WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Jaa Quits Acting to Become a Monk

Posted: May 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Jaa Quits Acting to Become a MonkSubmit Comment
TwitchFilm is reporting that "Ong Bak" star Tony Jaa has left the film industry. On Friday (May 28th), he rode an elephant to a Buddhist temple in Surin, Thailand, where he shaved his head, took vows, and was officially ordained as a Buddhist monk.

This doesn't come as much of a surprise. During the second "Ong Bak" film, which Jaa directed, bizarre stories started to emerge. There have been rumors that he sacrificed chickens before each day of shooting, and then eventually crumbled under pressure. He disappeared for two months to go practice black magic in the woods of Cambodia.

After being brought back home, Jaa went on television, crying and vowing to complete "Ong Bak 2." But that wasn't the end of that. He started to make demands like being released from his contract with the Sahamongkol production company. Soon after, he was grabbed by a car full of tough looking men working for company, prompting reports that he was kidnapped. But Jaa soon reappeared and begged to take refuge at a police station, where he later met with Sahamongkol boss Sia Jiang. The meeting led to Jaa dropping his demands and agreeing to split "Ong Bak 2" into two films in order for the company to be able to recover its costs.

Now, Jaa has completed his obligations on "Ong Bak 3" and has decided to get away from all the chaos by becoming a monk. It is not expected for Jaa to remain in the monastery forever, but he will likely remain there until his original ten year contract with Sahamongkol expires.

Source: TwitchFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deadbolt writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:24:01 PM

Who's Tony Jaa?
zombie345trioxin writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:27:28 PM

deadbolt you gotta be kidding right?
he's f*cking bad ass!!!
Rush66 writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:41:06 PM

Well, if it's suits him, it's not that big of a loss.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:54:09 PM

I hope the quiting acting ploy hasn't spread to thailand. If this is legit good for him, though i would like him to keep making movies.
tcu21 writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:00:32 PM

That dude is an insannnneeee martial artist. Hope he doesn't stay in there forever.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:11:07 PM

If only Shia, Channing, Zac, Robert, Megan, Lindsey, Miley, Paris and Heidi all took the same path ...

a vow of silence would make up for years of sh*tty movies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:11:08 PM

If only Shia, Channing, Zac, Robert, Megan, Lindsey, Miley, Paris and Heidi all took the same path ...

a vow of silence would make up for years of sh*tty movies.
BlueMobius writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:13:01 PM

I heard he's working on a rap doc*mentary with Casey Affleck.
lost_addict writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:14:56 PM

he should meet shia laebouf and make him quit acting as well...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:17:22 PM

and i don't give a sh*t.
japaninmotion writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:34:32 PM

a TEN year contract?!
vwkombi writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:35:46 PM

sh*t, i always knew that Ong Back was too good to be true. I seriously thought i would finally have an awesome action hero around my generation.

f*ck, worst news of the day.
Detrimental writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 7:38:56 PM

@Deadbolt: He was in the Protector. That's why he rode an elephant to the temple. He kept a few to have an "in" with his gods. Anyways, I've already cracked the mystery. It's a setup for Bulletproof Monk 2.
nzfilmmaker writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 8:16:28 PM

f*ck Tony Jaa! Guillermo Del Toro has pulled out of the hobbit!!! sh*t~!
koul writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 8:37:47 PM

what the hell? he shouldn't do that. he's one of the best martial artist right now. if he does that we won't be able to see him fight anymore in movies. i still wanna see him kick ass
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 8:53:15 PM

I doubt he'll be a monk for a long time, but I guess you never know. Ong Bak 3 looks insanely awesome. When is that coming out?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 8:56:45 PM

If only Jean Claude did the same thing. We could've been spared Raul Julia in rocket shoes and Street Fighter. At least once.
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 9:07:34 PM

Thats one crazy little f*cker, f*cking black magic.
CCBlev writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 10:31:02 PM

That blows, I like him. He was gonna be the next big martial arts star.
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:47:25 AM

'...Become(s) a Monk'

I felt the same way after Lohan gave me a blow-job!
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:48:05 AM

If only Gary Coleman stuck around for this job opening.
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 12:53:03 AM

VanDamme reads this thread... sits impatiently by his phone...

RING DAMN YOU... RING!!!!
SofaKing writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 4:59:38 AM

sh*t! He should have been scooped up by Hollywood years ago, how was he in a 10 year contract with some Thai film company? I am sure any decent American lawyer can void a contract scrawled on monkey leather Tony do not fret.
pH0u57 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:04:10 AM

nooo! why would he do that?! f**k!!
johnny_boy writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 5:17:53 AM

"Tony Jaa Quits Acting to Become a Monk"

hate it when that happens
encoreyourface writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:23:06 AM

lol!
darkraven28 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:21:26 AM

And Joaquin Phoenix's trend strays to the land of the chopsocky stars. Deeee-lightful.
darkraven28 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:22:18 AM

Booooooooooohoooooooooo!!!! I cannot complete my film!! Pity meeeeeeeee!!!!
BondMcClane007 writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 9:36:18 AM

sacrificed chickens? what is that? you can't sacrifice a chicken. It doesn't work like that.
billofill writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 2:03:13 PM

ahhhhhhhhhhhhh life immitating art.
BigUnit writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 7:26:38 PM

are these om bak movies actually good?
Rodan writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 2:09:34 AM

@BigUnit, if you like kicking ass and f*cking women then yeah.
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2010 at 2:33:22 AM

lol.

You still have the best avatar on here Josey!
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 2nd, 2010 at 5:44:52 AM

dont know him and dont care
billofill writes:
on June 3rd, 2010 at 12:25:31 PM

If you dont know mr Jaa head on down to the local walmart's 5 dollar bin and learn yo self fool's.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 10:44:10 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved