WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Official "Green Lantern" Plot Summary

Posted: May 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Official "Green Lantern" Plot SummarySubmit Comment
CBM got their hands on the official plot summary for the upcoming "Green Lantern" film, starring Ryan Reynolds, Peter Sarsgaard, Blake Lively and Mark Strong. Martin Campbell is directing the new movie, which is scheduled to hit theaters on June 17th, 2011.

Plot: In a universe as vast as it is mysterious, a small but powerful force has existed for centuries. Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps. A brotherhood of warriors sworn to keep intergalactic order, each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him superpowers. But when a new enemy called Parallax threatens to destroy the balance of power in the Universe, their fate and the fate of Earth lie in the hands of their newest recruit, the first human ever selected: Hal Jordan (Reynolds).

Hal is a gifted and cocky test pilot, but the Green Lanterns have little respect for humans, who have never harnessed the infinite powers of the ring before. But Hal is clearly the missing piece to the puzzle, and along with his determination and willpower, he has one thing no member of the Corps has ever had: humanity. With the encouragement of fellow pilot and childhood sweetheart Carol Ferris (Lively), if Hal can quickly master his new powers and find the courage to overcome his fears, he may prove to be not only the key to defeating Parallax... he will become the greatest Green Lantern of all.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sonic writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 6:58:47 AM

Nice....... i just hope it's not like Avatar were the CGI is amzing but the stoy line is CRAP!:-)
masht7 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 7:24:40 AM

Sounds cliched but thats a superhero plot right there. I'm cool with this.
wonderBOY writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 7:39:09 AM

not really a fan but wasnt hal parralax in the comics
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 7:45:01 AM

Now THAT sounds like sh*t.

But you're all gonna see it, cause its superhero.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 8:50:27 AM

Plot: In a universe as vast as it is mysterious, a small but powerful force has existed for centuries. Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps. A brotherhood of warriors sworn to keep intergalactic order, each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him superpowers. But when a new enemy called Parallax threatens to destroy the balance of power in the Universe, their fate and the fate of Earth lie in the hands of their newest recruit, the first human ever selected: Hal Jordan (Reynolds).

Hal is a gifted and c*cky test pilot, but the Green Lanterns have little respect for humans, who have never harnessed the infinite powers of the ring before. But Hal is clearly the missing piece to the puzzle, and along with his determination and willpower, he has one thing no member of the Corps has ever had: humanity. With the encouragement of fellow pilot and childhood sweetheart Carol Ferris (Lively), if Hal can quickly master his new powers and find the courage to overcome his fears, he may prove to be not only the key to defeating Parallax... he will become the greatest Green Lantern of all.



Parallax(ative) was Hal Jordan after his "death" ... and he's got his Mary Jane, I mean Pepper Potts, I mean Lois Lane, I mean Carol Ferris ...
SACdaddy writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:20:01 AM

Sounds great if you ask me. "Willpower" is key to GL's unique abilities and is a constant theme of the comics. The more confident and determined he is the more he can manipulate the power of the ring. It also makes villains who get their evil little hands on the ring that much more dangerous. Its a nice spin on Tolkens Ring of Power mythos. I think you haters will be pleasantly surprised how original and creative this film turns out to be. There's really no other (mainstream) superhero like GL. This film has a sh*tload of potential :)
Janus writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:45:59 AM

Actually it's Parallax is similar to Dark Phoenix.

Before the parasite takes Jordan, he is not Parallax.
rabid writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:22:29 AM

Cool, so I guess he'll be trapping Parallax inside the lantern, so they lose the color yellow from their wavelength for the sequel.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:50:04 AM

Yes I'm pumped... not farfetched bs plot for it... just exactly what you need for a solid origin story... GL will kick-ass... can't f*cking wait!
Sinestro writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 11:46:51 AM

That's not a plot summary.
greed71 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 12:24:47 PM

f*ck thats a good spin on a sh*t load of comics, wich means sinestro will use the yellow element in the sequal which could either lead to blackest night in the third (thats where all dead supers and bady's come back romero style)or the war of the corps..........i'll sacrifice a small cute animal my self to ensure it.
Ranger writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 12:25:03 PM

@SAC - well said. I'm pumped for this movie. GL has been a fav. of mine for decades.

As for the prejudiced GL Corps: 'the Green Lanterns have little respect for humans...' --- I say: 'Up ya nose wid a rubba hose!' to that!

Janus writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:12:13 PM

Been thinking about it. I see a Justice League versus Parallax comming. Great choice. Finally something worth waiting for.
rabid writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:12:48 PM

They could write it so that in the sequel it is Parallax that gives Sinestro the power of the yellow lantern instead of the Kward Weaponers. I'm excited, but I want to see a trailer!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:44:52 PM

@Max Rock- Did you really need to repost the whole article? We all just read it. We all understand you're commenting about what we just read 30 seconds ago.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 2:25:23 PM

@Shayhiri

And when it makes a hundred million, you will cry and act surprised.
Ranger writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:22:59 PM

@Blank - Shirl's job is to just sh*t disturb. GL will make HUGE bank! You know it... I know it...
koul writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:41:52 PM

pretty good story. can't wait for the trailer and movie
encoreyourface writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:48:10 PM

i don't want to spoil the movie for myself so i won't be reading it.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:51:02 PM

shay-we get it, you're a fagot who hates super-heroes we don't give a f*ck.

and i agree with @blank
Ranger writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:55:46 PM

@shay - you on your period this weekend boy?
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 5:29:54 PM

I predict that spooky will comment on this and it will read something like this..

"I read the script... actually i wrote the script... im 13 and have an in, in hollywood, i sucked michael bays d*ck... Anyways this movie already sucks sh*t cause i wrote and read the script multiple times because im a loser.. and i like boys d*cks"

A lot like that maybe a few more details?
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 5:32:04 PM

Shay... Actually for the most part I'd say we're all gonna see it because Martin Campbell is an extremely capable film maker... with a budget and story this huge and a director behind it like Campbell its bound to be something of a spectacle... Not too mention Mark Strong and Peter Saarsgard...

It's no Bridges of Madison County but im sure it will do.... Idiot.
Monash writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 6:58:54 PM

Where does Dr. Hector Hammond fit in?
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 8:25:47 PM

So I was right most of you were gonna see this sh*t just because it's superhero.

And how many of you will see this week's Prince of Persia?
thomas deadison writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 8:40:31 PM

Shayhiri,

Don't be so cynical. No one's made the decision to see it or not. It's still in early production. Your negative opinion on the project is no different or superior than one's positive expectations. It could turn out to be sh*t, but with a decent director and a strong script, it's a mere possibility that it won't be. Execution is everything.
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 8:50:36 PM

Mine only gripe was most of you are automatically seeing this cause its superhero.

And automatically NOT seeing Persia cause it's not.

If I'm not right about it, then good.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:14:49 PM

I'm automatically not seeing the Persia Prince Guy because it doesn't appeal to me. The movies-adapted-from-videogames doesn't have a very good track record.

I think Green Lantern has potential, just as a sci-fi genre film alone.
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:17:33 PM

Where are you drawing your logic from? Its completely retarded... Persia is a big summer blockbuster so chances are if nobody sees it its not because its not a superhero movie.. its because its as gay as it looks...

theres like at this point.. MAYBE one a year... and thats pushing it.. so to say that no one here will see anything but... is implying that we all go to the cinemas once a year.. its ridiculous.. Most movies aren't super hero movies... so what the f*ck are you even talking about?

Lets look at what this film has... first an amazing cast... Say what you want about reynolds.. guy is in peak physical condition... looks the part perfectly.. is really c*cky and can be quite funny... Hes perfect in this role... mark strong is amazing in everything... same with saarsgard... second martin campbell who most recently directed the edge of darkness... which wasn't a superhero movie but i still went and paid to see it... and it was f*ckin awesome... hes also done a string of just phenomenal action films from vertical limit to casino royale..

So even if you took the comic book aspect out of the movie.. made it some sort of vengeance/vigilante tale... a long the same lines.. just not super hero... the undeniable fact is you'd still have a hell of a good film...

So what does it matter if its a superhero movie or a movie about f*cking smurfs.. if it looks good most people will go see it... if it looks like a sh*tty homo version of the mummy returns with jake gylenhall playing a persian?????????????????????????wtf most people probably wont see it... not because its a comic movie... (which the comparison again is stupid because there are Prince of Persia comics and video games.. its not like someone came up with this amazing original script for this new movie...) but because its a sh*tty f*cking movie.. genre has nothing to do with how a film performs on a whole... look at watchmen.. that should have been THE superhero movie.. it barely made its budget back....

So you should probably go over to AICN where its cool to not know sh*t about movies... but around here... you might want to study up...
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:22:12 PM

And Persia doesn't, as an epic action-adventure? Just because some stupid game bears the same name?

Then why do you get mad when I do exactly the same? (Pretend to) dismiss a comic book movie just because it's superhero?

Double standards much?
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:27:18 PM

Last reply was to Thomas, obviously.

triggax, thanks for illustrating the worst form of prejudice I was talking about.

For you Persia is gay (because?). Then for me any superhero in tights is gayer, so I'm not watching it.

Fair deal?
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:27:21 PM

Im gonna guess that english is your... second, third language?

What you're saying makes no sense...

What double standard? what the f*ck are you talking about?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:40:51 PM

I will see this movie for a chance at seeing Rynolds in a tighter-then-his-skin suit.

And that is MY double standard.
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:43:42 PM

Guess again.

Let me spell it for you then.

I. Think. Superhero. In. Tights. Are. Unbelievably. Gay.

So I'm not watching any superhero movie, no matter how good you believe it to be.

Got my drift now, little gay boy?
shayhiri writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:46:57 PM

OK, f*ck this stupid site. I've had it.

No quotes, no edit, no topics, no nothing. I suggest we all just go to a proper forum.
Man in Black writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:59:23 PM

^ good be gone
thomas deadison writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:17:41 PM

No double standards, Shay. You brought it up, I just said I wasn't interested in that movie. I never would have mentioned the movie otherwise.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 11:48:38 PM

@Shay: So you think most super heros are gay. (Not that there is anything wrong with that)

So don't look at super hero movies. Simple. Hollywood won't stop making stuff you don't like any more then they will stop making Twilight/Harry Potter/High School Musical movies just because men don't like them. f*cking chill. Support the movies you do like and leave the others alone.

That goes double for the people who want to post in here about said super hero movies.

On Topic: Hey Ryan? Any chance you and the wife made a porn video that someone can steal and leak online?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 11:50:22 PM

That goes double for the people who want to post in here about said super hero movies.

-----------------------------

I meant that to mean that Shay should leave the WP posters alone who want to chat about the super hero movies.

Dammit Alex, when are you going to get an edit button on this site?
rabid writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 1:34:03 AM

Shayhiri, I'm going to watch Green Lantern because he's a superhero. And because I've had a Green Lantern ring since I was 7 (now I have 5).
I probably won't watch Prince of Persia at the theatre. I'll rent it like I always do with the games.
rabid writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 1:35:29 AM

oops... I forgot. He's gone to another site.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 2:15:35 AM

thank the Lord @Shay is gone, never liked that fagot. i hope him and COC stay away from this site forever. infecting it with their herpies.

to be clear i'm a fan of superheroes, always have been since before i could even read. and to be frank, i'll be watching it becuase i like Green Lantern. so i suppose if you want to say i'm watching it becuase he is a super-hero f*ck it i suppose i am. i don't care, Shay is a fag i'm glad he's gone so f*ck him.
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 5:17:24 AM

@rabid - you have GL ring(s)?! Nice! Like... REAL ONES?! If so... WTF are you wasting your time on here posting when you SHOULD BE protecting our sector of the galaxy?!

@shay - you're certainly entitled to your opinion. I know GL will be an amazing flick. But you seem to just post 'gay!' as an offering on a LOT of threads here (and you're entitled to that). GL has strong shoulders, he can take your negativity and certainly doesn't need my (our) defending.

But this movie I'm quite confident with all involved it'll make huge $'s. Will be well-liked by reg. GL fans, and will amaze those unfamiliar with him and the GL Corps.

My idea of having Superman as a guest speaker at a GL conference on OA for only a couple of minutes of the film would KICK-ASS! They should cross-market their stuff (as per Marvel).

GL's capabilities are almost limitless... only bounded by the imagination. So he uses his mind over any muscle. Nice for a change for superheros.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 5:30:01 AM

"you have GL ring(s)?! Nice! Like... REAL ONES?! If so... WTF are you wasting your time on here posting when you SHOULD BE protecting our sector of the galaxy?!"

LOL!!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 5:32:03 AM

I'm serious.

If I had real rings I'd be zipping all around the galaxy! f*ck WP and the horse it rode in on!
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 5:47:07 AM

OK...



I wasn't being all that serious.


Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 5:48:38 AM

But having some GL rings would be pretty kewl!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:05:49 AM

@Shay: Guess what? I saw Prince of Perisa. On the opening night nonetheless. Guess what? I will see Green Lantern. On the opening day.
You see, people go to the cinemas to the see big-budget mindless fun. Sometimes it's even good, sometimes not. Prince of Persia was not. It was quite boring and badly acted, but I want it to do well, so it will open doors for other VG-movies that have a chance of being good.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:28:44 AM

Ranger-a hawt chick with a clit GL ring would be even cooler!

vagina zap all the way!
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 1:41:56 PM

'...a hawt chick with a clit GL ring would be even cooler!'

No argument here!
JohnZee writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 3:43:51 PM

Not a bad plot summary for the first Green Lantern movie. There is a tremendous amount of foundation and mythos to introduce to the non-comic book fan, and this give me an idea that effort is being made to pull this first movie off to the level that the character deserves.

Hal Jordan/Green Lantern has been my favorite superhero comic book character since about three minutes after I first learned how to read. So I am seriously hoping that this movie does not disappoint.

And to the commenter that supposedly left, or at least changed their name to something the rest of us won't immediately recognize:

I'm going to watch the Green Lantern movie because I am a fan of the character and the stories and mythos of the Green Lantern Corp.

Prince of Persia, in spite of having the word "Persia" in it, is not a sympathetic movie about Middle Eastern culture. It's a movie based on a series of video games, cranked out by the mediocre movie making factory called Disney.

Video game movies are the lowest of the low when it comes to subject matter for movies. Very seldom is any movie based on a video game worth watching. And off the top of my head I would say that at least 10 crappy video game movies are made for each single solitary movie based on a video game that's actually worth watching to the end.

Lister writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 9:53:19 PM

This movie has 4 villains. Sinestro, Sapphire, Hector, and now Parallax. And plus there's a chance all of this science fiction stuff could exist in the same universe as TDK.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved