WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jackie Brown" Prequel in the Works

Posted: May 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jackie Brown" Prequel in the WorksSubmit Comment
Quentin Tarantino's 1997 film "Jackie Brown" was based on Elmore Leonard's "Rum Punch" novel. But the characters that Robert De Niro and Samuel L. Jackson played (Louis and Ordell) also appear in Leonard's "The Switch" book, which can be considered a prequel.

Now comes word that Daniel Schechter (whose "Goodbye Baby" film is being released on DVD on June 1st) is writing a screenplay based on "The Switch," which will serve as the official prequel to "Jackie Brown." The project has Michael Siegel (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Be Cool) attached to produce, and while Tarantino is not involved, there is still hope that he may godfather the new film.

At this point there is a search for a director and actors, including two who will play the young versions of De Niro and Jackson. The goal is to get in front of the cameras by summer of 2011.

"The Switch" has quite a bit of history. That was the book that Tarantino was caught stealing at the age of fourteen. The director has been quoted saying: "He was probably the biggest influence on my life: I have been reading Leonard since I was 14 and got caught stealing his novel 'The Switch' from K-Mart. I got in huge trouble. I was grounded all summer long. But I was so pissed off that I didn't manage to get the book, that two days later I went back and stole it proper."

In addition, the plot of "The Switch" is extremely close to the plot of Danny DeVito's 1986 movie "Ruthless People." Leonard was never given credit, which is why in "Rum Punch" he has Louis and Ordell complaining that movie producers stole their idea, never actually mentioning "Ruthless People" by name.

"The Switch" plot: Ordell Robbie and Louis Gara hit it off in prison, where they were both doing time for grand theft auto. Now that they're out, they're joining forces for one big score. The plan is to kidnap the wife of a wealthy Detroit developer and hold her for ransom. But they didn't figure the lowlife husband wouldn't want his lady back. So it's time for Plan B and the opportunity to make a real killing -- with the unlikely help of a beautiful, ticked-off housewife who's hungry for a large helping of sweet revenge.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 6:16:12 PM

young deniro, that kid out of Bronx tale....oh wait isnt he in jail for murder? young Sam Jackson.....chris rock?

in the wrong hands this is gonna be another rush hour with slightly cooler dialogue
trailertrash writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 6:18:26 PM

Jackie Brown , One of the most disappointing films i have ever seen ..

Maybe after Pulp Fiction (one of the best films of all time) it was a tough act to follow...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 6:41:01 PM

"The Switch" plot: Ordell Robbie and Louis Gara hit it off in prison, where they were both doing time for grand theft auto. Now that they're out, they're joining forces for one big score. The plan is to kidnap the wife of a wealthy Detroit developer and hold her for ransom. But they didn't figure the lowlife husband wouldn't want his lady back. So it's time for Plan B and the opportunity to make a real killing -- with the unlikely help of a beautiful, ticked-off housewife who's hungry for a large helping of sweet revenge.


Have they been to Detroit lately ? A property magnate ? So this guy is basically a slumlord, hunh ?


I guess the sequel will be Jackie's Brown Eye


That can't use Chris Tucker. He's f*ckin' dead.


A young Robert Deniro ? Zach Galifianakis could have a shot if he could shed A BUNCH OF POUNDS off his lard ass.

A young Samuel L Jackson ? Lil Bow Wow, after he get's his cherry popped.


Louis : " You talkin' to me ? "

Odell : " You got the f*ckin' soap, motherf*cker! Of course I'm talkin' to you! "

Louis : " I'll take you down ... down to Chinatown ... "

Odell (surprised) : " What the fu- .. what the f*ck are you sayin', n*gger ? I'm a mushroom cloud breedin' motherf*cker and I'm tired of these motherf*ckin' one-eyed snakes in this motherf*ckin' shower room.

Now, scrub my back, bitch! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 6:41:45 PM

The project has Michael Siegel (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Be Cool) attached to produce

Great. So this guy is used to prima donnas.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 6:45:49 PM

... and while Tarantino is not involved, there is still hope that he may godfather the new film.

Yeah, cause we can see how well it worked for :

Sonatine
Iron Monkey
Hard Core Logo
The Mighty Peking Man
Hell Ride
Switchblade Sisters
Susperia
Chungking Express
Hostel
Hostel 2
The Beyond
Detroit 9000
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 8:08:21 PM

How about a porno called LINDSEY'S BROWN EYE ?

They could be Puke-Us and Oh!Hell!


Filmed in 3D, SURROUNDSOUND, SMELLOVISION and
LOHANVISION ... where the audience goes in, like the Carlsbad Caverns and wonders if they will ever come out.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 8:48:44 PM

horrible pick to do a movie i mean come on charlie and the chocolate factory and be cool which wasnt bad but still
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 8:50:10 PM

lol hostel was such a f*ckin waste and part 2 i just skipped all over the place
Man in Black writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 2:21:46 AM

wow this will suck more ass then a human centipede
SamuelClayton writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 2:59:27 AM

@ trailertrash: I actually think that Jackie Brown may be Tarantino's best film. That said, I don't think it warrants a prequel...
trailertrash writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 3:55:00 AM

@sam- I Love QT movies , i just felt with jackie brown he was trying to be to clever and cool with all the characters dialog / speeches, they all just seemed to be going on and on a bit to much for me and the pace of the movie seemed very slow compared to Pulp and R.Dogs.

Having said that i went with people who really didn't like the movie and that always puts me off watching a film. Maybe it's worth another look....
encoreyourface writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 4:37:34 AM

never even heard of this one ...
SofaKing writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 5:19:00 AM

The part where DeNiro blasts Bridget Fonda cuz she is nagging him to death is always good. As is the hot chicks with machine guns video they watch.
Inception writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 6:31:29 AM

Another f*ck scene that looks awesome like the B. Fonda and De Niro scene will make me see this prequel.
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 3:05:36 AM

@ayt- Lilo Brancato , he was really good in A Bronx Tale and i thought Booby did a good job Directing too.

He is in jail for burglary but a policeman was shot and killed somewhere along the line and he's doing 7-9 years in jail....
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 3:18:14 AM

^^booby = bobby lol
rabid writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 11:23:23 AM

sounds good. Jackie Brown was a pretty good film, so I'm sure I will check this out
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 11:38:13 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved