WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

NY Movie Theaters are Charging $20 for "Shrek 4" Tickets

Posted: May 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
NY Movie Theaters are Charging $20 for "Shrek 4" TicketsSubmit Comment
The Wall Street Journal is reporting that several New York theaters are running tests to see if movie-goers will pay $20 per ticket to see a movie, in this case it's for the 3D IMAX showing of "Shrek Forever After."

The theaters include the AMC theater in Manhattan's Kips Bay neighborhood, AMC Loews 34, AMC Loews Lincoln Square and AMC Empire 42nd Street. The increases weren't officially announced, but showed up on movie-ticketing websites such as Fandango.

The $20 ticket may prove to be costly for movie-goers, but the industry appears ready to take the risk, especially in the wake of a string of 3-D blockbusters, from "Avatar" to "Alice in Wonderland." 3-D movies accounted for the vast majority of last year's 10% jump in domestic box-office sales. That figure is likely to climb even higher for 2010.

And while box-office revenues keep climbing, numbers are showing that attendance is slightly declining.

Source: WSJ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:17:24 PM

hopefully there would be an outcry and slowlsy start the end of 3d... but I doubt it.

PS.. I worked the Tribeca Film festival and this movie blows harder than Lohan.
JRprime writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:20:40 PM

might as well get used to it, right?
BigUnit writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:23:46 PM

are you F***ING KIDDING ME!
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:38:04 PM

MOTHER f*ckING d*ck IN MY ASSS
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:38:25 PM

like i want to see that anyways
encoreyourface writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:22:53 PM

not very surprising it is IMAX ejaculation filled fun day after all ...
otis writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:35:59 PM

You couldn't pay me money to see that.

Where's my 3D Clockwork Orange? Or Showgirls? How bout them showgirls hmm?
johnny_boy writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:39:57 PM

If people pay the high price to see this film, not only does Hollywood win in exploiting more money from movie goers, it proves how dumb the people really are.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:55:18 PM

This happened a couple weeks ago, haven't been in a theater in a while. There is no outcry, this is NYC, and those theaters are in Manhattan. Tourists galore and none of them know better. It is what it is. When 3D wears off, and studios settle for it being an option instead of trying to make it a standard (which IMAX really is going to have to step in and become if theaters want to live past the first half of the 21st century), prices will go back down.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:57:23 PM

If movie theaters all over the country do this, then I will encourage everyone to download movies for free.

Or join Netflix.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:08:21 PM

Average ticket price nation wide is still 7.50... midwest/south states are good for something other than holding the world back several decades it seems.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:41:27 PM

It's nice to see that the New York tradition of raping and mugging hasn't lost its touch with the box office management.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:42:27 PM

New York City ... Where you can catch a nicely shined turd ... for $ 20.00.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:45:31 PM

The Wall Street Journal is reporting that several New York theaters are running tests to see if movie-goers will pay $20 per ticket to see a movie, in this case it's for the 3D IMAX showing of "Shrek Forever After."

Next test ? Unemployed bums are hired to park your car.

Hookers offer to relieve your husband of his " workplace stress "

Cops are the new valets and when they tell you to turn your cellphone off during the " f*ckin' moovie ", you might wanna listen. Or you'll be going downtown and seeing a live performance of " Gang Rape Central ".


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:46:26 PM

@AshTrey

Plllleeeasse tell me you mugged Robert De Niro and then flippantly replied, " You talkin' to me ? " ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:47:48 PM

The $20 ticket may prove to be costly for movie-goers.

You motherf*ckers in the editing room could've ended it RIGHT THE f*ck THERE.

Of course the industry is willing to take the f*cking risk. THEY f*ckING LIVE IN LA.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:48:30 PM

That figure is likely to climb even higher for 2010.

Not if the movie is sh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:50:17 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7

I dare ya to use that joke in Mason, Georgia ... then we wouldn't find your ass ...

" He shure do have a purdy mouth ... Squeeeealll....squuueaaallll. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:51:12 PM

You couldn't pay me money to see that.

Where's my 3D Clockwork Orange? Or Showgirls? How bout them showgirls hmm?


@Otis

Elizabeth Berkley's tits would poke your eyes out. But it would be worth it, hunh ?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 11:04:52 PM

Who said I was joking?
otis writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:02:59 AM

All I need is nipples in my face. And this remote control. And this paddle ball game.
Man in Black writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:21:13 AM

just keep shooting your selfs in the foot you jackasses and thanks for making IM2 #1 for 3 weeks in a row with ticket prices like that
Man in Black writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:23:23 AM

wow for $3 dollas more you could be smoking crack!
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:24:06 AM

I have a feeling they picked the wrong f*cking movie for this test. I will never ever, I mean f*cking ever pay 20 bucks to see a movie one time. If you do then you are a bigger f*cking moron then I ever thought, and you should immediately do the world a favor and kill yourself, not kidding here I mean literally f*cking kill yourself.
Whitta writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 2:01:27 AM

down here in Australia its pretty close to $20 a movie now days anyways, no bloody wonder we download stuff now
Ranger writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 2:08:55 AM

@otis - and this ashtray, this chair... and this thermos.

That's all I need!

And this lamp, and these matches. And that's all I need... the ashtray, this chair, this thermos, this lamp and these matches... that's all I need. Oh... I need this...!
GIST writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 2:26:49 AM

I did one of those cough-laughs. I did that because it just said "Shrek 4".
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 2:50:26 AM

this story just can just f*ck right off!!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 3:54:34 AM

yep
johnny_boy writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 9:54:25 AM

So if this only involves 3d ticket prices, hopefully they just keep it that high and possibly people won't see those films therefore ending this 3d fad which way over stayed it's welcome
ProfMovies writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 10:29:37 AM

Since the movie is a witless piece of excrement, this is an even greater outrage.

Paramount is riding high at the moment, but it is all very temporary.
The pendulum swings, y'know.

(It might help if the people at Paramount were a more decent bunch, but they are some bonafide, 100% pure buttholes).
python6 writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 11:32:28 AM

@ wiseguy if they charging 19 now do you think that with the increase here that they mite start charging 35 to 40 dollars there?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:27:07 PM

New York, New York ...

It sounded so nice, it got bombed twice ...

New York, New York.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:28:43 PM

@ProfMovies ...

"Since the movie is a witless piece of excrement, this is an even greater outrage.

Paramount is riding high at the moment, but it is all very temporary.
The pendulum swings, y'know.

(It might help if the people at Paramount were a more decent bunch, but they are some bonafide, 100% pure buttholes)."


If we're lucky the pendelum will just snap at the rope and cut off their heads.


Nice Poe analogy, by the way.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:29:22 PM

Q. What does 3D mean to Hollywood ?

A. Three d*cks in one mouth. Touching.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:30:27 PM

" What the Shrek just happened ? "

HOLLYWOOD SHREKED ITSELF IN THE SHREK YOU SHREKING, MOTHERSHREKERS ...

THAT'S WHAT SHREKIN' HAPPENED.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:32:26 PM

I hope when Mike Myers dies, he gets gang raped by Peter Cook, Graham Chapman, Dudley Moore, Richard Pryor, Robin Harris, Bernie Mac and George Carlin ...

then tossed into Hell. Which means he'll have to talk with Carlos Mencia and Dane Cook. Ironically, both douchebags are still alive and breathing.

For now.


Remember. One shot, one kill.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:33:36 PM

Wow! Eddie Murphy isn't funny ?

How the f*ck is this news ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:35:54 PM

Remember that scene in one of his early comedy performance movies where he re-enacts Mr. T f*cking a gay man in the ass ....

EDDIE, YOU'RE THAT GAY MAN! WE DON'T PITY YOU, FOOL!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:37:23 PM

python6 writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 11:32:28 AM

@ wiseguy if they charging 19 now do you think that with the increase here that they mite start charging 35 to 40 dollars there?


@python6

* Only if it included a free f*ck with the girl serving popcorn with 300 pounds on her and the greasy face full of zits.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:38:07 PM

I guess when Shrek has to take a massive sh*t it redefines the term ' Behind the GREEN door '.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:39:02 PM

Right now, Tracy Morgan is pissed ... " They made a movie with my likeness and those CRACKERS are gonna make money ??? OHHHHH, HELLLLL NOOOOO! "
bacci40 writes:
on May 25th, 2010 at 1:40:43 AM

when i was a kid, my mom would give me 5 bux to go to the movies...that paid for the movie, a large popcorn and a large drink

now i stay home and watch the pirated vids online

i will not shell out 20 bux....ever

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved