WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eddie Murphy Planning to Do Stan-Up Again

Posted: May 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eddie Murphy Planning to Do Stan-Up AgainSubmit Comment
Eddie Murphy was one of the top stand-up comedians in the world back in the 1980s. His talent on stage easily transitioned to the big screen in such films as "Beverly Hills Cop," "48 Hrs" and "Trading Places."

Unfortunately, Murphy abandoned everything that made him popular in order to make such box office bombs as "Holy Man," "Meet Dave," "Imagine That."

Now, during the premiere of "Shrek Forever After," WENN caught up with Murphy and asked him whether he will ever return to performing stand-up comedy. The actor replied that he is already making plans for that.

"Within the last six months or so, I started getting an itch to do it again," Murphy revealed. "I started writing stuff. I was like, 'I could go and do 15, 20 minutes right now. Maybe in a couple of months I'll start working out again.' But it'll take a year before I'm ready to go on the road. It's gonna take at least a year to get the rust off; 20 years of rust."

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:13:13 AM

About time. Long as he don't dress up as an over weight person, his stand up is as good as gold
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:21:58 AM

i bet the itch was in his vagina.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:24:11 AM

Congratulation Eddie. It took you a decade to realize what people have been saying for years now. Next he will say he found a new groundbreaking invention, called the "wheel".
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:24:51 AM

Delirious was very funny , Raw was ok.

Eddie Murphy at 22 is alot funnier than eddie murphy at 52, But it's Got to be better than any film he's made since the mid 1980's
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:27:07 AM

encore - you've got a WP avatar now !! lol
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:35:28 AM

trailer-is it still there? on my profile page is shows The Terminator, on the comment section, it shows Darth Sion from KOTOR II. f*ck.
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:36:20 AM

back to The Terminator again !!!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:56:58 AM

well as long as you guys can see it ... thanks for the help. i'm gonna watch an episode of Reign: The Conqueror and head on to sleep. see ya.
Ari Gold writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:12:51 AM

Good news!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:39:51 AM

God, I really hope he follows through this time. I grew up with Eddie's stand-up and awesome movies. Sick of seeing him constantly involved with sh*tty movies like "Meet Dave"
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:54:26 AM

okay, crisis over my avatar is what it should be ...
Doc_Brown writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 7:13:26 AM

Who's Stan?
CCBlev writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 7:30:43 AM

bring hard core foul mouthed Eddy back.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:12:48 AM

"20 years of rust."

He means 20 years of rust, shame, and self-defilement.

The guys got a long way to go for redemption, but getting back to the stage is a good start. Its gonna be strange though seeing Eddie back on the stand up scene considering every black comedian has been copying his material and style ever since he left it. I hope he can still find a way to stand out in this sea f copycats and wannabe Murphys. Personally I'd much rather see him return to R rated films where he really made his fame. He was only really known for 2 stand up performances (Raw and Delirious), but his early film career was legendary. He should reteam with his brother Charlie and put together a funny R rated film that doesn't involve Eddie wearing a fatsuit, a dress, or doing multiple characters. Who wouldn't want to see Eddie and Charlie together on the big screen in a non-Disney production?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 8:53:06 AM

I doubt this...I got "Delirious" on DVD and on that he says he won't do stand coz it would take too long to get the rythum back.

You knw, writing material that is an hour and a half long.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:17:23 AM

Sac's got it right. I'd contribute more, but nothing I could say would add to the discussion at this point.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:48:59 AM

Eddie Murphy Planning to Do Stan-Up Again ... so Eddie's gonna guest star on American Dad as Stan's evil twin ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:51:36 AM

Eddie, you're gonna have to have a rating of R or X on your comedy ... seriously ... and keeping telling youself " I'm not Bill Cosby. I'm not Bill Cosby. I'm the banana in the tailpipe, guy. I'm the banana in the tailpipe guy. "


When your BROTHER is funnier than you are, Eddie .... you're in deep sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 9:52:40 AM

"Within the last six months or so, I started getting an itch to do it again," Murphy revealed. "I started writing stuff. I was like, 'I could go and do 15, 20 minutes right now. Maybe in a couple of months I'll start working out again.' But it'll take a year before I'm ready to go on the road. It's gonna take at least a year to get the rust off; 20 years of rust."

More like 20 years of sh*t. Even The Golden Child was better than Norbit. And that's not saying much.
rabid writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:10:19 AM

The guy was never funnier than when he was doing standup... oh, and picking up tranny prostitutes.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:36:48 AM

as long as he doesn't try pg standup because of his kids - that was his major mistake with movies.
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:51:46 AM

Eddie Murphy is pretty much done, his Stand up is gonna be rated PG and in 3D so kids can watch it
Bunny X writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 10:59:04 AM

I for one would love to see the Murphy boys on screen together in an R-rated comedy. And it's a niche that hasn't been properly filled since the Friday franchise went south.
I think he's afraid that if he goes R, those PG projects won't come around anymore and they've been paying the bills.
But they do need to get on screen and work together. And none of that period piece crap like Harlem Nights.
It would be great if he did a sort of parody on his career. Have a film about a succesful star who has gone "soft" and looks to his "black sheep" brother to get his credibility back.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:12:24 AM

i didn't know eddie murphy was gay or that he was planning to do stan anytime soon
OneTime writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:17:07 AM

eddie murphy must read WP
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:21:21 AM

Is he gonna start snorting coke again cause that might help (wait wrong comedian nevermind), but seriously give it a try.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:26:20 AM

Not a bad premise for a comeback film Bunny.

Its too bad Nolte refused to ever work with Eddie again after Another 48 Hrs. Even with all the problems the production had, that film was pretty awesome and not a bad follow up to the original. Eddie doesn't need a step backwards though, he needs to team up with some fresh talent. And no I don't mean f*cking Tracy Morgan!

Eddie should host an SNL if he wants to shake off some rust. I'd love to see Gumby make a comeback :)
johndillinger writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:30:06 AM

PROOF READ YOUR f*ckING ARTICLES
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:33:38 AM

wow, im not that observant apparently - i just now got all the stan jokes

im in my own little world ... and eddie is in stan ... or stan is in eddie, makes you wonder if when he's being f-ed in the ass he sounds more like a bad ass eddie from 48 hours, or more soft like nutty professor and dr. doolittle
Aingx writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:39:14 AM

What the hell is he going to joke about? Kids and how they say the darndest things??? Maybe toss in some Jell-O jokes?

He just won't be the same...
Bunny X writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 12:30:22 PM

LOL That Gumby Christmas Special is one of my all time favs!!
It'd be a win-win for both Eddie and SNL for him to host.
makingcircles writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 1:26:55 PM

You know I saw Eddie Murphy on Conan O' Brians short lived Tonight Show and he is still a funny mother f*cker. He is reserved but when Conan got him going you could see it and the dude obviously knows how to be funny. I am 100% for him returning to standup.
rabid writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 1:41:31 PM

I don't know. It's a good idea in theory, but I'm not sure Brittany Murphy is ever going to return to stand-up.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 4:49:35 PM

johndillhole-nobody gives a f*ck about that but you, so go masturbate with the dictionary in a corner f*cktard.
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 4:58:31 PM

thank god...does anyone remember when he was funny?
johndillinger writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:57:50 PM

ohh good one encore !!!
johndillinger writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 5:57:56 PM

ohh good one encore !!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:02:04 PM

@skate- Beverly Hills Cop in 1984
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:27:18 PM

When you start to hear crickets chirping, Eddie ... time to go with your entourage and commit hari-kari ... hopefully conveniently in a mass grave.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:30:01 PM

No, Eddie! No!

Please keep giving us such classics as The Clumps, Norbit, The Adventures of Pluto Nash, Vampire in Brooklyn, Shrek 4 and Beverly Hills Cop Three ... how can you derive the public, your fans of your inventive genius and ... nope. I can't keep doing this.

Basically, he's been feeding us sh*t and convincing us it's ice cream. Eddie, I ain't falling for the banana in the tailpipe!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:31:58 PM

"Within the last six months or so, I started getting an itch to do it again," Murphy revealed. "I started writing stuff. I was like, 'I could go and do 15, 20 minutes right now. Maybe in a couple of months I'll start working out again.' But it'll take a year before I'm ready to go on the road. It's gonna take at least a year to get the rust off; 20 years of rust."


Hey, Eddie .... Blue Star Ointment ... stops that itching fast. Guaranteed.

20 years of rust ? More like 20 years of bullsh*t! They have the same color anyway.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 6:34:16 PM

thanks John
KoJay90 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 7:31:29 PM

You mean stand-up? Get it right guys you get oaid for these!!
KoJay90 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 7:32:25 PM

This is exactly what he said on Ellen.
The-BRAD writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:37:15 PM

what is WENN? Is that ellen's show?

'Cause word for word that was exactly what he said on ellen.

The-BRAD writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 12:37:42 PM

oh.. KoJay beet me too it..
Dre-EL writes:
on May 26th, 2010 at 9:21:17 AM

Glad to see he took my advice.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 11:29:38 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved