WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Wants Robert De Niro in Frank Sinatra Biopic

Posted: May 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Wants Robert De Niro in Frank Sinatra BiopicSubmit Comment
Martin Scorsese has been planning to direct a feature film about the life of Frank Sinatra and has been looking to some of Hollywood's top talent to play the legendary singer.

Some names considered for the role have been Johnny Depp, George Clooney, Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire and Brad Pitt. Sinatra's daughter believe that Clooney can portray her father best, but Scorsese has other plans.

In an interview with The Hindu, the director reveals that the script is ready and that he knows who should play Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin. "I'm yet to spot the actor who can bring back Frank Sinatra alive on screen," said Scorsese. "My choice is Al Pacino, and Robert De Niro as Dean Martin."

The movie will focus on violence, sex and the drinking, but also on the singing. In fact, whoever is cast will have to sing in the biopic. Universal Pictures, which is producing the biopic, believes that Depp is the right man for the job.

Source: The Hindu, The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:17:25 PM

terrible decision. I love the actors... but thats a terrible decision.

Depp and Clooney should have the role... with an unknown as the Sammy Davis Jr.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:27:56 PM

@AshTrey
AGREED AGREED AGREED
Inception writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:43:34 PM

Wait... no Vincent Chase? sh*t. But OK is Bobby de Niro one of the greatest even if he is old he will still do some fine job.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:52:14 PM

In an interview with The Hindu, the director reveals that the script is ready and that he knows who should play Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin. "I'm yet to spot the actor who can bring back Frank Sinatra alive on screen," said Scorsese. "My choice is Al Pacino, and Robert De Niro as Dean Martin."



Al Pacino as Sinatra and Robert Deniro as Martin ? Are you f*cking kidding me ?

They can act, but that is a f*cking terrible idea.
martha writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:58:12 PM

Terrible idea, though both DeNiro and Pacino are great actors they aren't suited for those roles. Here is my suggestion

1.Dean Martin should be played by Mark Ruffalo
2.Sammy Davis Jr. should be played by Don Cheadle
3. Frank Sinatra is a hard one, but my guess is George Clooney

Johnny Depp is also wrong for the part sorry!
Inception writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:08:59 PM

Agree, Johnny Depp doesn't belong in there. He is better suited for something directed by Tim Burton.

I go with:

-Clooney as Dean
-DiCaprio as Sinatra
jdDiedforyou writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:18:35 PM

you idiots say this is a terrible idea...but if it actually happens, you guys will probably think its the best thing ever.

Marty knows how to cast a movie. Theres no doubt about it. Whoever plays Sinatra, wont stop me from seeing the movie anyways.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:55:57 PM

i do not see MacGuire in there at all, as much as i like him as an actor. nor Johnny Depp.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:00:53 PM

jd-whatever you say ass hat.
Whitta writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:43:37 PM

haha ass hat
CCBlev writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:01:35 AM

@Encore
ass hat, havent heard that oen for a while lol
masht7 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:28:22 AM

I know this stupid to be saying but he only choice for Sinatra is Michael Bublé.
VDODSON writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 2:10:37 AM

Don Cheadle for Sammie, he nailed it in the Rat Pack with Liotta.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:02:06 AM

@JD: Why would why change our minds if it actually happens? If we say it's a terrible idea, it's because that it is. Nothing will change that.

@mash: Was about to say the same. Don't know about is acting abilities, but he can clearly sing as Sinatra.
Ranger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:11:53 AM

Gary Coleman to play Sammy Davis Jr. (but only if I get to poke his eye out first!).
trailertrash writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:34:13 AM

This could be a great movie , the guy did lead a very interesting and colorful life.

Bublé , that guy can sing like the frank no doubt about it and if he can act he could be a good choice.

I would rather see more unknown actors in the main roles, all the guys mentioned are good but they all come with alot of baggage.

His story is strong enough you dont need the star power of a depp or clooney. Maybe use some bigger stars in more supporting roles.
Ranger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:36:57 AM

Buble or Matt Dusk.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:43:43 AM

@ranger- when you say poke his eye out do you mean "you are going to poke his eye with your d*ck" and by "his eye" I mean Paris Hiltons "brown eye"?????
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:45:26 AM

On subject- don't think this will work, even if the script is good we saw in "Righteous Kill" how well they worked together.

Like most of you on here are saying, Marty should go with unknowns.
Ranger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:45:36 AM

LOL.

If I had a crack at Paris' crack... it would need to be set and carried in a sling for a month!
trailertrash writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 3:58:05 AM

LOL dave/ranger

Don't know much about Matt Dusk but he does look the part though.

And Just think Frank nearly played Dirty Harry !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 4:04:42 AM

@ranger- only a month???? you must be getting old my friend lol

@trailer- cheers
jdDiedforyou writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 7:00:11 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare- half you people on here thought Avatar was a terrible idea when the first trailer was released. Now half of you are completely obsessed with it an think its the greatest movie ever. dont say its not true, because you know it is true. (i didnt say all of you on here, only half of the people on here)
Sonic writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 7:13:24 AM

I think he should just stick with one actor and just make him older?
Ranger writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:07:30 PM

@Dave - getting old?! That boat sailed long ago my friend.
tjay writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 11:41:28 PM

johnny depp is the perfect man for this role, he can sing to. you can have al pacino or deniro in the movie bc they are too old. dont get me wrong they are GREAT actors deniro is my favorite but i think they are to old to play those parts, it needs to be someone young or who can look young on screen, and depp is just the perfect choice, plus i would love to see depp and scorsese work together for the first time
encoreyourface writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 1:58:58 AM

jd-i.e captain ass hat- shut the hell up. not one person who posts regularly that i'm aware of is obsessed with the film, nor do but a few thought it was above average BESIDES effects so don't go there ...
m5dmb28 writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 2:42:34 AM

@ranger
you're the only other person that i know of who has ever heard of matt dusk, and you are right on the money! he would play an excellent frank! i'm a buble fan myself but i don't see him as frank. seems a bit too clean looking. dusk is a little more rugged and has an awesome voice. also buble's voice is a little too timber and clean for sinatra.
m5dmb28 writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 2:44:24 AM

how about peter cincotti??

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved