WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Compares "Stretch Armstrong" Movie to "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight"

Posted: May 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Compares "Stretch Armstrong" Movie to "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
Nick Stoller (Fun with Dick and Jane) was recently hired to re-write the script for "Stretch Armstrong," which is based on a popular Hasbro toy and is set to be directed by Rob Letterman (Monsters vs Aliens, Shark Tale). Taylor Lautner (Twilight) is in talks to star.

"Rob had a great take on 'Stretch' and he told me about it, and I said, 'Please let me write it,'" said Stoller. "It's a superhero origin story taking it totally seriously, kind of in the 'Iron Man' tone for lack of a better descriptor. We're taking it seriously, but it will have a light tone to it. Hasbro has an idea of it and it's based on a new version of that character. It's kind of a blank slate. There wasn't really much of a backstory to the original Stretch Armstrong so we're just kind of inventing it from the ground up."

He continued: "With 'Stretch,' I don't think there are a ton of original Stretch Armstrong fans out there. It's more about creating a universe of superheroes that I'm really excited about. Rob and I have cracked a pretty cool story I think and Rob has a really cool take on what this can be, and it's going to be a huge budget spectacular thing. I love 'Iron Man,' I love 'The Dark Knight' and it's exciting to get to play in this world, because the budgets of these comedies are pretty small, and to get to do something that's just gigantic and exciting but a totally grounded human story at the center of it that I think people are going to respond to."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:35:34 AM

...well, I don't expect Steve Oedekerk to write something in "The Dark Knight" tone. I'd love to get both drafts- before and after a rewrites to compare.

And Oedekerk should finaly make Kung Pow 2- so tired of waiting.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:46:58 AM

don't compare this sh*t with good films ....
masht7 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:06:27 AM

The film is going to complete sh*t anyway, it's just another f*cked up writer who speaks about fantastic films they wish they have done. Not to be ignorant, I think there is a writer like that besides this guy.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:17:40 AM

"it's going to be a huge budget spectacular thing."
more evidence that hollywood has completely lost touch with sanity.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:26:12 AM

Exactly how big of a budget have they put in this film? It would be fun to have it on paper, then travel to Ethiopia and see how they would react. Classic...
CCBlev writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:47:24 AM

Wow, what's in the Kool-Aid they've been drinking? I want some.
Forrest75 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:33:09 AM

I can't wait to see the porn version of this.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:43:11 AM

"Rob had a great take on 'Stretch' and he told me about it, and I said, 'Please let me write it,'" said Stoller. "It's a superhero origin story taking it totally seriously, kind of in the 'Iron Man' tone for lack of a better descriptor. We're taking it seriously, but it will have a light tone to it. Hasbro has an idea of it and it's based on a new version of that character. It's kind of a blank slate. There wasn't really much of a backstory to the original Stretch Armstrong so we're just kind of inventing it from the ground up."

He continued: "With 'Stretch,' I don't think there are a ton of original Stretch Armstrong fans out there. It's more about creating a universe of superheroes that I'm really excited about. Rob and I have cracked a pretty cool story I think and Rob has a really cool take on what this can be, and it's going to be a huge budget spectacular thing. I love 'Iron Man,' I love 'The Dark Knight' and it's exciting to get to play in this world, because the budgets of these comedies are pretty small, and to get to do something that's just gigantic and exciting but a totally grounded human story at the center of it that I think people are going to respond to."



Are you f*cking kidding me ?

Steve does Thumb parodies and Kung Pow : Enter the Fist (which had a one titty female fighter) and this has Taylor Lauttner in talks to star.

This is a turd that you keep flushing and it just won't go down the pipe.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:44:47 AM

@CC Blev

The same they drank in Jonestown, Guyana.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:46:25 AM

@Freudian

Think the Fantastic Four if all you had was Reed Richards ... but knowing Steve Oedekirk is writing it, it might turn out like the Roger Corman version ...
sdpepper writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:02:24 AM

Stupid, stupid stupid!!!

What is wrong with Hollywood!!!!

Come up with some original material. Is it really so bad out there that they have to turn to using Stretch Armstrong for a new movie???

I've got a better idea everyone!!!

Let's take a camera and follow around some dumb little green lizard and watch him make some really dumb comericals stating that he can save us 15% in just 15 minutes.

It might even last longer then the dumb "Caveman" TV show........
Ranma-Irias writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:41:16 AM

i don't care about this movie the minute i saw Taylor Lautner was in it I totally gave up
Bunny X writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:37:54 AM

It's so damn comical to see these fools with absolutely no clue to how bad this is going to be. I love blind faith. Especially when the idiot is walking straight towards a 1,000 foot cliff.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:46:46 AM

^It worked for Indiana Jones in the Last Crusade :)
Troy Williams writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 11:34:15 AM

Lmaoo these ppl are so serious about it too i feel sorta bad for them
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 11:36:32 AM

'...there are a ton of original Stretch Armstrong fans out there.'

So... even at 150lbs. per fan, that's only a little more than 13 fans. So why make this movie?!?!
Stuntastic writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:19:00 PM

Man, when yall gonna do a Capt Caveman movie
nope.com writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:19:05 PM

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHHHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH
HAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHA

....



HAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAAHAHAHAHAH
HAHAHAAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA
Man in Black writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:40:32 PM

@ stunt - YES with a cameo from El Kabong !
BigUnit writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:13:15 PM

Taylor Lautner and iron man and dark knight should not be used in the same sentence.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:42:17 PM

Writer Compares "Stretch Armstrong" Movie to "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight"

Funny...

I compare Stretch Armstrong to a 2-flusher sh*t I took this morning.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 4:44:41 AM

LOL!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved