WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Skrulls to be Main Villains in "The Avengers"?

Posted: May 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Skrulls to be Main Villains in "The Avengers"?Submit Comment
About a year ago, it was revealed that the villain in "The Avengers" may be an entire race of shape-shifting aliens called The Skrulls. We then learned that Thor's evil step-brother Loki will turn The Hulk into another villain by brainwashing him. Hulk's actions will lead to the assembling of Captain America, Thor and Iron Man.

Now comes word from CBM that it won't be Loki who'll gain control of The Hulk, but The Skrulls. The aliens will be the main villains, but will not be fully focused on until the sequel, when a full invasion will occur. The site added that another alien race, The Kree, will join the heroes to fight The Skrulls.

Many have suggested that The Skrulls would make good villains because this would give each superhero a chance to demonstrate their powers and abilities by fighting an entire race of bad guys.

The Skrulls are an extraterrestrial humanoid race who have created a vast interstellar empire. A Skrull can mentally cause the unstable molecules that comprise his or her body to assume other forms (human, animal, alien). Although the Skrulls became aware of Earth eons ago, it was not until recent times that they considered Earth a threat.

The Kree race began on the planet Hala long before the first mammals appeared on Earth. Outwardly humanoid to a large degree, Kree bodies are adapted to environmental characteristics on Hala that are un-Earth-like. Although the Kree cannot breathe Earth's atmosphere without special apparatus, their denser bodies afford them about twice the average human being's strength and endurance. Despite their physical superiority and relatively advanced technology, the Kree race has reached the pinnacle of their evolutionary development.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 5:40:07 AM

Now it's sounding too sci fi. I don't know. It would make sense but to add another alien race is just complicating things more. Would make more sense if Loki just assembled his own crew to try and take over earth and the avengers gotta kick ass. I don't know, If that's true then that would kinda drag the film
nope.com writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 5:42:24 AM

I stopped going on comicbookmovie.com ever since I found out its posts are sent in by members of the site thus filling it with nonstop rumors and some posted as "fact"

especially when the dark knight hoopla was going in overdrive and they reported "exclusively" that black mask and the penguin would make appearances
BDeck writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 6:42:30 AM

if this is the truth then the avengers movie is f*cked...

secret wars was way to bloated to make an avengers movie.

along with building relationships,youre going to add a alien race invading earth and no one knowing who is an alien an who isnt?

f*ck that sh*t.
otis writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:21:19 AM

Aliens? Really? Anything that tries to slip in alien wars into a canonized saga will be sh*t. (i.e. Crystal skull)
eddie499 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:28:21 AM

I'm very much in agreement with the comments above. The reason that many of Marvel's movies have been so successful is that they are (somewhat) grounded in reality. For the most part, the first foray into the realm of mysticism and planes of existence beyond our own world will be with Thor. They're going to have to pull off something major to make this work.

I have no problem with someone trying to take control of the Hulk. I just think they should keep to the basis of reality. If it were me, The Avengers would revolve around a conflict involving a group (along the lines of Hydra) or individual (Red Skull or some other megalomaniac type) trying to take control of the Hulk.

Realism is the key to audience mass appeal. involvement with alien races is jumping the shark in my opinion.
CCBlev writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:41:46 AM

This is a lil too sci fi for my tastes, get it a lil more grounded in reality.
Lizardking515 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:44:49 AM

Am I the only one who's not surprised or shocked by this. I mean seriously guys, look at the guy who's directing...his only directing credit for a movie was serenity...a movie that takes place in outter space, which was based on an even worse tv show. Did u really think that since he's making the movie u wouldn't see anything to do with any alien races? I saw this coming from over a mile away when they sed whedon is helping on the re writes. So all I have to say is....THIS MOVIE FINALLY BECAME A MOVIE THAT MIGHT SUCK.

Keep it as real as can be....even if it is just Loki Red Skull and sum1 else all controlling the hulk together.

Its sad to say, the movie is gonna suck but will still make a sh*t load of money and prob break a bunch of records
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:59:33 AM

Yeah, keep it real and grounded in reality! Yeah, with Loki, the mythical Norse God of Mischief as the main villain. Yes, that's something we can all relate to on a day-to-day basis. Crazy Norse Gods - taking control of green trolls and smashing things...again! Sooo much better than introducing an alien race.

First off, there was an article released about a year or two ago that stated that Fox has the rights to use The Skrulls AND The Kree due to their "Fantastic Four" contract. Since they're still trying to get that reboot off the ground, I don't think they're gonna lease out their characters back to Marvel for one or two movies, unless they make a sh*t-ton of money off of it. Marvel barely has enough to cover all the actors salaries, let alone try to buy back their D-List characters. I'm not gonna invest anymore thought in this until we hear an official announcement, which probably won't be for another six months.
SaulSilver writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:05:57 AM

If they were gonna do Aliens, why not the Chi'tari instead of the Skrulls?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:54:38 AM

When I used to read Marvel comic books as a kid, there was a Skrull - K'ree War, so in the MARVEL Universe, this would make sense ...

but ...



make the villian the ONE guy who's cameo'd in every MARVEL movie EXCEPT Blade ...

the one that'll put the fear into the hearts of comic book geeks world-wide ...

the one that makes GALACTUS look like Verne Troyer in a Brazilian tranny costume ...


STAN " I'M THE MAN WHO WOULD WHORE HIS CORPRSE OF A MOTHER OUT FOR NECROPHELIAC SIDE TRICKS WITH EVERY SKANKY BIKER FROM HERE TO BANGOR MAINE, SO I CAN REMAIN IN COMICS AND GET MONEY SO WHEN I DIE I CAN BE BURIED IN A COFFIN SHAPED LIKE AND COLORED TO RESEMBLE SPIDEY ... EXCESSIVESIOR! " LEE
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:56:01 AM

^ Correction : CORPSE, not CORPRSE


' Nuff Said.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:02:13 AM

The Skrulls might be interesting as long as they dont overwelm us with Skrull Characters.

It could be we wont know its the Skrulls till the end of the movie.

sh*t I shouldnt talk like its a done deal, lets just wait and see what they do, then bitch about.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:55:45 AM

So we have a guy who builds a suit of metal to fly around in, a mutated green behemoth, an 80 year old soldier who only carries a shield and fought Nazis in WWI, and a Norse God who has traveled to Earth, right?

You're right. Aliens would make this completely unrealistic and unbelievable.

This is what happens in these comics, people. It will be fine. When Batman starts fighting alien races, THEN we will have a reason to complain.
rabid writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 11:10:41 AM

I highly doubt this news is true. They would never change the classic Avengers origin tale. Just more fake news.
rocketman writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 11:13:18 AM

So its the Ultimates then.Nowt wrong wi that as long as Hawkeye still utter the imortal line..
''Darth Maul wants his lightsaber back mother f*cker''
Class.
koul writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:10:18 PM

this idea is not good one. please don't do this.
gotsghostrider writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:13:29 PM

so....super skrull will probably make his first and last appearance on the big screen. it wouldent surprise me if they included him. wat about the deadpool skrulls?! they should use them instead!!! (sarcasm bitches)
gotsghostrider writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:14:03 PM

on a side note WP never listen to CBM its just really bad
Broken_English writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:15:06 PM

I think they can come up with something better than this. I'm still surprised they went with Joss Whendon to direct this what was Brett Ratner too busy messing up another franchise?
Broken_English writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:16:03 PM

Jon Faverau would have been a better choice to direct.
BigUnit writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:32:26 PM

it does sound really sci-fi, but it kind of reminds me of how the mavel animated movie, Planet hulk was, the whole time watching that i was thinking to myself this should be a actual film.
Man in Black writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 12:50:03 PM

ya wtf aliens in comic book movies .... where is superman from again ?
Bunny X writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 3:21:16 PM

Well, I for one, am glad. They really couldn't go another route except the Skrulls for the film. To use the villains they've established in the stand alone films wouldn't have sat well with me. So who else would a team of superheroes take on if it's not a team of super villains? Aliens.

@Bigunit, I've said this in another post but I really like the Whedon move.
In short, he brings two things most needed for this project.
A deep understanding of the content. which he has.

And a talent for being able to manage a project where each star is not singled out as the main star. Whedon was highly successful in having his players' storylines fit perfectly with each other's without one dominating others.
I would hate to see Ironman or Thor or whoever showcased heavily in this film and I trust that Whedon can avoid that pitfall.

I understand he's green when it comes to directing feature films, but I would much rather have a director who's is new to this but can deliver what the project needs vs a good established director who won't do the project justice.
Gates writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 4:08:22 PM

It's so obvious what's going to happen. They will regain control of The Hulk and the Hulk will end up teaming up with the Avengers against the Skrulls and then setting up a sequel.
JRprime writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 4:10:17 PM

yeah idk about this, and i hate that iron man feels too realistic to be put in such a sci-fi setting
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 4:45:49 PM

IDK bringing in aliens this early may lead to its doom.
FpJGarcia writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 6:24:46 PM

Maybe Namor should be the villain?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 6:48:32 PM

wow i thought COC was saying that becuase it was so retarded. Namor is not a bad guy, really, why the f*ck would he be the villain?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 6:49:30 PM

and please no Skrulls, Secret Invasion was sh*t ...
Tkemert20 writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 8:31:40 PM

I demand Ultron Damnit!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 9:33:44 PM

that would be nice.
rabid writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 11:15:13 AM

They'll save the skrulls for the sequel. Like in the ultmates series 1, they'll probably show up in this film, but Loki is the villain here.
I really hope they take another cue from the Ultimates and toss in Pym's two pet robots, Vision and Ultron.
Tkemert20 writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 11:59:50 AM

If Ultron's ever a villain in a movie, he better look like his "Lord" Ultron version:
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii218/DJ_VIN1/FatherUltron.jpg
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 22nd, 2010 at 1:58:16 PM

@encore


COC is colorblind and hopes the Hulk rapes him when he HULKS-out ...

instead of " Hulk SMASH! ", it'll be

" Hulk FIST! "
encoreyourface writes:
on May 23rd, 2010 at 4:41:33 AM

Max-NICE!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved