WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tommy Lee Jones Confirmed for "Captain America"

Posted: May 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tommy Lee Jones Confirmed for "Captain America"Submit Comment
About a month ago, UGO learned that Tommy Lee Jones had been cast in "The First Avenger: Captain America." At the time it was just a rumor, but now, Hayley Atwell (plays Peggy Carter) has confirmed Jones' casting.

In an interview with Leicester Square TV, the actress spoke about which cast members she has already had the chance of meeting, including Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson and Sebastian Stan. Atwell added: "I've yet to meet Tommy Lee Jones, although I think I have a scene with him, which I'm really looking forward to doing."

It is being assumed that Jones will play General Chester Phillips, the military officer who chooses Steve Rogers (Evans) for the super soldier program and who aided in his training soon after the serum took effect.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: LeicesterSquareTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 6:54:36 AM

Great choice. Jones is a very talented actor
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 7:37:38 AM

AWESOME!!..Welcome back to comic book movies,Mr. Jones. Sounds like a better fit for him than his DC counterpart.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 7:40:14 AM

Although i still enjoyed that performance too..even if it wasnt exactly true to the character..lol..more like a two-face/Joker hybrid
CCBlev writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 8:42:28 AM

this is starting to look a lil bit better. Hope Johnsh*tton doenst blunder it it, the wanker!!
johnny_boy writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:18:19 AM

Speaking of Johnston, how shocking and surprising would it be if he actually pulled it off? Seems unlikely now but just what if he pulls it off and we all come on this site after viewing the movie and absolutely live it? Probaly won't happen but it's sometimes fun to wonder what if
johnny_boy writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:18:44 AM

Live it= love it
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:26:09 AM

Jones was the bomb in "Man of the House" LOL!! I couldn't even type that without laughing my tits off!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:34:41 AM

Jones awsome

Just watched Losers, for some reason, i think Chris Evans could pull this off.

Question for the comic fans.
How would Samuel L Jackson be able to appear in this time frame. Is there some sort of health sh*t that Fury uses to stay young?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:39:50 AM

@The Skippy Spartan

They might use the same facial effects they did with Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellan on X Men 3 The Last Stand and Anthony Hopkins in The Red Dragon


Jones will be awesome in the part. No contest.
Ranger writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 10:31:40 AM

Great news!

Betwix: Jones, Weaving snd Jackson (the black one... not the white, dead one) - this is looking up. No just cast a beefcake for CA, and get yourself a Director and they're golden!
koul writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 10:40:34 AM

really good casting
dlrippr writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 10:48:10 AM

@skippy

The origin of this story takes place during WW2, but the movie will somehow have to lead into the avengers, so my guess is towards the end we will see some present day Capamerica, probably with Fury, and that will be the lead into avengers. (i might be wrong, but i believe Cap was frozen for several years after ww2, which is why he was so young in present day, that and the super soldier serum)
Ranger writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 10:50:15 AM

And I was more of a fan of Chris Evans getting the role than most. So... this could be good. Just a bit out of Johnston's resume range (excl. The Rocketeer).
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 11:23:21 AM

You could not have picked a more all American actor for a movie about a hero that is a symbol of America. Nice to know Hollywood still can see the obvious choices.
Bunny X writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 12:00:13 PM

Well now I just hope that a pretty solid cast will save this film and it looks like it just might. I mean Jones, Weaving, and sure Evans.
I really did like him in The Loser as well. Although he was PERFECT as The Human Torch and it'll be hard to let that one go.

I was flipping through some Cap comics and he's not all that beefy anyway. Sure he bulks up from his original size pre-SS.serum but overall, he's just a very fit and athletic soldier. I think he's been over exagerrated from time to time but his overall bulk is not as much as people my think.
rabid writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 1:00:02 PM

perfect. in the most recent retelling of his origin, they drew that officer to look like Tommy Lee Jones, so yeah it works for me.
Man in Black writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 1:12:46 PM

great cast . hated the sh*t 2 face he played hell hated the campy batman sh*t .... killed it in Rules of Engagement
lost_addict writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 1:13:42 PM

I wish he was confirmed as captain america...
rabid writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 5:37:14 PM

I was always kind of sore that we didn't get to see Billy Dee Williams become Two-Face
Ranger writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 5:43:12 PM

@Bunny - good observations on CA's build. It's been years (nay, decades) since picking up one of his comics. I'll bet his proportions got out of whack by the new designers over the years. I'd see some stuff and the builds they would (and still do) draw are completely impossible (drug enhanced or not).
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 8:11:16 PM

its starting to look better and i had faith in chris evens, he is somtimes type casted as arogant characters so i think this could be his chance to break the mold and prove that he can take a serious tone to acting then just the wise cracking arogant guy....only wory is Johnston...but then again look at october sky ( a period piece ) and was good
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:24:34 PM

"i had faith in evens"
have*
encoreyourface writes:
on May 28th, 2010 at 2:02:58 AM

nice, this should bring up brighter hopes for the film ....
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 28th, 2010 at 7:49:52 PM

@Skippy - At the end of World War II in Europe, Fury is severely injured by a land mine in France, and is found and healed by a Berthold Sternberg, who uses him as a test subject for his Infinity Formula. After making a full recovery, Fury begins working for the Office of Strategic Services (OSS), precursor of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Six months into his service, he learns the extent of Sternberg's life-saving operation: the Infinity Formula has retarded his aging, but if he does not receive annual doses, he will age rapidly and die. The doctor begins a 30-year period of extorting large sums of money from Fury in exchange for the injections. (These events, culminating in the end of said extortion, are detailed in Marvel Spotlight #31 (Dec. 1976): "Assignment: The Infinity Formula," by writer Jim Starlin and artist Howard Chaykin.)

Nick Fury's aging has been slowed greatly by the Infinity Formula, a serum created by Dr. Berthold Sternberg. Fury was first inoculated with the serum in the 1940s. Fury took the serum annually for many years. Due to its c*mulative effect, Fury no longer needs additional doses to prolong his life span. Nick Fury is a highly athletic man despite his advanced chronological age. He has 95% vision loss in his injured left eye, over which he wears a cosmetic eyepatch.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved