WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mass Effect" Video Game Coming to the Big Screen

Posted: May 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mass Effect" Video Game Coming to the Big ScreenSubmit Comment
Electronic Arts has announced that Legendary Pictures has acquired theatrical film rights to their hit sci-fi video game franchise "Mass Effect." Warner Bros will distribute the film. Producers are currently in negotiations with Mark Protosevich (I Am Legend, Thor) to write the screenplay.

"Mass Effect" takes place in the year 2183 and follows Commander Shepard of the SS Normandy who leads a team on a mission to defeat an ancient alien race that invades the galaxy every 50,000 years, wiping out all organic life.

"Mass Effect is a tremendous property ripe for translation to the big screen," said Thomas Tull, Chairman and CEO of Legendary Pictures. "Mass Effect is a prime example of the kind of source material we at Legendary like to develop; it has depth, compelling characters and an engaging back story."

Source: Electronic Arts


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Videotame writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 4:41:45 AM

Please don't mess up this franchise...I don't know why they would make this into a movie anyway. In a lot of ways the video game does a much better job telling the story than a movie ever could.
wonderBOY writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 5:00:20 AM

will there be a choice system if so renegade all the way. Its dialogue is always better and we might see some lesbian human on alien type of sh*t going on which is always good
johnny_boy writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 5:12:50 AM

So this is pretty much Gonna be Doom part 2
masht7 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 5:34:32 AM

Sorry Warner Bros., Ridley Scott is alreday making this film, its his prequel to 'Alien'.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 5:45:35 AM

@Videotame: Correct. Although it's nice to see the movie companies starting to look at GOOD games to develop to movies, Mass Effect might be to big for them to handle. A series perhaps, but not a feature film.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 6:26:23 AM

I'm excited and worried at the idea of this. I f*cking LOVED ME1 & 2 so please dont sh*t on this. The video is literally like playing out a movie already so they pretty much already have a screenplay nearly lol They really should ask Seth Green to return as Joker as well... Casting Shepard sounds a big tricky though. I'm really curious to see this develop more.

PS... if you never played either games... I highly recommend you get the hell off here n play BOTH!
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 8:49:10 AM

don't hate the players hate the game, don't f*ck this franchise
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 8:52:40 AM

Uncharted is better suited for a movie then Mass Effect :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 10:26:45 AM

This story idea has a "Starship Troopers" feel to it, and I mean that in a good and bad way.
NatG83 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 10:41:04 AM

I have distanced myself from games a lot for the past few years, and these games pulled me back in.

I can't see a movie doing this justice.

And I agree, we need Seth Green as Joker. There is no reason why he could not play the role.

I think Timothy Olyphant would make a good Shepard.
SuluNakamura writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:22:15 PM

@Ted: Oh, they DEFINITELY have to get Seth Green to play Joker :D
SaulSilver writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:37:01 PM

as long as they get Yvonne Strahovski for her character, i'm in.
BitterPeace910 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 4:13:41 PM

This could be epic if its done right
masht7 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 5:55:49 PM

Just don't cast Sam Worthington for Commander Shepard.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 7:11:10 PM

not surprising, it is very popular.

mash-i know it sounds bad, but he really would make a good shepherd ... not acting-wise of course.
Adamtheflash writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 12:40:02 AM

I think Matthew Fox would make a great commander shepard. Him or Karl Urban maybe.

But I'm on the same page with everyone else. A movie can't tell the story right. They'd have to make three movies for the first game. There's just too much content and character development for a two hour movie to handle.
disturbed01 writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 12:56:46 AM

DONT f*ck IT UP WARNER BROTHERS!!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 4:28:08 AM

Mass Effect ? Is this about Oprah ?
Agent Calavera writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 6:24:24 AM

Shepard?

Wrex?

Shepard?

Wrex?

koul writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 10:37:46 AM

i wouldn't mind this turning into a movie but i won't watch it.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 5:39:06 PM

@masht7

AGREED f*ck SAM W. is a piece of sh*t actor f*ck him and f*ck hollycrap if they put him in the movie!
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 6:17:53 PM

never played yet and i agree that matthew fo could be the main guy

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved