabola1 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:32:06 AM

Who gives a sh*t..
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:52:46 AM

Ehh never liked Del Toro as a director so as long as they choose a better director I'll be happy but...

On a lighter note there IS a NEW Scott Pilgrim Vs The World trailer out...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzwrQi-NkFo
DeVries writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:58:30 AM

f*cking bunch of morons I've been waiting for this movies for years. Guess they will end with a d*ck head to direct them. f*ck.
p3rfect writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:03:56 AM

I like Toro and the Hobbit seemed to be good.

Oh well
Salvador writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:11:35 AM

What?

NOOOOooooooo...!!!

Damn MGM!
rabid writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:38:31 AM

Hollywood is broke. They can't afford to make anymore epic films that might be flops.
redbluedevil writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:44:57 AM

WTF? Why doesn't Peter Jackson just suck it up and direct them?

And even if MGM doesn't have the money for it, they really should have not problem getting a loan - any bank knows this is as sure of a bet as there is and will loan the money for this. But if they wait too long, the general public (needed for the film to be a great success, hardcore fans are not enough) will stop caring. And Return of the King came out in 2003, so if they wait much longer, that loss of interest is exactly what'll happen.
redbluedevil writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:46:41 AM

no* problem getting a loan
(0-0) Spaceman writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:50:42 AM

He can breath?
He looks way to big to breath.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:03:38 PM

Oh crap, this kinda sucks...

WP, you guys had like 3 typos in this article.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:10:59 PM

This is the best news I've heard in a long time!

I love GDT's films, and I enjoyed the LOTR Trilogy, but my interest in seeing more dwarves and hobbits onscreen is pretty much non-existent, and "The Hobbit" films were going to end up taking several years of his time.

Thankfully, now GDT can focus on other projects. I'd much rather see "Hellboy 3" and "At The Mountains of Madness" than the LOTR prequels. Good news + 3 Day Weekend = Happy Memorial Day.
tcu21 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:25:46 PM

Does anyone else think Del Toro looks like a Hobbit in that photo? Guess he's been living and breathing too much of that Middle Earth air haha.
Schwasted writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:59:22 PM

NOO!!!!!! this is the WORST news ever! I'm about to get on a plane to New Zealand now, they should say screw the studios and make it for cheaper like Red Cliff was done in China. Big budget movies can be made without hollywood
maddasahatter writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 1:07:34 PM

@Darkraven you forgot the explosions.
For I am Michael Bay and I require more plosions.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 1:15:06 PM

Where's Peter Jackson lately ?
OneTime writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 2:44:15 PM

hollyood BLOWS it again
billofill writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 2:59:03 PM

Peter Jackson we should remember is making a movie that no one wants to see. I mean really Tin Tin? What YEAR is this?
swoooop writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:09:14 PM

Now I have to get out and find me a hooker so I can blow of some steam. This f*cking Blows! Blow me!
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:16:35 PM

@Johnny Good call,he somehow slipped my memory!
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:40:49 PM

@cc- how could you forget JJ....
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:43:08 PM

Trailer it was early I was running late and um yea no coffee or Redbull yet. lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 3:47:53 PM

phew !! that's ok then lol
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:03:54 PM

But Trailer, we have good/bad scenerio with this though. Good-He'll be too busy f*cking up CA to direct and f*ck this up. The Bad- He's f*cking up CA and there's nothing short of hiring a hitman to kill him, that we can do about it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:12:25 PM

cc- That's defiantly being stuck between a rock and a hard place right there my friend !!

Are we going to start a collection for that hitman on here ?? LOL
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:27:23 PM

^Trailer 100 bones from me, how much do you got? We should pay him to off Johnston, Lohan,Bay, MCG, Ratardner or I mean Ratner in on quick deal.
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:34:55 PM

cc- i'm in on that , sounds like a job for Leon and Vincent me thinks !!
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:11:00 PM

There's only one person you can trust for a job like this and that's Charley Partanna :)
trailertrash writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:28:14 PM

Ha ha , good call !! Great movie by the way, Jack was awesome in this and a sort of thin Kathleen turner too !! lol
CCBlev writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:42:15 PM

Hell yea he was great, nominated and all. LOL
xxtomboxx writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:07:48 PM

Am I the only one thats alittle happy to hear this? I admit that it sucks for Del Toro, who put alot of time and energy into making the film happen, but I really hope this means he'll focus on a third Hellboy movie. The first two are some of my favorite comic book movies and Del Toro has proven that he love the Hellboy character and world as much as the fans do. I hope he channels all his great ideas from the Hobbit (most notably all the advancements in practical special effects) into Hellboy III.
Inception writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 6:14:58 PM

Is he gonna do Blade vs Hellboy?

Anyways forget about that, this post is for one of the greatest Icons ever, Mr. Eastwood, Happy Birthday Blondie.


masht7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:00:27 AM

Kathryn Beigelow is avalible.
masht7 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 3:01:27 AM

Dammit, I can't say that now can I.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 10:06:05 AM

Am I the only one who doesn't care about this?
Bunny X writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 12:02:16 PM

Lol the local news this morning ran this story with the tag line.
"Director pulls out of The Hobbit"
My husband turns to me and says: "Was that before or after Coleman died?"

I almost feel out laughing.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved