WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Would You Pay $30 to Watch Theatrical Releases at Home?

Posted: May 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Would You Pay $30 to Watch Theatrical Releases at Home?Submit Comment
During a cable industry convention, executives from Time Warner Cable made a pitch to Hollywood studios for a service called "home theater on demand." It would allow consumers to watch a movie at home just thirty days after its theatrical release for roughly $20 to $30.

The idea has received support from many studios, which believe that there is a market for watching theatrical releases at home instead of waiting the usual four months for the DVD/Blu-ray release.

Details are still being discussed, but several studios could sign on as soon as the fall, making the the first movies available to watch at home by the end of the year or early 2011.

Theater owners are worried that the home-viewing option would eat into ticket sales and have threatened to now show films that were offered too soon on video-on-demand.

Question: Would you pay $20 to $30 to watch a theatrical release at home?

Source: WSJ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
drshakalou writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:09:35 PM

yes, in a heartbeat!
AshTrey writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:21:10 PM

HELLZ YEAH... I GOT A THEATER ROOM SO THAT WOULD BE F'IN AWESOME... COULD ACTUALLY BE BETTER THAN THE MOVIES.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:22:12 PM

If it was available opening day, absolutely. If longer than two weeks, hell no. If I haven't put up with the usual crop of retarded, mouth-breathing *ssholes and bitches at the theater, and I haven't downloaded it or bought it from a solicitor, I don't wanna see it that bad. $30 opening night for "Inception"? I would order it too nights in a row. First night, enjoy it by myself. Second night, invite my girlfriend and friends over.
Jergyn writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:22:57 PM

nope
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:26:21 PM

Nice!!! Trey - I'm on my way over. I got an eighth of Purple Haze and $30. We're ordering "The Human Centipede"!
BigUnit writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:29:56 PM

maybe if i had some friends over and we all pitched in.
wonderBOY writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:31:11 PM

Thats stupid becuase a lot of movies after a month already have dvd rips
DeVries writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:42:56 PM

Nice way for fat turds to get fatter. Can somebody put popcorn in their mouth for 30$ too?
AYT BALL writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:56:03 PM

Nope, they get enough money out of me at the cinema and when they hit bluray, f*ck off thinking ways to get more money off us!!
triggax writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:56:05 PM

Yes, absolutely yes... THe worst part about the cinema is the retarded c*nts that think its okay to have running commentary for the duration of the film... i would pay more than 30 to be able to not have to sit through that... not too mention if it is 30 dollars... thats 30 dollars for anywhere from 1 to 50 people to view depending on your home theater..

But now that ive actually read it.. i would only be keen on this if I could watch it the weekend of the release... typically in a month from the release there is usually a good torrent out...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:57:59 PM

You say that as if sitting in backbreaking chair, eating and drinking nothing but salt and high fructose corn syrup, and staring into a giant pulsating light reflection is better for you than sitting at home, not breathing in other people's dead skin sells, sitting in a comfortable chair, eating good wholesome snacks
Lowryder writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:00:26 PM

if there wasnt already a dvdrip out for it..i would in a heartbeat
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:00:40 PM

(That was directed at DeVries' comment)
Aingx writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:03:27 PM

I agree with Evil, two weeks would be perfect. Not having to deal with lines, lazy theater employees, screaming babies, *ssholeS texting or making calls, crappy seats and being able to pause would be well worth whatever price they land on.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:21:58 PM

two tickets @ $10-15 plus parking is nearly thirty but I like getting outta the house. what I don't like is getting outta the house only to sit next to some fat f*ck chomping on food, 14 yr old asian texting, or some lame c*nts wife guessing the plot five seconds before it happens on screen. (my past 3 trips to the movie) how about $35- opening week $30- second and $25- third $20- a month or more.

kev nailed it inception is the only movie I care enough about for this.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:24:41 PM

No. I go to the movie theater because I want an experience. I'm paying 20 dollars to see INCEPTION in IMAX for the EXPERIENCE. I'm not going to give you 30 dollars to say I saw it sooner than the rest of the lot. Sadly other morons will.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:32:51 PM

Babies alone will make me pay $20-30... Why the f*ck would you bring a toddler to the movie theater? you know damn right they have an attention span of 2 seconds to sit thru a movie... My Iron Man 2 experience was nearly destroyed cause some retarded family decided to bring there 1 year old boy who just babbled baby talk the WHOLE movie... and not ONCE did they take him out to calm him down or simply tell him to STFU!!! ok done venting lol
SACdaddy writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:33:01 PM

f*ck that. Going to the movies is half the fun. Films are more spectacles now than ever, so theaters are still relevant imo. Inception is a prime example of a film that should be seen on the big screen (or IMAX), and then dissected for a few months before you can watch it in the comfort of your own home and really get into it.

The theaters here serve great beer and awesome food and are loud enough to drown out most coversations. There aren't that many talkers in the drafthouse theaters anyway other than the waiters. Hopefully these On Demand Home releases will get the theaters to lower their prices.
DeVries writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:40:06 PM

Thanks Evil.kev2 I feel much better after being illuminated by you.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:44:30 PM

no thanks
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:56:34 PM

Question: Would you pay $20 to $30 to watch a theatrical release at home?


Why should I pay $ 30.00 for a movie when I can pay $ 10.00 for a lapdance that includes a blowjob ??
WV-Films writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:07:10 PM

Nope. I'd pay $10. In fact I'm sort of surprised how many people are for this.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:29:24 PM

I wold say yeah but then you might as well grab a bunch of friends and charge a dollar or two each to watch the movie at your house. Then studios loose out on money therefore having sh*ttier films. Prices are high but least it contributes for more movies. Just don't keep raising the prices and also Hollywood should stop over paying actors as well
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:53:25 PM

no f*ckin way. f*ck this stupid c*nting sh*t, i'd rather sit through a crowd of people then spend an extra 20 bucks. not worth it, and if you wait a few weeks there will be few people at the theater anyway, and the releases on these films would be 30 days after theater release so not worth it.
OneTime writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:08:52 PM

no
WV-Films writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:42:46 PM

Also I'd say within a week someone will find a way to rip it perfectly to the point where bootlegging and pirating will be even more prevalent then it is now.
CCBlev writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:53:48 PM

^yup very valid point, if they policed the pirated website and charged everyone say 15 bones, then ya I'd be there watching at home opening night.
Troy Williams writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:01:31 AM

f*ck NO
charmed23 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:07:23 AM

absolutely no. too expensive
otis writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:13:26 AM

I think TH3D4RKKN1GH7 hit the nail on the head. I go to the theater for the experience. Not to my house. If I wanted to see something that bad so quickly, I'd just watch the ripped one online.
jwinger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:21:52 AM

YES! I would love to. When I went to go see Star Wars ep3, the movie was ruined by crying babies and annoying teens. There is nothing that can replace the theater, but sometimes I just don't want to deal with other people.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:45:35 AM

i agree with Odis, the experience ...
highdefw writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:47:54 AM

naa... if it is worth $20-30 to see at home... I would just spend that money for 2-3 people and see it in IMAX. Can't beat that kind of quality...

plus 3d is getting better... another reason to keep me at the cinema
Lulupendragon writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:51:38 AM

Does it come with popcorn and drinks, too?
Ranger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:02:56 AM

The theater experience is still my fav.

At our location, an extra $2. gets you a blow-job during the movie from an underage sex slave from Thailand (it's an extra $5 if she's female)... thus saving you $'s on 'butter' for your popcorn.


(this comment is paying homage to 'YourFriendWithABigd*ck' in his absence).
TheBigGuy writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:29:53 AM

Sure why not!!!!
You get 9 other friends to come over,you all pay $3 a piece for the $30 price to watch a movie(if they go with $30) and you save over $10 per person..........way to go movie industry,you just shot yourself in the foot and lost money!!!!
I cannot see this ever happening!!!
Its a great thing for us the viewer but stupid for the movie industry from a business end of things!!!!
They would be making less money per person if people are smart about it!!!
LMAO to the stupid movie industry!!!!
rocketman writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:35:53 AM

No i won't.I'll buy the Bluray like i do now.They should release the dvd/bluray THE SAME DAY as the cinema release at NO extra cost.Seems to me they are getting greedy,what with the current ticket prices(cheers Avatar)So they can stick there 30 bucks or 20 quid asking price up there arse.f*cking rip off c*nts.
A_2001_fullmetal jaket writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 2:34:32 AM

would I ever! That would be awesome i would pay the money in the drop of a hat. for two reasons 1# i can watch more because i don't have to worry bout leaving the house to watch it. 2# i can watch with my family so we can all enjoy it. Big down side is that if they are blu ray size all us Aussie can't download them. for the simple reasons of not having enough bandwidth an our internet speed is slow compared to other countries.
ZeusReit writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 2:47:18 AM

Make it $10-$20 and I would. I wouldn't pay above $20.
trailertrash writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:03:03 AM

No way !! I Love going to the Movies too much.

It has been said already you can't beat the experience of watching a film on the big screen.

Take Bladerunner i have seen that movie so many times on vhs and then dvd. I then Watched it at the Odeon in London absolutely Amazing best movie i have ever seen on the big screen (visually).

Even if you have all the home cinema equipment it's still not quite the same IMO.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:17:28 AM

It could've been a good idea, but 30$ and a month of waiting? f*ck that. How did they ever come up with a number like 30$?
masht7 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 4:12:16 AM

@Ranger

I couldn't agree with you more on that my man.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 4:24:13 AM

We are all gonna end up fat poor bastards that never leave the house!
Eben1277 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 6:49:57 AM

Not a chance, I go to the movies just to go on a little mini vacation. If I'm watching something at home it's probably either some sh*t that the whole family has to like, or porn (while everyone else sleeps and Dochovny it to the computer screen)
vwkombi writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 8:05:01 AM

sh*t, i more than likely would. Wouldn't even bother watching it on my big T.V. I would watch it on my $90 t.v that ain't much bigger than a computer monitor so i don't even have to leave my bed.

f*ck yeah.
rabid writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 9:15:52 AM

well well, this would be the death knell of theatres. it would be like what the internet did to video stores.
Left On The Moss writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 10:16:39 AM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7
Thank you! And I agree. KEEP THE THEATERS ALIVE!
nuttie30xx writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:04:37 PM

considering i paid almost triple for 2 tickets at a uk imax viewing of prince of perisa hell yeah its about bloody time if you ask me
nuttie30xx writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:06:29 PM

i would still go see the major blockbusters at the cinema
johnthemon writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:13:24 PM

heck no
Bunny X writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:19:45 PM

Never. Keep these post theater / pre-DVD movies where they belong. On the On Demand section in the hotels.
I love being on vacation and seeing movies on hotel on demands that aren't out yet on DVD but aren't in the theaters anymore. And I bitch about those prices!! So there's no way I'm upping the coin to see it at home. I'm not that impatient where I can't wait the four months or so to see it at home.


And what do you get out of it really? So you've seen a movie at home before it came out
on DVD. Big whoop. Everyone's already seen it before you in the theaters.
So judging by what came out about 4 weeks ago, this means there are folks here that would pay $30 to see Kick-Ass at home this weekend?

There's money to be made off the "First-On-The-Block" folks who have to have sh*t before everyone else but that only works with electronic gadgets like PS3's and Ipods etc etc. And it especially doesn't work if it's your sole source of revenue because that niche group is very small.......like @Doc Brown's penis small.
KindredMac writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:25:05 PM

While I love the theatre experience, the local Regal is a red headed step child that still does not have stadium seating and the quality of the image on their "digital" screen makes my 1080p HDTV look like a 4K 3D LED LCD HDTV (what other abbrevs can I stick in there? But you get the point...)

I'm tired of the "heavenly glow" of the the jackoff's cellphone 3 rows in front of me blinding me during the movie...

I'm tired of parents who do not have the sense of mind to get a f*cking baby sitter... Guess what idiots, we have a 2 1/2 year old son... WE DOT IT in order to go to the movies once a month.

I'm tired of people thinking that they are sitting in their own living room and talking OVER the audio track to their friend who is sitting 3 seats down from them....

I'm tired of people who have no f*cking clue that every time they carelessly kick the back of the seat in front of them that EVERYONE in that row can feel it.

I'm tired of the people who think that I must LOVE having their feet 3 inches from the side of my head and pushing on the back of MY seat to readjust is a pleasure for me...

I'm tired of the people who didn't have enough common sense to think "Geez, those nachos aren't sitting right, maybe I should sit on the end.... NAHHHHH I'll sit in the middle and get up multiple times to go to the bathroom. ESPECIALLY during key moments of the film!"

I would gladly pay a tiered plan as some have said on here...
$40 opening week.
$30 Week 2-4.

Plus I would make it along the lines of a rental from Apple TV's iTunes. You rent it, you have, X amount of days to watch it, then you have 24 hours to finish watching the movie once you have started watching it. Then the file is gone.

Do it over HDCP/HDMI and the likelihood of pirating decreases.
BREALZ writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:26:45 PM

Yes and No. Yes, i would watch it at home if it were a movie that i would like to see but have no intention of watching it on a giant screen and digital sound. No, I would prefer to watch it on IMAX such as Dark Knight or Watchmen. there are just very few movies that i'm willing to sit through a crowded theatre with retarded teenagers and single mothers with their f*cking annoying toddlers. It all comes down to how much it is worth.
Personally, in this day and age i'm surprised that the industry is willing to make it easier for people to PRV and bootleg the new release by offering it at home.
I give it a week before they change their minds.
Ranger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 2:21:55 PM

'...there are just very few movies that I'm willing to sit through a crowded theater with retarded teenagers and single mothers with their f*cking annoying toddlers.'


Agreed.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 7:34:05 PM

though i agree with the annoying people part, you see how it says "watch a movie at home just THIRTY days after its theatrical release"?

not only does that mean you gotta wait another month to watch that film you've been dying to see, but by then all the annoying people would be gone and there would but a couple of people at the theater any way, so it would be a waste.

Ranger-thanks for keeping @YourFreind alive,lol.
Sev writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 7:50:35 PM

f*ckin terrible idea!
markmanuel18 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 11:03:38 PM

I can see how some people would go for this, I mean a family with like 4 kids, could all sit back watch say toy story 3, at home, pay 20-30 dollars, make their own snacks, e.t.c or hey, f you have a good home theater system, invite friends, they could all chip in pay the cost, 5-6 friends could chill out watch a movie together for only 20-30 bucks, plus they get to talk and do what friends do, a different experience, but then the down side, won't this make piracy, a whole lot easier, I mean now they don't have to worry about getting caught, so in the end I think it would hurt the industry, more than help it.
THE MAD HATTER writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 11:17:58 PM

Yes, yes-but you would have to be half-mad to dream this up! The last movie I saw in a Theater was A Nightmare on Elm Street .We got there
early about 30 minutes early, to find good seats. we ended up
setting in front of ass Releases at Home.All thought I only go
to the movies to watch really good movf*cking emo's,I really hate those fags. Any ways It
might be kind of a fun Watch a Theatrical ies or 3d.I watch most of the new DVD
rips. I loves to saves moneys

tjay writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 11:44:47 PM

yes 100%. now theaters can see this as a threat i finally lower the f*cking price for movie tickets and food, because right now they are just outrageous. price for food at a theater has always been outrageous and ticket prices are friggin soaring thru the roof, i hope this happens.
markmanuel18 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 11:59:41 PM

I think the biggest benefactor of this would be indie film makers, especially during aards season, whn some movie has lots of buzz, but isn't available at my local theater, I can see myself actually doing this with a friend of mine, while rying to catch up on the oscar buzzed movies.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 1:49:37 AM

i agree with @tjay on that, give the theaters a f*cking wake-up call ...
PaPa_Pl4tyPu5 writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 12:58:15 PM

f*ck Yeah!
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 11:28:10 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved