WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Villainous Star Sapphire to Appear in "Green Lantern"

Posted: May 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Villainous Star Sapphire to Appear in "Green Lantern"Submit Comment
We already know that Hector Hammond (Peter Sarsgaard) will be the main villain in "Green Lantern," even though Sinestro (Mark Strong) will also be in the film (as a set up for the sequel). Now it turns out that Blake Lively ("Gossip Girl") will not only play Hal Jordan's love interest Carol Ferris, but also the villainous Star Sapphire.

In an interview with Vogue, Lively revealed that she has been rehearsing with a stunt-coordinator and with gymnastic acrobats for aerial stunts that are being filming in the rig created for "The Matrix."

"Our director likes it real—the fights close and dirty," she explained. "I'm 40 feet in the air, spiraling around. That's the best workout you can ever do because it's all core."

According to her comments, she will do battle with Green Lantern. This only means that she will become Star Sapphire, a supervillain who uses a crystal which grants the user powers similar to the power ring of a Green Lantern.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: Vulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 6:10:26 AM

Blake lively in a sexy outfit. Nice. Keep your fingers crossed for a "wardrobe malfunction."
masht7 writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 6:22:04 AM

Ah, another down step from excitment. Not another Catwoman.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 6:32:45 AM

"Our director likes it real—the fights close and dirty," she explained. "I'm 40 feet in the air, spiraling around.

40 ft in the air, spiraling around; yeah, just like real life.
CCBlev writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 7:03:56 AM

^thats how all of my villains fight me on a day to day basis.
scarface85 writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 7:31:22 AM

f*ck is this turning out like spiderman 3?
VDODSON writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 7:54:23 AM

RIP Michael Jackson
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 8:05:06 AM

What the f*ck ? They're gonna load up on villians ??? Gee .... that's f*cking ORIGINAL.

* said rhetorically, eyes rolling *

@VDodson

Don't worry, he's having fun in the kiddy pool. In Hell.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 8:06:17 AM

@CCBlev

Mine just bitch me out over the phone about their car insurance premiums. My director LOVES to keep it real.
rabid writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 8:08:13 AM

this article is misleading. She won't be star Sapphire in this, it's just acrobatics for a space fight scene.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 9:13:54 AM

With all the "villians" in the movie... i still have FAITH for GL & Martin Campbell... Can't wait for this f*cking movie PERIOD.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 9:16:17 AM

@rabid
I was thinking the same thing... hopefully were right though...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 9:28:26 AM

Don't people learn....too many villians in a one film sucks!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 9:57:51 AM

A female villain already? That usually doesn't happen until the sequel or the 3rd installmet that kills the series. This is the only bad news I've heard come out of this production so far, so I won't panic too much. Maybe they'll give her the Scarlett Jo IM treatment and focus on her booty more than her character. I'm fine with that ;)
CCBlev writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 10:28:49 AM

@Max lol
koul writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 11:06:44 AM

i don't know nothing about the comics but why would green lantern fight his own love interest?
Bunny X writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 11:32:17 AM

Well at least they're staying consistent with the continuity.
Broken_English writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 12:47:24 PM

Star Sapphire won't appear in this movie maybe in a future sequel but not in the origin story.
Man in Black writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 12:59:11 PM

do it now and it small increments so you dont have to work backwards on a sh*tty origins movie yet you maybe showing to much to soon dont fak up!
InterestingJohn writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 2:36:37 PM

How did you extrapolate that she would be playing Star Sapphire from the fact that she's doing stunt work? What an incredibly ridiculous conclusion to jump to with the modic*m of information that was revealed in her brief comments. Let me point out two things

1. Green Lantern makes constructs, it is not hard to fathom that at some point she'll be tumbling through the air, and be rescued by a large green hand.

2. Hector Hammond (one of the planned villains) has telekinesis, he could easily be throwing her about with his mental powers.

These two facts alone prove that just because she's wired up and doing stunt work, doesn't mean she'll be embedding a pink jewel in her head, donning a magenta jumper and raising hell for Hal Jordan.

What an unnecessary article with pointless speculation.

For reliable Green Lantern movie news check out www.RingCapacity.com
Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:00:25 PM

@koul - you don't need to know anything about comics...

'...will not only play Hal Jordan's love interest... but also the villainous...'

You haven't had many girlfriends... have you?

Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:02:25 PM

@John - please tell us that's not you in the mask and lipstick?!
Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:36:04 PM

Or you were just here to spam for your site (no need to answer... we already know)?!

Wow... a site dedicated to GL (I imagine... not going there to check it out). Nice (ie: get life!).
Bunny X writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:40:02 PM

@UNinterestingJohn, less time on the festive (and by festive, I mean gay) accessories, and more time reading.

The story says not only......oh @Ranger covered that.
And also, Carol did become one of a number of Star Sapphires in the GL series.

I applaud them going there but it may be a bit too early to do so. We still need to experience Sinestro's turn before anything else.
InterestingJohn writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:41:16 PM

@Ranger - That is me in the mask, also, what lipstick?
Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:44:40 PM

@John - you're a good sport considering my comment... lol.

I hope you'll post more here on WP. There are a LOT of GL fans on here (incl. myself).
Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:46:33 PM

@Bunny - again, I'm sincerely impressed with your knowledge of comic lore (no... NOT because you're female... just your knowledge, take, impressions and opinions regarding the industry).

In short... you ROC!
InterestingJohn writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:48:12 PM

@Bunny X - Personal slander aside. I did read the article, quite thoroughly, which is why i felt compelled to comment on its ridiculous assumptions about the film. Carol did indeed become the Star Sapphire, but not nearly this early in continuity. Martin Campbell has also stated officially in an interview (with MTV I believe) that Carol and Sinestro both "turn to the dark side" but that fans are "ahead of them on that one (assuming that they'll be villains in this movie)". We will not see an evil Sinestro or Carol Ferris in the first movie. That is fact. I'm not here to self-promote, I'm here to clear up the false information this article purports.
rabid writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:54:08 PM

I agree. It's just a stunt scene. Star Sapphire can't fit into this script.
Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 3:58:30 PM

By the look of her in that picture... I couldn't fit into her ass.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 5:35:02 PM

@John
YES your officially my fav newbie on here... no homo lol As a fellow huge GL fan I'm so thankful for exposing that site to me. I have a new bookmark for ring capacity now. It's awesome and your avatar is pretty classic and ballsy.
InterestingJohn writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 5:47:08 PM

@Ted - Thanks, the site is kind of my "when I have time" GL blog, though I've been making lots of time for it lately :P I'm also always looking for contributors to write news/blogs.

My avatar came about when I took a pic of the costume my wife and I were/are making. I took the pic merely as reference, and it looked pretty cool, so I've been using it as an avatar since then.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 6:25:36 PM

@John
Yeah the site looks great I've been pretty much been browsing it off n on for the last hour and I'm impressed. I saw the costume and it looks good man lol Keep the ACCURATE GL news coming and I'll be a frequent visitor to RingCapacity.com
Broken_English writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 6:29:04 PM

In the original script that was leaked nothing was mentioned about Carol Farris becoming this character and just because she’s doing stunt work doesn't mean she becomes the character in the first movie. I think Vogue was just implying that she eventually becomes star sapphire.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 6:52:53 PM

get Lohan to play Sapphire, however she has a different set of powers ... and the blasts don't exactly come from her hand ...

and i agree John, you are right it never says she'll be playing Star Sapphire ... which is good becuase i hate that c*nt. also yeah GL is really awesome, especially the new series with the Emotional Spectrum,, that and Sinestro corps war was what mainly got me interested in him.
JohnZee writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 4:57:00 AM

Sinestro, Hector Hammond, and Star Sapphire? That doesn't sound good, three villains in a superhero movie is usually the kiss of death, and usually doesn't happen until later installments of that particular franchise. But then again this movie is going to have other Green Lanterns in it, so hopefully things will balance out. And just the idea of a Green Lantern movie shot in 3D makes me a little giddy in anticipation.
Bunny X writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:29:31 AM

@John, first off, my apologies. You can ask anyone and I am not one to just shoot off random unprovoked attacks like I did. That is way out of my character and in poor taste.

Yes, for the film it is far too early for a Carol evil turn. Like I said, we must have Sinestro turn before anyone else.
My problem though now is are they setting us up for a multi-villain crap fest a la Spiderman or do they plan to give these arcs some legs and stretch this franchise out.
Oh and I checked out the website you rec'd and I must say thanks! It is definitely a new fav of mine.
Bunny X writes:
on May 21st, 2010 at 10:56:54 AM

@Ranger, Thank you sir!! I'll tell you, when I moved here from Spain many moons ago, I used comic books to help me learn english. Really not recommmening anyone try that because they are horrible references!! But it did give me a love of comics early on and translated into anime, US toons, video games etc.
So I'm a full fledged fanboy....errr fangirl. But no, I won't be at any ComicCons dressed as anyone from Gantz.....but I did go as Psylocke one Halloween.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved