WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Kick-Ass" Star is Cyclops in "X-Men: First Class"?

Posted: May 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Kick-Ass" Star is Cyclops in "X-Men: First Class"?Submit Comment
It was just revealed that James McAvoy (Wanted) has been hired to play the young Professor X in the upcoming "X-Men: First Class," directed by Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass).

Last week, Contact Music snapped a photo (see it below) of Vaughn hanging out with McAvoy and his "Kick-Ass" star Aaron Johnson. Since McAvoy ended up being cast, many are assuming that Johnson will have a part in "First Class" as well.

The general consensus is that the 19-year-old actor would be perfect to play Cyclops and it just might end up being true. Bryan Singer, who is producing the film, recently said that he will use the audition process for his "Jack the Giant Killer" to also look for actors to play Cyclops and Jean Grey in "First Class." Johnson recently auditioned for "Jack."

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: ContactMusic


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sonic writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 7:02:11 AM

What about the guy in Wolverine?
masht7 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 7:26:12 AM

Nice choice, he was awesome in 'Kick-Ass' and hope he has some more great movie roles.
lost_addict writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 7:35:26 AM

yeah,nice choice,let's make this character even more gay then it was in the bryan singer movies...
darkknight1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 8:53:42 AM

Hey what about the age difference? Wasn't Xavier supposed to be at least 20 to 30 years older than his recruits. I can't see that with McAvoy now being cast as him.(No offense on the actor)
I haven't followed the comics that much. Am I missing anything?
masht7 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:05:24 AM

Or what about him as a young Magneto?
masht7 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:07:16 AM

Because who could Cyclops be around the same age as Xavier?
SACdaddy writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:37:17 AM

@Sonic: I'm sure they're trying to forget that film ever existed.

This kid's not a bad choice. He was great in KA.

Off topic, anyone that hasn't seen The Road yet should definitely peep it on dvd this week. Best post-apoc film I've seen since The Road Warrior. I may get creamed for this but yall should also give The Wolfman (tuesday on dvd, unrated) another chance. Try to look past the horrible editing and waisted acting potential and concentrate on how much of a hairy killing machine wolfie is. He really does f*ck up a sh*tload of people in that film :)
Janus writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 9:57:26 AM

Well, McAvoy is 31 and I can't see him play much younger. Johnson is 19 and I can't see him play older, rather younger. They never ever could play the same age. Johnson is definitley not playing Magneto rather one of the students.
Derp88 writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:01:01 AM

Kick Ass was a great movie,about time i saw a good movie after all the pieces of sh*t i have seen lately.
rabid writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:23:03 AM

Works for me. The kid was great in Kickass.
rabid writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:25:32 AM

If they have Cyclops as a teen, maybe around age 16, and Xavier is maybe 32, then that would make them appropriate to the ages in the comic. These days it would appear that Cyclops is around mid-30s and Xavier about 50 or so, so I'd guess there's something like a 15 year difference between them.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:39:09 AM

well as long as they shave Aarons crustache he can definitely pull off a young person again like he did in Kick-Ass
trailertrash writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:41:20 AM

Same as what you guys have already said Aaron was great in K.A and he was clearly the best thing in the Tv show Nearly Famous (forced to watch that one).

I Wasn't to bothered about this movie but they seem to be putting an interesting cast together and Vaughn has not done too much wrong sofar , could be good
FBO writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:48:33 AM

I don't see it. But I'll hold out for the trailer before I pass judgement
trailertrash writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 10:53:32 AM

@sac- Watched the Road last week.

Thought it was a really good movie , very grim and dark. Viggo was awesome as the Father leading his son across the waste land of America who at any point would kill his own son than let him suffer (the bathroom scene in that house was a little tense).

Good ending too.

Not everyones cup of tea i bet, i liked it more than the Book of Eli which i just watched again also.
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 11:59:50 AM

@sac..

I had been waiting to see The Wolfman for a while now... I mean even the theater release got pushed back almost 6 months...

Finally checked it out last week... And i gotta say I have no clue what movie everyone else watched... But the one I watched was REALLY f*cking gruesome and really f*ckin awesome... And yeah you're right, if you can look past the poor editing... you've got one of the best werewolf movies to date.. IMO Up there with Dog Soldiers.... The scene where he punches through that guys face was f*ckin gnarly..

Now about the road.. I can see why that one didn't find mainstream success.. Its just tooooo f*ckin grim.... Ya know.... awesome movie though... Awesome book too... I always thought the mother in the story was a complete f*ckin retard... Like a 9 year old child is strong enough to survive but she goes off and dies like a twat almost instantly... other than that... Viggo should be holding the best actor oscar... as much as i love jeff bridges... No one was better than Viggo all year...
rabid writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:09:59 PM

Wolfman was great! I didn't like the new twist so much, but it was still a great film.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:24:34 PM

Well said Trig. Wolfman was some good old fashion bloody violence and I for one loved it! I'm starting to think its been so long since audiences have seen a horror/monster movie worth a sh*t that they forgot what they looked like. I'm not entertained by the torture porn of the Saw frachise or the by cheap jumps scares of NOES and these sh*tty Jap ghost story remakes. Give me an unstoppable force cutting through innocent bystanders like a hot knife through butter and I'm pretty satisfied. Brings to mind such pulp classics as: The Relic, The Thing, Mimic, The Host, Terminator, Jeepers Creeper 2 (yes the sequel was better), and The Ghost and the Darkness. The Wolfman is some of the most fun I've had seeing a film in a long time. I'm hoping Splice is just as good. I always liked Species for some reason, but this looks much better already.
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:38:27 PM

Yeah ive actually heard that Splice is f*ckin dope.. And good call on Jeepers Creepers... The sequel was far better..

The raw f*cking fear of those kids during the bus sequences was just intense!! Loved it...

Yeah its really gay what passes as horror now a days... Paranormal Activity can go on to gross a billion dollars and have sequels all over the map... Where as a dope monster flick like the wolfman super under performs and people bash the sh*t out of it....

I feel like of all the genres horror is by far my favorite.. And lately its being destroyed by all the bullsh*t remakes... bullsh*t viral movies like PA.... and Rob Zombie...

Its nice to know that there are still some people faithful to what made the genre great... Like Neil Marshall and Sam Raimi and sh*t... and now Joe Johnston...

Yeah... too bad is what it is...
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:39:55 PM

Oh and... Lets not forget that Eli Roth is a f*cking retard...
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 1:44:07 PM

And is single handedly raping the genre of any credibility it may have had...
triggax writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 2:32:08 PM

Sac.... Dennis Hoppers finally dead... died today...

Alex get on top of that sh*t... that man deserves the respect...
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:03:31 PM

He'd work better as Iceman.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:07:47 PM

Oh no!!! How did I miss him in the dead pool on the Gary COleman thread?!?!

So long to one of the great ones. Hopper was awesome :(
SACdaddy writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:08:40 PM

I've got a bad feeling Sean Connery is next.
koul writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:44:54 PM

that's a pretty cool choice. i want to see him as Cyclops but first he needs to make his hair look like Cyclops
encoreyourface writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 3:47:19 PM

haven't seen Kick-Ass but i think he'd make an okay Cyclops, the casting in this is pretty good so far.

Trig-i agree Wolfman was f*cking awesome.
nope.com writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 4:01:43 PM

he'd be better than that flimsy c*nt in Origins
Monash writes:
on May 29th, 2010 at 6:51:41 PM

@SACdaddy, while i liked The Road i felt i was kind of holding out for an explanation as to how and why the world got that way but i got over that. What i couldn't get over was the kid, i kid not just raised in a post apocalyptic world but born into it, so he never knew any other life but it, acted like every other spoiled kid on the planet, whining and carrying on. It didn't annoy me but why was Guy Pierce in that movie? It seemed a big waste of talent for his cameo.


Anyway, I'm hoping the casting of McAvoy and Johnson is for a WWII era Xavier and Magneto but if it is for Xavier and Cyclops i can't imagine them being on screen at the same time it would have to be young Xavier and a later on Cyclops
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 12:15:01 AM

@whoever, the road sucks my left nut, I had high hopes for the movie even though no country for old men sucked my right nut but man it was bad. I am viggo fan and The book was cool but the movie was boring as hell and I wanted to kill the kid PAPPA PAPPA PAPPA, I wouldve Traded that kid to the cannibals for a car and some fuel or something along time ago too. Duvall was one of the better characters.


And Can anyone tell me anything about that Nazi zombie film or whatever it's called? I've been thinning about renting it
masht7 writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 12:28:02 AM

The only good thing in 'The Road' was the cast, especially Viggo Mortenson, its kind of like 'The Blind Side' when the movie is great because of the performances not the storyline.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:13:26 AM

They must ignore X3 for this casting to work. But even then, McAvoy can't be Xavier, that's just how it is.

I liked the gore in The Wolfman, nice to see that they didn't p*ssy out, but seriously? The trailer gave away the plot and the ending was f*cking ridiculous. I felt embarassed.

Liked both The Road and Book of Eli. The Road was genuinely good and Eli looked awesome, real nice cinematography.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:30:51 AM

i'll try to watch the road tomorrow, it looks good. just saw Defendor recently, that was a great film, sort of sad though ... in a totally manly, rough, way of course.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 6:31:41 AM

also rented Legion, but not to sure how that's gonna go so i'm going to keep my expectations low.
JohnZee writes:
on May 30th, 2010 at 3:53:33 PM

Yet another reason not to watch this movie. Recently it seems that information has been piling up that makes it painfully obvious that they might as well call this X-Men First Class: Kick Ass Style.

Oh well what do you expect when Marvel is scrapping the very bottom of the barrel for talent, talent that is willing to accept their lowest of low balling offer.

But then again since they had Wolverine taken in by Ma and Pa Kent in that last X-Men movie, don't be surprised when Cyclops parents are gunned down in a back alley by Joe Chill behind a theater right after they had seen "The Mark of Zorro".
Janus writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 10:27:30 AM

@JohnZee: Why do you assume that Marvel is doing this movie? Marvel is part of Disney but the movie rights for this are with Fox.
rabid writes:
on May 31st, 2010 at 11:42:21 AM

John Zee is clueless. The couple that took in Wolverine was the Hudsons (it happened in the books similarly). And Marvel is not making this film. Fox is.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved